Product Image

Mare Plus

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #10166
Form: Crumble
Maintenance Dose: 2 SmartPak Wells

Mare Plus is a vitamin-mineral supplement to bring the mare’s system into a properly balanced condition, optimal for conception, parturition and lactation. The Breeder’s Choice.  View our Multi-Vitamin Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Mare Plus is rated 4.7179 out of 5 by 39.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I believe this product has helped my mare maintain optimum body condition throughout her pregnancy and would highly recommend!
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Eh I'm breeding my mare, and I've put her on Mare Plus for the nutritional benefit. So far, I've had her on the product for two months but noticed no difference. Hopefully it has benefits I can't see, and I'll have a beautiful foal in 11 months. The photo is of my mare (the cute little blood bay) and her buddy, a palomino. This photo was taken last summer. The shine comes from daily brushing and 1 scoop of Mirra Coat per day. (This is before I had her on the product I'm reviewing.)
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great supplement! Great supplement! A vet friend of mine says that they put all the horses they get in who are of 'questionable' health on it. Even the boys. Both my mares are on it and they are both so shiny and their feet are great! Even my rescue mare who had crumbling feet when I got her.Great all around for minerals/vitamins. :) Love!
    Date published: 2012-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not Just for Pregnant Mares!! I used this in the 2010-2011 for my two pregnant pony mares and noticed how the farrier actually complained about the good, hard hoof growth that both mares had the whole time they were on this supplement. So I started to feed it to another mare that was having problems with her hooves being too soft and not having enough wall. After a couple of months her feet were 10x better. Since this supplement is basically just extra vitamins and minerals we've started feeding it at a rate of 1oz/day to all the horses (geldings included) with weak hooves to help fortify their feet and have great results.Talk to your Vet and Farrier to see about giving it a try.
    Date published: 2012-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Broodmares I have an older broodmare and another in her teens and this is great to supply them all the nutrients and minerals they need while in foal and afterwards for milk production after foaling..Nce all-around product esp when getting the larger bucket at a better rate!
    Date published: 2012-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent supplement We purchased Mare Plus for both of my TWH mares. A little unusual in that neither mare have had a foal. My older mare had extremely dry flakey skin last winter. The younger mare had a nasty bought of scratches. Mare Plus was recommended on an equestrian board for both conditions. I must say after just a few weeks both have beautiful winter coats. No signs of flakey skin nor any other skin conditions to date. We top dress their alfalfa pellets with Mare Plus - every bit is eaten.
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from If they eat it it's great! I put my two mini mares on Mare Plus. One will eat it and one won't. The one who does is doing great on it :)
    Date published: 2011-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for Bred Mares I looked at all sorts of supplements for my bred mares and those with foals at side. Mare Plus has more for the money and is easy to use. Every mare I give this to must like the taste as I never see any of it left in the bucket.
    Date published: 2011-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Mare Plus keeps my (TB) mares looking great! When using Mare Plus I've always had big beautiful foals and my mares always look great after foaling!
    Date published: 2011-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Stuff I have a small welsh pony in foal. With the amount of feed that you can safely feed it is hard for them to get all the nutrients that they need. Using mare plus I can be assured that my mare and foal will be healthy and happy!
    Date published: 2011-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for mares keeping broodmares on Mare Plus has given me quality foals and mare in top condition
    Date published: 2011-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Proof is in the results. Our mares are put on Mare Plus several months prior to breeding and stay on it throughout weaning. As a result, they tend to be easy breeders/rebreeders. Mares and foals look great!
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good! I started my mare on this product once we found out she was successfully bred for a 2011 foal (but recommend starting before you begin trying to breed if you're reading this review).She always eats every crumble and has never looked quite as radiant as she does with all of the extra nutrition. I'm hoping my foal will be fabulous and healthy when s/he makes a debut in 2011, and I plan on keeping my mare on this product as long as she is being used as a broodmare.
    Date published: 2010-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-08-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good My pregnant mare eats this stuff right up! she's only been on it for about a month now so I can't say if I see much change in her, but she seems to like it and I'm sure it is helping add nutrients to her diet. She's not due until next spring so I guess we will find out how the baby is then. but it seems like a great supplement for a low price.
    Date published: 2010-07-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mare in top form Started my mare on this product 3 months prior to breeding and continued and she has never looked so good, is healthy has a super shiny coat, and doing well with the pregancy!Planning to continue her on this thru nursing.
    Date published: 2009-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from old time favorite it simply a name you can trust, the product has been an over-all barn favorite
    Date published: 2009-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it? I've been using Mare+ for 6 years exclusively. My mares are reproductively sound, are in superb health and most importantly, deliver big correct foals.Mare+ isn't the cheapest product out there, but why sacrifice quality to price? We're growing baby horses here and skimping on mare care would be very unwise.
    Date published: 2009-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Vitamin I have been breeding horses for over 16 years and always give this supplement to my brood mares. My stallions benefit from it as well. I give it to the boys just prior to, and during breeding season.
    Date published: 2009-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-06-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My mares stay cool I have 7 mares. I keep all of them on Mare Plus, even if they're not being bred. It helps keep them more balanced through their normal female cycles. I'm currently breeding my 22 year old mare, who cycles like clockwork and conceives in one cycle.
    Date published: 2009-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product We are looking to breed our mare this spring and I have found this product to be a great supplement with helping to keep her healthy and in top condition.
    Date published: 2009-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Picky Eater will Eat It!! My mare, who is often pretty picky, will eat this and not bat an eyelash! Easy to feed and highly palatable.
    Date published: 2009-04-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Economical Muti-vitamin A very cost effective product to insure that my broodmares were getting all the vitamins needed.
    Date published: 2009-04-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm impressed! I'm quite impressed with this product. While not a breeder I did adopt a mare who had been seized for neglect last year and she turned out to be pregnant. I was concerned, given her history of neglect and poor condition, about her pregnancy and any possible negative effects her treatment could have on her foal. I chose Mare Plus to add to her diet after reading your reviews and I was so pleasantly surprised to find that such a reasonably priced supplement could offer such obvious results. My mare picked up condition and delivered a robust and healthy filly in June. Thanks SmartPak and Mare Plus!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than sweet feeds We breed and raise Arabian horses. All of our horses are easy keepers so the idea of placing them on a sweet feed concerned us because of weight gain. We first starting using Mare Plus when the vet was concerned about one of our broodmare's weight. After switching to Mare Plus, our mare safely lost the extra pounds and still foaled a large, healthy filly. Very awesome product and well worth it.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product! Tiger was bred in 2005, we tried 3 heat cycles (triple ovulated all 3 times) with no luck. Put Tiger on Mare Plus vitamins and Evitex in January 2006 and she took first try late in the season in August. She is now on day 292, happy and healthy, her coat and hooves are in excellent condition, and the vet couldn't be happier with her body condition. Baby is kicking up a storm in there, so we're expecting a very happy, energetic foal.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.