Product Image

Natural Psyllium Fiber (monthly purge)

Equi Aid Products Inc.
- Item #10186
Form: SmartSupply
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Psyllium seed husk in flavored pellets for ease of administration. Natural Psyllium Fiber is a monthly purge. Supports removal of sand and may help reduce the possibility of digestive colic in horses.

View our Sand Colic Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Natural Psyllium Fiber (monthly purge) is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 80.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sand Blaster On our barns random fecal check 5 horses were found to have sand. The vet recommended we do a spot check ourselves to have a baseline. Well, of course my horse had about a tablespoon of sand come out of a handful sample of manure, how much more is still inside him? I couldnt believe it. I knew he was a dirt eater and is on treatment for ulcers due to frequent "tummy aches" and felt the sand could also be contributing, so as a group we purchased and treated all the 5 horses. To my reliefone week later my horse was totally "sand free" onrecheck. I will definitely keep checking himthroughout the year and use this again. Taste getsa 4, because two horses were hesitant to eat it the first couple days, but were finishing it up by day 7.
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product It is best to buy this product in the 10lb. It is most economical. I have no incidence of colic since I started feeding this monthly.
    Date published: 2013-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value! This is a good value when psyllium is needed. Horse seem to eat it well and will definitely use again!
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Horses actually eat it. Have a horse that requires one cup of this a day. He would leave the powder version at the bottom his feeder. He eats the pellets right up can't pick them out of his grain.
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Psyllium seems to be working... All kidding aside, Psyllium seems to be working...I thought our older horse was getting skinnier because she was getting "older" Jumped on line only to read articles that an older horse does NOT mean a skinny horse and more that once psyllium was coming up in the conversations....so I ordered the SmartPaks of Psyllium along with her Weight Builder and OMG! I swear she even feels better..........go SmartPak!.....and you just can't beat their customer service people!
    Date published: 2012-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Horse Eats It, So It's Great! My horse is an extremely picky eater, he will not eat powders, granular types, etc. Even with treats he will turn down many things! We live in FL, so basically the "soil" is sand, so this is a MUST to make sure the sand is removed. He eats up all of the pellets, and I have been giving this to him for 2 years now, no problems. I get the buckets, even though I get his other supplements in smartpaks, because it is a lot cheaper that way. I asked a rep about it, and they said that is how the manufacturer would allow them to price it. Oh well! It's only for 7 days, I just put them in little Glad plastic snack containers and dump it in at the same time as his smartpaks. Highly recommend to anyone in a sandy environment, and with a picky eater.
    Date published: 2012-08-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay product I have two geldings and the one eats it just fine, but the other one ate it the first month, but will no longer eat it. We live on sand so it is very important to do a monthly sand purge. We've tried Sand Clear and this product and he won't eat either of them. I would recommend this product to friends who's horses aren't picky eaters.
    Date published: 2012-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product Good product. Does what it says. At an affordable price.
    Date published: 2012-04-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better Than Crumbles I use this product for a pony who gets no grain. She eats the pelleted form of psyllium readily and cleans her bowl which she did not do with crumbled form of product.
    Date published: 2012-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy! Easiest way to make sure the horses are getting their monthly sand purge. Living in Florida, it's a MUST!
    Date published: 2012-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product at a good price. Even my picky eater eats it!
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cheap insurance I put all three of my horses on this product for a month and now will just do the one week a month purge. They may not need it but it is very cheap insurance against sand colic and it will not hurt them to be on it so why not?
    Date published: 2012-02-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just moved to southern Alabama in Nov. 2011 from Northern Illlinois. Needed to find a product in bulk for sand colic, since I have 8 horses. Purchased the 50 lb. box of Natural Psyllium Fiber which will cover my 8 horses needs for three months. Much better value then purchasing 3 lb. cans at the local feed store.
    Date published: 2012-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from worked well Both horses ate this supplement the first time with no problems.
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Works" as per my Veterinarian One of our newer horses came to the barn with noticeable sand sounds in her gut, according to our vet. She told us to use this product and double the dose for two weeks. When she came back out we did a sand test with the manure and she said the sounds she heard earlier were gone. I've been a believer in this psyllium product ever since. And the HORSES LOVE IT!! They eat it up when mixed with their grain rations.
    Date published: 2011-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great job Super product. I didn't check manure for sand but the condition of the horses improved immediately.
    Date published: 2011-11-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple Monthly purge This is one of the easiest ways to help purge your horses of sand every month. The only measuring is with the included cup. One scoop, 7 days and your done. The piece of mind is priceless!
    Date published: 2011-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase for a Healthy Horse Natural Psyllium Fiber has kept my horses happy and healthy for over 24 years. Great product.
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Natural Psyliom Fiber Great price. Fast shipping. Samson eats it with no complaints. Poops are nice and "appley". Good job!
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value for the money I live in a very sandy area and when it is particularly dry I add a sand clear product to my horse's diet. All of my horses eat Natural Psyllium Fiber readily. When feeding a supplement it is important to me that my horses like the taste..ortherwise it is a waste of product and money. I also need to consider the cost of the product since I am feeding it to 4 horses
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great! The monthly purge works amazingly well! We have one horse one it and a donkey (who arrived just a few days before we started the psyllium). Our horse had been on a 2x weekly supplement and he seemed just fine on this one too. The donkey however, woo!, he must have had a ton of sand that had gotten bogged down in him. For the first 2 days of the purge he had bunches of sand in his manure and then it was gone! No doubt, this stuff works!
    Date published: 2011-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Natural Psyllium fiber My Horse loves it. I love it and my checkbook loves it.
    Date published: 2012-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Convenient and Horses love it! This product is great, especially for finicky eaters. I have two that would sift through powders so the pellets are perfect...will eat straight from my hand.
    Date published: 2011-03-22
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.