Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Safety Halter

SmartPak
- Item #12425

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Safety Halters are a barn staple! Crown piece is leather and adjustable on both sides of the halter. The heavy nylon webbed noseband and cheek pieces are extremely durable while the soft leather crown piece adds breakaway safety.Adjustable chin. Brass plated hardware. Navy, Green, Black. Cob, Horse, Warmblood. Made in the USA.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartPak Safety Halter is rated 4.5063 out of 5 by 79.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SAFETY HALTER After two broken halters in two years,( one leather one nylon), I was desperate to find something that would give without injuring my Big Warmblood. This halter is a little large over the head, but I can add an extra hole in the leather. The halter is soft and flexible and I really like the way it fits, Thank you
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smartpak Halter Nylon of the halter was very soft but the strap under the cheek bones hung too low. I was worried it could get caught on something.
    Date published: 2013-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice looking halter The halter fits fine and is nice looking. Hopefully it will hold up well. I have only had it for about 3 weeks.
    Date published: 2013-11-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality...Ryns big & stetches Quality of halter is great. However I have a 15.3 Connemara Mare who is between horse & cob size. I ordered the Cob based on other reviews that it runs big. Fit great on the last holes but within a week the crown has stretched and is to big for her. I took the crown piece off her old halter & switched them out. Wish I had of ordered a pony size :(
    Date published: 2013-09-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Halter This fit my Dutch Warmblood nicely. I got the Horse size in green and the color is pretty also. The hardware is sturdy, not like some of the other cheapo halters out there! Very nice! It is hard to fit my horses face, so I will be ordering this again when I need a new halter. (Can't say much on durability yet, bc I haven't had it that long).
    Date published: 2013-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice halter Bought this halter to attach a Best Friend muzzle for turnout. Has held up very well on a horse that is very tough on her clothes! My mare has a very large, but I went along with with the other reviews and just ordered the "horse" size -- fits great! I really like the detachable crown piece -- makes for easy replacement!!
    Date published: 2013-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! Cant attest much to the durability because its still so new, but its beautiful. Coming right out the bag, the leather crown piece was soft and supple. Horse size fits my 16.3hh mare perfectly on the top holes on both sides. Looks great! Thanks Smartpak!
    Date published: 2013-06-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for the Price I havent had it long enough yet to comment on durability, but it feels and looks strong, and seems high-quality. The leather portion is not thin or dried out. The hardware is not cheap either. Plan on ordering more in the future.
    Date published: 2013-05-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Large for cob size I don't generally use a 1" webbing halter on an arab but needed a safety halter to use with a muzzle and it was suggested the 1" would work best. My 15.1h arab gelding doesn't have a overly dishy face but this halter is huge on him. I had to put the nose buckle on the last hole which looks messy as there is a lot of extra webbing dangling. Plus I added two extra holes on both sides of the leather strap across the pole to get it to fit. Only after adding all five merino wool halter/muzzle covers does the halter fit a little better. The nose band isn't on the last hole but I am still using one extra hole per side on the pole strap. My point, if I wasn't using this with a muzzle it would be to big to use on my average size arab. He wears a cob in everything else (and usually a 3/4" halter). I haven't used it enough to speak to quality but it seems sturdy.
    Date published: 2013-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter Great halter for the price - it runs quite large, as other reviewers have stated. Looks good on too! Would recommend for trailering and turnout. Attached is a photo of my 3 year old Anglo Arab wearing his - he's 15.1+ and about 800lbs in this picture, wearing the Cob size on the top holes.
    Date published: 2013-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halters We bought 3 Smartpak Safety Halters. All three fit our horses well with the adjustments allowed for by the halter. Would definitely recommend this product to a friend.
    Date published: 2013-05-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice halter It worked out exceptionally well for my horse as regular horse halters are sometimes a little small for him, but the larger warmblood halters are too big. I can't rate the durability as it's only been on him about a week. Of course, it's a safety halter and we WANT it to break if necessary.
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Purchase This was a nice halter for the price. It is a little larger than I expected, but still a nice fit. The next size down would definitely be to small on my 16'3 OTTB. The quality and color are nice, and thus far it has held up well.
    Date published: 2013-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Choice Needed a halter that could be left on my boys when turned out in the big pasture area. Was fearful of them getting hooked on a fence. These halters took care of that. Durable and safe.
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hardware doesn't last I live in South Florida and this halter can't withstand the humidity. The hardware is completely rusted and the clasp doesn't work any more after one year of use. Would not recommend this halter. I have another halter that is at least seven years old and the hardware is perfect. Look for solid brass on these.
    Date published: 2013-07-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality turn-out halter This is a nice quality halter and very useful for turn-out. Adjustable chin and crown give a good fit. Would be nice if the halter came with a spare leather crown piece.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke first time he wore it I bought this for a shipping halter and the crown piece broke the first time I ever used it. The hole I was using for the buckle slit open to the hole below it.
    Date published: 2012-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter I bought this for a daily use halter for my daughter's large pony. The cob size fit her perfectly, small enough at the nose, and long enough over the crown. I like that it's adjustable on both sides of the crown, will also make it easy to replace if necessary.
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Investment Safety release halters are a very good investment for a very busy stable! They hold up well and the leather crown makes them extra adjustable so they can be used on a variety of horses.
    Date published: 2012-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good quality for price Fits very well and is excellent quality for the price.I'm sure it will last for a very long time. I only usea halter when the horses are turned out at nite.
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great halter, crown piece too thin for me. Nice weight, good quality halter. Nylon is silky and soft. The head piece is a tad thin for my uses. You could replace it with a stronger one if desired. Yes it's a breakaway halter but the crown seems like it wouldn't take emergency conditions to snap. Great for a horse you trust, not great for a horse apt to spook while leading. I would use this for my old trusty horses but would not chance leading my youngster in it - would advise leading difficult horses in a stronger halter and putting this on them once they're actually in the turnout. Great quality, great color.
    Date published: 2012-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter for price. I was looking for a safety halter for turnout so I didn't have to use my nice leather halter. I had a nylon halter that I would leave near the paddock but if it rained, that thing go so stretched out which meant that depending on the weather it could be too big or too small. So when I got this, it was a saving grace. It's smart looking, sturdy, doesn't rub his face. Only wish that it had chrome/silver hardware instead. Otherwise, no complaints!
    Date published: 2012-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Safety Halter This halter fits my horse nicely and looks great. I love the blue color. It seems sturdy and well made. I only use safety halters for my horses and recommend their use, especially for tying and trailering your horse, or if your horse ever wears a halter when turned out. Smartpaks makes it easy to replace your worn or broken crown pieces (it is good to have an extra on hand, just in case!)
    Date published: 2012-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Quality!! I bought this for my pony after a friend had recommended it to me. When I received it I was so greatful my friend told me about it. The description tells the truth and that rarely happens for me! Overall I am so glad and would highly recommend this product! GO SMARTPAK!!
    Date published: 2012-05-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Flimsy Ordered this halter for my difficult to fit draft cross. The noseband (and entire halter) are flimsy and does not support a grazing muzzle.
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Safety Halter Very nicely made. This halter is durable, comfortable and light weight for my horse to wear. Also, easy to clean...just remove the leather crown piece and wash the nylon portion in a mild detergent...it's like new again. I would definitely recommend this halter to a friend.
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter for good price The safety halter was exceptional quality for a very reasonable price. This halter runs on the large size but has plenty of holes for adjustment. I would purchase it again.
    Date published: 2012-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety Halters I ordered one breakaway halter to fit my draft cross and one to fit my new TB mare, who is a rescue and just a fabulous addition to my farm .Both halters were easy to adjust while already on their heads. In particular with the new little girl where I truly appreciated the very flexible leather crown piece. These halters are a great value and look wonderful on my two horses.
    Date published: 2012-03-30
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.