Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Baker™ Fly Sheet

5/A Baker Products, Inc.
- Item #11756

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Baker Fly Sheet is a unique, multifunctional fly sheet designed to meet the needs of horses that are turned-out on a regular basis. The Baker Fly Sheet fabric is non-abrasive and provides superior protection from flies. Screens out 70% of ultraviolet rays. Easy-to-clean fabric dries in minutes, resists mildew, and is virtually stain-proof. Both the leg straps and surcingle are elasticized to keep the Baker Fly Sheet snugly in place with just the right amount of "give". In the Original Baker Tan Plaid or the Tartan Plaid.

Imported.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Baker™ Fly Sheet is rated 4.4138 out of 5 by 58.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet! I needed a very basic fly sheet for the times when my horse is body clipped for shows. My horse loves rolling (he has a dirt spot in his pasture I call his "chinchilla dust bath area") and so far this sheet has held up great after wearing for 3 months this summer. I ordered a size up and it fits him well although it does seem to rub him a tiny bit in the shoulders.
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Would not recommend! This is the only Baker item I have ever purchased and not been happy with. The size runs large, and the material is VERY STIFF! It does not drape nicely on your horse, and because of the stiffness, rubs in the shoulder area. My horse had the belly strap rip off the second day she wore it. Not long after, it ripped in the chest area. I would definitely not recommend this fly sheet. Not Baker's best product!
    Date published: 2013-01-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected I purchased a Baker fly sheet based on a recommendation from someone I know who spoke highly of Baker quality. I was disappointed - my horse usually wears a size 84 in blankets, so I ordered the 84 sheet. I loved the color and look of the Original colored sheet when it arrived, and the quality of the sheet material seemed good, but I wasn't thrilled with the quality of the straps. The sheet seemed to fit a little snugly, but I started wearing it on my horse. Within about two weeks, the chest straps looked stretched out, and I was concerned because I was not certain how the sheet would hold up over time. I did send the sheet back, and am much happier with the Kensington sheet I exchanged it for.
    Date published: 2012-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly sheet yet This is by far the best quality fly sheet I have used. I've had one for over five years with no sign of wear. The sizing is accurate and it does seem to keep my mare cooler. She sweats more in areas that are not covered. The sheet also stands up well to horsey antics. Would highly recommend.
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Sheet Runs true to size and has stood up to my rough and tumble saddlebred so far. The pattern is beautiful and classic. Also, always a fan of products Made in the USA!
    Date published: 2012-08-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from no shoulder gussets??? I bought this fly sheet for my horse and assumed it would be ample in the shoulders given that I figured they would have thought this through. New, on him, it rubbed his skin down to bleeding on the first day. I felt terrible. I put it on a VERY skinny, no shoulders horse we have and it works so I am keeping it, but I think the company has kind of thrown its reputation to the dogs and is not about great design anymore.
    Date published: 2012-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Turnout Fly Sheet Love this fly sheet - I use it for my black gelding as a sun sheet and a protector for the little one against playtime in the pasture. The sheets look amazing and withstand so much use !! Love them !! The price is well worth it !! If they ever wear out - I will be buying another one to replace it !!
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy Duty Fly Sheet I love all things Baker so this was one of my first purchases when I got a new horse last summer. It is a beautiful sheet that is now well into its 2nd season. It has held up well except it somehow got matching holes in the front of the chest on both sides. They are each about the size of the palm of my hand. They have been there since last year and not gotten any larger. Odd. Other than that no rips, tears, etc. It is a heavier fly sheet. When it is really warm he will sweat in it. The heaviness of the fabric probably improves the durability. It is comparable to the Kensington. I would recommend it as long as its not too scorching hot where you live!
    Date published: 2012-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best fly sheet I have tried this sheet is working! I have an OTTB who is long and tall -- this fits him properly and even with all day turnout in a herd situation(lots of halter tag and rolling) it has held up so far. My horse does not seem to be over-heating with the sheet on -which he usually does with other fabrics and brands. Another plus is that it does not seem to show the dirt the way a white sheet would. So far I amvery happy with the purchase....
    Date published: 2012-06-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Tough Enough for Mare This sheet is beautiful, fits perfectly and was slit almost in half overnight by my ungrateful mare. She has also shredded the back by rubbing her tail off. If your horse wears their clothes well, I would recommend it, but if your horse[s] are hard on clothes, I have had much better luck with the Weatherbeeta Dura Mesh Detach A Neck Fly Sheets.[Photo taken five minutes into use]
    Date published: 2012-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holds up for 24/7 turnout! I love this sheet, my horse is turned out all day and night and so far the blanket has zero rips and tears. Air easily travels through it so i also dont have to worry about my horse being too hot. Deff will be my number one fly sheet :)
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these fly sheets My horses are hard on their fly sheets and these stand up to heavy wear. They fit good, look good, and stay around season after season. A great buy!
    Date published: 2012-05-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value for the Money My guy is not crazy in turnout so I can't really give the durability a rating. All I know is that he is extremely sensitive to flies and with this sheet on he will gladly stand in turnout all day if he could. I'd say that this sheet may run a bit small but I had heard this so I purchased one size larger and it fits perfectly. We're both very pleased with this Baker fly sheet!
    Date published: 2012-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product, ? fit The Baker fly sheet was beautiful and looked to be pretty durable. I wanted it to replace a Kensington fly sheet since it was a similar type of material. It seemed to fit in his normal size (my warmblood normally wears a 80 in most blankets) but was very restrictive/tight across his shoulder. Since it didn't have shoulder darts, I was concerned it would rub. I tried a friend's Baker sheet in 82 and it was better but still tight across the shoulders so I didn't think ordering a size up would help. So sad but had to send back.
    Date published: 2012-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Sheet I have ever owned!` My horse is pretty rough on his blankets, especially fly sheets. The last few summers I have been through 2-3 sheets throughout the fly season. I have had the Baker fly sheet on him for about 3 months now, and it has no tears, no holes, no rips, and no rub marks. Love this sheet!
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to be a nice sheet, EXCEPT that one of the leg straps was broken when I received item. Smart Pak is replacing the strap.I hope that this solves the problem.The front buckle and strap could be of better quality.
    Date published: 2012-04-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from excellent customer service, BUT Beautiful sheet and excellent fit! But my horse ripped the sheet buckle within first 2-3 wks. Smart pak replaced AT NO CHARGE and even gave me size lrger. Within 1 week my the leg snap/buckle broke. Not Smart Paks fault. But wondering about durability of Baker??????
    Date published: 2012-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome sheet! My appy gelding seems to be rough on blankets so I need durability! This fly sheet is the best one I have ever used! He went through 3 fly sheets last summer, by June I gave up and left him without, he has been wearing his baker sheet everyday for a month and it's still in perfect condition!
    Date published: 2012-04-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Buy I would buy this sheet again, the material is awesome you can just hose it off to clean it, and the price is right.
    Date published: 2011-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent This fly sheet is very sturdy and well made. I have used sheets in the past that have fallen apart very soon after their initial use. I am certain that this sheet will last for another season or two.
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great do-it-all flysheet This sheet seems lighter weight than other textilene flysheets and my horse has stayed cool even on 90+ degree days. The drop is perfect (a tiny bit shorter than other brands like Kensington) and the fit is the same as other Baker sheets, with a slightly higher cut neck. My horse measures as a 76 and is a 76 in all Baker models. Also have the poly daysheet and the rainsheet and love them all! Way to go Baker.
    Date published: 2011-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value!!!!!!!!! As far as I am concerned this is the best fly sheet for the money. Fits great, durable, light color. Very good product.
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best value As far as I am concerned this is the best fly sheet for the money. Fits great, durable, light color. Very good product.
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not for my horse My horse (an appendix with a TB build) is hard to fit b/c his chest/shoulders tend to rub most blankets. For winter, I use the HUG blankets very successfully but he managed to destroy their flysheet in 3 weeks. I tried this blanket, but it doesn't have enough room for his shoulders nor does it have a protective lining. However, SmartPak was extremely helpful about finding a blanket that would fit and (hopefully) will be less vulnerable to exuberant behavior.
    Date published: 2011-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Fly Sheet This is the best fly sheet I have used. This is my third purchase. The first two didn't last long at all. My horse bit at them and had sizable holes ripped in them fairly quickly. He has accepted this sheet beautifully. No chewing, biting or tearing at all! The sheet itself is pretty tough and it fits him very well; no chafing or rubbing around the neck or chest area. Best of all he is content while turned out. Woo-Hoo! I'll probably purchase another one just to have an alternate.
    Date published: 2011-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Sheet This fly sheet is so durable without sacrificing breathability! I've used other brands that are very light weight, but easily snag and always have to be mended. This sheet seems to resist dirt as well which is a bonus. Oh did I mention the great fit and compliments that come from everyone at the barn too?
    Date published: 2011-05-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Looking Sheet, but Runs Large This is probably the best-looking fly sheet you can put on your horse. My 15hh Connemara usually fits in size 80 blankets for both Weatherbeeta and Rambo comfortably. I ordered the Bakers Blanket Fly Sheet in an 80 and it looks rather large on him. I bought this for turnout in the spring and summer, and it looks pretty durable, but it could have more surcingles to keep it in place. It's a good value for the money but watch the fit, for sure!
    Date published: 2011-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money This is probably the most attractive and durable fly sheet I have come across so far. It fits well and runs true to size. If your horse fits other Baker products (which are sized similar to Weatherbeeta) then this fly sheet would work well for you. I'm a little worried that my mare might only be able to wear it until around the end of June as she might get hot, but in this Texas heat they sweat without anything on, especially in July/Aug. Definately one of my favorite purchases from Smartpak!
    Date published: 2011-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.