Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Healthy HairCare Hair Moisturizer™

Item #10233
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Healthy HairCare Hair Moisturizer™ for manes, tails and coats is a therapeutic lanolin enriched concentrate that assists in replacing vital oils to the hair and skin.

Favorite Features

  • Daily use helps to control dandruff and dry skin.
  • Great for help with blanket rubs, mane and tail itching.
  • You will cut grooming time in half while promoting healthy coats, manes and tails.
  • Concentrated · Economical · Affordable

Sizing It Up

Available Sizes: 16 oz.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Healthy HairCare Hair Moisturizer™ is rated 4.8273 out of 5 by 139.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super value for leave-on conditioner! I really love this product for helping to keep my horse's coat nice and soft. The product is super concentrated (cut one part to eight parts water) so a little goes a long way. One of the best values out there for grooming products! Smells nice too.
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great on manes and tails I mix this up and put it in a squeeze bottle. I apply it in squirts to dry or tangled areas and just brush through. Keeps the hair supple and lasts for days. No resdue is left too.
    Date published: 2013-04-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from ok product This product works ok, but I was really looking for more of a cream rinse.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works We keep this in the barn to use on tails. It keeps the tails shiny and tangle free.
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Moisturizer Adds a great shine to your horses coat and smells great too!
    Date published: 2013-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth as silk! I recently purchased a new BFF--Playful Alibi. Al has had a long history of rubbing his tail--breaking hairs and making a mess. I purchased this product to help control the flaky skin and itch. It has worked wonderfully on his entire tail. It is soft, smooth and virtually tangle-free! The flakes are gone and the hair is growing back. I spray Al's tail about 4 times per week. He not only looks great--he smells great, too! Love this product.
    Date published: 2012-11-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for the thick, mediocre for the thin Having used this on a number of horses i have a mixed opinion. On my friesian this is a great value. Her hair is long, thick and hard to tame. Considering how quickly we go through detanglers and moisturizers with her this is perfect.On my quarter mare and gelding they are more fine haired and for detangling i prefer cowboy magic which i can use in small amounts (as opposed to the friesian who absorbs a whole bottle).If you're looking for something that is going to keep the mane and tail conditioned and promote growth, MTG is second to none. It smells, its greasy on your hands and i waited until i tried everything else before trying it. As much as i dislike handling it i love what it does for the mane and tail.
    Date published: 2012-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This stuff is nice for manes and tails. It has therapeutic benefits that strengthening the hair and keep it from breaking off, it also makes it nice and silky and less likely to tangle. I wouldnt use it on the body because it does attract dust and is a bit oily because of the lanolin, but lanolin is great for dryness, skin or hair.
    Date published: 2012-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Tail!! My trainer didn't like how my OTTB's tail looked (thin and short) she recommended using this mixed with infusiun 23 leave in conditioner and MTG -- now it looks GREAT!
    Date published: 2012-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Conditioner! I love this conditioner for my horse's mane and tail. It lasts a long time and keeps his hair soft and in top condition. I would highly recommend it.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Barn Staple I spray this on my horses every day before I brush them. It is awesome for maintaining any coat, and it is crucial when they're bodyclipped.
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BARGAIN & it works too! I love this stuff and plan to buy it again and again. I bought it looking to try something to condition my new mare's very rough mane and tail hair. A friend at the barn suggested this and it was reasonably priced. Well, it's better than that - a bargain! This bottle makes a gallon of spray you can use since this is a concentrate that you're buying - way better priced than all the other stuff out there. But the selling point was that after a week or so, I started to notice (slowly) that my mare's hair was getting softer and healthier. I've kept using this and now her mane and tail hair is nice and easy to work with - not sharp and coarse. I've also used this on her body and it does not seem to create a slippery effect so it has been nice to use and not worry if I'm riding before or after I spray, etc. Good product, good choice SmartPak.
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have!! I've been using this moisturizer for years. It really does make the coat healthier and shinier. It is hands down the best thing out there for daily conditioning and it's so cheap that you can use it every day without breaking your budget! One bottle goes a looooong way since you dilute it with water. However, it is not great for showing. Warning.. it will attract dust! The silicone sprays are the best for repelling dust and getting a show day shine, but they aren't healthy for the hair.. so use this every day, and use something else on show day!
    Date published: 2012-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff I have tried every hair product, humane and equine, and this is hands down the best. It is economical because you mix it and don't use it full strength, and it leaves my horse's tail soft and tangle free and he has a difficult tail, very thick or sort of wirey. I highly recommend this product. Smells nice too.
    Date published: 2012-09-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good stuff, but not what I was hoping for I think my expectations were a little too high at the outset. I was hoping this stuff would work as well or better than the more expensive sprays I'd been using (we go through it like water). Three of our horses have very long, very pretty, very easily tangled manes, so I was hoping to pinch a penny (or ten) this way.It smells wonderful and works about the same for basic brushing, but sadly did not do as well as my regular spray for preventing those terrible tangles.
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Summer Frazel & Itchy Face are gone! I was looking to buy a different product, but saw that this moisturizer had better reviews, so I decided to try it. Wow! I am so happy I did.My mare had "summer face". It was itchy, due to sweat & heat. I have left the fly mask off this year, to try and prevent it, but to no avail. I applied the Hair Moisturizer with a soft rag. It cleaned up the face & now my mare begs me to apply it. She has no more itchy face!Next I used it on her mane. Instantly it took away the frazeled fried look. I apply it everyday with a spray bottle before combing it through. The mane & tail are more manageable, and looks conditioned. I also spray it on her coat and rub it in with a rag. Her coat looks sleek (NOT SLICK) and she doesn't look sun bleached out. I think she's the prettiest thing at the barn!
    Date published: 2012-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product: works and smells good I was hesitant to try yet another product to help with getting the coat clean and shiny as well as helping with dandruff but without making it slippery and have build-up. I like the fact that this needs to be mixed so you can vary the strength yourself if need be. This product has surpassed my expectations. I spray it on before I groom, during I groom or just as a finishing touch. On the horse or on the brush - it works well. Love the scent too, not too flowery for a gelding but fresh and clean.
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT STUFF! Love this stuff to use when grooming. And also that it's concentrated, so it lasts a long time. I can't see any reason NOT to have this in your grooming bag/bucket
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Best coat conditioner around. Keeps my horses coats healthy even with all the time they spend in the wash racks. It is a winner for my crew!
    Date published: 2012-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite hair product This product moisturizes hair without leaving a residue. It makes my horses coat soft and shiny. Lanolin is great for skin and hair. I spray him down and then rub it in with a towel. That way it makes my fingernails grow too:)
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than Show Sheen! I used Show Sheen on my horse's tail for years until someone pointed out that the chemicals in it suffocate the hair. It made perfect sense to me, so I stopped using it and began to look for an alternative. Healthy Hair works just as well as a detangler, but with the added benefit of actually being healthy for the hair. I haven't used it for long, but am 100% satisfied so far!
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Already seeing a difference! I have been using this on my mare's mane and tail consistently as well as on her coat occasionally. I have already noticed a BIG difference in her mane. The hair in her mane is much thicker and healthier. Her tail is also improving, and is easier to detangle without as much breakage. I am hoping her tail comes in a little thicker, but I think that will take some more time. This product is great because you don't have to use much and it smells good and works really well. No drying!
    Date published: 2012-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic My grey Hanoverian/TB mare has a fragile, hard-to-grow tail, a trait typical of greys. I was looking for something that would help strengthen her tail, while making it easy to brush. This stuff works! A healthier tail grows faster, longer, and thicker. Give it about 2 months to see a difference, but there will definitely be a marked improvement!
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this stuff! I have used this mousturizer for all of my horses for several years. I have a pony with thin hair, an arabian cross with long flowing hair, and a draft with thick curly hair. It works wonderfully for all of them. Even if I do not have time to run a comb through their hair I spray it on daily. As long as I do it at least every other day, even my draft horse's tail is easy to brush. It takes me at least 10 minutes just to do her tail if I don't use it. It keeps the hair soft without making it greasy or waying it down with product. I will never use anything else. Not only that, but because it has to be diluted 1/8 it lasts awhile.
    Date published: 2012-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a Shine! Purchased this for my bay/black friesian cross and couldn't be happier, I only wish I had got it sooner. Her coat was dull and she had "winter dust". I mixed up a bottle and after the first use I couldn't believe the difference. I love how her mane and tail look after grooming. You won't be disappointed with this purchase.
    Date published: 2012-05-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from good for tails, not for body I did very much like this product for my gray mare's tail. I diluted it in a bucket, according to the directions, and then just sloshed her just-washed tail around in it, and let it soak for a few minutes. I then used a sponge and rubbed the remainder of it on her coat. As she dried in crossties she did feel very, very soft. BUT, day-to-day dirt STICKS to the oil/moisturizer. The next day my light gray mare was *brown* and brushing didn't help at all. Only a full bath got her sparkling again. I will continue to use this on my horses' tails, but it will not touch their bodies.
    Date published: 2012-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really great moisturizer I love this stuff for the tail especially. Mix it with some water, and spray on a wet tail after really washing it well. I swear it makes the tail grow! So great!
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great protection and shine I used this on my Appy's tail and body (she got her sire's pure Appaloosa/non-existent tail) and it was the only product that nourished the strands enough so it could grow out. Eventually I had a tail dragging on the ground that I had to trim! I use this on my bay TB as well. It prevents that orange split-end look they get at the ends of their tail.
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite barn secret! Yes, it smells good (all the ladies in the barn know when I am grooming my horse). At the shows, my trainer even steals my bottle. You need to know how to mix this stuff. It can be messy (it never ships well, that is about my only complaint). It seems like an oily mess but when you have the correct ratio of water to product & in the proper container/applicator it ROCKS! I have used it to take out dread locks, knots, matted tails. I mostly use it to smooth my mares mane & tail and to calm the fizzies. I would not use it on the saddle area.
    Date published: 2012-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best smelling hair product Healthy Hair Care works great as a daily spray to condition your horse's coat, mane and tail. It works especially well after body clipping to minimize itchiness.
    Date published: 2012-03-29
    • 2015-03-04T08:23CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_125
    • loc_en_US, sid_233, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.