Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Fly Predators

Item #12493
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The environmental solution to pesky flies!

Fly Predators are beneficial insects and the natural enemy of flies. These insects never bother humans or animals but feed on fly larvae to interrupt the breeding cycle of flies. Sprinkle on manure areas monthly to control fly populations. Up to 94% reduction in pest flies have been reported. Fly predators cannot be returned as they are living.

Favorite Features

  • Automatic delivery available for easy, convenient reapplication

Fly Predators will be drop shipped to you directly from Spalding Labs via the U.S. Postal Service.
You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Fly Predators is rated 4.3827 out of 5 by 81.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific product I spread these around my house because my horse was my lawn mower...It cut down the fly population by 90 % . It took several days but I am sold on this product even if its just for house flies...
    Date published: 2011-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product Fly predators really work and are very easy to spread. I love having the option to have them delivered on a schedule. I would highly recommend them.
    Date published: 2011-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Flies - NONE! I started with fly predators at the end of April, with a double dose, then proceeded as recommended with my monthly SmartPak shipment, and so far I have NO flies. My barn and even all areas in my paddock where my horses typically mess are completely free of flies. It's really nice to not have biting and face flies for my horses--and is just as nice not having the buggers around my house either! The real test will be in August, which is typically buggy for northern New Mexico, but I plan on doubling my early July and August orders to cope with it. Also, the cost savings compared to using fly sprays is huge.
    Date published: 2011-06-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from REALLY WORKS! LAST YEAR WAS MY FIRST TIME TO TRY AND TO USE FLY PREDATORS. WE HAD A VERY WET YEAR AND THE FLIES WERE QUITE BAD. BUT ABOUT 2 MONTHS AFTER STARTING TO USE THE FLY PREDATORS, IN APRIL, THE FLIES BEGAN TO DECREASE. BY NOVEMBER THE NUMBER OF FLIES WAS GREATLY DECREASED COMPARED TO MY FRIENDS WHO WERE NOT USING THE FLY PREDATORS. THIS YEAR HAS BEEN TYPICAL TEXAS WEATHER-COLD, THEN HOT, THEN COLD, THEN HOTTER AND DRY, DRY, DRY! NOT MANY FLIES AROUND NATURALLY, BUT I AM TAKING NO CHANCES. MY HORSES ARE HAPPY AND SO AM I!
    Date published: 2011-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like a dream I use the fly predators each year and have significantly less flies than before. I like to have pestacide free products when I can and these predators are completely natural and work like a dream! Saves hundreds on fly spray each summer.
    Date published: 2011-05-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was my first time to order and I haven't had enough time to see if they work. We have had a very cool spring and I am not sure they survived. I will probably order more later in the year.
    Date published: 2011-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fl and No flys I used this last year and was my first year without battleing flys THANKS
    Date published: 2011-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly Predators: Environmentally Friendly Magic The small smelly bag filled with brown cocoons and pine shavings sure deliver an easier life for all of us in and around the barn yard. Once you see a dozen or so of the little ant like bugs crawling around in the clear plastic pouch, get ready for release. You simply peel apart the pouch and start shaking these tikes around the manure pile and other rotting organic areas and -- et voila! -- in only a few weeks you will notice that you don't have nearly as many flies in you and your animals' lives. No icky fly traps or sprays are necessary in my barn any more. Who knew? Oh, and I've noticed that cluster flies as well as house flies have also been significantly reduced in and around my house. Needless to say, it's now always exciting when the next bag rolls into the mailbox. My four year old son and I battle it out for the "shake & release" as we know how great these teeny wasps work. These creatures are for real. No Sea Monkey scam here. Try the Fly Predators. You won't regret it. In due time, they're worth they're weight in black gold.
    Date published: 2011-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from seems to be working !!!! Only have just started using this product but it does appear that there are no NEW flies! Crossing my fingers!
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Since using Fly Predators I have noticed a significant reduction of flies with my horses. The horses seem to be much more comfortable and less irritated by flies. I look forward to my next shipment and continued control of the fly population at my barn. My dogs are happier too!
    Date published: 2011-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bugs to keep to bugs away I love the Fly Predators, with them I true have no fly problems at my barn. Last year I discontinued my fly predators in the fall thinking because there was no bugs that I didn't need them anymore, boy was I wrong, the flies came back w/ a vengeance once I stopped the predators. So my advice is to keep it going until there is snow on the ground.
    Date published: 2011-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time! We bought a new farm (in Florida) and we only have one neighbor who also happens to use the fly predators. So we thought we'd put them out on our property as well to make sure we had good coverage between the two of us. They came in the mail promptly, and we waited for them to start moving per the directions... then we spread them out, covered them up, and we'll do it again soon to make sure the fly larvae are taken care of... as much as that is possible in Florida... now if we can just get the mosquitos!
    Date published: 2011-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT pest control! We LOVE this product at our barn!!Before Predators, we would spray the horses daily, and they still seemed tortured by the flies. Now there are so few flies (great for horses and humans alike).My only suggestion if you keep free range chickens at your barn: make sure to follow package instructions and hang the Predator larvae instead of putting them on the ground.Thank you Spalding Labs for creating this horse and Earth friendly product!
    Date published: 2011-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked for us! I bought this for use in my 5 acre pasture w/3 horses. We put our predators out in the middle of summer when we moved to a new home. I noticed a decrease in flies after a few weeks. I will be purchasing the predators again this spring, as I do believe they help control the fly population.
    Date published: 2011-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best product for flys I have ever purchased. I have gone from hearing the flys buz when I walked out my back door, to no sounds and no flys!!~!
    Date published: 2010-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shoo Fly! Over the years we have added more animals to our place and we are concerned with being good neighbors. Fly predators keep the flies to a minimum without the use of chemicals. That keeps us, our animals and our neighbors happy. We wouldn't start the summer without them.We also appreciate the excellent customer service from Smart Pack.
    Date published: 2010-06-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Highly Recommend Been using this product for 2 years and really see a difference in the number of flies that we have in the barn. Safe,and easy to use. We house about 25-35 horses.
    Date published: 2010-06-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Results unseen. We have been using Fly Predators for over 4 months now. I have yet to see a drastic change in flies. I'm still open-minded if/when this product will take effect. Our summer is dreadful with nuisant flies. I hope my pro-active approach will show results when the hot months settle in. The extra dollars per month are worth our "clincal trial" with consideration with have 14 horses. Will report back after summer months.
    Date published: 2010-02-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not sure As recommended, this product needs to be used for months before it has it's full effectiveness. I have used now for 2 months and haven't notice much of a change. Although, I started early, December, to see if there is a difference with this coming summer in fly population.
    Date published: 2009-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely Good I was not sure if they would work or not but I was very surprised. They work far better than I had hoped.
    Date published: 2009-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly Predators Got overrun with flies last spring and as a last resort decided to try Fly Predators. I was amazed at how effective they were! Last May I had thousands and thousands of flies and this year the occasional one. The horses don't even have to wear fly masks now. I know the Fly Predators were the reason! I would highly recommend them to anyone who enjoys the outside as much as I do and does not want to be bothered with annoying flies.
    Date published: 2009-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent fly killer We have used fly predators for about 2 years now and would not do without them. They are a critical, effective strategy in minimizing flies. I like that it is a natural vs chemical solution to the problem. Easy to use too.
    Date published: 2009-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly Predators work This is the first time I have used fly predators and they are doing their job very well. I will continue to add to the ones I have this year and for the next several years to take care of the fly problem on the farm. Thanks
    Date published: 2009-05-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from it really works! start early, in FL, late March, once monthly til cool weather. hardly any flies!
    Date published: 2009-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from no flys This product took our fly problem from hideous to non existant. And no pesticides! I don't ever have to use flyspray. The difference is amazing.
    Date published: 2009-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly Predators to the Rescue We used fly predators throughout the summer of 2008 and found them to be very successful in keeping the fly population down. We had no flies in the barn and very few in the paddock areas. The only time the horses required fly masks was when pastured in areas where the fly predators had not been released.We are fortunate that surrounding farms also use the fly predators. If that were not the case, the success rate may not have been as high as it was.
    Date published: 2009-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's worth the money I have used the Fly Predators in the past, but quit trying to pinch pennies (single, sole supporting Mom). Last year the fly problem was so bad I decided to find a different area to pinch my budget
    Date published: 2009-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It has made such a difference in the flies. Fantastic product.
    Date published: 2009-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST when used correctly I've been using these fly predators for about 5 years now, and if I had to take a second job to keep paying for them I would! There's nothing better in my opinion. In fact, I once was told that a rescue group uses these to control flies in a very large herd where spraying and fly masks are completely impractical.I've used them in situations that would seem impossible (such as when my herd of donkeys lived within just a few dozen yards of a cattle herd), and had stunning results. Imagine seeing your herd's eyes all summer long! No fly masks required!I will be honest - it took me a couple of years to get the hang of using these predators. It's important to get them out early enough and put them in the right places. And I think it's possible it would require more of them in more humidity than where I've lived (desert in So. Cal., and semi-arid central Texas).I noticed in Central TX after surprise storms for a week that we had more flies - whether the humidity boosted the fly population too high for the number of predators I had or the predators can't handle humidity, I can't say. I would probably try more of them in that situation.BUT, for the last 3 years I've used these on a cattle ranch where I've only treated the area right around my donkey herd. While the ranch manager's horses were suffering with flies, my donkeys never even had to wear a fly mask, let alone get sprayed!! And my donkeys lived closer to the cattle than her horses! I was ECSTATIC with how well these little guys work.The best part for me is when I'm picking up manure and see the little predators all over the pile. I cheer them on, literally. Now that I've moved to a location with very little livestock around except for my herd, I am looking forward to a very fly-free summer.This year, I started the predators in late February, where I usually wait until mid-March. But this was a warmer than usual winter and again, the important thing with these guys is to get them started before the flies can get hold.The year we had all the rain I did have to spray the herd a couple of times, usually only the few days immediately following the rain. The fly spray container has since gotten completely covered with cobwebs (that was 2 years ago).So the bottom line - start this program now. It might take a year or so to see the full benefit but you won't regret sticking with this, especially if you agree with me that citronella isn't your favorite perfume scent, and if you enjoy sticking your nose into your horse, mule, or donkey's fur and taking a big whiff of their fabulous smell. :-)
    Date published: 2009-04-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not sure yet Its been almost 2 weeks and the fly predators still haven't hatched. I'm giving it until Monday before I call the vendor for more information. As always though SmartPak got the item out quickly.
    Date published: 2009-04-09
    • 2015-03-01T07:25CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_75
    • loc_en_US, sid_2493, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.