Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Thinsulate Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #11968

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

High performance turnout delivers surprisingly lightweight warmth at an unbeatable price. Rugged, 1200 denier waterproof, breathable ripstop polyester outer with a full nylon lining. Thinsulate provides the equivalent of 220g of fill without the weight; you'll throw this on your horse with ease. Polished stainless steel hardware, double-buckle and VELCRO® Brand front closure, removable elastic leg straps, tail flap, shoulder gussets, dual bias surcingles and fleece at the wither.

Imported.

** Sizes run large so you may want to consider ordering a size down if your horse is in between sizes.

How to measure a horse

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartPak Thinsulate Turnout Blanket is rated 4.7917 out of 5 by 48.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic turnout! Compared to others I have purchased, this is one of the best!
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from very good blanket Very light and plenty warm. I have not had it long enough to make comments about durability but it appears well made. It fits true to size. My horse wears 78 which is what I ordered and it fits well. The only complaint I have is leg straps so far. They are kind of flimsy. Otherwise great blanket. Would buy again
    Date published: 2013-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Going strong This is the third Minnesota winter for this blanket, and I am very pleased with it. The leg strap issue is an annoyance--they stretch out pretty quickly. The blanket is very light and attractive. One of the benefits of it being made with Thinsulate is that it's thin enough for me to mend it myself on my own sewing machine, and it fits easily in my washer, so no need to pay someone to wash and mend. It's had a few minor tears, easily mended. The blanket is very attractive as well. I'll buy another one when it's needed, but so far it's looking great.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Blanket I purchased this blanket in a 66 for my 2 yr old cutting mare who is very slight and 14.1hh. This blanket fits great in the shoulders and is nice and light to throw over her. I've had it for about 2 weeks now and so far, no destruction! I have some notorious blanket destroyer pasture mates out with her, but so far there's only a few scuffs on it. Though it could be because she is younger and quicker than them too...The only thing I wish it would have were clips in addition to the buckle straps. I keep it buckled and pull it over her head most of the time, but the clips are so convenient.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase I've had this blanket two years and it still looks great. Light weight and warm. Bought another for my two year old colt.Runs a bit smaller than Rambo.
    Date published: 2013-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hard to fit in half chaps? These are the best half-chaps I have found. I have very short legs and a heavily muscled calf. I have found NO tall boots that will fit me. But these half-chaps are perfect, even for my short, short, short knee-to-ankle length. And they look super -- clean lines, classic cut, with the zipper in the back so it doesn' look bulky.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally -- a Waterproof Thinsulate Blanket Hoorah! We finally have a waterproof Thinsulate blanket!! I love my Thinsulate sheet, but really really wanted a waterproof version of this lightweight, warm sheet. This is a beautiful blanket, nicely made with all the right attachments. It will be perfect for our low-40s rainy winter weather here in Northern California. My horse is a 16.3 Irish TB and the 81" fits him a little long in the body, but otherwise perfectly. I look forward to testing its durability through this winter season.
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice blanket! Lovely blanket especially for the price. Kept my thin skinned TB very toasty. It's a bit deceiving because the blanket is so light (I'm assuming because of the Thinsulate) but he was very happy in it. Also, it was super easy to toss on my 17.1 horse because it was so light. It washed up great after the winter and looks brand new even though he wore almost everyday as his daytime TO blanket.
    Date published: 2012-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love It So Much I Bought Another One! I bought my gelding this blanket and it has held up so well that I bought one for my mare! While this blanket's description claims it runs big, I disagree. My mare wears either an 84 or 87, so I purchased an 84. The 84 fits her, but she could have easily worn the 87. My only issue with this blanket is the velcro closure on the chest does not meet on my mare's blanket because she is on the second to loosest hole for the front straps. Aside from the velcro not meeting, I adore this blanket and highly recommend it!
    Date published: 2012-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this blanket!! I love this blanket. I love that my mare stays warm and dry in the freezing cold. I also love that when it warms up to 50 degrees she does not get too hot. She is a big girl and I appreciate the lightness of the blanket due to the thinsulate material. These blankets are also great for senior horses that need a break from a heavy blanket. This blanket does run large. My girl measures 82". I ordered the 84" knowing that she is gaining weight (she is a rescue). The 81" would have fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2012-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great blanket All 3 of my competition horse have thinsulate blankets from smartpak however I wish the smartpink blanket wasnt out of stock it is much better looking!
    Date published: 2012-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, Light, and Sturdy This blanket is lightweight, sturdy and beautifully well-made. Everybody always thinks it's new.
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket for the price I've had this blanket for about a month now and love it. It's warm but very light-weight and breathes very well. I originally ordered a 78 based on the reviews that it ran small but had to order an 81 (his normal size) as the 78 was too short for my 17hh OTTB. The only complaint I have is the leg straps are kind of cheap meaning they stretch out within the first couple of wearings. But otherwise a fabulous blanket and I would definitely buy another.
    Date published: 2012-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket I have several of these blankets and recommend them to boarders. They wear and fit well. Our horses are turned out 24/7 and these blankets keep them warm and dry. These blankets wash well and easily.My only complaint is the leg straps tend to stretch out quickly and require replacement - a small issue when compare to all the pluses.
    Date published: 2012-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect, Light yet warm! This is the second Thinsulate I have purchased. Bought one 3 years ago for my other horse, it's still in great shape. He takes rolling very seriously and loves to play hard.
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great blanket Just got this blanket today. It is wonderfully lightweight and a perfect fit for my slender built aged pony mare. Follow the recommendation to order down a size. I am very happy. best part...sides aren't soo long that pony has trouble moving.
    Date published: 2011-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product! This is my first experience with blanketing my horses, I measured my horses and then ordered true to size. This blanket fits my 28 year old quarter horse like it was made for him. His has a sway back as well, and this blanket still fit him so well. So far, the durability is great, my horses love to roll as soon as they are let out to pasture. No problems, and I like that they clean up so easily. You can not go wrong with Smartpak, and their products have been top notch. Price is always something I always take into factoring my purchases, and this blanket is a great value. This blanket will not disappoint.
    Date published: 2011-11-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from it's holding up well my gelding is not nice to blankets. he has a mission to destroy every blanket he wears. i opted to go with the thinsulate after visions of what he did to his weatherbeeta danced in my head. he stays nice and comfortable in this blanket. it's kept him cold on some really chilly nights. he moves comfortably in his sp thinsulate and it fits him well. definitely go by their recommendation of doing a size down. i did and i'm glad i did. that said he is very tough on blankets and i already have a minor tear in it already but it's holding up well considering it's my horse.
    Date published: 2011-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice warm, but lightweight blanket This blanket fits well and is true to size. I like that it is warm and very lightweight. It seems durable enough.
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Blanket This blanket has kept our three year old horse from Florida warm in the snow and ice of Missouri. Our gelding is on pasture board and grew only about an inch of hair for a winter coat. At first I thought it felt way too light to be effective but the thinsulate seems to be doing its' job. I've checked on him during 10 degree weather and he was fine (haven't trekked out there when it's any colder). Fit his tall 16hh appendix frame no problemo.
    Date published: 2011-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great turnout blanket My horse loves to be outside no matter what the weather might be like. This turnout blanket now allows her to enjoy the outdoors during the day without my worrying about her or rushing to the barn to bring her indoors because of snow or rain.
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy I purchased this blanket for my 32 Y,O, mare who has always hated being blanketed. This blanket is just right to provide warmth for her without being too bulky. The blanket does seem to run large but works well for my mare in that it provides more room in the neck/shoulder area allowing for better freedom of movement. Even with the leg straps being removed and the slightly large fit this blanket stays put.
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from GOOD PURCHASE An excellent blanket-unfortunately my monster horse destroyed the front in 5 minutes
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent turnout Best turnout I hae purchased. Keeps horses warm and fits well. Does not shift.The leg straps stretched almost immediately, but SmartPak replaced them quickly.Would recommend turnout.
    Date published: 2010-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great buy This blanket is a great buy for the price!Has a good fit, size might run just a hair large, but my mare is hard to fit because she's a really petite TBxWB. Also, because the thinsulate makes for a lighter weight without losing warmth, my horse hasn't gotten any rubs from it; she's prone to shoulder rubs.The only negative thing is that I've had to knot the leg straps so they stay in place. So far, it's held up well to my mare's antics in the pasture; and she, or the herd she plays with, is not easy on her blankets!
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fit My Difficult to Fit Mare Finally, a blanket that fit my difficult to fit mare. I don't know how you did it but this blanket fits a variety of frames. My mare has very broad shoulders and we had a hard time finding a blanket that did not rub her shoulders, but this blanket fit the bill (or mare in this case) perfectly. She has worn her blanket for up to a week at a time with no rubs at all.The blanket seems to be holding up well and it is well made but I was very unhappy that the leg straps stretched out after only one adjustment and now I have to tie knots in them to keep them adjusted with the correct tension. We have a boarder in the barn with the smartplaid version of this blanket and her leg straps are also stretched out after only two adjustments. Other then the cheap leg straps the rest of the blanket is made from very high quality materials.We have had a record braking winter, with a blizzard, record snow amounts, and arctic temperatures and this blanket has kept my mare warm enough even through this extremely cold winter.My only complaint about the warmth is that due to the lightness of the Thinsulate when my mare "butts to the wind" the blanket will actually fill up with air like a balloon, however, this only happened during winds of 30 miles per hour (during our blizzard) and not at all during normal winds.Thanks for making a blanket that fits so well and does the job!
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent turnout I purchased 3 turnouts that did not fit my weanling before getting this one from SmartPak. It is awesome. The thinsulate is so lite but warm enough for NE Ohio weather. Fits perfect.
    Date published: 2009-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Winter Turnout We have used this thinsulate turnout on our horses now for the past 3 years and they are still in perfect condition as are the horses. We have a standardbred harness race horse stable and are very particular about our tack. This blanket exceeds our expectations in protecting our horses throughout the harsh New York winters and we recommend them to all our colleagues and friends. Thank-you for providing an excellent product at a very reasonable price.
    Date published: 2009-12-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.