Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

ColdFlex Vet Wrap

Item #12279

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

ColdFlex Vet Wrap is an innovative self-cooling compression bandage.

No pre-planning necessary- bandage cools by evaporation and does not require refrigeration! Exclusive formulation of gelled water embedded into an elastic foam material supports and compresses while providing deep, penetrating cold therapy. Cooling effect of ColdFlex Vet Wrap can last for several hours after wrap removal with no danger of tissue damage from excessive cold. Flexible and conforming, ColdFlex Vet Wrap will not cause undesirable pressure.

COLDFLEX® is reusable up to 25 times, making it extremely cost effective and can be easily cut to size. Bio-degradable, non-toxic, and non-irritating. 3" X 72". See Full Product Details tab below for additional photos.

Note: Bandage is not meant to be extremely cold and may even feel warm to the touch as the heat from the injury passes thru it. Although refrigeration is not necessary, you may refrigerate for deeper more penetrating effect. Do Not Freeze.

Each Coldflex Vet Wrap comes with one cotton sock that you can use between your horse's leg and the ColdFlex Wrap or over the ColdFlex Wrap to keep it free of bedding, hay, etc. If you would like a barrier between the ColdFlex Wrap and your horse's leg as well as over the ColdFlex Wrap, you can use thin, cotton gauze (such as in a first aid kit) in place of the Coldflex protective sock. It is important that any material used in place of the ColdFlex Sock must be very thin and made of cotton, so Coldflex can breath and evaporate. A thick or non-breathable material, such as polyester, will stop Coldflex from functioning and hold the heat in.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    ColdFlex Vet Wrap is rated 4.2045 out of 5 by 44.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome wrap I bought this wrap for my horse to ease swelling from getting caught up in a fence, it worked great! And I love that it is reusable :)
    Date published: 2012-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Great for reducing swelling/heat and awesome for hard to wrap areas ie knees, hocks. Yes, they don't last forever, but for the convenience and price (personally, I do not believe it is overpriced for a "disposable" item) - still a great purchase!
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Works I bought these to use on my 27 year old gelding who battles with laminitis. He has wood shoes that keep him comfortable but they can not get wet so when it gets really hot and he has a little laminitis flare up I can't run cold water on his legs so I wrapped them with the ColdFlex wraps and they worked great! Kept his legs nice and cold easing his laminitis without getting his wood shoes wet.They are super easy to use and I keep them in the fridge for extra cold.
    Date published: 2012-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Falling apart I purchased several of these hoping they would work well for a suspensory injury. I think the idea is fabulous but they do not hold up. Even using the sock they get very dirty and can't be cleaned. They start falling apart after about 8 uses. They are too expensive to last only a week.
    Date published: 2012-05-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Waste of Money My friend bought this for me, and I used it on my horse's fetlock. Admittedly the swelling did go down, but as I was taking it off it completely crumbled into multiple pieces causing me to have to throw it out versus use it again. I wouldn't recommend buying it, $20 for a one time thing isn't worth it.
    Date published: 2011-11-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected Tears very easily and was not easily reusable when you had already applied it.
    Date published: 2011-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Product Easy to use and love the idea, would be great for people too
    Date published: 2011-10-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Neat product I keep a pair of these in the fridge and use it on my son's little roping gelding. He has a tendancy to swell from time to time. They are very handy & are reusable. They don't stay cold as long as I'd hoped but I think they work well to take the initial heat out. I'm happy with them :)
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great & it's easy to use I train Thoroughbred racehorses and we stand a lot of them in ice boots. We have a few that just don't like them and stomp them down all the time. I saw the ColdFlex Vet Wrap and figured it was worth a try. Wow - they fit great on the legs, and our "fussy" horses didn't mind it a bit. No stomping and great results. I went back and bought more. I would certainly recommend this product!
    Date published: 2011-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from helps I got this cold wrap because back in Dec. my horse hurt her leg and it was too cold to cold hose it. It did help some, i found that it helped more if i put the wrap in the fridge for a few hours before useing it. the wrap itself will not feel very cold to the touch, but it does help pull some of the heat and swelling out of the leg. it does take a few hours of being on the leg for it to work. I still feel good old fashion cold hosing is the best way to go however if your in a pinch, no hose or too cold to use a hose this product is good to have on hand for those times. it really is reusable as well witch i really liked.
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-07-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not as expected sticky and leaves a residue that I suspect increased swelling on the hind legs after work. I don't feel as if it got cold enough for long enough.
    Date published: 2011-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-05-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value The only problem I've had is that I can't really get it to stick to itself like it says it should, to secure it.
    Date published: 2011-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. This is a real time saver. It works to cool the leg and is easy to apply. I did find that it does not maintain the cool temperature for a very long time. My horse does not have a great deal of heat in his leg and the wrap gets warm after about 15-20 minutes. This is enough time for his injury but might not be enough for others.I have reused the wrap and it worked good after 3 applications if I did not freeze it and kept sealed to maintain the moisture.
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I bought this product a few weeks ago and used it for the first time today. I have to say, it is worth the buy!! The second I took it out of the bags, it was cold... it adhered to it's self almost better then vet wrap! It stayed in place without a problem and did it's job. I will be buying a lot more of this product!! It is a life saver if your in the trailer, on the trail, or can't use ice packs. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2010-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Technology! I just got these and tried them for the first time after a cross country run at a horse trial and WOW! So easy to use! I left them on for about an hour and after removing, legs were cold and tight with practically no effort. I love these things -- no bulky, irritating ice, no messy poultices. I wish they were not quite so expensive for product with a short life span, but they are definitely worth it and I will be buying more!
    Date published: 2010-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have for Shows! I love this product! It is fast and easy to use. Especially great for horse shows or when water is not available for cold hosing. Extremely convenient and very effective for reducing swelling after a hard workout. My horses actually like coldflex vet wrap better than cold hosing! I keep one in my trailer and one at the barn!
    Date published: 2010-04-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Very Cold This is a great idea, I just wish it worked better. The wrap is cold when you take it out of the container, but within a few minutes after applying, it gets warm. I have been using it on a horse with sore heels and after leaving it on for 20-30 minutes, the area is still warm when I take it off. It definitely does not have the same effect as ice or cold hosing. Also it tears easily if you pull it too hard while wrapping.
    Date published: 2009-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING LEG WRAP-Tendon Saver The coolflex wraps are fantastic and I advise getting the warmblood size even if you have any horse because you can cut them to be any size you want or need so get more for less price if you buy more then one !!! They are an excellent make and help a lot to keep horses cool and sound. The only problem I found is that they can rip but past that they are amazing and even if they do rip you can use both sides again cause they can be useful at any size. I LOVE this product and suggest others buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Date published: 2009-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy Wrap this around your horse to make sure the muscle is cool, walk away and come back to see how this easy and cool vet wrap works absolutly amazing.
    Date published: 2009-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best wrap ever! this wrap is fantastic! for first-timers it will feel wierd, but it is working the way it is supposed to! Don't worry! Horses love it and can't get enough, I put it on my horses legs when they have sprains or select injuries. I am convinced that it helps the healing process.
    Date published: 2009-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-07-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Results These wraps worked great. My horse pulled a muscle near his tendon on both front legs. I cut the wraps in half and used them both at the same time. The swelling went down almost instantly and he's sound again!The only down side was the slimy gel from the wraps drying on my horses legs after I took them off, I had to scrub it off sometimes.
    Date published: 2009-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Injury Lifesaver! I have been struggling to keep minor swelling down with my horse for a while. She had a minor suspensory strain a year ago, and could only be jumped once a week to allow for natural swelling reduction. Now I use this wrap for 15 minutes after riding, while I am brushing her, and keep her wrapped in stall. The swelling has completely disappeared! This is a lifesaver product, and I have recommended it to several people at our barn.
    Date published: 2009-06-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice wrap I like that I can put this wrap on my horse immediately after a ride and leave it on her while I'm cooling her down. I ALWAYS ice her leg, but usually have to wait until I'm done hosing so I don't melt the ice. This wrap provided me with a solution. I put it on during hosing and cool-down, then when she's done she gets her ice boot. I'm not sure how cold it actually gets, but it's at least cool. And I have to tuck it into itself to keep it on, cuz it doesn't really stick to itself that well. Hard to roll it back up and keep it clean cuz it's so slippery. But I'm glad I bought it and I'm sure I'll buy again when this one wears out.
    Date published: 2009-05-28
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.