Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Harwich Soft Leather Half Chap

SmartPak
- Item #21535
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Harwich Half Chap delivers unbelievable quality at an unbeatable price! You can feel the quality from the first touch with it's ultra-soft, yet durable full grain leather. The Harwich Half Chap will quickly your favorite staple of everyday barn life.

  • Soft full-grain leather with a reinforced calf panel stands up to the demands of daily use
  • Elastic panel allows for close contact and an easy, custom-like fit
  • Durable YKK zipper is built to withstand life at the barn
  • Double snaps keep the zipper in place to ensure a secure fit

Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Soft Leather Half Chap is rated 4.5172 out of 5 by 58.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Feel and Look right out of package Bought for my daughter (early Christmas gift) who is a working student at an event barn to replace a pair of Ovation suede 1/2 chaps. Her calf measures 14 3/4" around in Kerrits tights and height from floor to back top of knee when she was sitting with no shoes on was 16 3/4" so I purchased the Medium/Tall and crossed my fingers. She reported to me that they were very snug the first day she wore them and a little tight getting zipped but by the end of her second ride they were starting to 'give' a little and by the end of day three she says they fit like a glove. She was thrilled with the look and also the suppleness of them right out of the box. She was complemented from her jump instructor on a better leg the first day she rode in them and she thinks it because her leg looks much more elegant in these. She recommends just wearing around for about and hour the first day if they are really snug to get the 'give' started. Would have given 5 stars but she has only had them for three weeks so we do not know how long they will hold up. She rides 2-3 horses a day 5 days a week.
    Date published: 2014-12-01
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Looks good, but not sized well The half chaps looked like very good quality, but even though I ordered a size 1" wider than my calf, the chaps were 2" too small. Wouldn't zip up. Had to return them.
    Date published: 2014-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value I've been riding in these half chaps for a few months and really like them. They are elegant looking and unlike most half chaps in this price range they do not interfere with my spurs. Although my calf measures a tad shorter than the height of the chaps, the leather is very soft and gives just enough so that they work. The major con I can think of is that these half chaps are quite soft and stretchy, so if you are looking for a firmer half chap that gives more of a boot feel, you might not like these. So far they have held up well, but due to the softness/stretchiness I would not be surprised if these do not last as long as thicker/stiffer leather chaps.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Looking Half Chaps These half chaps are super soft and comfortable. I got them a few weeks ago and they have dropped a bit, but that was to be expected with the softness of the leather. I will say, however, that they do run a little small. I usually fit into a large no problem but had trouble zipping these up when I first got them. But again, knowing leather, I knew that they would stretch/drop so I decided to tough it out and keep zipping them even though they were tight. They fit great now and I'm glad I stayed with the large instead of sending them back for a bigger size!
    Date published: 2014-11-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Leather These are beautiful half chaps. Sadly, I measured and ordered the extra small, and I couldn't zip them over my boots. I'm hoping to receive the small size and that they won't be too long. My calves are short. Would have kept them in a heartbeat if they had fit.
    Date published: 2014-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE so happy that I bought these half chaps instead of getting another pair of Tredsteps. I have a hard to fit thin calf and these fit me perfectly. They come out of the package supple and beautiful. Will definitely buy again, worth every penny!
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Size! Omg finally a chap that fits me!! I'm 5'5, but with fairly short legs, and an 18 inch calf so finding a chap that fits me is likea needle in a hay stack! I had a pair of Ariats that I had for 7 years, but they never got that great since I bought them while I was still growing, and when they broke I had the biggest fear of finding a new pair that came even close to fitting me. But these more than did the trick! Love them so much, great job again smartpak!
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Off the rack comfort, quality and beauty These have made me one happy girl! I've never been able to buy off the rack half chaps until these beauties! I've been riding in them for about three weeks and have zero complaints! The Wide/Short sizing is unique and hard to find without being plus size, and my ankles are not any wider and other "plus" brands were sloppy fitting. The Harwich chaps are smooth and gorgeous! These were my first SmartPak purchase and certainly not my last! Thank you SmartPak!
    Date published: 2014-11-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good I bought these half chaps after trying on several more expensive brands in stores. I like the trim look, the soft leather, the reinforced calf panel, and the higher bottoms on the back allowing for a good fit with spurs. The snaps and zippers were stiff but are working better with a little zipper ease. The fit isn't as tall as I was expecting for the sizing, but the next size up would be too large around the calf. For the price, I think these chaps could give competitors a run for their money. My main concern with half chaps is how well they hold up over time. I wore the Ariat Breeze all summer for schooling and like the fit but they've already started to wear along the stirrup line. I previously had Ariat Close Contacts that lasted for years but weren't as trim looking. We'll see how well these hold up to daily riding.
    Date published: 2014-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Harwich Soft LeatheHalf Chap Wow! Love these chaps. My last chaps were Grand Prix and I loved them but I did'nt like the price. Well these chaps are AWESOME. Fit like butter with a price that stays with my budget. Get them tight enough so when they stretch they are not too wide. Smart Pak....... DON'T CHANGE a thing about these chaps!!!!!!
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent chap at a great price! Nice leather and nicely made. They run a little bit narrow, but that's a good thing for my daughter who has tall, thin legs.
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft, fits well! These are the first half chaps I've owned so I don't have a great baseline, but after MUCH research I found a great product at a great price! They are very soft, fit well (a little on the smaller size though). I have long skinny legs and thought that I should go down in size to a tall small, but had to send them back to get a tall medium. They fit perfectly - quite snug but so comfortable you don't even know they are on. The return and receipt of new ones was very fast.
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Soft but off in the fit When I took them out of the bag I instantly fell in love with how soft and sturdy they felt. But after trying on the first pair I ordered they were too tight (I could not zip all the way up) so I returned them and got the next size up and they were too big (loose – there was a 2” difference). Unfortunately I will have to return them :( .
    Date published: 2014-10-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful product I bought this last week and they look beautiful. The only problem I had was that they weren't as stretchy as I had hoped but had stretched out nicely after a few rides.
    Date published: 2014-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice. Lovely leather - soft yet supportive with the inside patch. Zips easily from top. Followed the measurement chart and the fit is perfect!
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and fit correctly Being short with a wide calf, most half chaps usually fit incorrectly long so that I cannot wear my spurs. Thank you Smartpak for my first pair of half chaps that fit and are comfortable. Already thinking about purchasing another pair.
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality chap at an affordable price! I am really pleased with the quality of these chaps. The leather is substantial without being stiff. Zippers and elastic under the foot area are very durable and should last a long time. I would (and already have) recommended these to others! Would have expected to pay a lot more for workmanship of this quality.
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Maybe if you have straight cartoon legs? Just for comparison, I fit a 13/18 in tredstep deluxes. I ordered a 13/17 (small tall) of these first, but was disapointed to find that there was no way i could squeeze these onto my legs. Next, I tried a 14/17 (medium tall). Through my calf, they fit tight, which i prefer in new half chaps so they can stretch without becoming baggy. They were also plenty tall. My problem was in the ankle of them: there was additional leather around the ankle which left a wierd pocket, with almost enough room for my boots to pinch and leave their tag sticking out. The leather seems super soft and already broken in, but i cant speak for the durability as i will be returning them.
    Date published: 2014-09-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from runs small? i really like the look of these. my half chaps i have now are very worn so i needed a new pair. mine are medium and ive had ariats in medium so thats what i ordered. could not zip them up. exchanged for large. could not zip themstill. i even tape measured my leg. im 6' about 145 pounds i would think a large would fit as my legs are pretty skinny. i need talls but not sure if i can get wide and tall. they looked very nice though and good quality. one more thing the loop that goes under your boot is pretty small to. had a hard time fitting over paddock boots.
    Date published: 2014-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a Half Chap for a tall thin leg!! I have literally looked for half chaps that fit my teenage daughter for years. She has a tiny foot (narrow 5 1/2 to 6), very tall calf (I am 5'7" and her leg is longer), and a calf that is the size of most of our arms. All of the brands seem to assume if you have a small foot you are short and that as your leg gets longer it also gets much fatter. These arrived a few weeks ago and are close to perfect. They did shrink down in the ankle quite a bit so the next time we will go 1" longer. Other than that they are perfect. Tell them to make tall boots the same way!! She is on her third pair of custom ones and I would kill to be able to stop paying that much for a boot she has almost outgrown before it arrives.Can't speak to durability because they just came. She rides about 5 days a week and then generally 3-5 horses so she should be a good test case.
    Date published: 2014-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love These! So I previously used TredStep half chaps, I don't have a ton of money to spend on chaps that are really expensive so I would get the synthetic ones (plus I'm a student and don't get to ride much in the school year so I can't really justify buying the expensive ones anyway AND when I ride in the summer they're on all day everyday riding 4+ horses so I go through them quick). When I went to purchase new half chaps for the year, I discovered that they no longer make those which is when I stumbled upon these little gems. Not only were they in the same price range as the one's I used before, but they were real leather! I purchased them in late July/early August and unfortunately they kept going on back order so I didn't receive them until about med-late August. Upon pulling them out of the package I realized what they meant by "soft leather" holy COW they flopped right in half when I picked them up! I was certainly not expecting that so I put them on, they fit like a glove, had no break-in time like at all and I love them. So if you're looking for a cheap alternative to expensive customs or almost-customs...go with these and I really don't think you'll be disappointed. Unfortunately though I must add that I only used them for about 2 weeks before I left for school so I can't really vouch for the long term use.
    Date published: 2014-09-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs a little short I've had these for two weeks and so far am happy with them. They do seem to run a little short; I measured carefully, and according to the sizing chart, I needed a medium/regular, which surprised me since I have a long, thin leg. The regular was too short, though; I exchanged it for a tall and am much happier with it. The medium is quite tight on my slender leg--after several wearings, it still requires some effort to zip it. However, I'm happy with this medium/tall; they look nice, and although, as other reviewers have commented the large "Harwich" logo is rather obnoxious, you can't really see it unless you are very close, so I don't consider it a drawback.Hope that they are durable because otherwise I'm quite happy with this product.
    Date published: 2014-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy - very nice I am very happy with these half chaps. They are a beautiful quality and fit. Soft feel right away. Such a bargain for the price. I have only had them a month so can't comment on durability.
    Date published: 2014-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good!!! Very soft leather and the stretch panel has a lot of stretch. Best part are the snaps!! They are actually easy to do and undo....my other brand half chaps were very hard to work and I actually got to a point where I stopped using the snaps. I hope they hold up longer than the other brand did, but at this price I won't complain if these only last a couple of years. Great for schooling, but I wouldn't show in them because they don't have that tall boot look. Maybe Smartpak will also make a half chap that looks like a tall boot (*hint hint*).
    Date published: 2014-08-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally! Half chaps for the shorter rider! Absolutely love the ability to get a 16" tall half-chap. Good quality chap at a good price. Soft and supple leather right out of the package. Only wish they would have continued their inch sizing - went from an XL calf of 16" to Wide calf of 18". Really needed the 17" calf - so they aren't as fitted as I would like. Only time will tell if they stretch and become way too big (they are big now - again, needed the 17").Haven't had the chaps for too long, so I don't know about the durability (why I gave it an average rating).
    Date published: 2014-08-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Leather, fit was a let down After I touched the leather I spent a whole day trying to convince myself that these fit! I was so upset when I finally decided that they just wouldn't do and returned them. I am not sure that the fit of these chaps is any fault of their own, because in all honesty, I have a larger calf, shorter-ish to normal length lower leg, and an ankle that hardly tapers - so all half chaps are tricky, and even the tops of paddock boots. They were about an inch too tall and ran way down my foot, and I needed about an inch more in the calf. Unfortunately, that wasn't a size option. I am about 5'7, 140lbs, with a needed sizing that is pretty much 16" high and 15.5-16" around the calf with out the severe ankle taper. I wouldn't let my experience with them be a deterrent to try though, unless you also suffer from the great impossible half chap debacle. All the zippers and snaps seemed to be of a durable quality, as well as the elastic on the foot. Can't say how the leather would hold up, but it surely is soft and buttery. I reeeeealllly, really wish they would add more custom sizing options, or even open this half chap up for a completely custom option like the more expensive, hand made ones.
    Date published: 2014-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best half chap ever! This is my second pair of these half chaps. I was so impressed with my first pair--I ordered a second pair during a sale. They are made of butter soft leather which gives you a perfect fit instantly and a close feel to your horse. They held up well with regard to zippers, snaps and under boot elastic straps. They stretch a bit bit so order down on size if you want a tight fit.
    Date published: 2014-08-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love these half chaps! They fit like a glove and were great quality for the price. I haven't had them long enough to know how they will hold up, but I'm hopeful!
    Date published: 2014-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft leather straight out of the package I purchased this item during the July sale. So I got 15% off which made the price only 76$! Plus it was over 75 so free shipping, but it was out of stock. It took a month for them to get here(which I wasn't very happy about). When they finally arrived I opened them to find out the leather was super soft and supple/ nice and flimsy and not stuff at all. When I tried putting them on I thought I ordered a size too small, but because it is leather I knew it would stretch. I kept trying and by the 3rd time I got them on. The break in was farley fast. My trainer even mentioned that they look like I am wearing tall boots and was thinking of getting a pair for her own!
    Date published: 2014-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE these!! I've been riding in these for 2 months now. I inspected them today after my ride to make sure they were completely intact before I wrote my review. They fit like a glove - a little hard to get on at first (exactly like my very nice custom half chaps that I am now saving for showing), but now they go on easily but are STILL nice and tight. The leather is soft and grippy. I hope they last for years, but I have to say honestly - if I can get a year out of these I will definitely buy another pair to replace them. I ride about 6 days a week.Also, I got custom half chaps because there was nothing off the shelf that was small enough to fit nice and snuggly - I measure about 11 1/2 inches at the calf. I wear an XS in these chaps and they are supposed to be 12" at the calf, but for whatever reason, they fit really well. I tried them because I saw them at the Smartpak booth at a show and figured for the price it would be good to have some schooling chaps.
    Date published: 2014-08-03
    • 2015-02-25T07:46CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_58
    • loc_en_US, sid_11535, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.