Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Hair Moisturizer

Item #10233

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

A Hair Moisturizer that assists in replacing vital oils to the hair and skin. When used daily Hair Moisturizer helps to control dandruff, keeps manes and tails free of tangles and gives the hair coat a healthy, glistening shine.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Hair Moisturizer is rated 4.8235 out of 5 by 119.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use this for everything! It's wonderful! I first was introduced to this product when working at a foxhunting barn--the horses skin often got irritated from being clipped so often and this product not only helped with the irritation but brought the shine back to their dull-looking coats after being clipped. I started using it on my own horse for both show and everyday use. She suffers from a lot of skin allergy issues in the summer and this keeps her coat and skin healthy all summer long (although I do use it year round!)You barely need any of the concentrate to make a big spray bottle of it, so it's a great value too. I bought a bottle over a year ago and just ran out now and I use it VERY liberally.
    Date published: 2013-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go-to product for post body clip baths This really helps bring out the shine on my horse's coat after body clipping. After clipping I like to bathe her, then dilute this with water and sponge it over her body. Also works great diluted in a spraybottle for winter tail static.
    Date published: 2013-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must-Have product I have been using Health Haircare products (aka "The Pink Stuff") since the 90's, on everything from high end show horses to backyard trail horses. Coats are soft and shiny with regular use in my grooming routine, plus extra applications to just washed horses to help with mane & tail detangling. Helps my sensitive skinned, dandruff-prone horse stay itch and flake free, too.
    Date published: 2013-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT PRODUCT! I bought this hair moisturizer for a special purpose. My horse likes to roll in parts of her pasture where there are cockleburs that have not been completely destroyed yet. These plants are torturous on manes and tails of horses and time consuming to remove them. I use this product straight from the bottle without diluting it and it helps with keeping these horrible plants from ruining her mane and tail and they are a lot easier to remove. I have not diluted it and used it on her body so I can't comment on that but it does not leave the mane and tail gummy but soft and shiny.
    Date published: 2013-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! THE BEST grooming product ever! Living in swampy Florida, my mare will try to rub off every inch of hair trying to get relief from her itchy summer skin. This year I used this product consistently with every grooming and her coat looks fabulous! Soft, shiny, and beautiful. It's so economical too! (How many horse related products can you really ever say that about?!)
    Date published: 2013-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite for mane and tail care I've been using this product on manes and tails for years and I love it. Leaves the hair feeling (and smelling) WAY better then Show Sheen or other silicone products (not to mention my hands). Also, I don't notice my horses rubbing their manes or tails when I use this product regularly.
    Date published: 2013-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product, Use Every Day! I love the Healthy Hair Moisturizer. I first became aware of it at a trainer's barn when they used it on the horses after work. They would spray it on them and put a cooler on them for a spa treatment. In warmer weather it would just be sprayed on. I started to use it also to replenish the oils in the coat after I had hosed my horses off after working them, and also after bathing them. It's a good value since it's concentrated, and seems to last a long time. I only use it on the body, since it's lanolin based, it's really not great for the mane and tail. I love the soft sheen it leaves on the horses without being slippery.
    Date published: 2013-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value Like this. NO SILICONE. Leaves mane and tail soft and silky, not brittle. (NO SILICONE.) Works best on clean hair. Smells nice. Economical: $12.95 bottle makes one gallon.
    Date published: 2013-08-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value Like this. Use it every day. NO SILICONE. Leaves hair soft and silky, not brittle. (NO SILICONE.) Smells nice. Good value: $12.95 bottle makes one gallon.
    Date published: 2013-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Product We've been using this for years and it is a great product. Very cost effective as the bottle is a concentrate and makes a gallon of hair conditioner. Great for detangling manes & tails and moisturizes dry skin.
    Date published: 2013-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product This hair moisturizer works great. We have several horses who suffer terribly in the summer. Our halflingers and draft-cross breeds get hideous mane/tail dandruff when the heat increases, but a healthy spritz of this hair moisturizer at the base several times a week has put a stop to that. We have also used this successfully on several rescue horses who suffered substantial hair loss due to poor living conditions & nutrition. As we upped their nutrition we also used this for grooming - I cannot tell you how many comments we have had on their gleaming coats!
    Date published: 2013-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super value for leave-on conditioner! I really love this product for helping to keep my horse's coat nice and soft. The product is super concentrated (cut one part to eight parts water) so a little goes a long way. One of the best values out there for grooming products! Smells nice too.
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great on manes and tails I mix this up and put it in a squeeze bottle. I apply it in squirts to dry or tangled areas and just brush through. Keeps the hair supple and lasts for days. No resdue is left too.
    Date published: 2013-04-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from ok product This product works ok, but I was really looking for more of a cream rinse.
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works We keep this in the barn to use on tails. It keeps the tails shiny and tangle free.
    Date published: 2013-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Moisturizer Adds a great shine to your horses coat and smells great too!
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth as silk! I recently purchased a new BFF--Playful Alibi. Al has had a long history of rubbing his tail--breaking hairs and making a mess. I purchased this product to help control the flaky skin and itch. It has worked wonderfully on his entire tail. It is soft, smooth and virtually tangle-free! The flakes are gone and the hair is growing back. I spray Al's tail about 4 times per week. He not only looks great--he smells great, too! Love this product.
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for the thick, mediocre for the thin Having used this on a number of horses i have a mixed opinion. On my friesian this is a great value. Her hair is long, thick and hard to tame. Considering how quickly we go through detanglers and moisturizers with her this is perfect.On my quarter mare and gelding they are more fine haired and for detangling i prefer cowboy magic which i can use in small amounts (as opposed to the friesian who absorbs a whole bottle).If you're looking for something that is going to keep the mane and tail conditioned and promote growth, MTG is second to none. It smells, its greasy on your hands and i waited until i tried everything else before trying it. As much as i dislike handling it i love what it does for the mane and tail.
    Date published: 2012-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This stuff is nice for manes and tails. It has therapeutic benefits that strengthening the hair and keep it from breaking off, it also makes it nice and silky and less likely to tangle. I wouldnt use it on the body because it does attract dust and is a bit oily because of the lanolin, but lanolin is great for dryness, skin or hair.
    Date published: 2012-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Tail!! My trainer didn't like how my OTTB's tail looked (thin and short) she recommended using this mixed with infusiun 23 leave in conditioner and MTG -- now it looks GREAT!
    Date published: 2012-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Conditioner! I love this conditioner for my horse's mane and tail. It lasts a long time and keeps his hair soft and in top condition. I would highly recommend it.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Barn Staple I spray this on my horses every day before I brush them. It is awesome for maintaining any coat, and it is crucial when they're bodyclipped.
    Date published: 2012-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BARGAIN & it works too! I love this stuff and plan to buy it again and again. I bought it looking to try something to condition my new mare's very rough mane and tail hair. A friend at the barn suggested this and it was reasonably priced. Well, it's better than that - a bargain! This bottle makes a gallon of spray you can use since this is a concentrate that you're buying - way better priced than all the other stuff out there. But the selling point was that after a week or so, I started to notice (slowly) that my mare's hair was getting softer and healthier. I've kept using this and now her mane and tail hair is nice and easy to work with - not sharp and coarse. I've also used this on her body and it does not seem to create a slippery effect so it has been nice to use and not worry if I'm riding before or after I spray, etc. Good product, good choice SmartPak.
    Date published: 2012-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have!! I've been using this moisturizer for years. It really does make the coat healthier and shinier. It is hands down the best thing out there for daily conditioning and it's so cheap that you can use it every day without breaking your budget! One bottle goes a looooong way since you dilute it with water. However, it is not great for showing. Warning.. it will attract dust! The silicone sprays are the best for repelling dust and getting a show day shine, but they aren't healthy for the hair.. so use this every day, and use something else on show day!
    Date published: 2012-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff I have tried every hair product, humane and equine, and this is hands down the best. It is economical because you mix it and don't use it full strength, and it leaves my horse's tail soft and tangle free and he has a difficult tail, very thick or sort of wirey. I highly recommend this product. Smells nice too.
    Date published: 2012-09-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good stuff, but not what I was hoping for I think my expectations were a little too high at the outset. I was hoping this stuff would work as well or better than the more expensive sprays I'd been using (we go through it like water). Three of our horses have very long, very pretty, very easily tangled manes, so I was hoping to pinch a penny (or ten) this way.It smells wonderful and works about the same for basic brushing, but sadly did not do as well as my regular spray for preventing those terrible tangles.
    Date published: 2012-09-05
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.