Product Image

U-Gard

Corta-Flx, Inc.
- Item #11526
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

U-Gard™ is a calcium supplement for horses in training and competition. Field trials prove U-Gard™ highly effective on gastric ulcers.View our Ulcer & Gastric Health Supplements Comparison Chart 

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    U-Gard is rated 4.555 out of 5 by 191.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-11-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy horse!! I bought this over a month ago to try on my thoroughbred mare cause she is a semi hard keeper of weight and I've tried multiple things to try and keep the weight on. So I thought well maybe she has ulcers cause there common in xrace horses. So I decided to try her on a supplement first and so far she has actually started to put on some wieght and I've noticed she's been in a happier mood. So in conclusion I will continue feeding U-Gard to my happy mare!!
    Date published: 2014-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bye-bye ulcers! Excellent product to eliminate current ulcer issues and protect against future ulcers! I only had my 2 yr. old on this product for 1 month, (due to stall rest), and his ulcers gave him no troubles! I have yet to see the return of ulcer-like symptoms!!
    Date published: 2013-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product My quarter horse developed an ulcer and for years had bad flares. He is doing much better since I put him in this product daily.
    Date published: 2013-08-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for picky eaters My horse suffers from ulcers, most calcium supplements help a little, but she refuses to eat U-gard powder. I'm surprised by all of the high palatability ratings previously posted. It smells, looks, and tastes like chalk. I've tried hiding the dusty powder in different types of mashes and grain but my mare won't touch it!
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Satisfactory My OTTB isn't as sensitive around his belly compared to a couple of weeks ago.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product U Guard has helped my rescue mare recover from ulcers. She is very happy and comfortable now. I use this product on both my horses whenever they need extra protection for their stomachs due to stress or medication. I also sent U Guard to a rescue and they report it has helped one of their older horses feel better. That's a great recommendation to me.
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works quickly! A horse came in my barn that showed all the classic signs of ulcers, would eat and stop, eat and stop, and cribbed when she ate. Put her on U-Gard and within days she almost completely stopped cribbing! When does that ever happen?! And she started eating normally. I do feel this may not be a good product for long term use, so I have overhauled her diet, which seems to be working. I keep this magic pink powder around, though, just in case. Plus, it can be good to give pre-ride to help combat acid-splash.
    Date published: 2013-04-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Noticed Changed I have noticed that my gelding is calmer, the mare does not seem to showing any changes, but she is kinda crazy anyway.
    Date published: 2013-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product for Many Ailments Although I've been taught that ulcer supplements like this don't work, I still love it. I feed it to my old horse and a teenaged thoroughbred who has trouble keeping weight on. Both of them eat it well and they really help. Right now, I'm also giving it to my 29 year old arabian who has been battling ulcers. We're giving it orally diluted in water because he won't eat anything on his feed right now (we think he's afraid to hurt his stomach again). I love it and would recommend it to anyone looking for something to ease some stomach pains or help keep weight on a horse.
    Date published: 2013-03-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not needed? I bought this for a off the track thoroughbred who was very sensitive to grooming, couldnt keep weight on, constantly nibbling at his sides and mildly girthy. I figured that rather then having the vet come out and scope him for ulcers, I would try to prevent them in general. Unfortunately, I saw no change in him. I dont know if this means that he doesnt have any ulcers or that the product did not work but based on the fact that it came VERY highly recommended to me I am going to assume he doesn't need it.He is a picky eater and although it is a lot of pink powder, he ate it all up. I fed it to him with his beet pulp so it was mixed in with water.
    Date published: 2013-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works perfectly for my horse! I have a horse with allergies to alfalfa so he can't eat anything pelleted and he loves this supplement. He doesn't have ulcers but he had an acidity problem so my vet recommended this product and he's been on this product twice a day now for about 6 years. I've had to increase the dose from 1/2 scoop am/pm to 1/2 scoop am and 1 scoop pm but only in the last year. I'd definitely use it on any of my horses that need the stomach acidity protection.
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product/Great Value Bought this product for my OTTB. He has a tendency to develop ulcers. He has shown improvement in his condition and attitude since I began giving him this product. I think the product smells wonderful. However, he is a very picky eater and will sort out powders. He eats this powder better than any other powder I have given him. This powder seems somewhat "sticky" and almost coats his feed. He is not able to sort this out as easily. Great value. I will continue to use this product and recommend to friends. Thanks to Smart Pak for the WONDERFUL service!
    Date published: 2013-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product Since starting my quarter horse on this we have lessened his ulcer outbreaks.
    Date published: 2012-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth My Horses Weight in Gold! U-Gard Pellets are AMAZING. I started two of my older (one is a 19 y/o appendix, the other 21 y/o QH) on this product and their attitudes about life in general changed greatly! Both were girthy & irritable when saddling, the appendix was a fussy eater... I started them on this deciding it was a cheap alternative to having the vet out to tell me what I assumed I already knew (I know I know... *insert lecture here* ;)) they will not be off of it and since then I've recommended it to numerous other horse people as many of our horses have problems we're unaware of! I will say I had both pellets for the Appendix & powder for the QH -- switched off powder -- so much easier & less waste.
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle Product! Started my EXTREMELY hard keeper on this (along with another digestive aid) a couple months ago and he's done nothing but improve since! He's rocking "hunter round" and even had his grain cut back an entire scoop! Loading dose is a lot of powder, which he wasn't fond of, but totally worth the extra mixing!
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Used on a young horse while started in training. I believe it worked to prevent ulcers during the stress of beginning work.
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked well!! My 6 y/o OTTB was becoming more and more girthy and irritable while tacking. I decided to try U-Gard from the recommendation of a friend. It was one of the more cost effective treatments, especially when purchased in the larger container. I am happy to report that my horse seems to be much happier and content with U-Gard in his system.
    Date published: 2012-10-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not in the same class as GastroGard There might be a situation where this product is the right one, but it certainly was NOT strong enough for a horse having a flare up. This was our first time in 18 years together where ulcers had been a problem, so I had to learn the hard way the right way to take care of them. If you can't afford the GastroGard and don't want to order generic from overseas, get a script for Rinitadine from your vet.
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product This supplement has helped my high strung TB immensely. He's putting on weight, cribbing less, and his attitude has improved.
    Date published: 2012-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Worth It After treating my OTTB gelding for ulcers, I decided I wanted to put him on a supplement to help with his tummy issues. I chose U-Guard and couldn't be happier! His ulcers cleared up and we have had no issues with them since. He eats it up and is all around a much happier horse. He used to be sensitive on his tummy, but now I can brush and touch him with no negative response. I was so glad I was able to find an easy, convenient, and affordable way to help him feel better every day! If you have any tummy issues with your horse, I definitely recommend trying U-Guard!
    Date published: 2012-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Has helped my mare regain her appetite after developing ulcers
    Date published: 2012-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Works My 7 y/o gelding has had some chronic "tummy issues"... down to colic when left on grass for a half hour. After treating for ulcers, I started him on U-Gard and have had great results. He's back to his bouncy, happy self. Not only that, but after escaping his dry lot onto the grass one early morning for possibly an hour or two, no colic! I'm so thrilled that U-Gard has helped him so much (not to mention saving me a vet call!).
    Date published: 2012-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Supports my horse during ulcer treatment and shows Began to use two years ago to aid in ulcer prevention and continue to use during ulcer flare-ups and treatment during show seasons. Love this product!
    Date published: 2012-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product I have a horse with Ulcer issues, after using starting this product, his flares have become less and he is eating better than he has in a long time.
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective! I wish someone had told be about ulcers before. My National Show Horse has been anxious and high strung for as long as I can remember. He also always had a habit of trying to eat sand or dirt and, despite unlimited access to quality hay and a regular worming and health program, his coat was poor and dull and he was being fussy with his food. I'd previously had him checked out by two vets and a nutritionist but no one knew why. An eventer suggested that he sounded like an ulcer candidate. I put him on this product and saw improvement within two weeks! One month later and he's not eating dirt any more, he isn't as cinchy or anxious under saddle, he's letting me pet him, and is asking for carrots. Initially I added molasses to the bucket to transition him to the taste but now he's eating it without. In conjunction with 1 oz. of this 2x a day in his grain I have put all of the feeders on the ground so that his stomach will stay "moist" in its internal acid (to prevent more ulcers), soak his hay before feeding, and have added in 2 qt. ground stabilized rice bran + 1 qt. shredded beat pulp to his morning and afternoon supplementation for weight gain. It's so good to see him digging in to his food now! Highly recommended as an affordable test and/or treatment to see if your horse's attitude has a simple physiological root cause.
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems okay My mare was treated for ulcers and as soon as she came off the vet-prescribed medicine, I put her on U-Gard as a preventative. She eats it well (surprisingly) and hasn't had ulcer recurrence. I don't know if it is because of U-Gard or because of her change in stress levels but I'm leaving her on it as a precaution. Could be cheaper but it's priced better than other ulcer supplements.
    Date published: 2012-04-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonder Powder I use this product in the more direct way indicated in the products description which is to mix some water into the powder and use an oral syringe for a more direct contact with the stomach. This method will give you faster results from my experience. It has done absolute wonders for Wyatt's appetite and I am completely satisfied with this product. I used to use Neigh-Lox, and Neigh-Lox was time consuming to feed 2-3 times a day. U-Guard is a great substitute.
    Date published: 2012-03-26
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.