Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Crusader Fly Mask - Standard - Without Ears

Cashel Company
- Item #11210
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Crusader Fly Mask was chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect Horse and Horse Journal. We couldn't agree more!

Favorite Features

  • Designed for comfort with soft durable materials and fully lined seams
  • Three hole cap for ears and forelock provides stability
  • Eye darts keep mesh well away from the eyes
  • Provides UV protection for sensitive noses for horses that sunburn easily

Imported

Sizing It Up
Small Pony/Weanling
Large Pony/Yearling
Arab
Horse
Warmblood
Draft

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Crusader Fly Mask - Standard - Without Ears is rated 4.6009 out of 5 by 451.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Soft comfy fly mask I've had several of these fly masks over the years, and I love them! They are they only fly mask that doesn't rub my thoroughbred's sensitive skin. The only recommendation I have is to add more colors, it can be a bit confusing when you have them for multiple horses.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nicely made mask Bought this to use while riding mostly. Fits well, seems very well made. I haven't tried to leave it on in the pasture as horse's pasture mate will make short work of it I'm afraid...
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best on the Market I love these fly masks,They fit well, and hold up for a long period of time.
    Date published: 2014-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse and I love this fly mask, it is a lot easier for him to see and it really keeps the flies away from his eyes. With his old mask, sometimes the flies would get inside of it. Also I love the feature of having his name on it.
    Date published: 2014-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have been very please with my Crusader Fly Mask. It keep flies out of his eyes and as an added bonus it acts as a sun screen for his white nose.
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Wonderful fly mask. It fits well and stays on his head!
    Date published: 2014-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Mask I purchased the Crusader Fly Mask a month ago. I've purchased many mask over the years I've owned my horses and this mask is by far the best. It is very comfortable for my horses and they appear to almost beg for me to put it on every morning. Doesn't touch their eyes and the added padding around the ears is a real plus. The people at Crusader were thoughtful enough to add an opening for the forelock as well. This is the only mask I will ever purchase.
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crusader fly mask WINNER!! Stays on, does not rub, easy to see out of. The free name makes it even easier in a barn full of these masks.
    Date published: 2014-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my 17.1/2 horse great! I bought this a month ago and it fits and looks great. Also love the personalized name I got on it! :)
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great buy! I love the forelock "pocket" there is plenty of room for my guys bushy hair to be free! When I got it in the mail I was so surprised at how soft and comfortable the material felt. I had mine monogrammed in white and it looks wonderful!! Will definitely buy again.
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks nice, fits HUGE I ordered the Arab size for my Arab, and it is HUGE on him, both around the face and ears. Other than the fit, it looks great (especially w/customization) and seems durable. Shame it doesn't fit! :(
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good fly mask overall Has been a good mask so far. It's a little loose around the ears and my horse has rubbed it off a few times, but other than that it does it's job. It doesn't rub his face or anything. I think it runs kind of big, I got arab size for my tb.
    Date published: 2014-06-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed in the new design This fly mask has been my go-to mask for years and years. It is...or rather was...the most ergonomically designed mask on the market! At first I was very excited to see the double Velcro clasp feature on the new mask as this area seems to be what wears out first. However, whatever changes were made to the throat latch area to allow this feature now causes the mask to fit differently than the older model. This in turn causes the mask to fit loosely around the ears and poll. I find now after my gelding has it on for a few hours it loosens enough to let flies in, defeating the purpose. The jersey material around the ears also causes his face to sweat profusely.
    Date published: 2014-06-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality and Durable BUT Watch the Sizing I ordered this during a sale with free embroidery for the Irish Draft Horse, I ordered the Draft Size who knew they were designed for the Budweiser Clydesdale? LOL! Anyway, I am ordering a warm blood size for my guy and the Draft one I am keeping - if I can find my needle and thread I may be able to reposition the velcro so it can be a back up.
    Date published: 2014-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size for our 4 horses! Will continue to order them from you. Like the double velcro even though Chex keeps trying to take them off the other horses! Darn him!
    Date published: 2014-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent fit - classic look! I am thrilled with the consistent and comfortable fit of these fly masks. My horse practically puts her mask on by herself when I just hold it up! The embroidery on the nose is subtle but perfectly ledgible and makes it easy to keep the right mask with the right horse!
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fits Large on my Draft Cross I needed to replace my draft cross mare's fly mask this season. She usually goes in an oversized bridle/halter/fly mask. This ran a little big on her, which is nice, better than the other way around. I was able to tighten down on the velcro and make it fit nicely. I do wish the forelock hole was a little bigger, my girl has a lot of hair!
    Date published: 2014-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and very pliable This is the best fly mask I have found for my senior mare. It is soft and pliable and non-constricting and I would definitely purchase again.
    Date published: 2014-05-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Be wary about sizing! I got a draft size for my draft cross thinking that it would fit his huge head (he has the biggest head in a barn of 20+ horses). Apparently there are horses out there with even bigger heads because this was so big on him, I could slide it off his head when it was Velcro-d on! If you are unsure on what size to get your horse, I'd recommend a size down. Other than the sizing issue, the quality is nice and I'd recommend it to a friend.
    Date published: 2014-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong and dependable This is the third Crusader Fly Mask I have bought. It the only one that has kept its shape and does not tear.. Of greater importance is the UV protection they offer for my horse's sensitive eyes. Great product, worth the cost!
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Doesn't Fit Arabians Anymore I've used these masks in the Cob/Arabian size on my dishy-faced Arabians for years because they are well-made, durable, and comfortable. So I was bummed when they changed the design. My most recent replacements fit completely differently than last year's model, and not in a good way. They're very large and have gaps both at the poll and around the nose. The cob size does, however, fit my TB/Oldenburg -- who has a "regular" straight profile -- pretty well.
    Date published: 2014-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and comfortable My horse has uveitis and wears a fly mask nearly 24/7. He has never had an issue with rubs with this brand of fly mask. He also is an escape artist but has only managed to take this one off in turnout a couple of times (compared to every single day, with other brands/styles). A good buy and at a reasonable price.
    Date published: 2014-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better quality fly mask This was the first year that I used the Crusader Fly Mask and I was very happy with the quality. These ones I've been using are still in good shape after being used for the whole summer, but I just ordered new ones to have available for next year. Other brands have a fluffy edge around the screen that collects straw, shavings, mud. The Crusader brand just has a short napped soft edging that doesn't hold stuff. It is still soft on the horse's face. The horses seem to like having them put on, but I do give them a treat every time and that might have something to do with their cooperation. The Velcro straps are very strong. The horse size fits my big headed Quarter Horses. They never got them off once, but I don't think they ever really tried. Normal rolling did not cause any trouble except the sand from my paddock would plug up some of the screen. A quick hosing off removed the dirt easily. They dried quickly and were ready to go back on the next morning. The price is the same as at our local farm store but they never seem to have any in stock. Smart Pak delivered them to me in a matter of days.
    Date published: 2013-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Have been very pleased with the functionality as well as the durability of these masks. The overall fit of the mask and ease of the velcro straps are ideal and sturdy. They are easily cleaned and dried and I am very happy I selected these.
    Date published: 2013-10-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Haven't Used Yet, But Seems Nice I ordered this because it was on sale and my horse needs a fly mask for next summer. I got the warmblood size - my horse has a huge head. His head is literally the size of my torso, and I'm 5'9"! It was the right length for him and fit great around his ears and eyes, but it was too big under the cheeks - the velcro strap is too long. Other than that, this fly mask seems really well made! I only gave it a 4 because I haven't used it yet, so I don't know how durable it is.
    Date published: 2013-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than the other mask I have two masks for this horse. The other one has a pattern on the mesh. He hates that one. This one, he doesn't mind nearly as much. I've only been using it for a few days now, so I don't know about durability; but, it seems well made. I like the forelock opening. Nice touch.
    Date published: 2013-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best fitting fly mask my horse has ever worn. I would say he has a standard size head but the regular horse size was a bit big on him. The 2nd mask I bought for him I went down to the cob size and it was perfect. The forelock opening and the wide area for the eyes are all a plus.
    Date published: 2013-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Durable! No fly mask is perfect, especially when you horse has neighbors that love to pull and chew. That said, of all the fly masks I've tried, I keep coming back to this one. The velcro holds up well, and even if my horses neighbors are able to get it off of him, it pretty much stays in tact. I've used standard horse size and warmblood size and both fit my horses well. Love the soft material around the nose area an the ears. Have used with and without ears, highly recommend both!
    Date published: 2013-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mask! I love the Crusader masks! I think they work the best, fit great and help keep the sun and flies away from my lovely boy!
    Date published: 2013-08-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from my favorite fly mask this fly mask normally will last me thru 2 seasons - even with turnout. Stays in place - does not rub on the face or the forlock. Little more expensive than some of the others but worth it.
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    • 2015-03-01T08:06CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_40, tr_411
    • loc_en_US, sid_1210, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.