Product Image

Advanced Cetyl M® Joint Action Formula for Horses

Response Products
- Item #12455
Form: Granular
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Advanced Cetyl M Joint Action Formula for horses is a powerful 5-way joint action supplement that relieves symptoms of ailing joints and attacks the problem at its source by regulating the immune system response to joint stress. Cetyl M is the only joint supplement that helps rebuild the joint and also stops the destruction. Cetyl M is a potent, highly palatable granules for greater joint relief and performance with amazing new cetyl myristoleate 5500mg, glucosamine-HCL 3000mg, MSM 3000mg, vitamin C 1000mg, and more!

View our Joint Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Advanced Cetyl M® Joint Action Formula for Horses is rated 4.7303 out of 5 by 89.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to work We generally stay away from supplements but this was recommended for one of our mares by a top vet. So, we've given it a try and we can really tell a difference and see improvement. She has been on the supplement for about 7 months now.
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Horse Happy Owner Excellent product, worth the money! Stallion acts and moves like a youngster again. This is the second golden oldie that I have put on this product and will continue to use it on my golden oldies. Yes it is expensive, but why use something that only works so so when you can get amazing results with one product. Both stallions loved the taste and it smells good too.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works We have seen a difference in our horse. He seems more comfortable in our cold weather. This was vet recommended for our horse.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to be working Our horse was having some issues with arthritis in his front legs and lower back. This seems to be giving him much relief and we were able to ride him for 6 hours last week.
    Date published: 2012-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked for us! I started giving this to a semi-retired jumper. I had permission of the owner but didn't say when I would start. After the horse had been on it for about 2 weeks, the owner said that the horse was more sound than he'd seen him in years. And I noticed that the last time the horse had a jumping lesson, his hock did not swell up like it usually did. I've had no problem with palatability - he gobbled it right up.
    Date published: 2012-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing!! I've had my 12yr old OTTB for 18mos and although sound and with no major issues, he has always appeared stiff when moving and dragged his back hooves. Many times (even at a walk) his right, rear fetlock joint seemed to "snag" and he would stumble a step before it would right itself. The vet could find no injury or serious issues to his legs/joints, etc., but felt that he definitely had arthritis d/t his early racing days, which is quite common. After doing much research and speaking to my vet, I decided to start him on Cetyl M because the research and success stories seemed unmatched by other joint formulas on the market. I gave him the loading dose for the first 28 days and then continued with the maintenance dose. WOW!! After 3 wks on the loading dose I noticed that there wasn't any "clicking" or "popping" when he moved at any gait. He was quicker to move out without needing to warm up and the stumbling had disappeared. The vet described his trot as "beautifully floating!" I just can't get over how wonderful he looks with movement and I can tell he feels better without all the stiffness. He takes the opportunity to chase and play with the other horses, whereas before, he really seemed to think twice and then moved minimally...just enough to keep them away from his hay!! Lol! This is by far the BEST money I've spent on supplements!! He will be on the Cetyl M for the rest of his life. I've heard people claim it's too expensive. I haven't found it to be much more expensive than other high end joint supplements by more than a few dollars a month. Well worth it and it WORKS! I would highly recommend it to others!As a side note~ My horse isn't a picky eater at all, but when I first started the loading dose I mixed the granules with a little water and gave it to him with his grain and he turned his nose up at it and refused to eat it. I think the super, sweet smell turned him off. I tried splitting up the dose to AM & PM and addling chopped carrots & apples. Better, but not great. Finally, by the third day, I mixed the granules in with a snack size applesauce and added that to his grain and VOILA! He gobbled it up and not a speck was left in his feeding tub! Also, I found that the applesauce is a great medium for the granules. It binds it together into a great paste and I know he's getting it all. Hope that helps!
    Date published: 2012-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great joint supplement I was convinced by a rep at Equine Affair Ohio to give this product a try. And Smartpak was doing a wonderful promotion at the event, so I signed up for my first smartpak. My warmblood is 9 years old in heavy work (min. 6 days/week). I decided to start joint supplements as a preventative. I used to feel that my horse had a weakness in his right stifle, evident by the fact that it was really hard for him to sit back for movements like 15m counter canter circles, followed by what can best be described as a "giving out" of the stifle (not a catch or locking). Since I started the supplement (about 2 months ago) it seems that this problem has gradually gotten better. It happens less and less. I love that it is all natural ingredients too.
    Date published: 2012-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious and effective Improved my horse's comfort level far more than glucosamine/chondroitin, plus it smells delicious and tastes sweet.
    Date published: 2012-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product I have 8 horses and 2 dogs on Cetyl M and I am very impressed! I think in the future pellets might be better then powder, but all my picky eaters lick their buckets clean and they are sound. (Knock on wood)
    Date published: 2012-03-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not palatable Ordered for our Retired Amish Draft mule who is 20 years old.....he has stifle stiffness in a rear leg.....unfortunately he wouldn't eat his food after two days of putting in his food.....so....tried Senior Flex Pellets... he is eating his food with the pellet form.....sorry Cetyl M doesn't seem to make in a pellet form.
    Date published: 2011-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever My 22 year old horse is doing great on this product! He doesn't seem to have any pain from his arthritis, and is moving much better.
    Date published: 2011-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from acetyl m this is a very good product; however, the smart flex is just as good at a better price.
    Date published: 2011-08-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This stuff does work I originally tried this product for a mare diagnosed with irritation of the navicular bursa. She just couldnt come sound, and 10 days after the loading dose she did. She did exhibit being a little sore when I dropped her from the loading dose to the maintenance dose, but after a week she went sound and stayed sound. I did try to take her off of the supplement when I bred her this year, she went lame. She didnt get pregnant, and now that she is back on the supplement, is now sound enough to work 4-5 days a week. We have now put 2 of our "senior" geldings on the supplement, and do see a positive difference in their soundness.
    Date published: 2011-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yeah! she eats it! My picky eater Mare is eating her supplement and moving like a youngster. I am happy with the results I have seen. My Mare comes out and works consistantly every day. She is no longer showing signs of soreness.
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse loves it My horse loves the Cetyl M - I went with this product because my veterinarian recommended it. My mare was not having any problems that I had noticed - but she is 15 and I want to help her joints as she gets older. It is easy to give and a side benefit I have noticed is that her mane and tail have gotten surprisingly soft since on the Cetyl M. All in all I am happy with the product. No complaints.
    Date published: 2011-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps I think this is working for my 21 year old Mule with ringbone. He's getting around, and I don't want to not give it to him as a test and have him be worse. I take a supplement with Cetyl M, and it's makes a trememdous difference for me, so I give it to all my horses, and dogs, as well as myself.Trish
    Date published: 2011-06-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great product my horse is young but as a 3 yo we had to have his hocks injected. the vet said his hocks were really dry w/very little lubricating fluid. hock injections are very expensive so we had to look for other alternatives, trying many different products. so far the cetyl m has been the best. it is affordable and my horse loves it.
    Date published: 2011-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It has put a barrel horse back in in the arena When your vets tells you that a horse never will give you a hundred and fifty percent any more, but she will still give you a hundred and ten...she is worth saving to every person around here because of her heart and determination. She has some poor confirmation, rather large rear end and danty head, she has always been an accident waiting to happen. She is never still, never quiet, and always running everywhere! After a major barrel race she came down with a swelling on her knee, yet no pain. She was examined by the vet but no major damage was expected. A month later she became lame on that leg. She had broken a bone in the lower knee joint and caused some major injury to the tendons behind the knee. Though she may never return to barrel racing, I wanted to her feel well enough for the next twenty years to bully everyone in the pasture.She was placed on cetyl-M and it has brought 80% soundness back to that leg. Our plans are to keep her running fit to keep the knee strong yet let her be a horse. She is a very picky eater. I dumped a scoop in to her bucket and she would not even approach it. It has a rather strong sweet smell. So for a week I would sprinkle a small amount on her feed and a little more the next day. At the end of the week she excepted the supplement like her normal feed.
    Date published: 2011-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product delivers I first gave Cetyl-M to my 10 year old beagle who was having terrible problems with his hips after being run over by a cyclist. He could not put any weight on his left hind leg for months after the accident. After 3 weeks on the C-M, not only was he running on all fours, he could jump up and down from my bed that stands about 3 feet tall. He has been pain free for three years now. So when my horse developed stifle joint issues, I put him on it as well. That was over two years ago, and he has had no problems since. This product is the real deal.
    Date published: 2011-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from it works Started my 7 year old home bred mare on it in January. She had developed a stifle issue which was causing her discomfort and lameness at trot and canter. I saw a significant improvement within 12 hours of the first dose. I have been able to return her to light arena work and 2-3 hour trail rides, which since I ride like an old broad these days works just fine for me. I am thrilled
    Date published: 2011-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tasty! My horse had his hocks injected within weeksof starting this supplement. He has been on other top joint supplements for the last three years. None contained CM. I cannot see any difference yet but I am hopeful. CM is so tasty that my horse will eat it without feed. OmegaHorseshine is the only other supplement that compares in palatability.
    Date published: 2011-04-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good very palatable. two horses have eaten it well and although I don't have objective evidence, I do believe they seemed more comfortable after two weeks on the product. I think it's expensive and apparently the price is going up as the company is increasing the amount of cetyl m in the product. I wonder what their evidence is that this is needed as it does increase the price on an already pricey product.
    Date published: 2011-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing supplement I waited to review this supplement because I was not sure whether it was the Cetyl M or the HA that I added at the same time that was responsible for my 19 year old arthritic OTTB's drastic improvement. He looked great all winter. To test whether the Cetyl M was helping, I discontinued using it when the tub ran out. A few days after I stopped the Cetyl M, he started looking (and feeling) terribly stiff. He was especially stiff in his left hock, and he was also off in a front foot that has some arthritic issues after I rode him. A few days after re-starting the Cetyl-M, he is looser, more limber, and SOUND! I do not know how it works, but I guess he is on it for the rest of his life.
    Date published: 2011-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am convinced I got a new mare that was diagnosed on the prevet to have some significant navicular inflammation. We followed the vet protocol, but just couldnt get her 100% sound. The mare has been on Cetyl M since November of 2010. After 10 days of being on the loading dose, went sound. She did go lame for a week when I reduced the dose from loading to maintence, then went sound and has been sound enough to be in full work. I even jump her! I was very skeptical of this product when I started her on it, but I have to say, it has made a believer out of me. The smell of this product is so nice, I want to eat it! It really smells yummy!
    Date published: 2011-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my Gelding's show career When my trainer found my gelding, he was lame. Lame, Lame, Lame. He is a 16.2 hand hunter type QH. His owner did not want a hunt horse, so he went to a trainer that forced him to be something he was not- a western pleasure horse. His hocks had scheduled injections every 3 months. He was cranky, in pain and needed to be sedated to do most anything with him. My trainer saw something great under this gimpy/cranky exterior, and I bought him. I knew about Cetyl M, and thought my gelding would be the perfect candidate for it.It has been a year since my gelding was started on Cetyl M (and ONLY Cetyl M for supplements), and not only has he NEVER needed a hock injection since, he LOVES the stuff! It literally smells like a fruit smoothy. When we go around the show ring, I always hear whispers of " that horse was lame! He never could canter.." Not only does he canter, he is usually walking away from the ring with a blue ribbon!Now almost all the horses at our barn are on Cetyl M, and it is working it's magic on them too!
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I have had my horse on this product for 9 months now and before she had alot of lameness due to a stifle injury....now she has alot more movement and dosen't seem as stiff like she was before using this product. I have tried cheaper supplements but they just don't give me the results she gets with Cetyl M....I deffinately recomment this product to anyone who has a horse with joint lameness issues.
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best stuff since sunshine I first discovered Cetyl-M when my mare was still with me... She was extremely arthritic in her hind end, so much so, I couldn't ride her anymore as she was so stiff and obviously in pain. Since I wasn't ready to part with her yet as she was the love of my life, I tried everything I could think of short of injections (she hated her legs being messed with so I wasn't going to torture her like that) I tried Next Level, MSM, Condroitin, Cosequin, all type... Some helped, but not enough ... I saw the commercial for the dog w/ arthritis, and decided to try it. It took a while, but within a couple of months I was seeing a noticable difference, within 6 months we were riding again, and she was happy. I kept her on it until the end of her days, (she was 29)She went from being slow and sore to what my friend described as " Crazy" because she just started running off with her one day... I was shocked but ecstatic that my girl was feeling her oats so well she could keep up with the youngsters. I now have my 25 yr old gelding on it and am anxious to see how well he does with it too... He's not as bad, but he injured himself, and I figured it couldn't hurt to keep him healthy :)
    Date published: 2011-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse was recently diagnosed with a stifle issue. Injections with cortizone did not make much difference. I noticed a significant improvement in her gait and being able to use her back 12 hours after giving the first dose of Cetyl M! That was 3 weeks ago and she continues to maintain the improvement. I am thrilled.
    Date published: 2011-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-01-31
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.