Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Rambo® Duo Turnout Blanket

Horseware Ireland
- Item #20049
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The ultimate all season blanket.  2 rugs in 1 - Simply detach the removable liner to choose the level of warmth for your horse making this blanket extremely versatile, you'll be using it all season!  Made from 1000D ballistic nylon, the strongest and most durable turnout material on the market. 

Favorite Features

  • 1000 denier ballistic nylon is both waterproof and breathable
  • 100g thermobonded fiberfill lining is anti-static and anti-bacterial to keep your horse comfortable
  • Comes complete with 100g outer, detachable 100g hood and removable 300g liner for versatility to suit all seasons
  • Pantented 'V' Front Closure System wraps around the point of the shoulder, keeping the blanket light across the chest and relieving pressure on the shoulders
  • Patented Leg Arches allow the blanket to fold like an envelope around your horse's belly, protecting the underside and allowing increased freedom of movement
  • Oversize tail flap for added protection 
  • 3 quick release surcingles 
  • PVC coated tail cord makes for easy cleaning
  • Stainless steel hardware
  • Reflective strips for added visibility

Made in Ireland

Sizing It Up

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo® Duo Turnout Blanket is rated 4.8889 out of 5 by 18.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo is always the best! I bought 3 of these blankets for three different horses and was able to customize them on the surcingles. All three of the horses are body clipped and this blanket really fits their/my needs well! The liner blanket CAN be tricky but I have figured out an easy on and off system to make it less time consuming! The liner MUST be attached to the main putter shell in all the areas where it is suppose to be attached or one run and buck and the liner is out and trampled! Very solid blanket and made very well! Rambo is always good, along with SmartPak, for any returns due to damage! Very costly blanket but if it fits your needs, well worth the money! It WILL last too! I use to use SmartPaks Ultimate Turnout with the warranty and one of my horses destroyed that blanket over 5 times in ONE winter season, poor SmartPak finally refused to offer me the warranty but steered me to Rambo. I have not had ONE issue with this horse and his Rambo blanket!
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best!! I bought my first Duo 8 years ago for my first horse and at 17 he still wears it. Unbeatable quality. I have tried Amigo and Rhino but they only last a year or two so the Rambo is a much better value despite the price. I only buy Rambo now and have new Duo's on all 3 of my "guys".
    Date published: 2013-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Always Wins I just purchased this blanket for my 3 year old Friesian sporthorse gelding and I absolutely love it. The blanket is amazingly tough and very quality made. My horse is total roller and this blanket holds up to all his rolling. I love that insulator option because it makes the blanket more of a heavy weight blanket which is super since he has such a fine winter coat! I cannot say enough positive things about the Rambo Duo. I have always purchased Horseware blankets because they fit warmblood bodied horses the best in my opinion. However I think I will stick strictly to Rambo!!!
    Date published: 2013-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from But is it worth it? I bought this blanket for my 4 year old who is now almost 8 and wears it everyday in the winter. He is clipped and has turnout all day. Here was my logic to buy this blanket.If you buy the 100g liner, you have the perfect layering system for the clipped horse. What it came down to for me was if I wanted to buy a light, medium and heavy blanket for my horse with the chance that he might rip them or need them replaced every year.Pros - The blanket has only had a small tear or two that was easy to fix. It fits my warmblood(s) perfectly. It has lasted well over four years with daily wear. It is like owning a light, medium, and heavy weight Rambo so possibly more cost efficient in the long run.Cons - Switching the liners is no fun and if you don't fasten the shoulders, the liners can slide and get tangled around your horse's legs.Honestly, I wouldn't get this blanket again. I LOVE Rambo blankets so I would get a medium weight Rambo, with a stable sheet to layer under it for cold days and a light turnout for those misty days. If my horse wasn't clipped, I would just get a medium blanket for snowy days.
    Date published: 2013-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This blanket is very high quality and durable. It doesn't shift, it looks great even after a winter full of playing and biting and running, and it fits my horse perfectly.However, I think this system is only worth it for very specific blanket practices and may be unnecessary for others, particularly people who have blanketing service included in their board. Barn staff tend to prefer layering vs. switching blankets because it saves time and owners often prefer keeping a warm blanket on a horse instead of taking it off and putting a cold one on. If you layer winter turnouts over stable blankets you may find that you will never end up using more than one liner and maybe you won't use any of the liners at all. I have made it through an entire Canadian winter without ever touching a liner. I can't even imagine a scenario in which the 400g liner would be useful to anyone using layering.Had I given more thought to how this would work practically I would have bought a 100g or even a no-fill blanket compatible with the liner system and then purchased liners as I felt they were needed, which would have been much less expensive.But if you do switch blankets, have horses that live outside, or really like bundling up your horse when layering, this is an awesome system and well-worth the money.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Duo - Second Purchase This is a replacement to a Duo purchased about 7 years ago. These are pricey, but hold up well if washed correctly and stored between seasons. The new style Duo is much improved from the previous - love the covered tail strap and removable straps. However sizing is not quite as generous as other Rambos I have purchased. I agree with other reviews that these are more "true" to size than others, which typically run large. Overall, another great Horseware product - my boys play rough and need durable turnouts!
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money I think that the price of this blanket turns people away, but it is truly, a top of the line product produced by Horseware Ireland.Both my horses reside in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Although we don't have the grueling frosts of New England, it does get pretty cold down here.The Rambo Duo shell is a 100g turnout with all the bells and whistles you could ask for. It's a wonderful weight for chilly evenings, but light enough for when it warms up. The removable neck piece allows for more versatility.Once it gets really chilly, simply add in the provided 200g liner, for a 300g Heavy Weight without having to layer multiple blankets. With the exception of a lightweight rain sheet, I don't use any other blankets.
    Date published: 2013-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit If you have a horse with big shoulders, this might be the blanket for you. I've tried several top brands for my mare and none fit her. This blanket stays in place even when she rolls like a madwoman in the pasture! I ended up adding leg straps and taking off the 'bum strap' so that I'd feel more comfortable. She wears this blanket 24/7 and we've had no shoulder rubs. My horse wears an 82 and we bought the 81 Rambo. There is plenty of room and it fits her perfectly. As well, her neck stays completely dry when it rains. My only complaint is that it rubs her mane.
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A high quality blanket!! I was a little put off by the high price of the blanket but needed a good rainproof blanket for my horse as I live in the northwest. The blanket not only fits my horse beautifully, he is a big guy with broad shoulders, and was worried about rubbing his shoulders. He wears a size 82-84, and I bought the 84 which fits him nicely in that it is not too tight, but not too large either. It is kind of roomy in a breathable way for all the weather variations we have during the winter. If you live in a colder climate you might want to get the 400gm liner for the weather that is consistently freezing or below. The blanket and liner stay put, the horse stays dry, and the neck cover can be removed when warmer and dry out and it is lined with a little insulation to boot! I imagine using this blanket for years to come and would by another Rambo in a heartbeat despite the price, worth every penny!
    Date published: 2011-11-12
    • 2015-02-25T08:03CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_17
    • loc_en_US, sid_10049, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.