Product Image

G.U.T.

Uckele Health & Nutrition
- Item #10177
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

G.U.T. is a combination of synergistic ingredients designed specifically for horses with gastric problems. Great for picky eaters. Does not contain aluminum.

View our UlcerĀ & Gastric Health Supplements Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    G.U.T. is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 92.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! My pony loves this stuff! Her attitude has improved greatly and her weight is easier to maintain. Great product!
    Date published: 2013-03-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great stuff, evntually I really like this product. It did take some getting used to for my mare. She didn't want to eat her food for a day or so, but after mixing it in at each feeding she got used to the smell and eats it happily. I used this product after she had been treated for ulcers for a month and then after the weaning off period. I wanted a little something to keep her belly happy, but not include antacid. So far so good!
    Date published: 2013-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks forward to eating it! This only came in a powder, so I was a little apprehensive at first. After one week of handfeeding it to my horse, he now laps his bucket clean. Loves the stuff. It smells like marshmallows. He was formerly treated for ulcers, and I wanted an affordable product with no antacids. I have had excellant success with this. He is happy, accepting my leg, and moving forward. His coat is shiny and he's holding his weight perfectly. Mouth quiet and working in bridle. What more can I say? He's always gonna have this in his SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge Difference! At first my gelding didn't want to eat it but after only giving him the choice to eat the powder with the grain, he devoured it. Noticed a huge difference in him from time I got him to current time. More calm, digests food well and doesn't act like he is in pain. For the people whom cant get their horse to eat it, leave it out over night for them. I'd only give them the option of eating their grain with the powder mixed into it or just plain don't eat your grain for the next few days. I've tried U-guard powder and liquid, never noticed a difference in any of my horses. Also have tried cheapest stuff on market, this is the only one that seams too ease my horses.
    Date published: 2012-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse won't eat it... I'm giving it a three because the ingredients indicate a good product, but it's useless when the horse won't eat it.
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Won't eat it! I honestly can't rate this stuff because my horse won't eat it.
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Have used better products I use this product for my 4 year old and 13 year old OTTBs. While they do eat it well, I've found better results with U-gard.
    Date published: 2012-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT supplement I have to say i was a bit skeptical at first but after reading the reviews and seeing the price i decided to try this. My OTTB was girthy, and pinning his ears when i put my leg on but now all of that is gone! He has gained weight and has absolutely no ulcer type symptoms at all! Overall a much happier horse. He eats this without a problem as well.
    Date published: 2012-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy Tummy G.U.T. has made my horse so much happier and he eats now unlike before.
    Date published: 2012-04-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Refused! Tried, key word "tried", this on my OTTB. He would not even consider eating anything with this product on it. Two others denied it as well. None of these horses are picky eaters at all. I'm sure it's an excellent product, but totally not palatable to my three.
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this product! I acquired a horse known to have problems with ulcers. He had been on and off Ulcerguard, which as we all know is so expensive. When he came to me he was underweight, had a poor appetite, was "cinchy", and generally speaking just very nervous all the time. I started doing tons of research on the proper management of ulcers, as well as consulted my vet. I settled on G.U.T. from SmartPak and I am so happy with the results! It's been 5 weeks now and the difference in my horse is dramatic to say the least! He now has a wonderful appetite and cleans up every scrap of feed, he "cinchiness" is gone, and he is no longer exhibiting any nervous behavior. He has also gained so much weight I had to purchase a girth extender. The possitive difference this product has made is truly remarkable, and I recommend it to anyone wanting to manage ulcers with success. Plus, it is extremely affordable and my horse loves the taste. He licks his tub clean every time. GREAT PRODUCT!!
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great supplement for digestive health Smells like baked cookies!!! Horses seem to love the taste. Quality ingredients, especially the glutamine. My horses get this at home and on the show road. Never have any problems with ulcers or colic issues.
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really Seems To Help My horse, a healthy warmblood mare, began to become disinterested in her grain (still eating hay fine, drinking fine, no colic signs) and all other physical exam parameters were within normal limits (I am a vet student and made sure there wasn't any underlying disease going on). Anyway, long story short I got her scoped b/c I was really concerned about ulcers and she did not have any gastric ulcers, but was still being really picky about her grain intake. I gave it another 2 weeks. She would eventually eat grain if left in her bucket overnight, but she has always been very food oriented and even a little aggressive and she just didn't seem to care. So I started researching and talking to people and came across this product, GUT. A lot of people said it worked for picky eaters, etc. I tried it and within 2 days she was eating better. I honestly am not sure why it really works (not sure anyone truly is), but she has been on it a month and is still eating her grain well. I approve!
    Date published: 2012-02-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from replaced neigh-lox started using this after a great article/review by dressage trainer Lauren Spreiser. I've replaced my neigh-lox type supplements with this and so far so good. Much cheaper then neigh-lox too. wish it came as a pellet though.
    Date published: 2012-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got my mare back!! I have a 3 year old reining mare that was not diagnosed with ulcers, but she started to be overall very crabby about work. She was girthy, she would pin her ears if I got anywhere near the saddle before saddling her up. She would pin her ears when I would mount. She would kick out when I put pressure on her right side. The more I would work her the worse she would get. I decided to put her on G.U.T. The first night she wouldn't touch her grain with it in it. It was still in there the next morning, but by that afternoon she ate it. She now eats it right up with no problem. She was a new horse within 4-5 days of being on it. I doubled her up for the first week and then went to once per day. She has now been on it for about a month. No more ear pinning or kicking out, her whole demeanor has improved. Wonderful product.
    Date published: 2012-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff I'm not a big believer in supplements, but G.U.T. has made an enormous difference in my OTTB. He's gained a huge amount of weight and he is much happier with life in general.
    Date published: 2012-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy, palatable, and smells amazing! My horse wasn't diagnosed with ulcers, but he was being grouchy when I would go to ride, especially when being girthed. After starting this a month ago, he hasn't displayed any annoyed or pained expressions when I'm tacking him anymore and is generally much more pleased with life, so this definitely helped whatever was bothering him. He's very suspicious of anything new in his feed, but he loves the flavor and literally licks his bucket clean! Plus, this smells like marshmallows! If I were inclined to taste test anything, this would probably it! ;)
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have only been feeding this product for a little over a month but I can tell a difference already.My horse has gotten quieter when I work him and doesn't seem to get so excited and worried like he used to. He is a thoroughbred off the track and raced for about 5 years so I wondered if he had ulcers. He is actually a pretty melow guy when he is turned out and now he is prettymelow when I work him also.
    Date published: 2011-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stress Saver This product is awesome. Most competition horses stress and often begin to develop ulcers. I used GUT on my project horse before he got too stressed and it made such a difference. He was less tense than before and eats better too. I wish I had known about this product when I had some OTTB's. They really need it!
    Date published: 2011-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Should have bought this sooner I have a 34 year old mare who cribs. She was looking a little shabby and had a crabby attitude. I noticed she was biting her sides and chest more than I thought she should. I had her vet checked and he suggested gastric ulcers. I did my research and price comparisons; GUT through SmartPak was the best choice. Now my mare has an improved attitude, improved body condition and is no longer biting at her sides and chest. She has cut down significantly on her cribbing as well. I only have one regret and that is I wish I would have thought about this product earlier!
    Date published: 2011-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product We have several horse's on GUT .Their overall demeanor has improved.I wish there would have been products like this years ago .
    Date published: 2011-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff My ulcer prone ex-racehorse loves the taste of this stuff. It has made a huge difference in his ability to gain weight and his girthiness. Great stuff at a reasonable price.
    Date published: 2011-10-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from This product came highly recommended to me by other horse owners, but my horses would not eat this well. I would recommend anyone try this product & hope their horses like it.
    Date published: 2011-09-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product My original review was that my 17 year old TB hunter refused to eat this product so I stopped giving it to him. As the summer has gone on he has lost weight, lost his appetite and his coat was not as healthy as it usually is. Suspecting that long term Bute use had irritated his stomach, I wanted to try this product again. I have to mix it with applesauce to get him to eat it but within a week he is putting wight on, cleaning his feed bucket and his coat it shinier. He still has room for improvement and I will keep giving him GUT even if I have to buy applesauce to go with it. Thank you so much for helping my horse SmartPak!
    Date published: 2011-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Every horse in the barn gets GUT GUT is the one product every horse in the barn gets. I first tried it on a young mare who was a nervous wreck and a poor eater; three days on GUT and she was finishing meals for the first time. I never had to treat with GastroGard. Sold!
    Date published: 2011-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase My barrel horse always balked at going into the arena now after using G.U.T. he walks right in!!!
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great for ulcers My horse likes the flavor and readily eats it. The powder can blow around a little so some moist food helps. She seems to be less irritable on the Gut powder.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not work I purchased G.U.T in hopes that it would help my horse with ulcers and it is less expensive for me that Neighlox. Well I had high hopes for this product as friends had recommended it, sorry to say it did not pass the test on my horse. I am more than half way through the container and I have just ordered more Neighlox :(
    Date published: 2011-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I noticed my horse stopped running to the gate to greet me when I would go get him out of his pasture. He was also biting at his sides. Another friend mentioned that their horse had similar symptoms and had been diagnosed with ulcers. Since my horse was on a daily dose of bute I needed something to counter the possible ulcer side effects. I researched and found that GUT was effective and would not build up in his system so I could use it daily. He's now back to his former happy self and I had no issues getting him to eat the supplement added to his grain.
    Date published: 2011-06-20
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.