Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Corona Multi-Purpose Ointment

Item #10018

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Lanollin rich Corona Antiseptic Ointment treats injuries, irritations, and abrasions. Corona Antiseptic Ointment helps to moisturize and protect dry dog paws, horse hooves and frogs. Non-toxic. 14 oz.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Corona Multi-Purpose Ointment is rated 4.5676 out of 5 by 37.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have Household Item! Last summer, a horse I was looking after was suffering from a severe form of sweet itch and had open sores all over her body. After trying many products, I went into my kitchen cupboard for my jar of Corona Multi-Purpose Ointment! I washed out her sores and packed a little Corona into the sores. After just a few weeks of applying Corona, her sores and any signs of sores were completely gone, without any scars. She also had a lot of scar tissue on her face from scratching, I applied a small dab of corona on her face everyday and her face was completely healed within just a few short weeks. I have used it on my dog and myself. It is perfect for wounds and does not leave any scars! It is not overly greasy but thickens in cold temperatures. I would suggest keeping it in a room temperature (or warm) tack room, I wouldn't suggest leaving it outside in freezing temperatures. I would definitely recommend Corona to a friend, especially if they have small children around for Corona is also non-toxic!
    Date published: 2012-08-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Its good to have in the barn and house! I have used this product on myself, and Labs dry paws and horse. Its not that great for the winter months to use. It kinda thickens in the cold.
    Date published: 2012-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Ointment This ointment is awesome! Works SO well on bed sores. I apply it to open hip, hock, and knee sores, and they heal right up overnight. Good for keeping the skin moisturized while it's healing to minimize scarring and help hair growth.
    Date published: 2011-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I've been using this on my horses hock sores from laying in their paddocks (of course they have shavings in their stalls, but won't lay down there). My older guys hocks have completely healed after I started using the Corona. It stays in place and is the best I have found when it's 100+ outside. Glad I got it.
    Date published: 2011-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Corona I use it for cuts and scratches and and i also use it on their hooves because its so dry here at this time of year.I wish i could buy a BIG jar.
    Date published: 2011-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped my mare's tail heal I originally purchased this for wounds, but before the Corona was delivered, my mare had a bad case of colic and had to be hospitalized. While she was recovering there, she passed a lot of mineral oil and the irritation of the oil getting all over her tail (plus the fact she felt better!!) caused her to rub her tail on the stall walls. This led to a flaky, itchy bald spot.When the Corona arrived, I slathered it onto the bald spot and within a couple days, the area became very soft, supple and on its way to healing. Wonderful stuff! But I advise you keep a towel with it--it is difficult to get off of fingers.
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Corona Antiseptic Ointment I have been using this product for years! Love how well it heals small wounds. The best part is how fast the hair grows back after using it! Faster than any other ointment I have tried. This product provides a thick coating that protects the wound and keeps the flys out. The only negative thing about this product is that it is hard to use in the winter time as it gets really hard in the cold weather.
    Date published: 2010-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It stays where it is applied I use this to cover minor horse wounds during summer because it is thick and stays put and keeps the flies from picking at the wound. I may put some swat below the wound after applying corona, but usually it's not needed. It will run a bit in higher temps but still leaves behind a good amount of product. I like that it smells pleasant and is non-toxic.
    Date published: 2010-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product Works great on hooves - thick and "sticky" enough to stay on for a while so that it can do what it's supposed to! Worked really well on blisters on the bulbs of my horse's feet after soaking them in Epsom salts.
    Date published: 2010-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT! I have been using this product for around 24 years. It was a "go to" product back in the day. I use it for spots under their bellies, where the flies congregate and bite. It's sticky nature provides a pretty good barrier to the flies. It is also good for softening chestnuts and I put it on their hooves. I just use a disposable glove when I put it on and that alleviates most of the mess. Yes, your jar does get a bit icky, but I haven't had a horse die from the ick yet. If I can open one jar and use it for multiple purposes, then I think it's a time and money saver!
    Date published: 2010-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Stick, but It Works! As said in other reviews, this stuff is definately sticky! I always have a wet paper towel handy to wipe my hands off after I apply the Corona. I mainly use Corona on my horse's hooves to help with cracking. All you do is rub a little into the coronary band. It has done wonders on my horse's hooves, especially in the rainy springtime. Corona is also good for cuts and scrapes, but I prefer to use other less sticky ointments for that.
    Date published: 2010-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff I like Corona products.I use it for my horse hooves and for cuts.
    Date published: 2010-06-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Classic A must have in my tack box! Works beautifully on wounds to minimize scarring. I especially like the jar as the Corona in a tube is nearly impossible to use in the winter. I've been using this product since 1976 and I haven't found anything that works better.
    Date published: 2010-02-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from ehhh... Not the greatest product. Very, very, very sticky. hard to use and apply. Extremely hard to get off whatever it gets on (skin, hands, wounds). I can't keep the jar clean...if I have to go back for a second dip or more, I always get horse hair in the jar, then can't get it out. Wouldn't recommend it on cuts that you are not planning to bandage, as everything sticks to it. I bought it because I saw it in every tack box at a barn I used to board at, but I prefer Tri-Care. I only keep it as back up when I run out of Tri-Care. But it does work, if you can get past all the other stuff.
    Date published: 2009-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from pets We use this on ourselfs as well as all are pets. Very good for chapped lips and small cuts. Works on feet for dry skin.
    Date published: 2009-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from stays in place! This stuff really heals and doesn't drip off like many others. Although extremely viscous in winter it does the trick for scrapes and minor injuries that need to be kept soft to heal properly.
    Date published: 2009-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good all around ointment Great to have around for minor scrapes and cuts. Good Buy
    Date published: 2009-10-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from an old staple does it enhance hoof growth? not sure but this has been in my tack box since the 80's and I allways go back to it when his hooves get shelly and broken around the nail holes due to too many baths from sweaty workouts. I use it around the coronary band area and the bulbs of the heals.
    Date published: 2009-09-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Is it kinda gross? yes. Does it work? YES! I'll admit that this product is somewhat gross - it is oily and sticky, and can be difficult to remove. However, it does a fabulous job in helping to regrow hair.I first started using it when one of my small dogs had a persistent "hot-spot" that just wouldn't grow hair regardless what we tried. I am not exaggerating here, after TWO DAYS we saw signs of hair regrowth; after a few weeks, you couldn't really tell where the spot had been at all.I also use it on my horse when he gets bites or scrapes. He is a bright red chestnut, and his bite marks tend to grow in white; with Corona, they're much more likely to regrow chestnut hair.
    Date published: 2009-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best antiseptic ever! I have used this for years whenever my horses get a cut or scratch; it heals wounds quickly, all the hair grows back, and no scar is apparent. Easy to apply and stays in place.
    Date published: 2009-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good to have on hand It is a must have in the barn!Use it on the hooves too.Once a week, I use a little around the cornet bands- hooves have been great!Especially after keeping in very dry sand footing!Great to help keep scrapes supple and healing on the right track.
    Date published: 2009-07-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from No No No! In the summer it feels oily and gross, in the winter it's to get out of the tube. When I put it on my horse it attracted dirt, dust, and shavings. It may work but it's too messy to deal with, for me anyway.
    Date published: 2009-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-05-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yucky and Sticky I have seen this product in various barns over the last twenty years. I continue to scratch my head and wonder why people use it. Yes it's inexpensive but that's about it. Corona is very sticky, thick and runs terribly in the heat. It does not allow the wound to breathe. I cannot stand this stuff. It is extremely difficult to actually wash off the skin..something you will need to do if you have a wound that necessitates an antibiotic ointment. If your horse happens to drag it's tail across a wound coated in this stuff, good luck getting it out. A barn manager, without my permission, applied this stuff to large bite marks my retired horse acquired on her back and sides from a new pasture mate shortly after moving into the barn. I had to bathe her on four separate occassion to get this stuff off. It did nothing to help heal the wound. Because I couldn't get it off I was not able to apply something else to help prevent scarring. There are many other options available on the market that are more effective and easy to use.
    Date published: 2013-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! My horse had fungus and it ate away all the hair on his leg. He was always so sore and He hated when I put the medicine on. I bought this product and used it and he seemed much happier and less sore.
    Date published: 2009-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Corona is a longtime remedy I have been using Corona since I was a young girl. My parents have sworn by it for almost everything they use it on. My neighbor had shingles and used this on them and got some wonderful relief. I have used it on both of my sons for diaper rashs also. Dr. approved. It is hard for us to find in our area but when we do find it our family purchases a case at a time. A small amount goes a long way, but everyone wants to try it. I love the stuff.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazed I originally purchased Corona Antiseptic Ointment for my horses. Then a co-worker had a baby with untreatable diaper rash for several months. The pediatrician told her to try Corona, and the diaper rash was gone in 2 days. With that info, I encouraged my husband to try it for hemoroides, worked great. He even recommended it to his brother & a friend. I use it when ever I get a rash/cut of any kind. I also put it on my hands & feet at night, then put on gloves/socks. No more rough skin. I just tried it on my adult acne for the heck of it-looks like it will help that too. I just love this stuff, and I don't even have horses anymore.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! I bought this antiseptic to hopefully treat a nasty cut on my horse's withers. The cut has been lingering due to the cold weather and the fact that his winter blanket happens to sit on the cut. I tried so many different lotions that claimed that they would help heal and grow back the hair on my horse - nothing worked! I tried Corona as a last resort before giving up and it worked! Not only did I see quick results, the hair grew back to its original color! I highly recommend.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.