Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Mosquito Halt

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #11540

Buy 4 Quarts, Save 15%!


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Mosquito Halt protects against horse, house, stable, face, horn and deer flies, gnats, lice, deer ticks and mosquitoes for up to two weeks. Combines pyrethrine and cypermethrin for quick knock down and residual control. Mosquito Halt includes sunscreen for protection against harmful UV rays. Newly designed superior spray bottle is leak proof with an easy-to-handle, ergonomic design.

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Mosquito Halt is rated 4.5889 out of 5 by 90.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from One of the best fly/mosquito sprays Indeed this is one of the better fly and bug spray products on the market, though that really isn't saying much.I've been using fly spray for 30+ years, and I've yet to find one that works as well as the label says. Mosquito Halt is honestly no different, but it does work perhaps a tad bit better than most others. I have to reapply every day, sometimes twice daily, but it really does instantly knock down flies, gnats, mosquitoes, etc. It may only last a few hours, but for those few hours my horses are fairly bug-free.
    Date published: 2011-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from effective This is the only flyspray that works. My boarders try cheaper brands and their horses are stomping flies. My horses nap happily in their stalls not having to fight bugs.
    Date published: 2011-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps mosquitos away Mosquito Halt is my absolute favorite fly spray. It works the quickest and longest at keeping not just mosquitos, but other pests away as well. I live in Texas where we have long, hot summers. This product outshines its more expensive competitors.
    Date published: 2011-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mosquito Halt I have used this product this spring and it was a very wet spring in that the mosquito's thrived, It did a wonderful job in keeping them away, I would recommend this spray to everyone.
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective sweat-proof protection This product works well here in the hot, humid, buggy Florida summer. My horse is a great sweater and other water-based sprays do not get the job done. I highly recommend it
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't let the name fool you This is by far the best fly spray I have tried! I have 2 TBs (very sensitive to flys). Over the last few years I have tried just about every fly spray out there. I was hesitant to try this one because of the name, I thought it was just for Mosquitos. I gave up every other type of spray and only use this brand. It works great, the smell is kind of strong, and it drives the other barn people nuts but hey it works!
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best flyspray on the market I always used that messy oily wipe..it was the only thing that worked until I tried Misquito Halt at the recommendation of my vet. Wow, it is great. I can even ride in the woods.
    Date published: 2011-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hooked on this fly spray I ran out and had to use another brand of fly spray until my reorder arrived, and I could not believe the difference. The horses were much more bothered with the other spray. This stuff really seems to work. My very sensitive horse has been much more enjoyable to ride thanks to Mosquito Halt.
    Date published: 2011-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good stuff I have used this a few times - the horses are comfortable for their turn out. No more messing with the garlic, vinegar etc- this stuff works. (Needs to be used immediately before grass time)
    Date published: 2011-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works This is the only thing that I've found that actually works for repelling flies. It doesn't smell great and it only lasts for a few hours but it works better than anything else I've found. It is pricey so I've been mixing it with apple cider vinegar and a couple drops of dawn dishwashing detergent to stretch it. The mixture doesn't seem to lessen the effect of the product.
    Date published: 2011-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mosquitos hate it. Great stuff for mosquitos and flies. This is the ony spray I use.
    Date published: 2011-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Spray I've used this product for several years and still love it. At home, horse shows or out on the trail my horses are never bothered by bugs.
    Date published: 2011-06-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works as well as anything The higher end fly sprays seem to all work about the same..this has the best scent but I did not think it was better than Bug Block. I use fly predators and traps, primarily. Wished the label stated it worked on deer flies. I will probably go back to Bug Block next order.
    Date published: 2011-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Mosquito killer I have swarms of mosquitoes every summer. This has been the only fly spray that repels them effectively.
    Date published: 2011-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product Mosquito Halt was recommended by my veterinarian. It really does work!! Definitely worth the money.
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works. This is the only bug spray I bought this summer. It makes a difference with all the mosquitos we have had this year.Great stuff.
    Date published: 2010-11-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best Fly Spray I've Found This is the best flyspray I have found, and I've tried many. Works great for flys, gnats, and mosquitoes. Lasts as long as any. Strong smell, but not too unpleasant. Since it's pretty pricey, I use it for riding, and use a less expensive brand for turnout.
    Date published: 2010-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from greatest for flies This is by far the best fly control spray on the market. It has a strong odor so I spray it outside the stall area. Last for days and keeps even the peskiest bugs at bay.
    Date published: 2010-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very effective We have found this to be a very effective product and it all but eliminates the necessity of a fly mask for our gelding. One less thing to wear is always a great deal in his opinion!
    Date published: 2010-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always use Mosquito Halt was recommended about 2-3 years ago in Horse Journal and I tried some. I have never used anything since. It lasts longer than any other product on the market. I have tried them all. I hope they don't change their formula as others have done because I will remain their valued customer as long as they don't.
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't be fooled by the name Just simply does not work. My thin skinned OTTB was swarmed with mosquitoes just after application of the product! Didn't even work on my thick-skinned Appy! Waste of money.
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from mosquito halt Nothing seems to work against flies, but I don't see many mosquitoes.
    Date published: 2010-08-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just average My black horse seems to draw mosquitoes more than the lighter horses so I tried this product. I think it helped minimally, but I was hoping for better protection. He still had quite a few biting him. I think it smells like a man's cologne.
    Date published: 2010-08-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from mosquito halt I have not found a spray yet that really seems to control flies and mosquitoes, but this seems to work as well as any of them, I like the odor.The sprayer seems to work well.
    Date published: 2010-08-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Very Effective for Mosquitos I haven't found this product to be very effective against mosquitos and only marginally effective for flys and gnats.
    Date published: 2010-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for repelling flies and mosquitoes This product is stronger than any fly spray, and will do a great job of keeping flies off, as well as mosquitoes. Requires less frequent application than fly spray. Smells strong, but does the job.
    Date published: 2010-07-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the smell! I have been very happy with using this product. Bugs still will be around the horse but they don't land on him and get a chance to bite. As far as a bug spray it smells wonderful too! It doesn't leave behind any film on the horses coat! works great against mosquitos too!!
    Date published: 2010-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Spray This stuff knocks the flys dead now!!! and keeps on working thru the nite. Best stuff I ever used. A little pricey but you get what you pay for.
    Date published: 2010-07-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A fly spray that works? After admittedly only a few uses, Mosquito Halt is living up to its claim to reduce attacks by biting flies. It seems to be keeping them at bay which allows for successful riding and comfortable turnout. It remains to be seen how it does with house flies since that season is just getting started in upstate NY.
    Date published: 2010-06-22
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.