Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Royal Rider Flexible Stirrups

Item #12370

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

From Royal Riders of Italy. Lightweight (only 10 oz) Royal Rider Flexible Stirrups are made of the highest grade polymer composite to incorporate the advantages of shock absorption with superior strength. These stirrups are flexible- increasing shock absorption qualities even more! Comes with interchangeable black rubber and stainless steel "cheese grater" foot pads. Pads screw in to ensure that they do not move! Black.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Royal Rider Flexible Stirrups is rated 4.7143 out of 5 by 42.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stirrups Bought these for my daughter - Apparently these are the current must haves! Anyway, a little on the expensive side but everyone that uses them swears by them so...... They appear to made well and my daughter is very happy with them. SmartPak shipped them quickly and I am very happy with both their pricing and service.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth the money I hate writing reviews on products, Amazon constantly harasses me for reviews, but I LOVE these stirrups. I've been riding for fifty years so my body has some wear and tear. I didn't know it was possible to love stirrups but these have me riding pain free. I used to have pain along the ball of my foot, but no more. As a hunter rider one stands in the stirrups often and now I can be comfortable jumping, galloping, posting.....They are light weight but stay in position and I imagine if you loose one while riding it wouldn't smack the horses sides like metal ones do. They also come with 2 choices of screw in pads, metal and black rubber. A must have for the "seasoned" rider.
    Date published: 2012-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! By far the best stirrups I have used. Worth every penny. I had a huge problem keeping my stirrups in place on my foot, these have completely solved the problem. I will never go back to regular irons!
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best!!! I absolutely love these! I have bad knees and they are amazing and light!
    Date published: 2012-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I have bad knees and these were excellent, especially since my horse tends to jump very hard!
    Date published: 2012-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved My poor knee! Love these flexible stirrups! I thought I was destined for knee surgery but don't even notice my knee anymore. Worth every cent for that alone.
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I broke my ankle 4 years ago and have a plate and screws in it now. When I recently began riding again after a 10 year break my ankle would really bother me and sometimes so painful I couldn't walk. After a few rides in these stirrups I really noticed a difference. Sometimes my ankle gets a little sore but is tremendously better with these stirrups.
    Date published: 2012-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! I have had two knee surgeries. For the last few years I have had extremely green horses and was primarily jumping 2'6" except for around a month before equitation finals. When I moved my current horse up to 3' and had to jump it once or twice a week continuously my knees started to kill. I purchased these stirrups and have barely had any pain. The other reason I love these is the wider foot bed gives an excellent base of support and has made it easier for me to control my upper body break over. I use these with the plastic foot bed instead of the metal and still have plenty of support. I am keeping the metal pads though in case I have to show in the remnants of a hurricane again!
    Date published: 2012-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Royal Rider Flexible Stirrups I LOVE these stirrups. Since breaking my ankle last July, I have been having a really hard time getting my heel down and after several minutes of riding I'd be in aching pain. Since I have been riding with these, I have NO pain and I am able to get my heels down without any problems! I love the "cheese grater" grips, which give me a secure grip when my young horse decides he wants to spook at the wind. I would DEFINITELY recommend these to anyone looking to ride pain free who has knee/ankle issues, or to anyone period!
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Royal Rider stirrups I love my new Royal Rider Flexible stirrups.The base is a nice wide platform where my foot stays in place instead of flopping through the stirrup. They have a nice springing action, so that when I am approaching a jump, I am very comfortable in two-point with my legs feeling very soft and flexible. I highly recommend these comfortable stirrups!
    Date published: 2012-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from L-O-V-E my stirrups I love these stirrups! My trainer let me borrow her Royal Rider Flexible Stirrups at a horse show when my mom told her I was having ankle and knee pain. It was the first time I had ever used them. I was able to take all of the fences and stay on course with ease and had great standings; a couple of 2nd and 3rd places and a 1st place! For Christmas, my parents bought me these stirrups and I'm very happy with them.
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stirrups are great on the ankles and provide a great grip.
    Date published: 2011-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-09-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from And I thought my knees hurt before... Before springing for a new saddle, I thought I'd buy these stirrups to see if they cure my knee pain that comes hours after riding. After the first ride I was in so much pain immediately getting off the horse that I knew these were not supportive enough, or too flexible. I still recommend because they are great quality, well made stirrups - and they may work for you. However, I wont give these a second chance. Now for the saddle search!
    Date published: 2011-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super secure feeling These stirrups will make you feel more at ease with the amazing grip and flex. Less pressure on ankles and knees and no more losing your stirrrups!
    Date published: 2011-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product I love my new stirrups. They are light and very comfortable. I no longer have knee pain after riding. Would highly recommend!
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic products For 2 weeks I have been riding in my new Royal Rider Flexible Stirrups. They have made an amazing change in my riding, for the better. 9 years ago, I broke my ankle and tore a tendon. 2 years ago I hurt my knee (same leg) the combination of the two caused me great discomfort, stiffness, and pain. Riding was becoming a chore and my horse was always tense. A friend loaned me her flexible stirrup irons to try. Instantly my knee stopped hurting and my ankle flexed. I had to find my own pair when I returned hers. After looking at many different styles from very inexpensive to the most expensive, I chose the Royal Rider because they were not too flexible, but flexed enough to give me relief.Before these stirrups I could ride perhaps 15-20 minutes and canters and trots were for very short periods. Now, I can complete an entire dressage test and canter around a show ring.For those with joint damage, these stirrups might just be what you have been looking for. For those all intact - ride in these so that you can prolong your great rides.SmartPak delivered on time and I am very pleased with this purchase. Worth the money and worth the wait. Thank you!!
    Date published: 2011-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These will improve your riding! These are the best stirrups ever! Reasonable price and well worth it! The security and balance is unbeatable. After ankle surgery, the flex is a must! Wouldn't ride with anything else!
    Date published: 2011-05-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't work for me I tried both these and the standard rigid Royal Rider stirrups. I thought I might like these better since I've had joint issues and people said it helped, but these actually made me feel pain in my knee almost immediately. I also preferred the solid feel of the rigid stirrups.
    Date published: 2011-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Irons EVER!! I have the Royal Rider composite stirrups already and decided to get the RR Flexible stirrups for my other saddle so I did not have to keep moving those stirrups from saddle to saddle. All I can say is WOW!! These have just the right amount of flexion and really aids in keeping my foot in the proper flexed, heels-down position. The cheese-grater is fantastic and I have yet to lose a stirrup! My only suggestion is to put some type of protection over the stirrup if you run your stirrups up on your leathers or lunge with your saddle on. The cheese-graters are sharp and they WILL scratch your leathers and flaps... I know from experience. I simply put a pair of short athletic socks over them and problem solved. Other than my Herm Sprenger bits, these are my favorite tack investment! Pricey? Yes, however it is something I use EVERY time I ride and for the added leverage and security it is worth every penny!!
    Date published: 2011-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Great Stirrups" These stirruos are well made; durable and lightweight. Worth the money!
    Date published: 2010-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Money These are spendy but worth the money. I tried them for a full week to see if they really made any difference. I tore my ACL & MCL Sep 09 and had surgery, just started riding in Feb after 6 months of rehab. I rode both my horses, dressage and jumping with the flexible stirrups and with regular fillis irons. I tried every combination one horse with fillis irons and one with flexible irons. I definitely noticed that after riding with the straight fillis irons my knee definitely had some pain and became worse the more I rode vs with the flexible iron little to no pain. I've heard some people say they don't give you a stable lower leg, I really paid attention to this and say if it made my leg less stable it was still worth being able to ride vs too much pain. Also, I found the wider foot pad really helped me have a more secure feeling and took a lot of the strain with the hinge sides off my knee. Definitely a keeper and worth the price if you've got any kind of knee injury. I loved that they were so light weight and secure feeling I had.
    Date published: 2010-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy on your knees! I love these stirrups; they absorb concussion and as I age that is something I really appreciate! They really relieve stress on the knee and hip joints. Great design and I love having black stirrups; they give a very neat appearance.
    Date published: 2010-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these stirrups! I ordered the Royal Rider of Italy flexible stirrups for my daughter and she loves them! Her feet don't slide, they provide the perfect amount of flexibility and support. They are fantastic!
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these! I am a very old school rider, so I didn't want to use jointed stirrups, but unfortunately my wishes and my body didn't agree, and I purchased the Herm Sprenger flexible stirrups. I found them to be very nice, but with a bit too much give.I bought the Royal Rider's because my trainer had them, and I liked the decreased weight.I really love these stirrups; they have the flexibility my knees need, but give a little more support. They have a slightly wider stirrup pad, which gives more foot support. The cheese grater pads also help with stability.The lighter weight was a bit different, as I have always ridden in heavy irons, but it was easy to get used to and so nice; the only difficulty would be in finding the iron after you've lost it; the light weight makes it move quite a bit, and I now have to look down to make sure I get my foot in, which I never had to do in heavier irons.Overall, these are terrific! My knee and hip joints thank Royal Rider for this product!
    Date published: 2009-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT These are great for jumping! they are secure, flexible, you don't even feel them.
    Date published: 2009-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from EURIKA!!!!!! I LOVE these!!! I have only had them a week and I use the cheese grater type pad. I have major problems keeping my left foot in a stirrup (especially at the sitting trot and canter) due to a fused ankle. It is the first time since breaking it I did not loose my stirrup while riding...I ride daily. AND dismounting was not painful (some with past ankle fractures will know what I mean). For safety and comfort so very worth the $$$. Although I don't feel the flexibility....it does something because 99% of the discomfort I had in the past is gone. I am a "Senior" rider and I think anyone with joint issues, regardless of their age, might benefit from these.
    Date published: 2009-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more knee pain! After purchasing the HS Bow Balance irons I started experiencing severe pain in my knees after riding. I then switched to these irons and the pain went away - didn't even feel any pain the first ride with them. Yay! My trainer commented on my two point position at the trot saying I looked a lot more stable and balanced. I felt like I could stay in the two point at the trot forever when I used to start hurting and get sloppy in my old irons after about a minute. I also love the cheese grater foot pads because my foot does not move or slip at all and these irons are SUPER light weight. These are some great irons!
    Date published: 2009-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ever Simply the best stirrups I have ever used, and I have used a lot! I have complicated issues and severe pain in my knees and these stirrups have made things so much better! No ankle fatigue, much less knee pain, and I NEVER lose a stirrup! Every student in my barn wants to ride in them - I keep telling them to get their own!
    Date published: 2009-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE I bought these a year ago, while having extreme pain in my ankles and making it clear that it wasnt cause by a riding fault, i got these because they are so light weight, nice style, and the cheese grater pad, doesnt let my foot slip a bit!A little pricey but so worth it in the end!
    Date published: 2009-03-24
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2013 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.