Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Ariat® Heritage Contour Field Boot

Ariat International, Inc.
- Item #20859
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
The Ariat Heritage Contour Field Boot features a full grain leather upper and full leather lining.  This boot contains a full length elastic panel on lateral side for fit and comfort.

Favorite Features

  • Elastic gusset at inside knee for enhanced comfort and fit
  • Contoured fit at ankle for the perfect fit
  • Plain toe cap gives a timeless look
  • Full length back zipper makes this boot easy to get on and off
  • High Spanish cut topline with swagger tab adds a fashionable splash and gives the appearance of a long, elegant leg
  • Elasticized laces move with your boot
  • Duratread ™ outsole for long-lasting durability

Imported.

Sizing It Up

Field Boots Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Ariat® Heritage Contour Field Boot is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 60.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Average quality This boot is not for a tall, fit woman. I ordered Tall, size 9. The foot was just fine but that was all. It was at least 3" too short ( I'm 5'8" ) and a weird low buldging calf shape was really ugly. Sent them back.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boot I found them to be pretty true to size. Extremely comfortable, you can wear these boots all day without your feet hurting. They look great, I get a lot of compliments on them. If you get the slim size, make sure you have a pretty small calf.
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Leather ever! I have been an Ariat fan for over 10 years. I was heartbroken when my old Ariat tall boots finally bit the dust and I had to order a new pair. I ordered these and as soon as I opened the box I was extremely disappointed. The leather is super thin and I'd question if it was even real leather. It looks and feels like pleather. I know there is no way these are going to hold up like my last pair (over 5 years of 4+days/week riding). They are simply flimsy and cheap.The only good thing I will say for them is the zippers seem much more sturdy than past pairs which is good because they always seem to break on tall boots.I would have returned them the second they came in if my old ones were still viable but I have a show next week and need a pair of boots! Guess I am stuck with very crummy and, especially for the price, expensive boots!
    Date published: 2014-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice boots These are really, really nice boots at this price point. They are comfortable from minute one, as the leather is better quality than other brands at this price. The footbed does run a bit large; I ordered a size 6-1/2 with a narrow calf, though I usually wear a 7. This is typical for Ariat, as my paddock boots (size 7) feel about a half size too big. The calf runs true to size. Haven't had them long enough to comment on durability, but they seem well-constructed. Love these boots!
    Date published: 2014-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! The fit on these boots is amazing! They do run a bit large in the foot, I usually wear an 8.5/9 but in these boots I wear a 7.5 with a slim/tall calf. I would reccomend buying these in store instead of online, because a) the foot runs a tad large and b) you want the calf to be a little tall and a little tight, because they will stretch a little bit when they've broken in and the tops will go down about 3/4 inch. Once you've found the right size, however, these boots look like a million bucks! They are incredibly durable, stylish, comfortable, and I personally like the way these boots look way more than the Ariat Monacos and other more expensive models. Breaking these in wasn't too bad once the top of the boots dropped, but I would recommend using a pair of heel lifters when breaking these in if you buy them a bit tall. Overall, these are excellent boots, and a great value.
    Date published: 2014-11-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really classic and beautiful OK So I was having fit issues with the Challenge Contour boots and got these to compare, hoping the fit would be slightly different. It's not, they're almost identical in fit.I'm 5'9 with long legs, a short torso and 14" calves. I've always worn slim talls so I originally bought 8.5, tall, slim calf. The calf was too snug in slim and the regular tall fits impeccably in the leg (which holds true in both styles).I've had more trouble with the actual foot size. The 8.5 is too loose on my ankle and slides a bit on the heel as well as not being close enough on my toes. The 8 was too tight on the top of my foot while it fit the length of my foot well.I ended up with the Volant S because someone said the foot is wider and I hoped that would mean it wouldn't be so tight on top in the size 8. They work well, thank goodness, but they're not nearly as elegant as this pair. Overall I would have loved for these to work out, they're much more classic for dressage schooling!I never ordered boots from smartpak before and they've been insanely nice and refunded the returns quickly (I reorder rather than exchange to save time). Shipped quickly, arrived safely.
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect boot, never ride without them I'm so happy about my purchase. The sizing was easy. The quality of the boots were exceptional quality. The frist time I ride In them I was amazing at how good my ride went I was so comfortable love them. I clean them after every ride and use boot trees and but them in a boot bag. The cleaning for these boots is simple I just wipe it all of with a damp cloth the use leather new product and the shine every time and are clean love these boots
    Date published: 2014-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love love!! Ariat's cheaper tall boots have always had a reputation of poor fit and crummy leather... Not anymore! These are by far the nicest tall boots I have ever had the pleasure of wearing. They look sleek, they are offered in a plethora of sizes to fit literally every leg, and they hold up well to frequent riding. As a working student at a hunter jumper barn, I needed an affordable boot that looked clean and didnt cost much money. I adore the quality of the leather - it is super soft and the boots were broken in after just two rides! I also love the elastic line down the zipper, which allows for subtle differences in leg shape so you get the absolute best fit out of this boot.
    Date published: 2014-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots Great Price Bought these boots for my daughter after trying the Tredsteps and she loved them. Easy to break in and placed first in jumping and flat for the show and also the following weekend. Riding alumni for the college team she didn't want to spend a fortune and they are perfect for showing.
    Date published: 2014-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice boot at a good price. I bought this boot a few weeks ago. They were comfortable right from the beginning I and look very nice. I do think the high Spanish top is not as high as other boots I've tried, so that is something you may want to consider.
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! I purchased these boots about a year ago and they are still in excellent condition! They hold up with riding many horses with no tear or damage. I would recommend these boots to anyone!
    Date published: 2014-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from a perfect fit The fitting guide led to the perfect size for me. These are comfortable and look good and I'm very happy with them.
    Date published: 2014-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from quality leather beautifully made i have thin calves the fit like a glove-they feel like custom made boots! i cannot comment on the durability as i have just started using them..
    Date published: 2014-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good so far! Just recently bought these boots. I did not have to try and break them in for long. Soft and supple after 2-3 rides. Heard they drop a lot and I understand that. Mine are starting to drop. Hopefully they will not stretch too much. Didn't rate durability because I haven't had them long.
    Date published: 2014-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft leather, Beautiful Boots Love these boots! Very comfortable, took no time to break in. Great quality! They look amazing, nice and shiny and definitely stand out compared to other boots. Nice thick leather unlike some other companies and really high quality all around. Can't beat the Ariat foot bed and love these boots with the new contoured ankle. Will definitely buy Ariat's again.
    Date published: 2014-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great everyday boot I have had these boots for about 3 months, and they are holding up to daily use very well! A little difficult to break in at first, as they were pretty rigid at the back of the knee, but now they feel great. I wear them 4-8 hours a day, riding multiple horses, teaching lessons and doing barn chores and have no major complaints. When polished up they look great, but the toe cap does not shine up well, maybe made from a different leather, or synthetic for durability.
    Date published: 2014-06-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great boot for the price + it fit! I have large calves and cankles (yeah!) and boot shopping was a total pain in the butt. Smartpak made it so easy and was super helpful with all of my questions. I settled on this boot after trying 3 sizes in the Tredstep Donatellos and the largest calf Mountain Horse Richmond. My calves measure roughly 16 1/4.Pros for the Heritage Contour: soft/flexible leather, stretch panel in back of knee and down calf, footbed exactly like the paddock boots and TTS, nice looking, good height in regular.Cons/concerns: if you have small ankles, the Donatello might be a better choice, the calves run large and are actually a touch too big for me, and I am concerned about durability but time will tell.But all in all, a great boot for the price and I am keeping them.
    Date published: 2014-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots These are beautiful boots. I just wish they fit me. Tried several widths, but no dice. Thank heavens for Smartpak's free shipping and returns!!
    Date published: 2014-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft foot bed leather saved me! I have a bunion on my right foot and the ONLY tall boots that fit without pain in the entire tack shop were the Ariat's here. Why, you may ask? Because the leather of the shoe part is so soft it flexed around my funny foot. I put them on and made a silly giggle sound and loved them from the start. Why people buy awful, painful boots I will never know.First ride I didn't remember I was wearing them. Totally forgot I had "these are going to hurt and take forever to break in and then you MIGHT love them" tall boots on, all I was thinking about was getting the right impulsion in my horse.They're classy (and good until level 3 tests!) and clean up well, they fit well and my funny foot is happy. It's all about the soft foot leather (which, I might add, isn't the same as the calf leather, which is tougher and will stand up to more use).
    Date published: 2014-06-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice boots, except.... I ordered these and the Tredstep DaVinci's (on sale). Love these boots - the leather is soft, and you can't beat the Ariat footbed. The slim/tall fit nicely, BUT for some reason the crown of the spanish topline is cut so that it hit me slightly behind the knee rather than at the side, which caused the boot to buckle at the end of the swagger tab...uncomfortable as well as unsightly. The same thing happened when I tried on the Ariat Covington half chaps. The Tredstep's spanish cut hit me perfectly at the side of my knee, so I went with them. I must have odd knees.PS - LOVE SmartPak's return policy!!!
    Date published: 2014-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable Boots, Great Price! I have been riding in Ariat Boots for years because of their great fit, comfort, and durability. When my previous pair of pull-on Ariats began to show some wear (after 3+ years of daily riding 2 horses) I began to look for a new pair to purchase. I chose the Ariat Heritage Contour Field Boot due to its great price. Using the sizing chart I ordered the average calf, but when the boots came they ran large and the fit was too loose on my leg. SmartPak sent me the slims and the problem was solved; they fit great! These boots have an elastic panel that discretely runs the whole length of the boot next to the zipper making them even more comfortable. The leather on these boots is very soft and flexible so there should be no problem with rubs as they wrinkle at the ankle. They are also completely lined in a soft leather. (I don't even bother to try boots that are only cuff lined.) I was also pleased to see that they have the YKK zipper, which I think is more heavy duty then others. I cannot speak about their durability since I just got them, but my previous Ariats have lasted until I break the zipper, which Ariat will replace for a fee. (I have used their service and found that they did a superior job to my local cobbler and the boots came back looking like new!) The best part, for me, is being able to immediately ride in my new boots without discomfort. This is the reason I am so loyal to Ariat Boots. I have tried other manufacturers, only to have to tape my legs and ankles where I was being rubbed by stiff boots. I have had friends order custom boots and then not be able to ride in thembecause they were in agony! These boots fit great and are snug on the leg like customs, but require little, if any, break in time and are super comfortable for riding orwalking around. And for the price, they are a great buy!
    Date published: 2014-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome boots! I bought these boots for show season as an upgrade from my previous, less than stellar, $80 boots (eep!). These for better out of the box than my previous boots for after 2 years of using them. The sole is the same as my Ariat paddock boots, super comfortable an supportive. The elastic panel is a God send, and it looks better than the photo (more discreet). They break in quickly, and I know they'll last me a while. Another thumbs up for Ariat.
    Date published: 2014-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ariat Stepped Up Its Game I bought these boots at the end of last year but didn't wear them much to save them for shows. I decided to do a show at the last minute and had to pull them out without breaking them in. The boots literally broke in within two hours of walking around. They are soft as butter and look wonderful. I have thin ankles, so they swim in my old Ariats (I was not impressed with my old pair) but the contour in these makes them look almost custom. I am very happy with these, and compared to the price of other boots, theyare a great value!
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant, well fitting boot These boots are a great value compared to higher priced field and dress boots.They are true to size and very attractive. Though they are field boots, they workwell for dressage schooling and local shows. I am comfortable wearing them riding and on my feet teaching throughout the day. I don't necessarily recommendwearing them mucking stalls and generally abusing them doing barn chores, butthey certainly are attractive and durable enough for wearing while grooming andworking horses.
    Date published: 2014-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY comfortable, SOFT leather I need an extra slim calf and my choices are limited. This boot is really fabulous for the price, the MOST comfortable foot BY FAR, of any boots I've tried, even the fancy expensive brands. Ariat really knows how to make a fabulous boot. The extra slim fit my leg perfectly and the leather is extremely soft. I probably could have broken them in, in 10 minutes. I did not keep them b/c I just didn't like the look of the elastic gusset, that runs the entire length of the boot, on the outside of the back zipper, it's very unattractive, IMO. I know, I should forgo looks for comfort, but it makes the boots look like they were taken to a really bad shoe repairman to have the elastic strip put on and the elastic strip at the back puckers a little bit. I think they would be nicer if the gusset was on the inside of the back zipper and was a stretch leather. I returned them for that reason, but if you don't mind that, these boots are great for the price! The foot runs a bit large. I wear 8.5-9 and the 8 fit my foot perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Boots I have to say that I'm typically not a huge Ariat fan, as I've heard of others have issues with durability in the past and I had had a problem with durability with a pair of Ariat half chaps. However, my last tall boots were Ariats and they lasted me 1.5+ years - they're actually still fine now but they no longer fit correctly in the calf due to slight weight loss. I originally wanted to purchase the Tredstep Donatellos in size regular tall but they just didn't fit me correctly. One problem is that my right calf is more muscular than my left calf and while one boot might fit my left leg, I can't zip up my right boot!I decided to give these a try because they have the same soft leather as the Tredstep Donatellos. I bought them in size tall regular and they fit BOTH legs, thanks to the narrow stretch panel in the back. I can't speak for durability yet, as I've only ridden in them twice but from what I can tell, they definitely won't take long to break in. Happy with my purchase thus far!
    Date published: 2014-03-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Schooling Boots Decided to give these boots a shot after hearing they'd improved the horribly wide Ariat ankle. They were the perfect height (I'm 5'8" and got the slim talls) and very comfortable. However, they were wrinkly around the calf and ankle, and I could tell that once they dropped they wouldn't have the sleek eq ring look I wanted. I'm trading them for the Quantum Crown Pros because those have better and stiffer leather.Overall, for a schooling boot or for someone with a slightly wider or more muscular calf these boots are great. If you have very long legs and think you have to get custom for the right height, DONT. Give these boots a shot. (Besides with the great Smartpak service what do you have to lose?)
    Date published: 2014-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love These Boots! I needed a new pair of tall boots to replace my Ariats I've had for years. I ordered these and when I zipped them up for the first time it was instant love. They fit me absolutely perfectly and the quality is outstanding for this price! I have only put in three rides with these boots so far so I can't rate the durability yet, but if they hold up anything like my last pair of Ariat tall boots, they will last for a long time. Over all I couldn't be happier with these gorgeous boots!
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great field boots!! I recieved great help in finding these boots and they are wonderful! Anything Ariat is great quality! I had a hard time actually finding a pair that fit me, and these worked out wonderfully!
    Date published: 2014-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot for the price I bought these boots two months ago and have gotten several compliments. Many of the folks at my barn have bought the Donatellos or more expensive boots and comment on how nice they fit, asking what brand they are. There was about a 3 day break in period (I just put a thick band-aid on my heel) and they were good to go! I am very good about cleaning them thoroughly after every ride and they look brand new. I use them as both my schooling and show boots. I am on the short side(5'2''), and the "short" size fits great! Well worth the money, and certainly nice enough for the hunter ring. My secret, I wear a pair of cowboy boots around the barn grooming, lunging etc...and only put my tall boots on right before I ride and take them off right after.
    Date published: 2014-02-06
    • 2015-03-03T07:41CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_56
    • loc_en_US, sid_10859, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.