Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Pro Long Lines

Item #11330

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Extra-long 30' Pro Long Lines are a Narrow Gate Tack exclusive design. The Pro Long Lines are 18' of heavyweight, 5-ribbed cotton webbing and 12' of rolled nylon with spring snaps that attach to the bit or roller. The nylon resists wear from sweat and friction and slides easily through surcingle rings or stirrups.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Pro Long Lines is rated 4.6765 out of 5 by 34.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Purchase These long lines are a great length for both lunging and long lining. The cotton is soft and comfortable in your hand. The rolled section slides well through surcingle rings, however it is not truly rolled. Instead, it is 1/2 in wide nylon folded in half and sewn. I do wish that these long lines had truly been rolled to slip through even better. In addition, the nylon is extremely light and actually blows in mild wind, spooking my horse as well as not allowing great contact. I wish that this had been a bit heavier so that I cold feel m horse through the lines instead of just the wind. However, if you are looking for a cheap set of long lines, these are fairly good and the flapping can be dealt with.
    Date published: 2013-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Long Lines! These long lines are great because the rolled black nylon slides through bit/halter rings easily with the horse's movement. They also feel heavy and high quality. The only thing I would change is that the rest of the lines are white. This got dirty after the first time I used them! They should have made the whole lines all black or just brown, but they are a good quality!
    Date published: 2012-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid Purchase I have used these long lines twice now, and they are very comfortable in your hands. They also don't give you rope burns when your horse pulls away (though it is still a good idea to use gloves to be on the safe side). I did wish that the rolled nylon was not nearly as long, because I found myself holding it when I was first working my horse with one line behind his butt and the other as a direct lunge line. If you only intend to long line and work your horse from a distance though, these lines are fantastic. I do wish that they came in something other than white though.
    Date published: 2012-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from just what I needed I've never purchased longlines before but needed them for rehabing a horse. These are perfect...I also bought a surcingle from smartpak that I was also very pleased with - both are working out well.
    Date published: 2011-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Lines Myself and my horse are new to long lining and I find them to be very reasonable in price and of good quality.
    Date published: 2011-09-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice quality ... but I ended up returning them. They were just too long for how I use them. Maybe they are more geared for ground driving?
    Date published: 2011-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ideal for Double Lunging Decent quality long reins with comfortable cotton to hold. I do not find these too long as some other folks commented. Lightweight and easy to handle.
    Date published: 2011-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great long lines i bought these for my trainer to use with my 4 YO horse, so i've not used them myself. but she loves them!
    Date published: 2011-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Long Lines These long lines are great for long lining. They are the perfect length for doing 20 meter circles and figures. But, since they are so long, it can be a bit clumsy just to "ground drive." So the success depends upon your objectives. The construction is nice, I like the rolled portion, and the snaps and lines fit easily through everything on my surcingle.
    Date published: 2010-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Long Lines!!! I purchased these on the recommendation of a good friend of mine whose opinion I really value. The price was unbeatable as these lines were cheaper than buying 2 longe lines (which is what one friend suggested). I love the rolled nylon section. Based on my friend's suggestion I added two pieces of baling twine to my surcingle dee rings to accomodate slipping the snaps through and it has worked beautifully. My only complaint is that I wish the snaps were a tad bit bigger. If I am having a lazy day and am just using my mare's halter rather than putting her bridle on, the snaps have be be turned "just so" in order to snap them on the halter.
    Date published: 2010-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice - Work Well These are nice quality long lines. They are not for driving, but for long lining your horse to teach classical moves from the ground and to work on lateral flexion. They are the perfect length for 20 meter circles and other maneuvers. If you do not have at least 1 3/4" dee rings the snaps will not fit thru. If you have a European surcingle you'll be fine. If like me you have the American one your local cobbler can easily replace your dee rings.
    Date published: 2010-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-06-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Soooo Loooong These long lines are very long. They work well to long line a horse, but do not work for any sort ground driving.
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from AHH! These Lines are tooo long! I drive, A lot, and these lines were way to long to drive, and they didn't fit through my surcingle rings! I was very upset but I think these would be great if you do a lot of long lining circles, they are long enough to make a 20 meter circle and then change directions onto a new circle without being draged around. The idea is good, but the fabric choice is bad, they tangle easily.
    Date published: 2010-03-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good value. Start out a little bit stiff and stuck into shape, but after several uses (and general barn-related abuse, like getting dragged through the footing and sprayed off in the wash rack), they have started to relax and have gotten a bit easier to handle.
    Date published: 2010-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Long Lines! I love these long lines. They are the perfect length and they work very well!!!
    Date published: 2009-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much Needed Purchase My daughter has been wanting the Pro Long Lines to help break her youngest horse. She found the perfect one at SMARTPAK. The quality of this product is great!
    Date published: 2009-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I'm very pleased with my long lines. They are helping my horse that is coming back from an injury to build up his muscles properly. And long lining is a lot of fun too. Much like riding from the ground. I will continue to include them in my training and conditioning program going forward.
    Date published: 2009-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome long lines This is my second pair of these long lines. I absolutely love them. They are soft and pliable. They never get caught in surcingle rings.
    Date published: 2009-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Them! I needed lines that could fit through a smallish ring on my surcingle, and these did the trick. Lightweight, well made and the perfect length.
    Date published: 2009-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice for the price!! These are very nice for the price! They function well and are easy to use. Great for training. Well worth purchasing. Note: Make sure you have a good surcingle with good sized loops that are designed for long-lining.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for everyone from a beginner to a pro I'm just learning to long line and I find these really easy to manage. My instructor recommended them because he uses them too. They are light weight and move easily through the rings on the lungeing cavesson. He's had his for several years and uses them on a daily basis and they still look great.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.