Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Kensington Fleece Fly Mask

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12290

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece Fly Mask is constructed of the innovative, extremely durable, fully breathable mesh Textilene® fabric. The mask design has double eye darts for maximum room around the eyes and added safety. Heavy duty double locking VELCRO® Brand Closure and elastic neck strap will ensure a correct fit and will keep the mask on and in place. The fleece around the nose and neck will keep your horse comfortable. Plus, it'll provide 73% UV protection.

Specify Small (Large Pony/Yearling), Medium (Arab/Cob), Large (Horse) or X-Large (Warmblood/Small Draft). Kensington Fleece Fly Masks run slightly large, so if you think your horse may be between sizes, please size down.

20% of our net profit on any SmartPink® Plaid item is donated to Breast Cancer Research.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Kensington Fleece Fly Mask is rated 4.7699 out of 5 by 113.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and stylish My horse is a small-ish warmblood (~15-2) with a very refined head. I initially bought the small, thinking that was for a small horse, but the box noted that it was "yearling" size, and it was way too small. Returning it was very easy. The medium was a better fit, although not much room for error. It looks great and seems very comfortable and durable.
    Date published: 2013-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Mask This is a very cute fly mask, and it was so affordable. It's also very well made. My mare loves it!
    Date published: 2013-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Fly Mask This is the best fitting fly mask my paint gelding has ever had. It also looks really nice on him. He has worn other brands but managed to lose them in short order. He has not gotten out of this one yet and it seems to be wearing well. I bought another one to keep on hand because I liked the first one so much.
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had originally bought this mask in a large, as the previous XL Kensington I bought was huge on my 18.2 guy. However, the XL fits him perfectly, and I love the cool purple color.
    Date published: 2013-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Keeper! The fly mask is durable, comfortable, and super cute! I ordered the SmartPink fly mask for my pony and have no regrets. It's a keeper!
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a fly mask my houdini can't escape My young Thoroughbred is the master of getting fly masks off his face - I've tried using zip ties, baling twine, duct tape, etc. to keep them on. Never makes it through his overnight turnout. Until the Kensington SmartPurple mask. The double velcro, combined with the elastic, keeps it in place. i can tell that he has been trying to rub it off, but it stays put. Hurray.
    Date published: 2013-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Fly Mask I bought this particular fly mask to match my fly sheet. It's very nice, fit is great and have only had it a couple weeks but surely seems to be durable. I would recommend this brand, plus same brand fly sheet has been the best! Going on two years of daily wear in Florida.
    Date published: 2013-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very tough mask I read the reviews by others that said these masks ran large so to order a size smaller than normal. My quarter horse has an arab shaped head, and he wears arab halters and fly masks in other brands, so I ordered the medium mask. It high-watered on him! After I exchanged it for a large, it fits great. I love that is has a little piece of elastic under the jaw so the mask won't be too tight yet will still hold firm to his head to keep bugs off of him. I used to use Farnam Supermasks, but after this, I will only buy Kensington. The mesh is a lot thicker and is standing up to daily wear much better than the Supermasks have in the past. I am very impressed with the durability and construction of it, and he has not lost it once!
    Date published: 2013-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Fly Mask This flymask is very nice. I have a Haflinger with a small head and usually wears a cob size but with this fly mask she wears a regular horse size. It's very nice and the pink is perfect for my mare.
    Date published: 2013-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good My horse wears an arab in the Farnam Super Mask, and based on other reviews, I ordered the medium in the Kensington, but it was way too small. I just got the large and he has worn it for 2 days so I can't rate the durability yet. I do love that it has an elastic panel on the throat latch-I really like that it flexes with him and it won't be too tight. It seems to be very well constructed, and the mesh seems thicker than the Super Mask. So far, I am happy, and the Smart Purple is a very striking color on my bay.
    Date published: 2013-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I'll definitely be purchasing this mask again (when I need to). I got the purple and it looks fantastic on my dark bay horse. It holds up well, but the horse next to mine isn't bad about grabbing onto his mask, so I can't attest for the durability given a much more mouthy stall/pasture mate. I personally think it runs a tad big. I have a thoroughbred and he does have a kind of small and delicate head (he wears horse-sized bridles, though) so I went with the medium and it fits great. I feel like the large would be way too big.
    Date published: 2013-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stylish fly mask My mare looks so stylish in this mask. It fits well. Looks great.
    Date published: 2013-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Plaid makes an ordinary item more fun My horse has uveitis, so he wears a fly mask whenever he goes outside or we ride, for UV protection. The plaid is a nice way to add some fun to an otherwise "ordinary" product. He is a 17+ hand TB with a pretty big head, so I ordered the Large. I found this runs true to size. If you're in doubt, though, and you're between sizes, I would size up.I give this a 4 overall, though, just because I wish there were two separate holes for the ears, instead of just one large opening at the top. With one large opening, he might eventually find a way to remove the mask. However, we haven't had any problems with slipping or removal yet.
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from old style love the quality and fit as well as workmanship on mask but the style is last years model and there isn't a hole for the fore lock to come out only ears- the new style is as the photo shows with a large oval cutout but smartpak isn't selling the model in the photo
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Weird.. I got this fly mask in the wonderful catalog blowout area of the Smartpak store for literally $1! While the price was unbeatable, the fit of this flymask is plain weird. my mare has a smaller head for a thoroughbred, so i got the medium size and the bottom of the mask ends right under her eyes. while the qualty is very nice (kensington always is), it just didnt fit her well.
    Date published: 2013-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Investment I have a draft Morgan cross and the fly mask fits him well . I was sceptical at first he has never worn a mask before and it was kinda pricy, but I am very happy I bought it. my horse is on pasture turn out so he is exposed to rain and shine and it has help up well. I also got it embroidered and it looks amazing I get compliments all the time . I took it off my horse the other day and he put his head down and slipped it back in so he is still wearing it . He is happy as well . I also purchased the fly boots and they started to wear after two weeks so I contacted kensington and they shipped a new pair that day, and that pair are wearing great .Kensington stands behind their products and they are well worth paying the extra buck .
    Date published: 2012-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product & Better Price! This mask works great at keeping the flies out of my arab's eyes!! Love the patterns and cant beat the price
    Date published: 2012-09-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fancy Fly Mask Loved the Kensington plaid; however, the first time my mare put it on (she's accustomed to wearing plain colored fly masks), she was not ready for seeing the stripes within the material. Her anxiety soon passed. The fleece around the edges, while a little warm in the hot summer months, did protect her skin from any chafing caused by mask. My mare is a 15.3 Thoroughbred, and it's a big large on her, but works well and doesn't rub her eyes.
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A more durable fly mask... I was excited to try out this fly mask (which I purchased to match a Kensington fly sheet). It definitely did not disappoint. I was impressed with the quality of the material. I purchased a size XL for my horse that is in between standard horse & oversize, and it is a little loose, but works really well. I actually purchased two additional masks because I feel that these hold up much better than the brand I was using. I actually returned the one I ordered in SmartBlue, because instead of having one large opening for both ears, it had two separate holes. I wasn't crazy about the appearance, but the horse I bought it for really disliked it and kept taking it off. I actually replaced it with the Kensington mask without ears with the long nose & he loves it! I would definitely recommend the Kensington masks.
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-08-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent Fly Mask for the Money The quality of the fly mask is good. I really like the double eye darts as my horse has allergies and I don't like the fly mask touching her eyes. The fleece edging is a nice touch so it won't rub against her. The one thing I am not crazy about is that the mask runs a little small.
    Date published: 2012-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product This product works is very durable. I never have to worry about it falling off in the pasture. I would recommend it!
    Date published: 2012-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product This fly mask is very well made. Good heavy velcro and stitching. Much less likely to tear or come off than other brands that I have had. Size runs slightly small.
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunning Great quality, fit, style. So nice looking on my black and whit horse I ordered matching fly sheet! It also is perfect.
    Date published: 2012-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Kensington Products Love the fly mask. Like all Kensington products, it is high quality, well made and fits well. The eye darts keep the mask off my horses eyes and the sturdy material makes it durable. Great colors are just an extra plus!
    Date published: 2012-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kensington Fleece Fly Mastk - Great product High quality, durable with fleece for added protection for the horse's face.
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Quality Flymask I purchased two Cashel flymasks from Smartpak last summer and was disappointed with the velcro adhesive straps. Even when tightened as far as possible my horses could literally shake the masks off if they wanted to, and the velcro was very skimpy. This year I decided to buy Kensington masks and am so pleased! Talk about quality! The double velcro adhesive straps are very well made, the masks are beautiful, and do not budge. My only complaint is the sizing is a bit hard to gauge. I ordered Mediums for both thoroughbreds based on the "runs-large" advice on the website. It fits my TB with an average head perfectly but my other guy with a slightly bigger head (but not warmblood big) would be better off with a Large. Oh well! Overall a great purchase.
    Date published: 2012-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another fantastic Kensington product! It's no surprise I love this fly mask. Kensington makes awesome stuff, and it is no exception. The fleece is very soft and makes for a well-padded mask that won't rub. The double-velcro strap is very heavy duty. The textilene is durable and keeps well away from the horse's eyes.The only thing I'm a little surprised about is the mask I got has two separate holes for the ears, not one oblong hole for both ears. So there's no place for the forelock to be pulled through.These masks do run a little big. Size Large is about the same as the Warmlood size in Crusader masks.
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fly mask that's actually attractive! Bought this mask a few months ago for my horse and I couldn't be more pleased. It fits well and is very durable. The fleece edging keeps the mask from rubbing. Looks really nice too, especially with the monogram! This will be my go-to fly mask from now on.
    Date published: 2012-07-09
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2013 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.