Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Rhino SmartPak Collection Wug Turnout

Horseware Ireland
- Item #20666

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

This is the blanket that inspired it all! The Rhino SmartPak Collection Wug Turnout was created exclusively for SmartPak by the experts at Horseware Ireland for the most fashionable and functional turnout around. Rhino’s exclusive Barrier Technology means that even if your horse manages to tear through the tough 1000 denier polyester shell, the waterproof protection remains intact. The soft, anti-static microfiber lining keeps your horse feeling as good as he looks. Antibacterial properties in the lining keep the blanket fresh. Surefit neck design eliminates pressure on the withers. Light weight has no fill, Medium weight is 200g, Heavy weight is 400g.

Imported.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Rhino SmartPak Collection Wug Turnout is rated 4.5904 out of 5 by 83.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket! I bought this blanket a little over a month ago. My horse loves it! I am especially pleased with the the blanket features like the snap front closure, double Velcro closure, and leg arches...all feature which I have come to learn are a must have for me! Most importantly though, the non-static feature has truly been as advertised, and greatly appreciated by my sensitive TB.
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Turnout! I love everything about this turnout: the front v clips, the higher cut neck and none of those irritating leg straps. I have this one in light and medium for all 4 of my horses!
    Date published: 2014-02-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Survived a horse that destroyed the indestructible So far so good! My OTTB destroyed 2 SmartPak indestructible blankets. So far he hasn't had any problems even though he and his buddies shredded his blanket liner (don't know how that happened without the turnout not beingdestroyed). Quality blanket!
    Date published: 2014-02-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wonderful fit I bought this a months ago. It fit so well and I was super excited, until yesterday when my horse ripped it. Not good for a horse hard on blankets and who loves to play in the field! Smart Pak was excellent in handling the return.
    Date published: 2014-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit I got this heavy Duty turn out rug for a foster mare from a local rescue society. It was a perfect fit for this extremely hard winter and Patches is now snug as a bug in a rug! Easy to put on and take off, which keeps my fingers working well, too.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great design, not durable at all! Bought this blanket (heavyweight) last year, and with such a mild winter, only used it about a dozen times.I pulled it out just this month (January) and have used it for two weeks, collectively, on the single digit days. There are teeth marks and small tears all over the outside shell, the lining has an 18inch rip in it as of this morning, and I am sorry I ever wasted $200 on the thing. My office window overlooks their field, so I literally watch them all day--they are not an aggressive or wild field. My actual Rambos, which have been in consistent use in that field since September haven't a scratch on them.This first time I experienced this with the Rhino line, I thought it was a fluke. Now I know better. Don't waste your money.
    Date published: 2014-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit over shoulder, very durable material I bought this for my "thicker" set 14.1 h pony in medium weight for him to wear in the Northwest with a body clip. It is the perfect weight; he is warm in it but has never been sweaty. The fit over the shoulder is great, even with his broad build. As a pony it comes down a little far on his legs, but I like this with a clip. It has been rained on for about a solid week now and he is warm and dry!
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not hold up Bought this rug a month ago because I love the previous experience with SmartPak. I have a 4 year old OTTB who I have rescued and needed her to be extra warm while she adapts to her retirement. I noticed a rip near the seam by her tail. Not sure how this happened but after a month, it is disappointing.
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from absolutely love this blanket I wanted to upgrade one of my horses to a high neck blanket, and Rhinos/Rambos have long been my favorite blankets. The horse in question is chestnut with a big white face and 4 high white legs, so I was worried the checkered pattern might look too "busy" on such a chromey horse, but instead it looks absolutely fabulous. It does tend to shift a little to one side on her, but I think it might be because of the way she walks or stands. We got hit with a brutal cold snap, and she was already shivering by the time I got home. Checked her 10 minutes after putting the blanket on, and she was toasty warm underneath, and stayed that way for the next several days.
    Date published: 2014-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best quality and price! This is the best quality and fit and ease of use of any blanket I've ever purchased.The front closure is so easy to snap! I like the way it really envelopes the horse and keeps the wind out on these cold, blustery days. We have a low temp of 8 degrees tomorrow morning when we are used to the 50's. So very glad my 18 year old gelding has this on tonight!
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the fit, but it bunches in places I really like this blanket, it fits great (and true to size), and I love the high neck. But I found it bunches in places, most of the time at the neck part, almost as if the top layer of the blanket is bigger than the rest of the blanket. I really don't mind it and it doesn't affect usability or quality so I wouldn't mind buying another! 
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Turnout!! Buying this medium-weight turnout was an easy decision. Last year I needed to replace an unlined turnout and purchased the Rhino SmartPak Wug for my 16.3 OTTB mare.  It fit her perfectly, as does the medium weight, and is an exceptionally nice material.  I fully expect the medium weight to perform as nicely in terms of her comfort and durability.  It also washes up nicely.  The quality I expect from SmartPak and Horseware!  If we keep having these ridiculous cold spikes, there could be a heavy weight in her future; won't need to review/study other blankets, just call and order another Rhino SmartPak Wug!!
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits Great! I bought this about a month ago for a horse that is hard to fit--he is long and narrow. This blanket fits beautifully--it covers the tail, tucks nicely under the belly, and keeps the wind and cold out with the high neck. The hardware is strong and the blanket has held up nicely with full time wear in an outdoor run. I have the matching sheet, and they look great together. 
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Really like this blanket I bought the wug style blanket because the regular style blanket was rubbing the top of my horses neck. He seems to be very comfortable in it and I like that it covers part of his neck as well. I am not sure that there is sufficient fill in this blanket for warmth if the horse had a full clip.
    Date published: 2014-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice blanket Last winter I purchased the heavy weight. It held up very well and fit my skinny thoroughbred very well. No more blanket rubs. He needed a new sheet so I purchased another one in a lighter weight. I love this line of blankets.
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Nice Sheet I have had my eye on this sheet for over a year, and I finally broke down and purchased one for each of my horses. I already own several Horseware blankets and was thrilled to see that they collaborated with SmartPak on this one. It is the nicest looking blanket at my barn. It is very lightweight and fits well.My Quarter Horse always wears a 75, and this one fit with a little room to spare. If his back were not a tad long, it probably would have been too large. While a little roomy, it still conformed to his body well while he cavorted around in it. My Thoroughbred always wears a 78, and this one fit him perfectly. He has a broad barrel and a roached back; but even with his odd conformation, Horseware always fits him well, and this sheet did not disappoint.One thing I did notice about it is that the fabric makes a slight "crinkling" sound. If you have a horse who does not do well with noises, you might have to desensitize him a bit. It is a very slight sound, but my Quarter Horse had to check it out once I had it on him.I am glad I purchased these sheets and hope they prove to be as durable as my other Horseware purchases. If they wear as well as they look, I cannot lose. 
    Date published: 2014-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit!!! I just received this sheet 2 weeks ago but I am very happy with it! I was having a hard time finding a sheet to fit my mare and this does perfectly. It seems very well made. I would definitely recommend this sheet!
    Date published: 2014-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value I love Horseware turnouts and I have purchased a number of them over the years.  There are less expensive options but due to their fit and durability  I rarely buy anything else for my herd of Irish Draughts and Kerry Bog ponies.
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great turnout!!! Love this! Fits my mare perfectly! :) She looks very stylish!
    Date published: 2013-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Fit For My TB This blanket fits my high-withered, narrow TB quite well. The high neck takes pressure off the withers and has the added bonus of preventing the sides from falling too far down on his shoulders. The way it fits his neck and chest make it look cozy and comfortable. Durability seems good although he's not rough on his blankets and in individual turnout.  
    Date published: 2014-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight and Effective Have had this Rhino Lite Wug for a month and it has worked well so far for my WB gelding.  Fits great and stays in place.  He's been kept dry when it rains without getting too warm (he's not clipped) and I really like the blue with tan plaid color of the Smart Pak edition.
    Date published: 2013-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent fit, quality & breathability Thank you Smartpak!! I called you to discuss the winter weather conditions in my area - lots of sun 60 degrees one day 40 the next day - you recommended this blanket and I'm very happy with it
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit I only buy Horseware rugs as they always fit and wear amazingly.
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Fuss! This turnout fits my my large boned draft cross field hunter very nicely.  His clipped body feels nice and toasty in the cold.  I have had Rambos in the past and find this blanket to be a less costly yet very well made and attractive alternative.  Like the Rambo, the closures/snaps are all no fuss. Easy on and easy off.  So far, so good...
    Date published: 2013-11-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from What to expect from the Rhino product line I bought a Rhino blanket for my Warmblood years ago. He was not a super rough player, but it pretty much instantly got a small rip. That said, this is where the water-proof layer underneath comes in. It's cheaper than Rambo for a reason. If you horse is hard on blankets then for you, the Rambo is the cheapest blanket on the market because you won't be replacing it every season. If your horse and his buddies are easy on blankets, this is a great value. It has the Horseware fit and is warm.
    Date published: 2013-11-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed Bought two of Rhino Smartpak Wug's for my 19yr old QH and 16yr old TW. What i liked aboout this turnout blanket is the design. Being an Engineer, i appreciate a good design. The high neck keeps water/snowoff the base of the neck and reduces rubbing on the withers when their head is down grazing. Also I really, really liked the front closure design which eliminates chest rubbing. Now, what i didn't like is the inferior quality of a neary $200 turnout. The inside layer is onion skin thin and developed tears after a couple uses. Also developed a tear on the outside after a very minor bite. For the money and the brand name, I expected much, much beter material. I returned both of these blankets after being used, and exchanged them for the Weatherbeeta High Neck Turnout. I rec'd the Weatherbeeta yesterday & it looks like the material is much, much better. Thank God for Smartpak customer service and their 100% satisifaction guarantee. They are wonderful.
    Date published: 2013-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Love this blanket! It has held up so far and has proved to be waterproof. I will be purchasing this in a medium weight in the fall.Does run a bit large.
    Date published: 2013-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice blanket! Love this turnout blanket. Fits well, maybe just a teeny bit big. Waterproof, Nice-looking, just right for my high-withered Thoroughbred!
    Date published: 2013-04-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this turnout! Too bad my big guys withers are too high, after 2 days wearing it i could barely touch his withers. I wish these came in the optimo design, it's the only one that seems to fit his withers. I guess i'll hold on to it for another horse.
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would benefit from leg straps for those playful horses (like mine) turned out with others.
    Date published: 2013-03-29
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.