Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Crusader Fly Mask - Quiet-Ride

Cashel Company
- Item #11218
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader Quiet Ride protecting his tender eyes and face. Eliminate insect-driven head tossing, with a much quieter (and safer!) ride.

Favorite Features

  • Same design and quality of the Cashel Crusader™ pasture fly mask
  • Can be worn over or under your bridle
  • Will not impair your horse's vision
  • Provides coverage of nose and ears

Imported

Sizing It Up

Large Pony/Yearling
Arab
Horse
Warmblood
Draft 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Crusader Fly Mask - Quiet-Ride is rated 4.6923 out of 5 by 156.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best fly mask ever I have used the quiet ride mask for my sensitive TB who lives in & out 24-7. Amazingly it has held up through rolling, scratching, rainstorms and anything he can throw at it...3 years later - it;s in great shape. I just got one for my new horse - he's a Houdini at removing fly masks that he finds uncomfortable...he approves - has not removed this one once! I would definitely recommend this mask.
    Date published: 2012-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not for turnout, but nice fly mask Very nice fly mask and the free monogramming was great. It worked perfectly when riding. But this fly should only be used when riding as it is not sturdy enough to be used for turnout. My daughter left it on her horse for a day as she couldn't find his other fly mask as when she went to take it off he had ripped in in three different places. It is just made for use while riding. We learned that the hard way.
    Date published: 2012-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well as a field fly mask I have used this mask for riding in the arena only, I have not tried it out on a hack because I am a little concerned about restricted vision. I also have used it as a regular fly mask for turnout and I like like it for that.
    Date published: 2012-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for riding during buggy season. I love this for riding and would not go into the woods without it. I also use it for schooling when the bugs are bad. It fits well and I love the free monogramming. Everyone at my barn has this product, and now mine will never get confused with someone else's mask.
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! This works great! I ride mostly in the evenings when it's really buggy out and my horse was constantly shaking his head. With this fly mask he has quit tossing his head at the bugs, it has worked wonders. I use it out on the trail, too.
    Date published: 2012-06-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works Okay I purchased 2 of these. In the add I liked the sheer look of the mask. I like being able to see the horses eyes and find most fly mask require you remove the mask to check eyes. I've not had to do this with this mask however, I don't find they stay on the horse very well. I might get a day or two before I find them somewhere in the pasture. They need to come up with a better fitting mechanisim before I would recommend this product.
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A staple flymask on my farm This mask is the only one I will purchase. They last multiple fly seasons and are great for maintaining visibility yet keeping flies out of your horse's face, eyes, and ears. They clean up extremely well and are durable. I use them during turnout, not just for riding. I had mine embroidered with each horse's name and they are really attractive!
    Date published: 2012-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for riding. Fits great, keeps the bugs off my horses face and ears. I love it. Love the free monogram! I put it over the bridle.
    Date published: 2012-05-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from worth it Bought this flymask for both my horses...loved being able to emboider their names on the mask as well as how well the mask has held up to miles in the woods!
    Date published: 2012-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! Finally took the plunge and bought one of these and I wish I had done it sooner. My horse (even when fly spray was wiped or rolled on his face) would toss and shake his head on trail rides when the flies or mosquitoes were bad. So I got him a Crusader Fly Mask Quiet Ride with the ears and it was amazing! No more stopping to rub every five seconds or constant head shaking. I also got it embroidered light blue and it looks lovely. Fit is excellent. I've already used it a whole season and it has literally no wear and tear. If I need to buy one again I will definitely buy one with the nose as well because the horseflies still target that area but I bought one of their attachable nose covers so now all my problems are solved! Won't every go without one of these again. :)
    Date published: 2012-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from a must have item I don't like my horses to be distracted by flies when I'm riding, so a mask is a necessity. This one fits great, and the horses really appreciate it.
    Date published: 2012-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Softest Fly Mask I use this mask on my 29 year old Arab "Khemo." He had an injury to his eye years ago and it waters constantly. His eye gets irritated, sore and the flies love it. So this keeps him compfy all day long!!
    Date published: 2012-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most comfortable for riding When the bugs are bad, like they're going to be this year, deerflies swirling around the ears and mosquitoes on the face can make a ride miserable for you and your horse, these masks are lightweight, fit great and work wonderful. I had Smartpak embroider my mare's name on it so it wouldn't get confused with everyone else's, and it looks very nice, everyone else wishes they'd done the same.
    Date published: 2012-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft, yet strong I bought this for my horse, who's being treated for uveitis and needed a mask to protect from flies, but also from dust and glare. This mask has worked out really well for everyday wear and also for riding. The bonus embroidery is a cute touch.
    Date published: 2012-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product We are bothered by flys almost all year in Arizona, so I never ride without this mask. My horses love it!
    Date published: 2012-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Product! This is the second mask that I've purchased. My original one has got to be at least 8 years old and is nearly as good as when I originally purchased it. When we got a second horse I didn't hesitate to buy this one. I've used all the other face fly products - the crochet ear things, the brow band with the long strips that swish across the face as you're riding - and this Crusader mask is by far the very best product. I've gone riding several times this fall when the outside of the mask was just covered with flies, but both my horses calmly rode out. No head tossing - nothing. If you want a good product to protect your horse's face from flies when you're riding - this is it.
    Date published: 2011-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Buy I was getting so frustrated when going on trail rides with my boy. Even with fly spray, he would shake his head, stop and rub his face every few seconds if we were walking, and fling his head if we were trotting or cantering (which he never did in the arena or cool, windy days on the trail). Now that I have the Quiet Ride, all of that disappeared on the first ride!! It is such a fine mesh, while still stiff enough to stay away from his eyes, I'm even comfortable going over jumps with it. It fits really well over or under the bridle and I even got it embroidered with his name on it. Definitely worth every penny.
    Date published: 2011-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this flymask! It's softer and pliable for my quarter horse and fits her perfectly! I had her name embroidered on the front just in case it got mixed up with someone elses! She likes it because the mesh is soft and not stiff.
    Date published: 2011-09-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits both my quarter and TB horses. Horses don't seem to mind. Happy with purchase.
    Date published: 2011-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great This mask is awesome. My horse was going nuts even with fly spray on his face. He was shaking his head to the point where he was tripping and not looking at jumps. All of his has stopped with the Crusader mask. It is, indeed, a "quiet ride".
    Date published: 2011-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet Ride is right! The material is light weight and perfect for under saddle work. It was not purchased for and should not be expected to be used for turn out...too light weight to hold up to that abuse. :)
    Date published: 2011-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from finally I have his full attention! Raskal's Quiet Ride fly mask came last month. First thing I noticed is its softness yet it appears quite durable. I was a bit skeptical as he hates having his ears covered. However, once it was on, he was quiet and didn't seem to mind the covers. That first ride was wonderful! For the first time this summer I had his full attention. We even got to just walk along and enjoy the ride. He worked better and responded easier with each task. Okay, that was the first try. Repeat for the 2nd, 3rd...10th. I am very pleased and he seems to be as well!Can't be sure of the durability, but so far it's been great, even with him rubbing it on a fence post. Appears it will wear well and last long.The fit is great as well. Raskal is TB/Morgan with a broad face. He's a big boy at 16.3hh. (from his TB Granddaddy!) Still he has plenty of room in his Quiet Ride over his bridle. Just for comparison I tried it over halters on my mares, both much smaller than him. It fits them nicely, too. Not too big for either.After 30 days and 20+ rides I'd say this item is worth the money. Easy on & off and a much Quieter Ride!
    Date published: 2011-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for hacking! I was having trouble with my geldings shaking their heads on hacks from the flies and this has helped significantly! I've had nice quiet hacks since starting to use the quiet-ride. Definitely worth a try.Note - I sprayed the ears and edges with fly spray for added protection.
    Date published: 2011-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great flymask Good value and holding up nicely in the pasture. Would purchase again.
    Date published: 2011-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saves my springs and summers My Paint is very, very sensitive to flies. I can't go anywhere without his mask. It fits nicely over bridle. The only thing I wish they would do is make this one gray as well. The black seems to get too warm in really hot days.
    Date published: 2011-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as advertised Bought this to use while training outside. We have many gnats and flies and this is perfect for this purpose. I used it over the bridle and the fit was good. The ears were a bit big since I needed the warmblood size, but not overly big. Was surprised that my horse did not sweat from the mask in the 85 degree temperatures as it is well ventilated. Overall it works as advertised.
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horrible Fit Purchased WB size for my mare and it was way too small across the forehead. Her eye hairs kept brushing the mask and irritating her. The mask also collapses in the eye area too easily.
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Purchase I purchased 2 of these fly masks. I have 2 guilded horses and 1 of them has talented lips. He managed to destroy the mask on the other horse getting it off of him. This is a good product but not for my horses. Thank you!
    Date published: 2011-07-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fly mask quiet ride Works nicely when you are riding. does not stay on my guy in the pasture though - I have been able to find it when he comes in without it, but have stopped using it for turn out.
    Date published: 2011-07-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Weird Sizing I purchased one of these in Warmblood size for my Lipizzaner mare. It is too loose around her nose (and that shocked me as she has a HUGE nose) and too tight around her eyes. I've never had a Cashel product that didn't fit her, so I'm really surprised at this one.
    Date published: 2011-07-19
    • 2015-02-27T07:40CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_27, tr_129
    • loc_en_US, sid_1218, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.