Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

EquiFit ShouldersBack

EquiFit
- Item #12360

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

ShouldersBack is the only product like it on the market! Designed for the equestrian, ShouldersBack is an all-elastic garment that helps you attain proper equitation in a safe and comfortable manner. Researched and developed by a leading orthopedic supply team, ShouldersBack gently pulls, aligns, and holds your shoulders into the "correct" position. The more you slouch, the greater the pull. ShouldersBack's 100% elastic construction ensures you the complete freedom of movement to cope with any unforeseen events.

Imported. Sizes Child (up to 24"), Adult/Adolescent (Up to 38"), Large (38"+). To get your size: Measure the circumference of your rib cage just below your chest.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    EquiFit ShouldersBack is rated 4.4146 out of 5 by 41.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped me regain my posture I tore my rotator cuffs a few months ago, and even after physical therapy my shoulder stayed kind of caved in. I bought this in hopes it would "train" my shoulder to be in the right position. I started wearing it around the house, and noticed a change in my posture after just a few uses (30 minutes at a time, while I did household chores). I then started riding in it, and my posture improved and my shoulders were no longer making me unbalanced.
    Date published: 2012-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ShouldersBack This really works! It keeps my shoulders back and my trainer is saying less and less about my position. The stitching on one of the velcro straps did come up, but my mom easily sewed it back down. It might have been my own fault, though.
    Date published: 2012-02-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product but needs to be changed to make it more comfortable especially by the underarms as it gets a bit sore even with a shhrt underneath. I do like the way it helps my upper body but i felt that if i used it every day by underarms would get chaffed
    Date published: 2012-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool to help ride with shoulders back,head up.
    Date published: 2012-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shoulders Back I recently purchased your Shoulders Back - I love it and have recommended it to everyone I know. I wear it riding, driving, working on my ranch. I haven't had any chafing at all, it's very comfortable. I can't imagine anything happening to it because it's very well made - but if something did I would immediately order another. It's so worth the price and has made my life so much easier and pain free.
    Date published: 2012-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from shoulders back I purchased this item actually not for riding but to help correct my habit of slumping my shoulders while on the computer, desk, etc. which a lot of times would end not only sore shoulders/neck but a headache. It does work. My only suggestion is the way it cuts under the arms. I first purchased a youth/adult, then the large because it cut under my arms, but went back to the youth/adult because there was no difference in the width of the back between the straps so they both cut equally sharp under my arms. The difference in size was just the band length. It definitely works, but personally I think it would annoy me while riding.
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for Schooling I've been using a Shoulder's Back for years and always recommend them to people who may have trouble maintaining good posture, and who tend to ride more on their own than in lessons. Its a great reminder to lift your chest.Do wear it over at least a short sleeve shirt. I used to wear it under my shirt and it caused rub marks in my armpit area. Also if you tend to have bad posture all the time I recommend wearing all day for several days.
    Date published: 2011-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy :) I really love this, but you have to wear it over a tshirt or else you'll get rubs.
    Date published: 2011-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Can Really Feel The Difference! My trainer is always telling me to keep my shoulders back, so this seemed like an obvious purchase. Ever since I bought it my trainer has complained about my position less and less and I can really feel the difference. The only negative is that the material rubs the skin so you have to wear it over you shirt.
    Date published: 2010-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product When I first received the Shoulders Back in the mail my initial impression was "Oh I just spent nearly $50 on some material and strips of velcro". However, after riding in it, my view totally changed and it was soooo worth the money.Both my trainers remarked what a huge difference it made to my upper body in terms of my shoulders not being rounding and as a result opening up my upper body. It has also hugely helped to reduce my shoulder and back pain.Highly recommended!
    Date published: 2010-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from You Don't Have to Be A Rider to Appreciate ShouldersBack has helped alleviate my upper back pain both on and off the horse. It's really improved my posture and helped me build muscle memory to be able to maintain it without wearing the brace. My only complaint is that it chafes under my arms, so you have to wear an undershirt with it. With the summer heat, I've had to devise another solution. Cut the toes off a pair of bobby socks and stick the straps of the ShouldersBack through the "sock tube" and adjust the socks from there. Adds some bulk but really helps.
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A winner!! My first lesson while wearing my EquiFit was the first lesson I didn't hear, "Shoulder's back," constantly. It doesn't replace good technique, nor can it make a bad rider good, but it can make a good rider better. I found out that my trainer even uses one once in a while for herself... Since I spend so much on aids for my horse, it makes sense to spend a little on aids for myself!
    Date published: 2010-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase I bought my first 1 back brace 5 years ago and it wore out. It helps me get in shape for equitation classes, since i mostly ride the hunter classes.
    Date published: 2010-02-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from a must have for shoulder pain I measured myself and bought the youth/adult. Had to send for the bigger one, but opted to keep the smaller one, because there was not enough tension on the big one. The first 10 min were very painful. I kept it on for two hours and the relieve was immense. The next day my headache was gone and I stood straight. . The next day my headache was gone and I stood straight. I wear it now on a regular basis, when I drive the bus. I have to agree the straps cut in the armpit, but I think I can alter it by putting the straps of an old bask bag under them.
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from a wonder trainer i used it everyday when i got it but due to my degree of scoliosis i can't.but soon i am having i will use it after surgery recovering from it and when i finally get back into the saddle i will use it.
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-12-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Idea, But Needs Improvement This product really helps keep those shoulders back, while not interfering with your bra. However, after two rides, I had significant schafing from the edges of the shoulder straps. A padded strap made of a softer fabric would really help, since this is something that should be used daily for some time.
    Date published: 2009-11-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from No More Back Pain A few years ago, I had back pain from riding my green horse, an Arab who was 4 at the time, and I wore this product all the time, including school and riding, and my back felt so much better. However, this product caused rubbing on the inside of my arms that was uncomftorable when I had to move my arms a lot, like when I was jumping or in gym class.
    Date published: 2009-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product I purchased shoulders back due to a neck and shoulder injury setting my posture off. It has been very helpful in and out of the saddle!! The arm straps do chafe and can leave me with soreness under my arms - aside from that - I think the product is very good!
    Date published: 2009-11-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for Flat Work Posture Fit well, and kept shoulders back. Did hamper release on jumps. Would recommend wearing for flat work, but not for jumping bigger jumps.
    Date published: 2009-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Upper back back brace Whoever designed this had women in mind. It allows maximum support for middle and upperback without interfering with your bra.
    Date published: 2009-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well I work at my computer all day. I felt like I needed something to give my back a little more support. I've worn it while I'm working and my back feels much better and I sit up much straighter.
    Date published: 2009-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! I bought the EquiFit Shoulders Back as I am recently retired. With many years at a desk, and now wanting to get back into the show ring, my shoulders were stooped a bit. This product did the trick, and helped my body position in the saddle, so that I sat in the saddle much better. I'm also wearing it around the house from time to time to remember to keep my shoulders back. Showring, here I come!!
    Date published: 2009-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Teaching me not to slouch I bought this to help correct my lazy slouch both in and out of the saddle. I've been using it 30 to 45 minutes a day just around the house and when riding. Just sort of as a reminder to straighten up - SHOULDERS BACK! So far it is helping, it's only been 10 days though, long term results have yet to be seen.I will say that the first few times I used it, I could really feel the stretch in my upper shoulders and neck muscles - there was no question it was pulling them back and I could feel a difference in my posture instantly. You do have to play with and adjust the straps to get the fit just right, but that is sort of the whole point - as you get your act together, the fit will loosen until you don't need this thing. I do wish the price were lower - other than that I have no real complaint.
    Date published: 2009-06-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Little Tricky I really like this product, it supports my upper body when I'm doing stalls and riding wonderfully BUT... it's almost like you need 2 people to put it on. The secret that I have figured out is that you have to velcro the arm straps first then slip it on like a shirt. Otherwise it's great! Some people have stated that it is too hot but I don't really think that it is. Good product but it would be nice if the straps weren't like a Rubics Cube.
    Date published: 2009-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Comfortable, and effective - I highly recommend this to anyone who is considering it. My son also likes it while computing, says it helps ease his achy neck.
    Date published: 2009-04-14
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.