Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Saratoga Summer Turnout

Item #11758
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Voted the "Best Summer Turnout" out by John Lyons "The Perfect Horse", the Saratoga Summer Turnout is the best selling flysheet from Saratoga Horseworks. The fabric is non-absorbent and wicks away sweat from the horse allowing it to cool more quickly. The white body reflects sun to keep your horse cooler.

The Saratoga Summer Turnout is made from soft yet durable interlock woven mesh. Elastic leg straps, surcingle, and invisible shoulder gusset. White with Hunter Green trim.

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Saratoga Summer Turnout is rated 4.2034 out of 5 by 59.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from does the job This is a relatively lightweight fly sheet, so I have some concerns about how it will hold up with rolling and so on. I have had it for a week now, and so far so good. At least it is cheap if she tears it up! It seems to be a bit large in the shoulders, but I have a petite mare.
    Date published: 2010-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Sheet Can't go wrong with this sheet. Great price. Wish they offered it in other colors.
    Date published: 2010-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best of all fly sheets A fly sheet should keep the bugs off and fit well while staying put to do its job. They all tear but must be durable enough to last a season. This is that fly sheet. The leg straps do not interfere and keep the sheet in place and the sheet is white to keep them cool. This sheet is already soft but gets better with washings. My big horses have enough room in the neck to eat off the ground. On the TB's is does slide back at the neck close to the withers but it soft and doesn't bother them. Short on the sides for the large horses. Cool. Fit is true to size.
    Date published: 2010-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Fly Sheet I bought 3 of these fly sheets for all of my horses. I have to say I'm very impressed. It has made it through several rollings! The mesh is light weight and soft. I've noticed that my boys are swatting at flies with their tail less often as well.I have one gelding in particular who tends to loose his hair if left turned out in the sun for long, and this seems to have helped with that issue.I also had them embroidered with thier names for easy identification. Not only does it makes putting them on each horse faster, it looks pretty snazzy, too.All in all a very good purchase, would buy over and over.
    Date published: 2010-04-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad choice I think this is a horrible fly sheet. It has no tail flap. The front is so wide that it gets hung on the back of my 16.3 hand jumper's whithers. It is flimsy and the buckles are plastic, so we all know how long they will last. John Lyons must have been alseep at the switch when he reccommended this product.This is the worse product I have bought from Smart Pak!
    Date published: 2010-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a very durable sheet. My horses have 24 hour access to pasture and the sheets still last several seasons. They also stay on very well even when the horses roll.
    Date published: 2009-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps the healing process I have never used a flysheet before. I just spray his body and legs and use a mask. Recently my horse scraped his side getting off the trailer and needed stitches. I was worried that healing would be difficult because he could reach the area with his mouth, plus the horses are always grooming and rolling. So I had the flysheet overnighted to protect the area. The cut healed nicely, the stitches came out, and I removed the sheet. Within a few hours, he had rolled hard and picked at his side and reopened a little area...so the sheet is back on, probably for a few more days. He seems to like wearing it and I'm glad I bought it!
    Date published: 2009-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME! I had almost given up trying to find a fly sheet for my gelding. Some lasted only one day while others were so heavy that he was uncomfortable and sweaty on warmer days. The Saratoga sheet is ideal! I love it!
    Date published: 2009-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I liked this so much I bought a second one for my horse. I first tried a Kensington and it was so thick and plastic-y, I thought my horse would melt underneath it. Then I tried the Saratoga and it was GREAT. Not only was the price much more reasonable, but it worked great, fit pretty well, and my horse seemed comfortable in it in even the hottest temperatures.
    Date published: 2009-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy, cool, and comfortable I used to work at a barn and was responsible for putting fly sheets on and taking them off. I really liked this sheet because of the soft fabric it is made of and the placement of the straps. It is easy to put on and take off a horse. It stayed in place and held up very well.
    Date published: 2009-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Repeat Buyer I recently just purchased my sixth Saratoga Fly Sheet. I own 5 horses and have a total of 13 in my barn. I do all barn work myself and have a 40 hr job. I want excellent products that meet my horses needs combined with saving me time. This product offers both. It is the lightest fly sheet I have personally found which my horses need living in south Georgia. The quick snaps make it easy for me to put on and take off. I hope they don't quit making the product.
    Date published: 2009-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Purchase For the Money This sheet is a good purchase for the money. Lightweight, love the crisscross straps under the belly, but a little tight in shoulders for large breeds. A good overall summer sheet.
    Date published: 2009-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from i like there products and service i try to buy from some one that is a known co. and really care how there customers feel, and please there customers
    Date published: 2009-05-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from May Recommend Texas is a warm to hot state when its bug season. I have a friend whose horse is stabled half of the day and half of the day is out in a private paddock who recommend this fly sheet to me. It is great for warmer weather. My horse nor hers has sweated under it, and it also washes up easily. However, it does not close as well in the front across the chest on my horse. Also, my horse is out 24hrs a day which makes it more likely for ripping to occur. It has ripped but only around the shoulders. I currently trying to debate whether to buy this fly sheet or a different one again.
    Date published: 2009-02-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lightweight, but not so durable I purchased this sheet primarily to help keep my black horse nice and dark. While I do think it served that purpose, this sheet didn't last very long at all! It didn't even make it through the summer before it was shredded! To be fair, my horse was turned out with horses that liked to play "blanket tag", so I'd still recommend this sheet to someone with a horse that's turned out alone or with more "mellow" buddies.
    Date published: 2006-10-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The best of both worlds! My horses both live outside 24-7 and with all the rain we've had this spring fly sheets are a must have! Finding one that is tough enough to last more than a season but soft enough that it won't rub or make my horses hot has been a real challenge, though. The Saratoga Summer Turnout fits the bill perfectly! There are actually 5 horses at my barn wearing this sheet and not one of them has managed to tear their sheet, and oh boy have they tried! I also love the fact that this sheet washes beautifully in a standard washing machine, which is a good thing since it does tend to get dirty quickly. The white color is great for keeping the horses cool, though, and my black mare's coat has never looked better. The legs straps ensure that the sheet doesn't roll or twist, which is super important when it needs to stay in place through rolling, bucking, rearing, running, playing, and all the other fun things horses do in their paddock!
    Date published: 2006-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Fly Sheet I was worried about using a fly sheet on my Haflinger. I was afraid it was going to be too hot or that he would get his legs caught in the straps. This sheet fit him to a T! Another fly sheet rubbed the hair off his chest and withers, but in this sheet he runs around his paddock and theres not a scratch on him! The elastic straps move with him extremely well and strech when needed. Also, the buckles on the sheet make it very easy to put on and take off.
    Date published: 2005-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've tried them all, but this one is the best! I have four fly sheets sitting in my barn right now that I will never use again. One's too hot, one fell apart, one is too stiff, and so on. I never thought I would find the perfect sheet, but this one is it! It is extremely lightweight and very durable. My horse is out 24/7 and it has held up beautifully! It's cool and comfortable, which is so important because my horse gets so hot. Because she's a dark bay, the white color really helps her. It also moves with her very well; some fly sheets that are a light material actually stick to her hair and pull badly, but not this one. I absolutely love it!
    Date published: 2004-08-05
    • 2015-03-03T09:19CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_56
    • loc_en_US, sid_1758, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.