Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Effax Leather Combi

Schweizer-Effax GmbH
- Item #11027

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

For the most thorough leather cleaning, Leather Combi is a great alternative to traditional saddle soap. Leather Combi's grease free formula penetrates leather and does not attract dust. With regular use, leather is non-slip, tear-resistant, smooth and insensitive to water and sweat. Made in Germany.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Effax Leather Combi is rated 4.7059 out of 5 by 68.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite leather cleaner The Leather Combi is my favorite leather cleaner, especially because it is an all-in-one. I love that the alcohol in it takes the grime right off, and yet my tack never feels dry or "lacking" thanks to the conditioning oils. It makes my life way easier.I'm not sure that I would really ever need to do a follow-up conditioning step, but I do every two weeks or so simply because I feel like I am getting off too easy with this product. This regimen made a huge difference for my tack last winter when I lived in NJ, and I plan to keep it up.
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice This works great on all leather and doesn't leave a greasy film or make it sticky like other leather cleaners/conditioners! I use this before shows and also own other Effax products, which by the way are my favorite tools for leather care! After using this, I'm never going back to Passier saddle soap and leather balsam! Also works great if you use a scub brush/toothbrush to apply it!
    Date published: 2010-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great product I use the Leather Combi on my dressage saddle. I poured it into a spray bottle and spritz my saddle all over then wipe it down every time I ride. Having the Leather Combi in a spray bottle eliminates any waste and spills. The Leather Combi makes my saddle very soft and supple. The leather looks great and I get a lot of compliments on the condition of my tack.
    Date published: 2010-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Tack Cleaner I was given my first bottle of leather combi as a Christmas gift, and I have been using it ever since. If cleans the tack, cuts thru the grim and dirt and leaves a nice cleaan surface to apply leather conditioner. I would recommend it to all as the best tack cleaner I have used.
    Date published: 2010-07-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but not for really dirty tack This product was recommended by our tack shop and saddle fitter. It does a great job on "normal" tack, but doesn't remove dried sweat from my saddle after endurance training rides. It cleans other items well without leaving a sticky residue that attracts dust.
    Date published: 2010-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Time Favorite! This cleaner has been a favorite of mine for years for quick daily wipe downs. I use it on leather halters daily and bridles and saddles after every workout. It leaves tack clean without making it dry. However this doesn't replace a conditioner or deep cleaner, so one should still occasionally clean tack with a good soap and conditioner.
    Date published: 2010-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from barn staple I prefer liquid cleaners as they are fast and convenient. I clean my tack after EVERY ride so I want something that cleans and supples at the same time. I've treid numerous liquid products and this is by far the best value.
    Date published: 2010-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff I really like this stuff. It cleans and conditions in one step for those of us who are too busy to spend hours cleaning tack. It even works on my muddy girths after Cross Country
    Date published: 2010-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the BEST! I love this stuff! I use it so much, especially with the Effol leatherbalm. I think these two as a pair are some of the best cleaners out there. I had this product about five months before I even got the conditioner and I was very happily satisfied! I would definitely recommend this product if you are looking for something to really pull all the dirt off your tack and make it soft.
    Date published: 2010-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more foamy mess I'm now on my third bottle of leather combi. My schooling bridle is almost 35 years old and looks great. The leather is soft and supple and my trainer says it's one of the cleanest in the tack room.
    Date published: 2010-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for everyday use This product is great for quickly wiping down tack after a sweaty workout. It breaks easily through caked on dirt and hair, without stripping the leather like some liquid cleaners do. I haven't noticed any darkening of tack from using this cleaner. It leaves tack clean and slightly tacky, but a little drier than I would like. Usually I'll just wipe some leather conditioner on it every few days though and the leather stays nice and soft. A good choice if you have to quickly wipe tack off after workouts.
    Date published: 2010-02-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from combi Works well on really dirty tack that has gotten gooey, but won't strip it dry. Easy on chapped hands.
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Tack Cleaner I love this product. It is quick and easy to use, but makes my tack look as though I've been cleaning it forever. My tack is never too sticky and doesn't have the awful smell some other products leave it with. This is a must buy!
    Date published: 2009-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great cleaner This product is especially good for cleaning the saddle after riding a sweaty horse. In the summer months, in NC our horses sweat a lot when we work out and the saddles tend to get chalky and sometimes even collect some mildew. This cleaner works great for preventing that and adds no oil to the saddle. I keep a small sponge next to my tack rack and just wipe it underneath quickly after riding to protect my saddle.
    Date published: 2009-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have used LederCombi for 3 years! I love this product. It was recommended to me by the rep who sold me an Albion dressage saddle. I use it several times a week to completely strip the crud off of saddles and bridles. I condition with LederSoft as needed.
    Date published: 2009-09-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cleans well I used this product on two dirty bridles. With a little scrubbing, I felt the product did a decent job of removing the grime. Having never used it before, I did expect a bit more conditioned feel. However, I just followed up with a separate conditioner. Overall, it was very easy to use. I squirted some on a terry cloth rag and rubbed down the bridle. Because it's liquid, it didn't leave any residue in the holes of the bridle. However, it does have a strange smell.
    Date published: 2009-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! the only tack cleaner you will ever need. this is the best cleaner I have used and it also provides a NO SLIP grip to all leather. Not sticky at all.
    Date published: 2009-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT This is the best leather cleaner I have come across... It removes grime effectively AND leaves leather soft and supple.
    Date published: 2009-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy Love this product for quick and easy cleaning of my tack. Cuts throught the scurf and doesn't leave a greasy feel. The bottle last a long time, as well.
    Date published: 2009-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful and Easy I dread cleaning tack but I thought I'd give this product a try and I'm glad I did. It was so simple to use and did a fantastic job cleaning dirty trail saddles. Tack dried with a great shine and not sticky at all. All the embedded dirt came off without a lot of effort. If you try this product, you'll love it.
    Date published: 2009-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good combination product I really like this as a one-step cleaner/conditioner for regular use in between those deep-cleaning session. It is liquid & does a good job of keeping things clean and supple. I would definitely recommend it for all fine tack.
    Date published: 2009-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent One-Step Tack Cleaner I was skeptical to use a liquid, but this LederCombi is fabulous. It really cleans deep-down without scrubbing (and ruining the leather finish). It removes all traces of horse crud and dirt without stripping the natural oil in the leather. My tack is left clean, soft (not sticky) and supple. It's also great to use before deep conditioning or oiling since you know the tack is super clean.
    Date published: 2009-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff works geat I tried the leather combi after trying almost every other saddle soap out there. The first time I used it I knew this was going to be better. It cleaned the leather without leaving it coated or tacky feeling. I also felt like it conditioned the leather so that an application of a separate oil or some other stuff was not needed. here in Fl. things tend to get moldy fast.... so I can see myself using this quite often this summer.
    Date published: 2009-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent cleaner Great for everyday tack cleaning. I use this product year-round, and it doesn't leave buildup or attract dirt like some can. I still use other products to do thorough cleanings, but this product keeps my tack looking tidy on a daily basis! A bit pricey, but worth the expense.
    Date published: 2009-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST leather cleaner! This is by far my favorite leather cleaner/conditioner on the market; and, believe me, I have tried them all! It keeps leather soft, supple, and shiny, all without being tacky or leaving a residue. It's a definite tack trunk staple.
    Date published: 2009-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I got this on a recommendation from my saddle maker and it is worth every dime. It is a wonderful conditioner that I have used each time I ride and my saddle looks brand new. Great item.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! I hate cleaning my tack. There, I said it (I hope my trainer doesn't read this). Leather Combi really does make the task much easier. I recently used it for the first time based on the reviews by other customers and by golly, they're right, it does work! It is easy to apply and does not leave the tack sticky like other cleaners can. It lived up to the claim of not attracting dust, as well, even after riding for hours in a dusty indoor! Also, since you just squirt the Leather Combi from the bottle onto your cloth it helps keep things neater (no more partially used bars of glycerin soap getting everything all yucky). Leather Combi is now a staple in my tack cleaning kit!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great cleaner I have used almost every cleaner on the market, and this is my favorite. It is tough on grimy bridles, without stripping the moisture. It doesn't leave a residue either. Give it a try, you won't be sorry.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is great stuff I was first introduced to this product by Colleen Meyer, who fits saddles for the likes of Lendon Gray and Debbie MacDonald. I bought a new saddle from her, and she told me that I HAD to use this stuff on my saddle. It is everything the catalog says it is - non-oily and removes that sticky gunk from your bridle and reins easily. It is a little pricey, but worth it.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.