Product Image

BioFlax 20

HorseTech, Inc.
- Item #11263
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

BioFlax 20 is "...the hands-down choice for coat, skin and hoof problems" - Horse Journal, June 2000 issue. Biotin Supplementation has shown to be helpful in improving hoof quality including improvement in density and overall integrity. Rich in natural Omega-3 fatty acids, BioFlax 20 also helps to promote healthy skin, a shiny coat and hooves that are more resistant to drying out and cracking.

View our Hoof Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    BioFlax 20 is rated 4.7593 out of 5 by 108.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product This was recommended by a friend, and I've been very happy with it. I use it for all of my horses who receive a grain ration. It is very palatable and easy to use.
    Date published: 2012-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for a cheaper option I had my horses on Farrier's Formula Double Strength for a while. I wanted to cut back pennies so I decided to look around. I switched to Smart Hoof and it unfortunately did not work for my horse. I thought about going back to Farrier's Formula but wanted to give it another shot, so I found this. It works (at least for my horses) as well as regular farrier's formula and I have noticed no difference from the double strength. When I got my 3 year old her feet were awful, and we were not even sure if she would stay sound. I put her on this right away and almost a year later she looks amazing, and doesn't even need hind shoes.
    Date published: 2012-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall great performer This is a high quality supplement. Within 3 months, hoof cracks & dryness have gone- coat condition much improved. Quite supportive for allergy coat conditions. Impressive sheen on the horse's coat. Hoof growth is improved. A good value for the money.
    Date published: 2012-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! I've had my OTTB on this for about 2 months now and I can notice a BIG difference in his coat condition. He is so shiny and you can finally start to see his dapples show. His feet are starting to look a bit better but that will take more time to see a difference. So far I am very happy with it as I always am with my HorseTech products!
    Date published: 2012-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong, Sleek, & Shiney BioFlax 20 has given two of my horses strong, fast-growing hooves, plus intensely colored, sleek and shiney coats. It doesn't happen overnight, but after about 2-3 months feeding of BioFlax 20, the effect is noticable. I sold one horse 6 months ago & saw her recently. She doesn't look as sleek, and I found she's not getting BioFlax 20 any longer. It's a great value, but I wish it came in pelleted form for ease of feeding.
    Date published: 2012-07-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not worth the price This does not last the the 80 days it says. It lasted about 47. Therefore, the .47 a day is not true. I switched to HoofSOLID that local place carries. That is only .48 and it has a digestions supplement in it.The supplement itself was awesome, farrier noticed a huge difference. Just NOT worth the price. My picky eater ate it no problem
    Date published: 2012-10-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Supplement I could definitely tell a difference in his skin and coat. Hoofs will take about year to determine. My horse shed off really nicely except for his midsection. The supplement was a good choice to shed off after spring and look amazing at competitions. I am definitely getting good compliments!
    Date published: 2012-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing This product has helped improve weight, condition, and hoof/coat quality in my 21 yo appendix. I don't like to overfeed grain, this stuff works wonders!
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product!! Have used this on several horses and it is amazing! Talk about show ring shine! Farrier noticed a difference in hooves and everyone notices the soft, silky coats! Love it!! My horses all eat it fine, although a few of them weren't sure about it at first, now they lick their buckets clean.
    Date published: 2012-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I rescued a 5 year old chestnut mare with horrible feet. I liked the idea of putting her on a flax seed based supplement, especially for its anti-inflammatory properties. After 4 months, we have strong, healthy hooves. She kept her first set of shoes (ever) on for a solid 8 weeks and her hooves keep getting better. Her coat is beautiful, nice and shiny. I will keep her on BioFlax for as long as it's around. Thank you SmartPak for supplying it!
    Date published: 2012-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Supplement BioFlax 20 is the best supplement I think I have ever given my horse! He's a 17 year old Thoroughbred and not only are his hooves growing stronger, but his coat is the shiniest I've ever seen it! I live in Colorado where all the horses grow shaggy winter coats and he is by far the shiniest horse in the barn! People will stop me and ask what I am feeding him because he is so shiny! I have tried so many hoof supplements in the past and this has by far given him the best results. Whereas before he was throwing shoes left and right, I cant even remember the last time he lost one, even in such a dry climate! If you want a supplement that gives you everything all in one (coat, skin and hooves), I would 100% recommend this one......and the price couldn't be better! The picture I attached was from January, with his winter coat.
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast, Great Results, Cheap Price Every horse at our barn is on this supplement. It is AMAZING. The horse's feet grown stronger, faster. Their coats dapple out in the summer and grown long and silky in the winter. Most horses are JUST on bioflax, and no other hair coat/hoof supplement, so we know it is ALL from this great product. For the price, its rediculous NOT to put your horse on this!
    Date published: 2012-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Review Update... I left a review on this product once already but I wanted to update that...I started my gelding on BioFlax20 for his hooves...not only has it made a difference in his hooves but WOW talk about shine!! Even with his long winter hair he is so soft, silky, and shiney!! He gets compliments everywhere we go! He eats it right up too. Since I saw all these great things with him I started giving it to two of my mares as well. Just started giving it to them yesterday so no changes obviously but thought I would mention that they don't seem to like it much. One did get it down but the other won't touch her grain at all with BioFlax20 in it. So while I do love this supplement, it's palatability is questionable for some horses.
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product for the price My horse's hooves have never looked better- hardly any cracking, and no lost shoes. His coat is looking nice as well. Overall, this product is a great purchase for someone needing to improve the quality of their horse's hooves and coat.
    Date published: 2012-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It WORKS!! We have had our horses on BioFlax 20 for 4 weeks now. We bought it hoping it would improve our horses dry cracked hooves, and hopefully, help build resiliency in our draft cross mare with EPSM and seedy toes. All I can say is WOW! We are not only getting "oilier" less cracked feet, but also seeing faster growth and thicker walls, even in our EPSM mare! The oil we have had her on for a long time helps alleviate her muscle tightness, but did not do the trick on her feet. It wasn't until we started using this product, that we now see that she is FINALLY going to have normal feet!!!
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far, So good My quarter horse gelding has always struggled with badly cracked front hooves. I started him on this supplement about 2 months ago and my farrier has noticed the better new growth. He says his feet will be looking really good once the old hoof grows out and this new growth comes in. Hoping for show coat shine but he looks like a wooly mammoth right now with his winter coat so we'll see this spring....
    Date published: 2011-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Supplement Bioflax20 is my old standby for my horses, but I decided that more expensive must mean better so I switched to a more popular & more expensive supplement. Sure enough, the TB instantly started dropping shoes. So I switched again to different popular supplement.... still dropping shoes. Finally, back to Bioflax20 and no more shoe issues. So if you have a horse that drops shoes, I would highly recommend this product. Also, my older guy that is always on this product has great feet, stays barefoot, and is always full of dapples. Lesson learned - sometimes cheap really is good!
    Date published: 2011-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hoof/coat supplement! My TB is doing well on this supplement, and the price is low for the quality of the product. Overall, I would recommend this supplement to any horse owner!
    Date published: 2011-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I definitely noticed a change in my horses coat an overall appearance within the first month! Hoping it will show more progress through the next couple months so far so good !
    Date published: 2011-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for skin and coat I was very please to find a supplement that would provide omega 3s and biotin in one affordable and convenient package. I have two horses with very different needs (one has great feet and needs added fat because he is older and struggles with sugar digestion the other struggles to maintain good hooves and coat.) and this helps both. Both love it and eat it well.
    Date published: 2011-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent hoof supplement! I wanted a hoof supplement that was mostly biotin without alot of other things, since my horse already gets a multivitamin. This had EXACTLY what we needed for a great price. He eats it beautifully and after only a month my farrier commented more growth on his hooves than he has ever seen! He is also shiny from the flax. VERY happy with Bioflax 20!!
    Date published: 2011-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BioFlax 20 works wonders My horses hooves were very dry, cracking badly, chunks where coming out. I started using BioFlax 20 and in 2 weeks I could notice a huge difference in the way the hooves were growing out. There were stronger. No cracks. Even the horse shoer said, "What are you using on your horses hooves? They are doing so much better!" BioFlax 20, I highly recommend.
    Date published: 2011-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from HUGE improvement My 23 yr old bay Arab mare that I have owned for 20 yrs has struggled with severe summer skin fungus for years. I have tried a lot of products. As she has aged her coat has gotten less bright, coarser, and very slow to shed the winter hair. She had a better summer last year after starting Bioflax but this June, after a year of Bioflax, she is amazing. Her coat is so glossy that riding her bareback is like a slip and slide. NO Fungus. I have my MTG oil on standby but not having to use it so far.
    Date published: 2011-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good price! Great price on a quality product. I've had very VERY good luck with all of the HorseTech products and this is no exception!
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellant product ive notice the change in my 23 year old polish /arab coat is getting shiny within in a week ,and hooves too he looks great !!!!!
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.