Product Image
Additional Views

Gleam & Gain

Adeptus Animal Nutrition, Inc
- Item #11712
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 2 SmartPak Wells

Gleam & Gain is a premium supplement that promotes healthy weight gain and a beautiful coat in all types of horses! This outstanding formula combines fatty acids from heat stabilized Flax Meal (high in Omega 3 Fatty Acids) with Rice Bran Extract, in a tasty Yeast Culture base, for digestive support. Gleam & Gain greatly improves skin and coat condition and also be used for weight gain or as a source of "calm" calories for performance. Contains a proper Calcium:Phosphorous ratio as to not interfere with a balanced equine diet. Palatable granular formula! Feed 4 oz. to use this product for weight gain.

View our Skin & Coat Supplement Comparison Chart

View our Weight Gain Supplement Comparison Chart

 

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Gleam & Gain is rated 4.4571 out of 5 by 35.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from This product is ok. It definitely helped maintain my tbs weight throughout the winter and didnt really get him hot but I think there are much better supplements out there for a much better price i will definitely will be using a different product next year and taking advantage of the free taste test samples.
    Date published: 2011-04-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Worth It This supplement did nothing for my horse. She actually lost weight while on it and her coat did not show any visible improvement either. I gave the supplement ample time to take effect...I fed it for at least 3 months.
    Date published: 2011-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from picky eater loves it Ryo does NOT like any type of powder I've ever tried but he eats this all up! I did a lot of research really looking for something that'll maintain his weight through the winter but not make him hot. This was definately worth the extra money for me.
    Date published: 2011-10-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Waiting to see how it works as I've only started using it. My horse eats it readily and hopefully will add to his condition as he is very difficult to keep weight on.
    Date published: 2011-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product Love Gleem & Gain! I use it on all my show horses. Gives that extra fullness to the body and shine to the coat.
    Date published: 2010-12-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Got a picky eater? My Morgan is especially picky about his supplements, but this one he just wouldn't touch. He ended up losing weight from not eating his grain. You do get a good bang for your buck, one bucket lasted me 3 months.
    Date published: 2010-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have been using for over 3 years now I purchased this product to help maintain my mares weight and keep a nice coat on her. This product does exactly what the name says....I would recommend it for sure.
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! Works quickly. We had visible results on my Paso within two weeks. He is a nervous, picky eater and this is the only product out of two dozen that has worked on Alex without side effects. Recommend it to EVERYONE that has a horse that needs a little extra weight. Also works very well for rescue horses in need of a lot of weight. The added benefit of great coat and mane and tail is wonderful as well!
    Date published: 2010-08-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from 90lb Weakling Now Bulked Up and Strutting When we bought our boy Clint, 4 months ago he was a skinny, tall Tennessee Walker who couldn't quite live up to his namesake (Clint Eastwood). We tried Gleam and Gain after attempting more feed, more exercise and not seeing the results. His lack of muscle was limiting his ability to gait well and his stamina on trail rides was not impressive. The Gleam and Gain made a huge difference. His front and back end have bulked up considerably with muscle and he is performing his gaits beautifully. His trail stamina and energy levels are dramatically improved. His jumping over trail obstacles has gone from weak to impressive. We have seen improvement in his coat and as well, but his increased muscle mass and stamina are most noticeable. Now our 90 lb weakling is living up to his namesake and strutting around, showing off his muscles.
    Date published: 2010-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Working wonders! I can't belive how amazing this product is! It works great to keep weight on a hard keeper (he's an OTTB). His coat is sooooo shiny and beautuful now, too! Great product!
    Date published: 2010-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-04-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Still too early to tell Horse refused to eat at first. Mixed w/ peppermint.
    Date published: 2010-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from didn't realize until I quit using it I added this to my young warmblood's smartpak late last summer to help my boy get some weight back on after a huge growth spurt in the late spring and summer. He also has allergies and I was trying whatever I could to help reduce the coughing. I started getting compliments on how shiny his coat was but wasn't sure it was doing anything for his respiratory problems until I took him off it. I've noticed him coughing more where he would hardly cough at all while he was on this. I'm adding it back now that I've seen the difference that a good dose of omega fatty acids can make!
    Date published: 2014-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Supplement I wanted this supplement for the weight gain. My senior thoroughbred has been on it about a month, I am using the 4oz dose recommended for weight gain . So far I have seen great results, his winter coat is so glossy and his energy level is up. The weight is coming slowly but so far so good. I plan to keep him on the maintenance dose indefinitely.
    Date published: 2010-02-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from PSSM horse does well I started using this product after figuring out that my Paint has PSSM. I searched for a product that would taste good, be affordable and give the extra fat he needs withoout making him high. I have been using it for almost 2 years now and with the combination of consistent exercise and fat he does a lot better, only occasional tying up when laid up from an injury or weather.
    Date published: 2010-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-01-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good results and well worth the money my new QH gelding had a dull coat coming out of winter, and I wanted to help him look show ready quickly, and I noticed results 3 weeks into using it, and he now looks awesome. He has put on some weight as well. I would recommend this product.
    Date published: 2009-06-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from My Mare Won't Touch This I tried Gleam and Gain because of the great reviews. I have a mare who is a hard keeper. However, she usually eats her grain but as soon as I put this supplement in her food, she stopped eating it. She would walk over to her food, sniff and walk away. I tried hand feeding her and mixing in some homemade applesauce but all my attempts were in vain. I removed the Gleam and Gain and she started eating again.
    Date published: 2009-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff! I've used this product for several years, and my horse gets compliments on his beautiful coat no matter where we go. He maintains a nice weight on a minimal amount of grain and his coat shines like crazy.
    Date published: 2009-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product I had been out of the "horse world" for over 18 years and had no idea what products were worthwhile, when I adopted my Arabian gelding from a local rescue. A trainer suggested this product because my horse was horribly underweight. Within 2 weeks, I could see a noticible change in his coat, and within 8 weeks he had put back on most of his weight, and not just belly weight - the weight was an all over, even distribution. This product delivered what it claimed to, and goes a long way(I still have over 1/3 rd bucket left ) I will not hesitate to us this product for any of my horses that are in need of extra calories, or during show season for that dazzling coat.
    Date published: 2009-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product! My horse came to me recovering from a bad case of rain rot, and he had been body clipped. He was also quite thin. I put him on Gleam and Gain, and first I noticed he gained weight, and when his summer coat grew in, it was SO nice! Everyone comments on how shiny he is.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product after all! I originally ordered Gleam and Gain for my gelding who was a little underweight when I bought him. I wanted it because it said he would not get hot on it, however he did. But I have found out that he seems to get hot on everything, including just being alive. Anyway, I had a lot left over, so when I bought a little 6 yr. old mare a few weeks ago, who was very underweight and had a long shaggy dull coat (when all the others had shed out already), I decided to try it on her. Within 3 weeks, she has a mirror shine to her almost black coat, and her ribs are covering up nicely. She is as shiny as all my other fat horses, maybe shinier! AND, she is not hot- surprising since she is an appendix QH and nervous to start with. I am training her for games and just won 4 out of 6 classes last weekend! Great product, I will order some more!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent but not a Miracle Product I used the max amount of Gleam & Gain on my yearling welsh/tb filly for over a month. She remained calm and her coat is decently shiny but not anything that makes me say wow - even with being blanketed and groomed regularly. I just didn't see any changes that would rate this product above a three.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Product! Incredible results. I have a performance TB/WB and I was beginning to accept that I would always see his ribs. I used other weight gain products and they made him dangerously high without any added weight. As soon as I put him on Gleam & Gain his ribs disappeared, his attitude went back to normal, and his coat is now immaculate. I've never seen it shine so much! I'm no longer embarrassed to take him to competitions! This product is highly recommended!
    Date published: 2010-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product I have a 28 year old QH that has problems keeping on weight. He's been through it all, teeth floating, senior feed, daily dewormer, vet test. He's an incredibly picky eater. I've tried so many weight supplements. I tried Gleam & Gain and was thrilled that he ate it! No more clumpy powder in the bottom of his feed bucket! He's gaining weight & his coat looks good.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Wonderful This is the most fabulous supplement I have ever tried. Every horse in my barn is on it. See the 'bloom' on your horse in two weeks - without making your horse hot. A shining coat, sparkle in the eye, and great digestion is what you get. I use is on my western pleasure mare, yearlings, and an older hard keeper gelding. One oz. a day is all it takes. You will never see a better coat!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.