Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Equine Couture Raleigh Soft Shell Hunt Coat

Equine Couture, LLC
- Item #20291
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Equine Couture Raleigh Soft Shell Hunt Coat is made of a light weight, innovative fabric which offers incredible four-way stretch for total rider comfort in the saddle. This coat comes with stretch lining for easy movement while riding. Ultra suede collar and classic black buttons create an elegant look at an affordable price.

94% Micro Nylon, 6% Lycra.

Favorite Features 

  • Lightweight material
  • Four-way stretch
  • Ultra suede collar
Imported.

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Equine Couture Raleigh Soft Shell Hunt Coat is rated 4.1176 out of 5 by 34.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice surprise! I bought this jacket for my daughter who has just really gotten into riding. I've ridden for years and have had MANY high-end jackets, but we aren't sure how long she will be into it, so we didn't want to spend a bunch of money if she doesn't stick with it. I was a little nervous about ordering after reading some of the other reviews, but was PLEASANTLY surprised when it came. The jacket is well made and has great lines. The fabric seems durable and extremely easy to care for. I tried it on and am typically a GP size 10 and the 2 fit perfectly. I am thinking of ordering another for myself for rainy shows!! Not sure how it will do in the humid SC weather, but we will see soon!
    Date published: 2014-06-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from awesome for tall riders I just bought this and was super happy to find that the sleeves are long enough, which I have a really hard time finding. I am 5'11" and have long arms. The coat is nice and stretchy and fits true to size ( I normally wear a 12/14 and the size 12 coat fits perfectly, whereas my other coat is an 18) Haven't shown in it yet, but seems like a great coat for the price and will hopefully be much cooler than my wool coat for the summer
    Date published: 2014-06-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice for the money It is definitely cut big. Thought based on size would need an 8 but a 6 was perfect. That said build probably factors in too-I'm lean, med chested, longish arms. But I think it is definitely cut larger than average. Really liked the stretch in it. I'm a fan of the soft shell! Just got it so can't speak to how it holds up yet. Inside isn't lined so will prob be good for warmer weather-but it doesn't look as nice from the inside. But that's ok-no one is seeing that side
    Date published: 2014-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely for the price Bought this and the Horseware soft shell coat to compare. I much prefer this one. It's more classic for the hunter ring. If I were doing jumpers, I'd probably prefer the Horseware since the fabric is lighter. I won't be able to speak to comfort in this coat compared to wool until the spring, really hoping it's cooler. The sizing on this item is much closer to dress size than typical hunt coat size. I wear a 4-6 dress size, size 10 in Ariat hunt coats, medium in the Horseware, and a 6 in the Equine Couture. I'm 5'7", 120 lbs, 32" chest and busty with broad shoulders and a smallish frame. Hope that helps someone, I had a tough time figuring out sizes! I bought both the black (for the Derby at schooling shows), and the navy (for Eq). The fabric is fine, from a distance I don't think you'll be able to tell it's under $100. I can't wait to see what folks think at my next show in 2 weeks. I really like the navy color. It's blue enough that it doesn't look black at first glance, but still a true navy. The pic makes it look like the top part of the collar is a different, shinier fabric but it's not - the coat is all the same fabric, though it does has a slight sheen to it as it is a soft shell.
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a great value I ordered several jackets in the $90-$120 price range and this was by far the 'cheapest.' It fit OK - I usually wear a 12 and it fit fine - but the styling isn't flattering and the structure is flimsy.
    Date published: 2013-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! A soft shell coat for $99, really? After speaking with a Smartpak rep who showed at HITS in this coat, I decided to give it a try. Free ship and free return, what the heck! I was amazed!! As was everyone else I showed the coat too. No bells and whistles like the really expensive soft shell coats, but still awesome!! The first one I ordered didn't fit (my fault, I always order too big), and everyone and their brother tried it on and wanted to buy it from me! I ordered a size down and it fit perfectly. Showed in it on a warm day, it was so much cooler than those horrid wool hunt coats and much stretchier too for those bigger jumps! Love, love, love this coat!
    Date published: 2013-07-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Coat hangs poorly This coat is very comfortable...has nice give and take, ran true to size for me...(buyer needs to realize it is shorter than most coats, look at the photo!) - but that didn't bother me at all. Its just the material looked cheap...and I know it isn't an expensive jacket, but I just expected better quality overall I guess. The collar and buttons hung poorly. Too bad - because it was really comfortable - would have been nice for those warm show days!
    Date published: 2013-04-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average I expected a better jacket after reading the reviews. Not sure why I expected it to be so great at this price. This Jacket is a true example of "you get what you pay for"! In the past, I have ordered value priced items through SmartPak and have been surprised at the great quality.The sizing was fine and from a distance I'm sure the jacket will look fine. I could see how it would also be cooler than the wool type jackets. I found the back flap to kick out a bit to much and the fabric was a bit bunched at the seams.Would have loved to have found a good soft shell coat at this price, but it just was not for me. I sent it back. I will be saving my money for the ridiculously higher priced but better quality soft shell jackets!Thanks to SmartPak for the super fast and easy return.
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this jacket I can't wait to wear this jacket this show season. The style and fit are amazing. It's light weight..exactly what I was looking for at an affordable price. I could not rate durability as I have not worn it yet. Definitely would recommend this purchase.
    Date published: 2013-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from it really is the " Best Purchase Ever" I purchased this coat last year and I have finally been able to put it to use. The material is by far the best in terms of look, comfort, and quality. "What more could you ask for" :) I plan to take a trip to the cleaners since it is now dirty from my last show as I am afraid to wash it after reading one of the reviews. Just a final note....I noticed many people disliked the long length of the sleeves. I have long arms anyway but I personally prefer a longer sleeve as it allows for a better jump without the coat sliding past my gloves.( I am pretty sure they designed the coat this way to accommodate just about everyone as it is easier to just hem your sleeves whereas; the rest of us are usually left with little to no option)Thank You Equine Couture! I plan to order another one
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Soft Shell Coat Yes, But Not This One This is a very inexpensive soft shell show coat so I gave it a try. You get what you pay for. The coat arrived wrinkled (crinkled) and did not hang out over night. I don't know if you can iron it and I didn't steam it. I thought wrinkles would be a problem anyway.I would never discourage someone from trying a product from Smartpak. It might work for you.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Show Coat I haven't had this coat for long and it is my first coat. I will be doing my first Hunter show in April. While searching for my perfect coat I was asking friends and they all recommended different brands but the prices were all too high. This coat has GREAT ventilation and really does look good. I live in Florida and believe me, riding can get hot but this coat keeps me cool. I cant say much relating to the durability since I haven't had it long.The only down side of this coat was that when I received it the arms were too long. My friends grandma fixed that right up for me though! I recommend this coat to anyone who will listen.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS JACKET I Love the fit of this jacket. I ordered it because I knew I could send it back free if I didn't like it. It's adorable and light weight. Exactly what I was looking for for show season this summer. Thanks smart pak
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gorgeous and so comfy! I just bought this, and it is lovely. Fits great (I agree with other reviewers - order your dress size!), and is so comfy and stretchy. The fabric is very nice. I am so happy with this coat, as I had been looking for both a new navy coat & a soft shell, but didn't think I would find that in the price range I had. I'm 5'1, and it fits perfectly - maybe a little longer than I prefer in the sleeves, but it definitely isn't long enough to be a bother when riding. I can't wait to try this out! Can't comment on durability as it's brand new.
    Date published: 2013-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This is the first show coat I've ever owned and I don't think I would want any other coat. I ordered it in navy, and it's beautiful. The material is super stretchy and really gives me room in the back and shoulders to give a release over my horse without worrying that it's going to rip. I went to Equine Couture's website and followed the size chart from there. The suggested size for me was a size 10 but I ordered it from Smartpak in a size 12 since I'd read that most show coats run small. The size 12 is actually a little big on me though, so it seems to run true to the size chart. However at the same time I'm glad I ordered the 12 since the smaller the coat, the shorter the back of the coat is, and the size 10 coat back would have been too short.I read from a previous review that this coat is not machine washable like it says it is #good to know) so I'll just take it to the dry cleaners instead when needed. I also read another review where someone lost a button off the coat at a show, so I just took a needle and thread and reinforced the buttons to make sure that they stay on. Besides those couple things, this is a great coat. I even received a free Smartpak garment bag! I gave it 5 stars.
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good price I purchase this coat to replace my wool hunter coat. The material is very different and stretchy, which I was not expecting. I'm tall 5'9" and the sleeve length was perfect, but the jacket length was too short. I also loved the details on it coat. Wish it can in another material. Had to return and purchase another brand. Love Smart Pak's customer service and return policy :)
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Machine Washable? I wrote a review about this coat when I first purchased it. I loved the fit and found the fabric very comfortable since it was so stretchy. I recently washed it for the first time, it says machine washable on the tag though you are NOT supposed to tumble dry. When I pulled it out of the washer, the lapels were all bunched up from the inner fabric becoming all crinkled. If you purchase this coat just take it to the dry cleaners like every other show coat. Its still a nice coat but mine is ruined now because its just not really machine washable.
    Date published: 2012-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value, Cool Show Coat I have a nice wool show coat that I never wear because it is just too hot. I love the modern fit and cool material of this show coat. My navy coat came with navy buttons and zippered sleeves. I am 5'8 with a small upper body and long arms. I ordered a size 4 and it fits perfectly except the arms are about 6 inches too long. I plan to get the arms hemmed to fit, but I've been wearing the coat to show in and just folding the sleeves under for now. Smart Pak has amazing customer service and I got the best price on this coat.
    Date published: 2012-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is an absolutely beautiful coat and it does fit true to your dress size so order carefully. I love the light weigh fabric and the zippers on the sleeves. One thing I was surprised about was that the buttons weren't the brass ones in the pictures but navy ones that matched the coat. Not a big deal to me as I'm not a very showy person.I had to send my back for an exchange as some of the seaming was coming undone but SmartPak has just been great about making sure everything is perfect.
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice for price Nice coat for the price. Sadly the fit of the body is nice, but shoulders did not fit at all. Returned for another coat.
    Date published: 2012-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfy and stretchy This jacket is great!!!! It's a beautiful navy color and very comfy. It's the only jacket that I feel like I can stratch and give a big release to my horse over jumps without it pulling in the back and without it being too big for me. It's lovely looking and doesn't seem too hot eihter. It is a tiny bit shiny.... but having seen others wearing it in the show ring.... I didn't notice it being too shiny then. So I think it's just the material is different than what I"m used to. Can't wait to show in it!
    Date published: 2012-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jacket! Love this jacket! I've only shown in it twice but both days were hot and I stayed relatively cool. Fits nice and looks pretty sharp :)
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice coat Like the coat...ordered in 2 sizes incase I wanted to put my cool medic vest underneath......one jacket had zippered cuffs the other three button cuffs.....like the stretch and the easy care....the price point was great......will say, I lost a button in front at my first show wearing it...right before my second ride.....found the button before the horse stepped on it and can sew it on.....no worries.....overall a good buy.
    Date published: 2012-06-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty coat, nice details This is a good value compared to some of the other soft shell coats on the market. I think the fit is great, and runs true to size. The fabric is light weight and stretchy. The fabric does lay a bit funny but once you are in the saddle I don't think it will matter.
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great coat for the price! Finally a soft shell coat at a price we all can afford! I love this jacket. Very pretty and has great detail. This Jacket runs true to women"s sizing so order your actual size. If you wear a size 8 order an eight. I wish I would have known. I ordered two sizes larger thinking it would run small like most soft shell jackets. Big mistake! I told my friend about the coat and she ordered her coat in her dress size and it fit beautifully!
    Date published: 2012-04-13
    • 2015-03-03T08:24CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_33
    • loc_en_US, sid_10291, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.