Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Fly Predators

Item #12493

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The environmental solution to pesky flies!

Fly Predators are beneficial insects and the natural enemy of flies. These insects never bother humans or animals but feed on fly larvae to interrupt the breeding cycle of flies. Sprinkle on manure areas monthly to control fly populations. Up to 94% reduction in pest flies have been reported. Fly predators cannot be returned as they are living.

Favorite Features

  • Automatic delivery available for easy, convenient reapplication.
Click here to see when to start the program.

Fly Predators will be drop shipped to you directly from Spalding Labs via the U.S. Postal Service.
You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Fly Predators is rated 4.4839 out of 5 by 62.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best product for flys I have ever purchased. I have gone from hearing the flys buz when I walked out my back door, to no sounds and no flys!!~!
    Date published: 2010-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shoo Fly! Over the years we have added more animals to our place and we are concerned with being good neighbors. Fly predators keep the flies to a minimum without the use of chemicals. That keeps us, our animals and our neighbors happy. We wouldn't start the summer without them.We also appreciate the excellent customer service from Smart Pack.
    Date published: 2010-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Highly Recommend Been using this product for 2 years and really see a difference in the number of flies that we have in the barn. Safe,and easy to use. We house about 25-35 horses.
    Date published: 2010-06-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Results unseen. We have been using Fly Predators for over 4 months now. I have yet to see a drastic change in flies. I'm still open-minded if/when this product will take effect. Our summer is dreadful with nuisant flies. I hope my pro-active approach will show results when the hot months settle in. The extra dollars per month are worth our "clincal trial" with consideration with have 14 horses. Will report back after summer months.
    Date published: 2010-02-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not sure As recommended, this product needs to be used for months before it has it's full effectiveness. I have used now for 2 months and haven't notice much of a change. Although, I started early, December, to see if there is a difference with this coming summer in fly population.
    Date published: 2013-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely Good I was not sure if they would work or not but I was very surprised. They work far better than I had hoped.
    Date published: 2009-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly Predators Got overrun with flies last spring and as a last resort decided to try Fly Predators. I was amazed at how effective they were! Last May I had thousands and thousands of flies and this year the occasional one. The horses don't even have to wear fly masks now. I know the Fly Predators were the reason! I would highly recommend them to anyone who enjoys the outside as much as I do and does not want to be bothered with annoying flies.
    Date published: 2009-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent fly killer We have used fly predators for about 2 years now and would not do without them. They are a critical, effective strategy in minimizing flies. I like that it is a natural vs chemical solution to the problem. Easy to use too.
    Date published: 2009-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly Predators work This is the first time I have used fly predators and they are doing their job very well. I will continue to add to the ones I have this year and for the next several years to take care of the fly problem on the farm. Thanks
    Date published: 2009-05-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from it really works! start early, in FL, late March, once monthly til cool weather. hardly any flies!
    Date published: 2009-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from no flys This product took our fly problem from hideous to non existant. And no pesticides! I don't ever have to use flyspray. The difference is amazing.
    Date published: 2009-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly Predators to the Rescue We used fly predators throughout the summer of 2008 and found them to be very successful in keeping the fly population down. We had no flies in the barn and very few in the paddock areas. The only time the horses required fly masks was when pastured in areas where the fly predators had not been released.We are fortunate that surrounding farms also use the fly predators. If that were not the case, the success rate may not have been as high as it was.
    Date published: 2009-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's worth the money I have used the Fly Predators in the past, but quit trying to pinch pennies (single, sole supporting Mom). Last year the fly problem was so bad I decided to find a different area to pinch my budget
    Date published: 2009-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It has made such a difference in the flies. Fantastic product.
    Date published: 2009-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST when used correctly I've been using these fly predators for about 5 years now, and if I had to take a second job to keep paying for them I would! There's nothing better in my opinion. In fact, I once was told that a rescue group uses these to control flies in a very large herd where spraying and fly masks are completely impractical.I've used them in situations that would seem impossible (such as when my herd of donkeys lived within just a few dozen yards of a cattle herd), and had stunning results. Imagine seeing your herd's eyes all summer long! No fly masks required!I will be honest - it took me a couple of years to get the hang of using these predators. It's important to get them out early enough and put them in the right places. And I think it's possible it would require more of them in more humidity than where I've lived (desert in So. Cal., and semi-arid central Texas).I noticed in Central TX after surprise storms for a week that we had more flies - whether the humidity boosted the fly population too high for the number of predators I had or the predators can't handle humidity, I can't say. I would probably try more of them in that situation.BUT, for the last 3 years I've used these on a cattle ranch where I've only treated the area right around my donkey herd. While the ranch manager's horses were suffering with flies, my donkeys never even had to wear a fly mask, let alone get sprayed!! And my donkeys lived closer to the cattle than her horses! I was ECSTATIC with how well these little guys work.The best part for me is when I'm picking up manure and see the little predators all over the pile. I cheer them on, literally. Now that I've moved to a location with very little livestock around except for my herd, I am looking forward to a very fly-free summer.This year, I started the predators in late February, where I usually wait until mid-March. But this was a warmer than usual winter and again, the important thing with these guys is to get them started before the flies can get hold.The year we had all the rain I did have to spray the herd a couple of times, usually only the few days immediately following the rain. The fly spray container has since gotten completely covered with cobwebs (that was 2 years ago).So the bottom line - start this program now. It might take a year or so to see the full benefit but you won't regret sticking with this, especially if you agree with me that citronella isn't your favorite perfume scent, and if you enjoy sticking your nose into your horse, mule, or donkey's fur and taking a big whiff of their fabulous smell. :-)
    Date published: 2009-04-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not sure yet Its been almost 2 weeks and the fly predators still haven't hatched. I'm giving it until Monday before I call the vendor for more information. As always though SmartPak got the item out quickly.
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Control I'm always looking for natural ways to control flies. I started using Fly Predators a few months ago and I have been pleased with the results. There are far fewer flies with each batch of Fly Predators I release. Our horses are primarily turned out in our pasture and use run in sheds, and are not in the barn much at all in the summer, but the fly predators are working very well. If you're looking for a natural way to control flies, I'd definitely give this product a try.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent bugs I have used other parasite bugs but these Fly Predators work the best. Combined with feed through ABC Garlic, there are no flies on the horses' faces when they come inside in the AM. One mare is blind in one eye and cannot do masks, so she cannot feel a fly on her eye.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Effective in Pastures Tried this product for 2 months, and saw an INCREASE in flies. Important to note that we do not have a barn, and our horses are on pasture with run-ins. Perhaps in the more confined area of a barn this would be effective. We are now trying a feed-thru pest control.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relief for my Horse My horse is very bothered by flies. Last year I had him covered in a fly mask, fly sheet, and fly boots and thoroughly doused with fly spray. He is boarded, so the environment -- manure management, etc. -- is mostly beyond my control. This year, with the owner's consent, I paid for a season's worth of Fly Predators and took responsibility for their dispersal. The time and money have been a worthwhile investment in my horse's comfort. The flies are not entirely gone, but they're far better than last year. I don't have to spray him as much. There are days when he gets by quite comfortably without his sheet and mask. I haven't used the boots at all.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous! I struggled to find an environmentally safe way to control flies for a long time, and I am pleased to report that I have finally found it! What a difference! I'm happy, my horses are happy, and my neighbors are thrilled! Highly recommended!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Burnt Buggy Ranch Review I felt so sorry for our horses with flies all over their faces. You could not walk into our barn without swatting constantly. We decided to try Fly Predators and it is amazing. We can walk in the barn or anywhere around our 200 acres and barely see any flies. I order them once a month for six months a year. Fabulous.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from IT WORKS! I used these for several years and noticed a significant reduction in stable and horse flies. One year, money was a little short and I decided not to order the fly predators. What a difference! I've used them ever since. An all natural way to protect your horse from most flies.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2013 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.