Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Passier Lederbalsam

G. Passier & Sohn GmbH
- Item #10216
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Passier Lederbalsam is a tried and tested leather conditioner that restores and preserves fine saddlery.

Favorite Features

  • Rich in nutrients without chemicals.
  • "Lederbalsam" protects the leather against water and keeps it soft.
  • Does not leave leather tacky or oily. 
  • Sponge included!

Sizing It Up

16.9 oz.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Passier Lederbalsam is rated 4.8545 out of 5 by 110.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Stuff!!! I love this leather conditioner. I first used it working as a groom and we would use it before every show and I feel in love with it! I then bought it for myself and use it every time I clean my tack. I used it from basically every other weekend to random tack cleanings. Even when you use it a lot it lasts a long time. I dont think I will ever go back to a different product. It makes leather soft, shiny, and supple. AMAZING PRODUCT!!!
    Date published: 2012-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Because your tack is worth it Simply the best. Not oily, won't damage finish over time like many conditioners will. My saddle maker sings its praises, so I bought it for my Passier and my Adam Ellis. I also use it on my chaps, boots, and bridle. Worth every penny.
    Date published: 2012-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Drool-Worthy Leather Dressing The scent alone makes this worth purchasing (mmmmm.... Beeswax!), but the value doesn't stop there. This stuff is very easy to use (I try to use it once every couple of weeks when I'm not riding much, and every week when I am) and makes any leather happier and more supple. Clean your tack as usual, wipe it on (I've just assigned a tack-cleaning sponge to live in the canister for the purpose), let it percolate until your next ride, and buff any residue off before you tack up.THE GOOD: classic formula takes good care of all leather (not just Passier!)THE BAD: it is pricey, but not compared to the cost of replacing tack.THE YUMMY: you'll be hankering for fresh biscuits with honey every time you smell it.
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good leather conditioner This is a bit pricey for how much you get but it does a great job at keeping your leather nice and supple, and is easy to apply with a tack sponge. One of my favorite leather conditioners.
    Date published: 2012-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Stuff This stuff works very well and smells nice. Leaves the leather soft, supple with a nice soft sheen
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Product I use this on everything. It is great on tack whether it is needing some TLC or is already well-cared for. Friends have also used this product on their leather shoes. I like to use it especially after oiling my tack. It also has a pleasant smell.
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells Heavenly! This is my second can! Love this stuff! It smells like honey! Nicely conditions my tack and saddles. NOT JUNK! Will only use Passier Lederbalsam!
    Date published: 2012-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Leather Conditioner! This is one of the best leather conditioners that I have ever used. I have been using it on my dressage saddle and dressage bridles. it smells wonderful and leaves my leather soft and smooth. It's not sticky, nor is it oily - at all. It does work better in the warmer months as the product is hard when it's cold. Here in central California our winters are mild enough that I am able to soften the product just by warming it up in my hands. If you're looking for a good leather conditioner, this is it!
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Stuff Ever I had used some from a friend and loved that it did not leave any residue on my tack. It has condition my tack extremely well and I would not recommend anything else or use anything else from now on. Not to mention it smells great!
    Date published: 2012-02-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for stiff leather This really helped soften and condition the leather on an older saddle. Did not leave any gunky residue either. I've even used it on my reins.
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! Passier lederbalsam is fantastic. I use it on all of my leather tack to help it become soft and supple. Plus, it smells really good! :) I usually just apply it with my hands which makes them really soft afterwards.
    Date published: 2011-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best conditioning product ever! While I have never had this for my own tack, I used it at a good friend's barn on their tack when I rode their horses every day that I was there while I was home and the tack was sooo soft and supple. Highly recommend this product!
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from It's okay... I bought this from SmartPak, because they don't carry Effax Leder Balsam & I didn't want to purchase one thing of it & have to pay more $ than it cost to ship it.It is ok compared to Effax, it has a slightly pleasant smell-it makes me think of chemicals, not saddles. It is a bit greasy, not all of the product soaks into the leather (good leather).I wouldn't purchase it again if I had to do over again.
    Date published: 2011-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ever! Recently bought a new saddle and would not use anything else!
    Date published: 2011-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Revived Decade-Old Leathers! Passier Lederbalsam is my conditioner of choice for all of my tack. Last week I used it on decade-old stirrup leathers that were so stiff I couldn't bend them, and after one application of Lederbalsam, they were back to being supple and soft. It's the first thing I apply to any new strap goods I receive, and it's also responsible for keeping my older saddle in like-new condition. Love this stuff!
    Date published: 2011-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stocking stuffer I use this consistently on everything leather..saddle, bridle, boots, halter. My tack is very seasoned and I keep it looking good with this product.
    Date published: 2011-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the best! I use Lederbalsam after every ride and cannot say enough about how fabulous it is! I had been using another "popular" tack cleaner, but splurged on the Lederbalsam when I bought a new saddle. What a great purchase that was! Not only has it kept my new saddle looking amazing, but it has made my old bridle look absolutely wonderful again as well! It is well worth the price and I will never use anything else again (aside from the Passier Saddle Soap, which I use before the Lederbalsam once a week to keep any grime from building up).
    Date published: 2011-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous product This will be my last product review as after many reviews left I still did not win any $25.00 .This product does not need any review , it is a classic and the best in the world.
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My leather loves it! I love it too! This leather condition is very nice. It works into the leather well, esp. if you use you hands to warm it up and bend and roll the leather. It soaks in well and does not leave the leather gunky.
    Date published: 2011-07-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Product I like this product it isn't to heavy or sticky, dries well and keeps leather soft
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff This is a great conditioner and helps you stick to the saddle!
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Took a bit, but I got it! I ordered this a while ago and when I first used it I was not impressed. It was hard to get off and it made my leather very slimy. The other day I was cleaning my tack in the sun and I applied this to my old stubben, my old hunter bridle, and my Plymouth dressage bridle. I had always heard that sitting your tack in the sun would open up the pores of the leather and it would absorb conditioners better. Well I am a believer now! My saddle and bridles soaked this stuff right in. I applied it an within minutes it was almost gone! My stubben was fairly stiff before applying this, but afterwards it was noticeably softer and more supple then before. The same was true for both of my bridles. Funny enough, the Plymouth bridle, which I purchased from SmartPak, isn't even very old, but it came in a bit stiff for my liking and now it's much much nicer as far as how soft and supple it is! I would highly recommend this product to anyone with older or stiff leather products, but be sure to apply it in warm weather or in direct sunlight because it works 90% better than inside in a cooler environment.
    Date published: 2011-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummmm Best leather conditioner ever. Guaranteed to make your leather smile!!
    Date published: 2011-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! My trainer turned me on to this product and now I'm hooked. Since tack costs an arm and a leg, I really want to take good care of mine. Nothing does a better job on my boots, saddle and bridle.
    Date published: 2011-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super soft and supple Love this stuff. Used it on my brand new Harwich dressage bridle and after one treatment it was perfect!
    Date published: 2011-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing for all leather This is the only leather product I will use anymore. My old trainer got me hooked on it and it has brought saddles back from the dead! Love it, and I use it on all my leather stuff.
    Date published: 2011-03-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for tack old and new The winter weather has left both my old tack (25+ years) and newer tack very dry. My old faithful conditioning products just weren't helping. This product has helped bring back the luster to the old bridle, softened and conditioned the new bridle, and my saddle feels great!
    Date published: 2011-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great leather conditioner Love this leather conditioner. It helped an old saddle go from dry to supple in record time. A little bit goes a long way, so the can will last a while. Great product!
    Date published: 2011-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Conditioner! Wow, I am in love with this stuff for deep conditionings. I don't think I will use it often, as it seems like 2-3 times a year would be plenty with this heavy conditioner but it sure brings old tack back to life. It makes all my leather soft and supple again, and really seems to make a big difference in my overall tack's well being. I love how it makes my tack ever so slightly tacky after using it but its not sticky or gross. Its a great product.My mom even steals it and uses it on our leather furniture once a year!
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome stuff It was recommended to me by my saddler to get some sort of Lederbalsam instead of using oil. I have to say this makes my saddle (and all other leather products i use it on now!) feel so soft, and just great. It smells like a vanilla candle to me too, and makes my saddle a little tacky, not slippery. My friends have used it too and they really love it as well. It seems like it will last quite awhile, so well worth the money spent!
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    • 2015-03-03T07:19CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_105
    • loc_en_US, sid_216, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.