Product Image

Magnesium 3,000

Med-Vet Pharmaceuticals (MVP)
- Item #11819
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Magnesium 3,000 is rated 4.4118 out of 5 by 51.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Calmer supplement...valued purchase I initially switched to Mag 3 from Quiessence as the cost was much less. My gelding has been on Mag 3 for 6 months now, and I have not noticed any change in his behavior since switching. It seems to be working as a calming supplement as he remains focused and alert. He does eat this supplement, but then again, he doesn't have a problem eating anything...he loves food but other horses may have a problem with the powdery product.
    Date published: 2012-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes a difference My sister purchased the Magnesium 3000 for her gelding last year. I purchased it for my 4 year old quarter horse gelding "Zippos Hot Leaguer"(Vegas)and since then has picked up numerous AQHA western pleasure points and even 1/2 point in green trail. Vegas now only gets the magnesium every other day and still is steady and focused.
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't do much I got this to help my older Hanoverian mare as I brought her back into work. I had read about all the benefits of Magnesium, and since my mare is hot and sensitive, I thought the calming effect many people report Magnesium has would help her focus. It really didn't have much of an effect on her, that I could tell. Tried it for two months, but she was as spooky as ever and I didn't notice any other changes, either.However, she's very picky, and she ate it with no problem.
    Date published: 2012-04-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Picky eaters This product is in powder form - my horses won't eat it....we do better with the pelleted magnesium. I am sure the quality of this product is superior but it is just not for this barn.
    Date published: 2012-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great supplement I have a cold backed horse. This supplement has helped him a lot. He has not bucked or shown signs of muscle pain since starting this supplement. It does smell though. Picky eaters may not like it. However my horse eats it. Would recommend!!!
    Date published: 2012-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good addition Have used this with two horses and one did not seem to care for it. The other is an easy-keeper and is keeping her wieght where it should be. I use a digestive aid, too, and this seems to help even more.
    Date published: 2011-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product Easy step down from SmartCalm. Takes the edge off nicely. You've still got all your horse, it just helps them focus more on their job than thinking about every possible way to die. :P Also good for sore muscles.
    Date published: 2012-10-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works for us! We added magnesium as a calmer for a gelding that has some issues remaining focused and calm. It has made an improvement. After adding this product for approximately 6 months we decided to start this gelding on Mare Magic too and the results are even better with the addition of this product. He still has "days" but overall, he is greatly improved.
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from it works for me I had read an article in Reader's Digest about how lower magnesium levels can make you cranky and sore. While that article was for humans, I thought that it might work for my horse Rascal as it described his personality perfectly. I asked the vet, and he said that it couldn't hurt, so we tried it and, at least for Rascal, it worked. He is much less stressed and cranky.
    Date published: 2011-08-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product I have used Magnesium Pellets and powder since discovering this for cresty/cushing horses. My 2 have shown a physical and mental improvement. Glad I ran across the reviews on this product.
    Date published: 2011-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Satisfied My mare was showing symptoms of ulcers. In addition to her rough coat and weight loss, she was exhibiting panicky and flighty behavior that was uncharacteristic of her. When I combined Magnesium 3000 with U-gard and SmartHoof, all of her problems vanished. I am now riding a sane mare with a willing attitude. I'm very pleased with the combination of products.
    Date published: 2011-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hot Throughbred Everyone at the farm has noticed a difference in my horses attitude.More easy going.
    Date published: 2011-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Needed a pure magnesium supplement for my over weight mare & gelding they where heading toward IR ..Going on 3 weeks & notice the mares fat pockets are down sizing and shes playing more .The huge gelding doesn't look so bloated .They eat it right up .Super fast shipping to :-)
    Date published: 2011-06-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unsure My OTTB was historically excitable under saddle, very moody, and was gelded at 11yrs old. I have always been skeptical of the effectiveness of calming supplements, but I figured I'd give it a shot. I have been at a new and quiet boarding facility for almost a year. It has been 2.5 years since my guy has been gelded. I've been using the Magnesium supplement for about 4 months. Honestly, I have no idea if it has made a difference. My horse has been much more relaxed and even tempered within the last several months, as if he's finally taken a breath. But, the weather is now warmer, he's settled more into life as a gelding and into his new home. He's fat and happy, but still a bit spooky, moody and excitable undersaddle outside of the ring. So, I have just changed his calming supplement to the Smart Calm to compare and see if there is any noticeable effect. To be continued...
    Date published: 2011-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really does seem to help I have a 9 year old TB gelding and when he was younger he could be quite the wild child. But he's naturally inclined to be quiet and reasonable, so looking for something to help balance him out without sedating him I decided to try Magnesium. Because Magnesium is a supplement that enhances nerve communication and overall well being (and I've taken it myself in the past) I was more comfortable giving it to him than giving him something with tryptophan. So I'm not sure if it's the fact that he's maturing, or it's the magnesium, but because of recent rains he's been inside for over a week and he hasn't been wild at all!
    Date published: 2011-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from outstanding results My daughter has an thoroughbred that she has been competing for two years. It has been frustrating because he has all the talent in the world but can not compete successfully because he get so upset during events. Started the magnesium about three weeks ago and the results are amazing. He was calm an focused at the horse trials this weekend, scored in the low thirties in dressage, five points better that he has ever done. Competed stadium in 40 mph winds and stayed calm in warm up. My daughter says it is like riding a completely different horse. I am going to increase to 5000 mg next order and see if it gets even better. This has been like a legal miracle drug for this horse. He will stay on it for the rest of his life!
    Date published: 2012-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from We started using this product less than a month ago and have been very surprised with the outcome. We have a couple very uptight horses with ulcers and this seems to be working well with the ulcer medication in having them less stressed. I have since added a couple other geldings on the supplement with good outcome as well
    Date published: 2011-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purshase My horse was recovering from nerve damage and other injuries which caused him to panic without warning. He is now calm and rideable.
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Our chiropracter recomended that we put my daughters mare on magnesium to help her muscles. He is not a rep for smartpak. He said it was inexpensive and the smartpak system was easy to use.My greatest concern was would she eat it??? she is very picky about aditives.I found everythig to be as advertised. Its very convienent, inexpensive, and Misha eats it just thrown on top of her grain!!We have also noticed that hse has been much calmer and less jumpy, she wasnt bad before , she just seems a bit calmer.We will be adding this product to our other horse also.
    Date published: 2011-01-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product works! My horse would not eat this with her pelleted feed. I had to mix with applesauce and then she accepted it. She now eats it mixed in with a little water and pelleted feed. She was spastic but since receiving this, she is more alert and relaxed, also her crest is diminishing in size
    Date published: 2010-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressive results! I have a young off the track Thoroughbred. He can be extremely spooky, especially on windy days! today I rode him in the wind and he only had one small spook (normally his spooks are leaping about 3 feet to the side) . Honestly, I was so puzzled at his good behavior it took me a while to figure it out out..then I remembered!! I started this supplement about a month ago. Apparently it is working!!No more lost riding days due to windy weather!Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2010-10-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure yet My horse has only been on this product for a short time so it hard to determine if there are any effects. My horse does seem i little mor focused but we live in New york where the heat has been unbearable. I' m going to gve it some more time to see if it reeally works for him.
    Date published: 2012-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product, Excellent Purchse! My 9 year old Warmblood is very anxious and nervous at loud sounds, quick movements and new places. However, after being on this for a week he's a completly different horse. He's still the same wonderful horse he always has been, but he's focused and at ease all while still being alert. He no longer fidgets in the crossties if he hears something outside and stays focused on me in the ring even when there's a lot going on around us. He even calmly walked by our stable hand weedeating around the paddocks the other day. Before being on Magnesiusm 3000 he'd have planted all for feet, tossed his head in the air, snorted and pranced all the way back to his stall.Great product, awesome price. Because I show, I needed a suppliment that will calm my horse without druging him and must be legal. This was a great add to his daily suppliments!
    Date published: 2010-05-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Anxious mare This didn't work as a calming agent for our anxious mare. I'm sure it is a fine product- just not the one she needed. The Ex Stress has been a great fit for her.
    Date published: 2010-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a difference already! We purchase our wonderful 10-yr old mare two years ago. She is a rescue from auction and came with a handful of issues. Most of them, the vet has never figured out. Well, after reading about symptoms of a magnesium deficiency in a recent SmartPak catalog, it hit each and every symptom she has. I immediately ordered the MAGNESIUM 3,000 as part of our SMARTPAK system and after only 10 days, I am already seeing a difference in her energy level, her flexibility, her moods, and just a better overall sense of well-being! I finally have hope that we'll see her reach the potential we always believed she had! I will be making the MAGNESIUM 3,000 a permanent part of our SMARTPAK, for sure! Life is good!
    Date published: 2010-03-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality for the Price! I began using Magnesium 3,000 at the recommendation of my mare's Equine Body-worker. She was tense and irritable on the ground, but very relaxed under saddle. Grooming was a bit of a nightmare, and she had trouble relaxing when being handled. After about one week on the supplement, she has showed great, positive changes in her behavior and attitude. She seems much happier and more comfortable; her lateral work and transitions have improved, and her ground manners are much more manageable.
    Date published: 2010-02-12
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.