Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Kensington Fly Boots

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12292
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Finally, fly boots that stay upright! Can be used to protect wounds, as a covering over leg wraps, and for added protection when shipping.

Favorite Features

  • Three VELCRO® Brand closures keep boot secure on leg
  • Heavy fleece to help prevent rubs
  • Nylon support piece for reinforcement and structure
  • Exclusive USA made 2002 TEXTILENE ® Mesh is specially formulated to withstand fading, fire, mildew, soiling and wear and tear 

Sizing It Up

Boots measure 15" high and 12" in circumference.
Pair.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kensington Fly Boots is rated 4.3187 out of 5 by 182.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more stomping! I bought these for my horse to wear in the corral during the day as he is always standing around, stamping his feet to keep the flies off. These boots are easy to put on, stay in place and most importantly, eliminate the stomping. A great purchase.
    Date published: 2011-09-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to put on and fit adjsutments are good. Have been using for maybe 2 months and the mesh fabric is starting to fray. Still serviceable but I wonder how much life they have left.
    Date published: 2011-09-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from terrable I purchased 2 paires of these boots, one for each horse. the right boot from each pair is torn apart at the seam
    Date published: 2011-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THESE! The Best out there! I moved my TB to Minnesota from California this summer and the bug situation was quite a shock to him. Consequently, he would stomp all day and I was worried he would make himself lame. I went to my local tack store and bought a 4 set of boots there which lasted a barely overnight. He is turned out in a paddock for part of the day and absolutely shredded these one and ripped some of the velcro tabs off. I was frustrated by this as they were about $35. I was hesitant to order the Kensington ones due to price but they are FABULOUS! He has had them on for 3 months now and not a single rip or tare! they stay up and protect his whole lower leg and fetlock! As the stay up the stay clean and the straps are super durable! Just great!
    Date published: 2011-09-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for outdoor horses I have these on all my horses. they don't stomp and thus don't get so much chipping on their hooves. Its definitely a must have for a barefoot horse that's outside 24/7. Ive never had a problem with them slumping or slouching, getting rubbed off, or torn. Ive had my pairs for years and they're still going strong as the day i bought them. Ive seen people put them on far too loose and have problems with them. make sure you put them on somewhat tight, and they overlap a little bit, or they're going to fall down.
    Date published: 2011-09-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helped immensely I bought these for my mare who had been suffering from hoof issues. It was imperative that she NOT stomp at flies. If she were to stomp, the quality of her hooves would have continued to deteriorate. When I kept these fly boots on her, she hardly stomped at all. I normally would just brush off the fleece to remove any sawdust or other debris. I have washed them once and hung them to dry which resulted in the boots losing their shape a little, but not enough to worry about. I would definitely recommend these fly boots.
    Date published: 2011-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More Stamping/Fly Spray These are the second set of boots we tried, the ones without multiple velcro just dropped to his ankles and got tore up. The velcro wraps to the outside, fleece top to prevent rubbing, and best of all they rinse out mud easily. Have worn them non-stop since delivery. Love them, will buy a back up set "just in case", well worth the cost!
    Date published: 2011-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly Recommend I have tried several different brands of flyboots - these by far are the best for durability, cost, and stay IN PLACE. I wont waste my money on any other brands now.
    Date published: 2011-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective :) I bought these after several friends and clients were satisfied with them. They really were relieving their horses from flies and stamping their front feet all the time. I ordered a pair for my client's Arabian mare (one of her two horses who will leave them on). Another pair I had been using did not have those effective vertical stiffeners. I put these on her horse upside down to the manufacturers suggestion. I do this as I feel they fit better and I see more benefit of the fleece around the pasterns. I firm the middle velcro strap above the fetlock joing to prevent sliding down, adjust the bottom one well but not tight, and the top band on the looser side. Another client has been using them this way and it is working well for her as well.
    Date published: 2011-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST fly leg wraps! I have used the Kensington fly leg wraps for several years. They last for at least 2 seasons, sometimes 3. They stay up well, no slipping down when put on correctly. I fasten the middle strap first, the bottom and then the top, with the straps fastening to the outside of the leg. They prevent stomping and loosened shoes because of the flies. I even leave them on when riding. Well worth the money and will save your horse some misery during fly season.
    Date published: 2011-08-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty happy Overall, they are better than the other fly wraps I have tried. I have four pairs and of those one of the pairs weave has stretched leaving a hole or two in the fabric. Also it is hard to gauge how tight the straps should be. Too loose they slip. Too tight they leave marks on legs.
    Date published: 2011-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love 'Em This is my 2nd pair if Kensington FlyBoots. The first pair are slightly beat up, but then again, they are 5 years old and worn day and night all Summer long. My gelding is really hard on everything and these last! I've recommended them to all my friends.
    Date published: 2011-08-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from They do the job! And look cute. I was worried these boots would come off as my horse likes to romp and roll around in the paddock, but they have stayed on. He is SO much happier and doesn't constantly stomp his front feet to get flies off. I was surprised to be able to reset my steel shoes rather than get new ones (like usual).
    Date published: 2011-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kensington FlyBoots I have been using the Kensington FlyBoots on my mare for a month. Where other flyboots would have slumped by now the Kensington boots continue to provide good coverage.
    Date published: 2011-08-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Know What You Are Buying These fly boots will not last long. They are flimsy and do not stay up as high as I would like them. Within a day, the fly boots did not stay up like the picture. They were a good 3 inches lower. On the good side, they do seem to work. Buy if you need something quickly and you cannot get anything else.
    Date published: 2011-08-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Long lasting I'm just replacing a pair that I've had for five years that had minor tears and one strap missing. These keep my horses from stamping their feet all summer. My only wish is that they stayed up for the entire day. Once they've been washed, they tend to collapse during the day so there is some leg exposed to flies by the end of the day.
    Date published: 2011-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Boots on the market! I have already recommended these fly boots to several friends. My thoroughbred is very hard on wraps, but his feet were suffering from the bug stomping. I ordered Cashel Crusaders first and sent them right back! Bought these boots and he has worn them on and off since and he hasn't even tried to remove them! No rubs, no sweating under them, and NO STOMPING! :) :) Worth every penny!
    Date published: 2011-08-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Came In Handy Bought these because my thin skinned Thoroughbred was being eaten alive by flies to the point of blood on her hooves. Then calamity jane threw a show and soon after suffered a puncture wound. The fit is a bit big but so far they've done the job and my restless & acrobatic mare hasn't gotten them off!
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would high recommend them. I don't notice my horse stomping flies anymore which is great, especially witht he poor quality foot she has.
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cause a reaction. My horse has had the same Kensington flymask for 4 years, with no issues. Decided to try the flyboots this year, however, after wearing them he developed a "contact reaction" and his front legs swelled up - *huge* edema. I'm not sure if something was changed in the way the material is made or . . ?They also leave small rubs (one spot on each fetlock).Let the rubs heal and washed the boots. My horse has been wearing them for limited amounts of time for a week now and seems to be doing ok.Boots stay up and look great.
    Date published: 2011-08-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from okaaaayyy I think the product is great; however my horse rips them off!!!
    Date published: 2011-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best fly boots Well worth the cost as it is very well made and durable. I tried the less expensive boots and they dropped and began to tear.
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty decent fly boots These boots are the better of the ones I have tried. They stay up well as long as you put them on nice and snug, but be sure to check the legs daily for rub marks. The only boots I like better than these are the Shoo Flys, but it looks like they may no longer be available which is the reason I bought these. My horses wear these daily for the last month or so and they are holding up really really well.
    Date published: 2011-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever These are the greatest boots ever! I love them not only for protection from flies, but also protection from the sun. My horse was diagnosed with photoaggravated vasculitis, and needs to have his legs protected from the sun. These boots stay put, and really do the job. They don't bother him like other boots I've tried. I highly recommend them to all.
    Date published: 2011-07-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay for what it is I would say these are average. I have an old TB who HATES flies. These are good for him--they stay on (once you figure out how tight they need to be) and seem to be durable so far. They are well-made but it would have been nice to get a set of 4 for the price. They fit my needs and expectations but I wouldn't buy them for all my horses.
    Date published: 2011-07-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps Alot My horse has a lot of white on her legs. The flies would irritate her so badly, her legs would bleed. No more stomping. What a relief.
    Date published: 2011-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps Flies Off I just got these and they do seem fine. After several hours though they slip down further and further. Additionally I didn't read the description close enough and only bought 1 pair. So be careful and get 2 sets if you want to cover all four legs!
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth the money I love these boots. I have been using them to help protect my heal my horses bed sores. He broke his other bed sore boots and I thought that these would do the trick. They have. Now when he falls in his stall the velcro comes undone instead of breaking. He was been able to get them off twice and they have with stood him and his neighbors chewing. Definitely worth the money.
    Date published: 2011-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product i have tried many fly boots in the past...living in florida we need them 7 months a year! the last ones i bought did not even last a season...meanwhile i had some old kensingtons that still work and fit...but are getting worn after 6 years...couldn't be happier with the new ones... i just wish i had more of them!
    Date published: 2011-05-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kensington fly boots Fit beautifully. Keeps the flies off. Keeps his legs clean and the flies off.
    Date published: 2011-05-14
    • 2015-03-01T07:38CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_18, tr_164
    • loc_en_US, sid_2292, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.