Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Rambo Protector

Horseware Ireland
- Item #12314
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Super-Soft, lightweight, and breathable, the Rambo Protector fly sheet will help to keep flies off of your horse in the summer. This fly sheet features a strong mesh to withstand a horse that is tough on his blankets while keeping him comfortable and cool.

Favorite Features 

  • Soft but strong Polyester/Polypropylene mesh outer
  • Ultra breathable
  • Shoulder liner
  • Patented leg arches & 3rd surcingle
  • Patented 'V' front closure
  • Supersized tail flap
  • 95% UV protection
  • Removable neck cover with mane liner included

Sizing It Up

To find out what size blanket your horse needs, measure the distance from the center of the chest to the center of the tail and subtract 4 inches. 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo Protector is rated 4.51 out of 5 by 100.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Summer of the Bugs! This is the third sheet I have bought in the last two years and the first to hold up, fit and be comfortable for the horse too.
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice fly sheet, but a bit pricey. I ordered this fly sheet in a 75 for my horse that wears a 78 in American-made clothing. It fit him well everywhere but in the length. It is way too long. I would have just exchanged it for a 72, but those were all sold out. Unfortunately I have to return it. I would definitely buy this sheet again, I would just try to get more information about the fit before ordering. I really liked the material and how everything else fit.
    Date published: 2011-07-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Talk to Someone who has one before you buy! My horse has already rubbed a lot with this sheet on and it has held up perfectly! The fit is ok...my horse has a Rhino sheet and blanket that are a 72 and they fit her perfect but this sheet is big on her but it works. Also it doesn't clean up that well and is a bit pricey but it does do it's intended job well.
    Date published: 2011-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the $$$ Outstanding product. Very durable, fits great - the hardware and the material is best quality and holds up to daily turnout even in the blistering Southwestern sun. I did have to remove the tail flap because it was rubbing off the top of the tail. Smart Pak delivers the very best service of any of the on-line horse care companies. Thank you
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, great value I got this for my draft cross, and it fits perfectly. It's easy to wash, and he looks great in it. It is definitely worth it to spend a little more for this great quality fly sheet.
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fly sheet or coverall This is a fine product and fits my horse well; however, I thought I was buying something with an added repellent against flies, so it was disappointing that while it covers, it does not repel. It is lightweight, breathable, and not overly burdensome to my horse, an older mare that has developed a fierce allergy to some kind of early season biting insect.
    Date published: 2011-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'd buy it again I bought the Amigo Bug Buster; and then this year I bought the Rambo Protector. I must say they are both an excellent product for your horse. The only detail that I like better on the Rambo is the NECK IS LONGER and has a little more coverage. Hopefully, Amigo Bug Buster will get a longer neck on their product.
    Date published: 2011-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why do they call it "Rambo"? I'll tell you why, because it is a tough, well made horse resistant product that does the job. My horses are on pasture 12 or more hours per day. One bleaches badly and the other, a black and white paint, sunburns. The Rambo protector is 95% UV resistant and its integral neck rug eliminates the need to wrestle with a two-piece sheet and neck rug. We live near a cattle farm and so have an on going battle with flies. This sheet offers excellent fly protection. My horses almost sigh with relief when I put their sheets on each day.Most sheets degrade badly during a season's hard use but not the Rambo sheet. One of our horses is on its second season with her Rambo and the sheet itself, hardware, straps and velcro fasteners are as good as the day it was delivered.Equally important is the fit, which it does well, and so prevents chafing, hair coat and mane damageWhile this sheet is a little pricey I think you usually get what you pay for and in this case the Rambo Protector has been and remains worth every penny.
    Date published: 2011-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The regular Rambos do not usually fit my warmblood cross - this fly sheet is GREAT! It fits him with plenty of room and plenty of protection. I cannot say enough about it. If you have a horse and don't have a fly sheet, you need to buy this one!
    Date published: 2010-07-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the coverage, but not made so well At first I was ecstatic about this fly sheet because it provided complete coverage over my horse. But my happiness ended on day 2 when he came in with a 2-inch rip on the hip. Pasture buddy was wearing a grazing muzzle, so I'm not sure how it happened. On the upside, this sheet is not rubbing his shoulders or his mane, but the very long tail protector is damaging the top hair of his tail. I may end up having to cut the tail guard off.Overall, I wish it had normal rear leg straps and some nylon lining on the tail guard to keep the hair smooth. Oh, and more indestructible fabric. Then it would be perfect.
    Date published: 2010-07-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice fit, but not durable I bought this sheet because I like how amigo blankets fit my horse and the reviews indicated the rambo was more durable than the amigo. I'm sorry to say that I am disappointed in the quality of this sheet. After 48 hours, there is a hole in the sheet where it has torn away from the binding and there are several snags in the material. I can tell my mare has been rubbing in it - there are grass stains and dirt all over, but a high end fly should be more durable than this!It is also warm. It was about 95 here today, and my mare was definitely sweating under the sheet.I do like the fit on this sheet - the neck does not droop down, it wraps around to cover her belly, and it does not sit right on the bony part of her withers.If you need a really durable sheet, and one that keeps your horse cool. I do not recommend the Rambo - my Kensington lasted much longer before it got any holes (almost a whole summer!) and my mare did not sweat so much under it.
    Date published: 2010-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fly sheet this fly sheet is holding up very well so far and the fit is super!!!!!!
    Date published: 2010-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FINALLY a tough sheet! I think I have finally found a sheet that my girl will not destroy within days. It is holding up very well in turnout pastures which includes timber. Usually sheets die quickly, even buying other expensive sheets, I average 3 per summer. From other reviews I was concerned about fit, but this fits her fine (very broad chested, full bodied horse). My only dislike was that the belly band didn't fit around her barrel and was only a fabric wrap, dependent on the surcingles to keep it in place. I modified that area immediately, adding additional material (from a previously scraped fly sheet), with velcro to help hold it in place. The belly on my mare is particularly sensitive.
    Date published: 2010-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish I'd Tried This First I turned away from this bug sheet since the mesh is like those of fly masks. I opted for softer fly sheets like the Bugbuster. They quickly ripped and the neck covers would lose shape and pool around the lower neck. The Protector doesn't lose shape and doesn't rip. It also doesn't chafe the way I thought it might. I wish I'd saved my money and bought this sheet first.
    Date published: 2010-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bug Free Wonderful product. Purchased a size smaller than usual and the fit worked well. Keeps the bugs off and doesn't wear the hair away!
    Date published: 2010-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to clean The Rambo Protector is easy to hose down and hand dry! The fabric is heavier than the lightweight white fabric that so many fly sheets are made of and is much more airy. However, it also isn't too stiff and fits just like my other Rambos.
    Date published: 2010-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great sheet but fit is very odd. This sheet is the perfect weight - not too heavy, not too thin. It's very breathable and my horses barely sweat in these. However, the fit is very *odd.* They're both Arabs that wear 69s or 70s in just about every brand but I had to buy 72s in the Rambo Protector in order to get the chest to fit. It's like the chest is cut too skimpy for the rest of the blanket. But the sheets come out of the washing machine looking brand new and after 2 seasons of constant use and washings, I'm very impressed at the durability. The light color doesn't absorb too much heat, the sheets do not slip back or to the sides either. If they could fix that weird shoulder fit, these would be perfect and I'd buy them for my other horses.
    Date published: 2010-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable fly sheet- stands up to punishment I tried several other less expensive fly sheets and my mare destoyed them all within a few days. I have used the Rambo Protector for the last two seasons with excellent results. This sheet fits well and stays where it is supposed to- I will be hard pressed to use anything else from now on.
    Date published: 2009-11-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great choice I am very impressed with this sheet. I bought it for a Morgan and it fits him really well. The only critique I have is that it was too long (intended for a taller horse?) and I had it shortened for safety. I would probably buy it again because I am otherwise very happy with it.
    Date published: 2009-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only Fly Sheet I Will Buy!! Unlike almost every other fly sheet out there the Rambo Protector actually does what is promised. It is made of a durable, lightweight, breathable fabric. I have had the same flysheet for years for my Thoroughbred who has rought pasture buddies and this fly sheet has held up great, there's not even one hole. I find that it keeps my horse cooler because he isn't stomping and running trying to get away from the flies. Also, he gets big bumps whenever he gets bit by a fly and this fly sheet helps prevent that. The fit is perfect and almost never shifts or slides around and never rubs. I will definately keep using this product.
    Date published: 2009-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made! This fly sheet is great! It is really nicely made and easy on and off! My only qualm is the back strap. it doesn't do a whole lot other than keeping the sheet from flying up in the wind. I really wish they had made the sheet with crossing leg straps to keep the back section closer around the legs. Because it is loos in the back, flies can still get up around the legs. I LOVE the protective belly part and velcro and clips in the front! Pricey, but I think overall it is well spent!
    Date published: 2009-07-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Excellent quality; awkward fit. I love Horseware products, and this is a very high quality fly sheet. It is very tough and durable, and stays in place nicely even on a very playful horse turned out all day/night.The fit, however, is odd. I bought a size 84 for my 17hh OTTB, and it is extremely tight across the chest, but HUGH on his hind end. The leg arches are well in front of his hind legs, but it just hangs off his butt!! He is a very typey (though large) TB, so I thought it would fit better. I actualy had to use a double-eye clip to make it fit his chest...Nevertheless, I've been very satisfied with the fly protection and the fact that it keeps him nice and cool even on the hottest of days. Only sweat on him is where the neck/body parts overlap .
    Date published: 2009-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly sheet on the market I have been using the Rambo portecotros on my ponies for 4 years now. I am on my second one this season. They have lasted 3 years of use. They don't rip and they hold their shape. I won't buy any other fly sheet. It may seem expensive to spend 150.00 for a fly sheet , but if it lasts 2-3years its worth it.
    Date published: 2009-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly sheet I have purchased. The blanket folds under the belly for great fly protection without seperate belly bands.
    Date published: 2009-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Strong I just purchased three of these for my big warmbloods. I am impressed with the quality of construction as well as the feeling of the material. It feels very strong. I bought size 87 for each of my kids. They range in height from 16.3 to 17.3h with almost identical measurements. I would say that these sheets run a bit large. All of my horses other blankets in various brands are sized 84 and too small. I purchased these thinking the 84 would be too small as well and these fly sheets are a bit large on them. I kept them anyways. The neck rugs are rather long (which is good) and provide ample room even for my gelding who is very large necked and base wide. There are no leg straps which is convenient. However, there is a strap on the tail. If the blanket runs a bit large or your horse doesn't lift it's tail enough your horse is likely to make a mess on the strap. Fortunately, the strap is removeable and not necessary to get a good fit/keep the sheet in place.
    Date published: 2009-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! I'm a fan of Rambo products all around, so it's no surprise that I'm really happy with the Protector as well. I do have to say one thing about them, though. They tend to run slightly small compared to the Rambo Wugs, as my gelding needed 1 size larger in the Protector than he did in the Wug.
    Date published: 2008-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just the Right Level of Protection There is nothing worse than a fly sheet that is too heavy; there is also nothing worse than a fly sheet that is too thin. The Rambo Protector is just the right level of protection against the flies and insects. My horse wasn't overheating and he also wasn't tearing through the sheet after 15 seconds of wear. I even threw it in the washing machine (on cold)! You can't beat that.
    Date published: 2006-08-03
    • 2015-03-03T07:42CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_95
    • loc_en_US, sid_2314, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.