Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Mosquito Halt

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #11540

Buy 4 Quarts, Save 15%!


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Mosquito Halt protects against horse, house, stable, face, horn and deer flies, gnats, lice, deer ticks and mosquitoes for up to two weeks. Combines pyrethrine and cypermethrin for quick knock down and residual control. Mosquito Halt includes sunscreen for protection against harmful UV rays. Newly designed superior spray bottle is leak proof with an easy-to-handle, ergonomic design.

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Mosquito Halt is rated 4.5889 out of 5 by 90.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Actually works Keeps the bugs at bay long after product has dried, unlike a lot of fly sprays that only work for 5 or so minutes. Has a strong odor when first applied, but within minutes mellows out to a very pleasant scent. We live near a swamp, and after trying many different sprays over the years, this is the only stuff I use now.
    Date published: 2013-07-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from There is no perfect fly spray but ... While all of us know that the perfect fly spray does not exist - Mosquito Halt comes pretty close. My OTTB is sensitive to bug bites and this seems to help him the most. Now that it is becoming warmer, overnight turnout will occur, and I like having the assurance of a mosquito repellent as well.
    Date published: 2013-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, but doesn't last against texas Mosquitos I've tried so many products to help my horse against the terrible Mosquitos we get in the marshlands of coastal texas, and this one by far has been the best. However, I find that it only really works for the first 20-30 mins, when the smell is still very strong, then my horse is covered in Mosquitos again. We really get awful Mosquitos here, and this is the first product that has really done much to hold them off, even for a short while. I had tried a citronella neck collar too, with no luck at all, but when I spray the neck collar with mosquito halt - jackpot! It keeps my horse mosquito free for almost a full day!
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average Performance I expected more than average performance based on the majority of positive reviews. My experience with the product is that flies seem to land right back on the horse not long after spraying. I sprayed my horse during grooming, after saddling up and two times during the ride in the ring. I know that fly sprays are not 100% effective as advertised, but I will not repurchase as I found myself reapplying this product more frequently then with the other ones that I have used.
    Date published: 2013-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works I purchased it based upon review by Horse Journal. It works on flies and gnats.
    Date published: 2013-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good stuff This is the only spray that I've tried (and I've tried many) that will keep flies and biting insects off the horses. The downside of it is that is only works for a few hours and then needs reapplied and it is expensive. But at least it does work.
    Date published: 2013-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Thing to Keep Ticks Off! I have been using this product twice a week from March thru November in New England for 4 years, and none of my 3 horses have had Lyme since (they did previously). I rarely find a tick on them. Many in my area find dozens of ticks on their horses every week. I am exceptionally pleased with the product. It even repels horse flies!
    Date published: 2013-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly spray! Great fly spray. Works better than most. Nice smell as well.
    Date published: 2013-06-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Well No fly spray really does an outstanding job, but this one is pretty good. I bought it as a fly spray, not a mosquito spray, and it works well to repell and hopefully kill the flies. Your best bet is always a good manure disposal plan, however. Unfortunately, our barn does not have one.
    Date published: 2013-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Long lasting and smells great! Trigger on bottle holds up well to daily use. Great value!
    Date published: 2013-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Tick Repellent I have been using this product for several years, and have found it to be very effective for repelling of flies and ticks.
    Date published: 2013-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stops Mosquitos + I find this spray to be the most effective one I use. With WNV rampant in Texas, this has been a life saver for us. I living by a lake as well, this works! I think it kills just about every other annoying insect my horses encounter, too!
    Date published: 2012-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly spray This the only fly spray I've found that actually works. With the mild winter last year our fly population was awful this spring, summer and fall. I won't say it provides protection for 2 weeks but it does provide instant relief which lasts for several hours. Any other products I've used, flies reappeared and were biting within minutes.
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Fly Spray Works well for all types of biting insects, not just mosquitoes.
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked better than other fly sprays This summer, the mosquitoes were a problem for my horse. The usual fly sprays were just not getting the job done and giving him relief from mosquito bites. After reading reviews, I decided to give the Mosquito Halt a try. It definitely did help to repel the bugs initially and gave him more relief but didn't last as long as the product's labeling stated. Still, I'd recommend it, as it worked better than most other insect repellants. The fragrance isn't too bad but be careful to stand clear of the spray vapor when using the product. It is strong!
    Date published: 2012-10-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well Before we moved to SC, we had a much bigger problem with bugs. Having experimented with many brands of fly spray, this one seemed to work well with flies and mosquitos about the best. Here there is more of a gnat problem. Honestly, most brands' claims to duration of effectiveness is laughable; our experience is that none work as long as advertised. We apply before a ride, or the farrier, or as needed. This spray does well overall in comparison to others, so we use it the most. The gallon refill size is a super value; Smartpak has the best price and with the free shipping wins hands down!
    Date published: 2012-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product The best product we've found for keeping mosquitos away here in buggy SE WI. Smells great, shines up their coats, and lasts a long time.
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is very effective in keeping the flies off.
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super for mosquitoes in Florida my Arab is so sensitive to mosquitoes it is hard to find anything that keeps her from suffering. And in Florida with the heat and heavy rains many products wash right off. Mosquito Halt is the best spray on I've ever used for her. It drastically reduces the number of bites, holds up in the rain and sweat.
    Date published: 2012-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great but odiferous Mosquito Halt is the only thing besides OFF! that gives our DWB gelding peace after the suns starts to set. Out of all 5 of our horses, he is THE mosquito magnet and as soon as the sun goes down, they are all over him - literally making him crazy to the point he will gallop around his turnout until he is dripping with sweat.Deep Woods OFF! might smell better but who can afford to buy all those little cans to use on a 17-hand horse every night during mosquito season? The bonus with Mosquito Halt is it continues to work the next day to repel the flies.
    Date published: 2012-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from kept them off! I was pleasantly surprised as I have yet to find a really effective mosquito repellent. We live in a wet area and the mosquito are horrid. I have used the product 5 times thus far and it killed the mosquitos on contact and kept them off the entire 2 hours I was riding.
    Date published: 2012-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I use it here down in Southeast Texas and it works great to rid my horses of the mosquitos. I also love the smell!!! It seems to last a lot longer on their coats than other fly sprays I have tried. I have reordered the gallon refill and will definitely continue to use it throughout our Spring/Summer.
    Date published: 2012-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from stinks and does not work! I sprayed this product on my horse and first of all it smells like old men's aftershave and it makes it impossible to breathe around your horse. Also, after spraying this on my horse we went on a trail ride and what do you know she was COVERED in mosquitos. Not what the product advertises.
    Date published: 2012-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps him bite free! My horse gets a quick spray of Mosquito Halt every night to keep the pesky bugs off my horse at night. I would not have him in Florida without it! The nights that I am not at the barn or he is not sprayed he has little bites in the morning! I recommend this to anyone who lives in a wet or tropical environment!!!
    Date published: 2011-12-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only spray that works in our area Its a little stinky, but by far the best fly spray we have tried. Its the ONLY spray that keeps all the pesky bugs away. No way it lasts 2 weeks - but most sprays I have tried don't last an hour! By far my favorite.
    Date published: 2011-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works really well! I bought this product due to the recommendation by Horse Journal, and am in agreement with their findings. It smells really nice, works great on our nasty mosquitos, and is effective against flies as well. I've switched from the roll-on facial stuff to using this as a wipe-on for faces, too. It is less oily than most roll-ons. My horses seem to tolerate it well and the bugs will fly near them but not land. It's almost like an "aura" of buglessness. OK, that isn't a word. I will definitely continue to use it.
    Date published: 2011-09-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works but... The product does what it claims, repels mosquitos, flies, and gnats, but it stinks! If you breath in the mist at all you feel like you've just ingested a ton of horrible chemicals. Not sure how this could be any good for your horse either! If you read the instructions it basically says humans shouldn't touch it or breath it. Yikes!
    Date published: 2011-09-06
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.