Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

SmartPak Slow Eater Hay Bag

Item #20201

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Slow down! Some horses eat too fast, or sometimes you need to extend the duration of their meal. Our SmartPak Slow Eater Hay Bag is a durable nylon hay bag with nylon mesh hole designed to slow down hay consumption. Perfect for trailering or use in the stall. 28"(H) X 22"(L) X 8-1/2"(W).

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartPak Slow Eater Hay Bag is rated 3.3182 out of 5 by 22.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Slow feed bag...slows feeding I bought this bag to feed chopped hay to my older horse (33 years young!) I was thinking the smaller holes would allow the hay to be transported better because it is so short. However, it was very difficult for him to eat out of the bag and eating is a chore for him so he just gave up. I ended up feeding him on the ground in a tub. I think for a young aggressive eating horse this may be the bag of choice. The quality of the bag is great and I plan to use it for my younger horses when we travel.
    Date published: 2012-09-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from very nice hay bag This slow feeder hay bag is perfect for short trailer rides.
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from not for a greedy eater!! My girl lives to eat and made quick work of the webbing on this hay bag.She was not happy with the size of the holes so she just ripped new ones in no time at all....I thought it was a great idea but she did not agree!!!!
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Surprisingly Disappointing Until using this product, I liked hay bags better than hay nets. I tried the small hole hay net at the same time as this bag, & what a difference! This bag was so frustrating to 1 of my horses (who is usually pretty patient) that he kept pawing the ground while trying to eat (he's never done that before in the years I've had him). He even tore at the nylon mesh with his teeth, fraying it. By the end of the day, the back of the bag tore where the metal ring (that the strap for hanging the bag clips to) connected to it. The small whole hay net is what I recommend instead.
    Date published: 2012-09-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good hay bag not so slow though I bought this hay bag for a very easy keeper. It seems very durable -- I use it daily and shows no signs of wear yet (a problem with lots of other hay bags I have tried). However, he can defeat the slow eating part by sticking his nose in the top and getting the hay that way. I have hung it as high as possible without having him reach up to get to the "eating" hole, and he still manages to get some of the hay from the "filling" hole at the top. A flap or velcro closure would help.
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wish I could recommend I really wish I could recommend this product. I loved the idea of it. Way cheaper than the "nibble nets" and a lot easier to fill and handle than the small hole nets. I bought 4, hung two the first day, and came back that evening with 1 ripped (and not on a seam) I thought maybe it was just a defunk one, but sadly that was the story with every bag I ordered, plus the 2 replacement bags smartpak sent me for free. After 5 ripped bags (one is in with the show supplies in package yet), I figured this wasn't just 1 or two bad bags. Smartpak was great and replaced my order a second time, only with the small hole nets instead and they have stood up for over a month now.
    Date published: 2012-08-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from get what you pay for it lasted two days and was falling apart; disappointing
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hungry mare = 1, hay bag = 0 I was really excited to use this hay bag. Normally I use a small feeder hay net. My horse is a very vigorous eater, shaking the net all over and sending up a cloud of hay and dust. As we were at a show, I was trying to avoid getting a lot of hay particles in her braids. Enter SmartPak slow eater hay bag! Easy to load? Oh, yes. Much easier than the net. Easy to hang? Very easy. I emerged much less covered in chaff than I usually am after hanging the net. I used a double-snap to anchor the bag against the stall, since the bag has a d-ring for that purpose. That was where I went wrong. The next day, the back of the bag was shredded. Very sad. I think I may be able to have it repaired, but I'll just go back to the net for now.I would still recommend this bag - it's a decent product for the money. If your horse is a rough eater, destoyer of tack/equipment, maybe pass this one by, or don't attach the d-ring to the wall!
    Date published: 2012-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected I bought this for trailering my mare and foal - didn't want to use a traditional hay net that the foal could get a foot in. This hay bag was bigger than I expected (a good thing) and the quality was better than I expected, especially for the price. The holes for the hay are a little small but my mare figured out how to dip into the top. All in all, a good value for a well-constructed hay bag.
    Date published: 2012-08-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I bought this hay bag for everyday use. On day two the ring on the back that keeps if from swinging around backwards tore right out. It was very inexpensive, now I know why. It is is large enough to fit nearly half a bale in it, so that's good but it is made of very lightweight material so I'd only recommend it for use in a trailer for a horse that isn't too aggressive an eater.
    Date published: 2012-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hay bags! I have no complaints with these hay bags. Well designed, nice and big, while still being easy to fill. Perfect for the trailer. I actually bought one for each horse because I go through hay bags quickly but these seem to be exceptionally well made. (especially when you consider the price)Really love these bags, I am actually thinking about buying a couple extra because I normally spend $40 for hay bags that don't even wear that well. Definitely worth a shot!
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to load, sturdy, definitely slows them down. Just wish there was a top closure since I can't always hang it very high and the horses figure out it's easier to eat from top, defeating the purpose.
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for my older horse My older horse was spreading his hay all overhis stall. With the slow feed hay bag, he is spending more time eating and less time spreading.Thanks for a good product and excellent service.
    Date published: 2012-06-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from too slow eater This bag is well built but the net makes it too difficult for the horse to reach the hay. The bag is quite deep and when the last of the hay is down below the level of the hole it is impossible to reach. The bag does do a good job of slowing my horse down and keeps hay from falling out and onto the ground so I will use it when my horse is tied to the trailer.
    Date published: 2012-06-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.