Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Hair Moisturizer

Item #10233

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

A Hair Moisturizer that assists in replacing vital oils to the hair and skin. When used daily Hair Moisturizer helps to control dandruff, keeps manes and tails free of tangles and gives the hair coat a healthy, glistening shine.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Hair Moisturizer is rated 4.8235 out of 5 by 119.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Summer Frazel & Itchy Face are gone! I was looking to buy a different product, but saw that this moisturizer had better reviews, so I decided to try it. Wow! I am so happy I did.My mare had "summer face". It was itchy, due to sweat & heat. I have left the fly mask off this year, to try and prevent it, but to no avail. I applied the Hair Moisturizer with a soft rag. It cleaned up the face & now my mare begs me to apply it. She has no more itchy face!Next I used it on her mane. Instantly it took away the frazeled fried look. I apply it everyday with a spray bottle before combing it through. The mane & tail are more manageable, and looks conditioned. I also spray it on her coat and rub it in with a rag. Her coat looks sleek (NOT SLICK) and she doesn't look sun bleached out. I think she's the prettiest thing at the barn!
    Date published: 2012-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product: works and smells good I was hesitant to try yet another product to help with getting the coat clean and shiny as well as helping with dandruff but without making it slippery and have build-up. I like the fact that this needs to be mixed so you can vary the strength yourself if need be. This product has surpassed my expectations. I spray it on before I groom, during I groom or just as a finishing touch. On the horse or on the brush - it works well. Love the scent too, not too flowery for a gelding but fresh and clean.
    Date published: 2012-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT STUFF! Love this stuff to use when grooming. And also that it's concentrated, so it lasts a long time. I can't see any reason NOT to have this in your grooming bag/bucket
    Date published: 2012-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Best coat conditioner around. Keeps my horses coats healthy even with all the time they spend in the wash racks. It is a winner for my crew!
    Date published: 2012-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite hair product This product moisturizes hair without leaving a residue. It makes my horses coat soft and shiny. Lanolin is great for skin and hair. I spray him down and then rub it in with a towel. That way it makes my fingernails grow too:)
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than Show Sheen! I used Show Sheen on my horse's tail for years until someone pointed out that the chemicals in it suffocate the hair. It made perfect sense to me, so I stopped using it and began to look for an alternative. Healthy Hair works just as well as a detangler, but with the added benefit of actually being healthy for the hair. I haven't used it for long, but am 100% satisfied so far!
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Already seeing a difference! I have been using this on my mare's mane and tail consistently as well as on her coat occasionally. I have already noticed a BIG difference in her mane. The hair in her mane is much thicker and healthier. Her tail is also improving, and is easier to detangle without as much breakage. I am hoping her tail comes in a little thicker, but I think that will take some more time. This product is great because you don't have to use much and it smells good and works really well. No drying!
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic My grey Hanoverian/TB mare has a fragile, hard-to-grow tail, a trait typical of greys. I was looking for something that would help strengthen her tail, while making it easy to brush. This stuff works! A healthier tail grows faster, longer, and thicker. Give it about 2 months to see a difference, but there will definitely be a marked improvement!
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this stuff! I have used this mousturizer for all of my horses for several years. I have a pony with thin hair, an arabian cross with long flowing hair, and a draft with thick curly hair. It works wonderfully for all of them. Even if I do not have time to run a comb through their hair I spray it on daily. As long as I do it at least every other day, even my draft horse's tail is easy to brush. It takes me at least 10 minutes just to do her tail if I don't use it. It keeps the hair soft without making it greasy or waying it down with product. I will never use anything else. Not only that, but because it has to be diluted 1/8 it lasts awhile.
    Date published: 2012-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a Shine! Purchased this for my bay/black friesian cross and couldn't be happier, I only wish I had got it sooner. Her coat was dull and she had "winter dust". I mixed up a bottle and after the first use I couldn't believe the difference. I love how her mane and tail look after grooming. You won't be disappointed with this purchase.
    Date published: 2012-05-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from good for tails, not for body I did very much like this product for my gray mare's tail. I diluted it in a bucket, according to the directions, and then just sloshed her just-washed tail around in it, and let it soak for a few minutes. I then used a sponge and rubbed the remainder of it on her coat. As she dried in crossties she did feel very, very soft. BUT, day-to-day dirt STICKS to the oil/moisturizer. The next day my light gray mare was *brown* and brushing didn't help at all. Only a full bath got her sparkling again. I will continue to use this on my horses' tails, but it will not touch their bodies.
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really great moisturizer I love this stuff for the tail especially. Mix it with some water, and spray on a wet tail after really washing it well. I swear it makes the tail grow! So great!
    Date published: 2012-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great protection and shine I used this on my Appy's tail and body (she got her sire's pure Appaloosa/non-existent tail) and it was the only product that nourished the strands enough so it could grow out. Eventually I had a tail dragging on the ground that I had to trim! I use this on my bay TB as well. It prevents that orange split-end look they get at the ends of their tail.
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite barn secret! Yes, it smells good (all the ladies in the barn know when I am grooming my horse). At the shows, my trainer even steals my bottle. You need to know how to mix this stuff. It can be messy (it never ships well, that is about my only complaint). It seems like an oily mess but when you have the correct ratio of water to product & in the proper container/applicator it ROCKS! I have used it to take out dread locks, knots, matted tails. I mostly use it to smooth my mares mane & tail and to calm the fizzies. I would not use it on the saddle area.
    Date published: 2012-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best smelling hair product Healthy Hair Care works great as a daily spray to condition your horse's coat, mane and tail. It works especially well after body clipping to minimize itchiness.
    Date published: 2012-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Winter dandruff We clip my mare every winter and this product help keeps her skin hydrated in the cold, dry weather. She still gets a bit flaky, but it is much better with using this product. In addition, this product goes a very long way!!
    Date published: 2012-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Staple Grooming Product I was introduced to this product over seven years ago, and have not been without it since. It is super easy to spray over the entire horse, and helps minimizes dander, especially in the winters. It always helps my horses coat looking shiny, soft and healthy, people have asked what my secret is and I tell them this! Super affordable, well worth it, you cannot beat the price. A great product, highly recommended.
    Date published: 2012-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have Product I have used this product for at least five years and am never without it. It does a great job on tangles and smells great. Your horse's mane and tail will look shiny and beautiful if you use this product. Another bonus is that it is concentrated so you can make lots of sprayer bottles full of it. A great value. Also, Horse Journal Magazine rated it very high.
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product this is a great product will make your horse shine and keep the dirt off of them
    Date published: 2012-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST MOISTURIZER EVER!!! I bought this for my horse, since he was having some dry skin problems. I saw results right away. I use it every time I groom my horse, and since he is a "mud lover" this stuff takes it right out. Every time I'm done using it on him, he looks nice and clean, shiny, and he smells extremly good. I get compliments on him all the time. People tell me that he looks so shiny, and that he does smell wonderful. I can actually smell it while riding him, and it is a nice soothing, but refreshing smell. You won't be disapointed with this.
    Date published: 2011-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product A great value because you can dilute it. It doesn't have a oily residue, but it still makes removing tangles and burrs easy. It also doesn't seem to leave a gummy feeling, which means it doesn't attract more dirt! Yea!
    Date published: 2011-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This is the 2nd time to purchase. I have used mainly on my horse's tail to strengthen hair and get it to grow. Works well and smells good. Lasts a long time. Well worth the money - good price.
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from tried everything else This product really worked for my horse.For no reason that I could determine her tail hair started to break off especially near the base of the tail. She did not have sweet itch or any other problem. I tried washing with dandruff shampoo(vet recommended), used all the brand name conditioners- nothing stopped the breakage until I tried this product. It is very concentrated so mixed at the correct dilution it lasts a long time. I use it before and after I ride every day. Nice fresh smell and it goes on light. Her tail looks fuller after its sprayed-not weighted down and greasy like with some conditioners. I don't find that it attracts dirt or dust. I am on my second bottle and plan on continuing to use it to keep the tail moisturized.
    Date published: 2011-10-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smells Good! I got this for my itchy Arab and now use it on my Fox Trotter as well just because it smells so nice and gives a pretty shine. Yum! Comes in concentrate; dilutes 1:7 with water so it's a great value and easy to apply from a spray bottle. Can't quite tell how much it helped with the Arab's itchy shoulders as I changed several things at once but I will continue to use it.
    Date published: 2011-09-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the money! I purchased this a few years ago instead of using Santa Fe conditioner since that was too expensive. It works pretty well and you get around 6-8 refills per bottle! I started using this on my new horse last year because his tail had been cut really short. After about 6 months his tail was much longer!
    Date published: 2011-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff I have used this stuff since I was a little kid. I smells so good and works wonders. Its not a super great detanlger but it does moisturize. I use on full body dry or wet. I appy heavily to the tails to prevent breakage. I usually combine with showsheen or laser sheen to detangle. My mare rubs her tail a lot and this helps to minimize damage. I also use it it on my hound dog too whenever he gets dry skin!
    Date published: 2011-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Product I am an experimenter by nature and have tried a LOT of different products, but this one is my favorite. My bay mare has never had skin problems per say but the hot dry summer started to take its toll on her causing dry flakey, itchy skin, especially on her face . I found this stuff and started spraying her all over (face, body, mane/tail) everyday and use my softest brush to brush into the hair. Several weeks later...what a difference! She looks, feels, and SMELLS great. Get lots of compliments. No need for a detangler now :) She is one of the few at the barn with no signs of this rediculously hot summer.
    Date published: 2011-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyday Conditioner I love this stuff! I use it as an all over conditioner and as a deeper conditioner for detangling. It doesn't leave any residue and leaves my horses soft and shiny. One of my horses has pretty sensitive skin and has done very well with it. I highly reccomend it as it is economical and effective.
    Date published: 2011-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells good and helps prevent breakage As a former Appaloosa owner, I had tail issues to deal with! IE. my mare had about 20 strands of hair for a tail, so I had to prevent breakage of what little I had to work with. Another Appy owner suggested I use this, and sure enough (along with putting MTG on her tail bone once a week) in a matter of 3 months I had to trim tail that was almost dragging on the ground. It also keeps tangles away and increases overall shine. I just sprayed her whole body and she looked and smelled great. I also use this product on my bay Thoroughbred to avoid that orange-tipped, dry tail look.
    Date published: 2011-08-17
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.