Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Leather Lead

Tory Leather Co.
- Item #11870
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Supple English bridle leather lead with a solid brass 24" chain and snap. This lead will compliment your finest show halter and stand up to everyday wear and tear. Choose Havana, Chestnut or Black. Measures 7'L x 1"W.

If you want to personalize the lead, the nameplate will be attached near the chain.

Coordinates well with the Double Stitched Halter and the Triple Stitched Halter as well as the Rockin' SP Double Stitched Halter.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Leather Lead is rated 4.2941 out of 5 by 34.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Practical everyday lead This is a well made practical lead for young horses or those that need a little extra control. Looks nice with a nameplate. The leather is decent quality but very plain. Those looking for a dressier lead for horse shows should go with the fancy stitch option.
    Date published: 2012-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from a must have I believe in using a leather lead with a chain as opposed to nylon etc. This one is perfect. The leather is good quality and the clasp seems sturdy- enough to withstand my over eager horse. Although I rarely use the chain over her nose it's good to have. A nameplate was added to the leather which keeps my lead from being confused with other similar ones.
    Date published: 2012-04-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice but chain too short This is a nice quality lead rope, but the chain is too short to run over the nose and up the cheek piece on the opposite side.
    Date published: 2012-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Good Quality. Gave as a gift and they loved it!
    Date published: 2012-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for show season! This leather lead is very nice. The leather was soft after 1 time oiling it and the chain seems sturdy. I can't wait to use it with the triple stitched leather halter I also purchased from SmartPak! It will look great at shows (:
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love,love,love this lead! Strong and reliable ! You will not purchase another rope lead after you have used this leather lead!
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy Beautifully crafted, worth the price. Now if my equine friend would just refrain from chewing on it!
    Date published: 2011-07-01
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pretty lead-OK quality Lead looks pretty with soft leather and nice chain. Lead is very thin and one bite from my horse and the teeth marks are almost punctured straight through. Ordered it with a name plate that also looked pretty but didn't last 3 weeks, and I take VERY GOOD care of my things. It got bent once or twice and then just snapped right off leaving 2 brass studs. OK lead but too expensive for what you get, would not buy again.
    Date published: 2011-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice lead This lead is definitely worth the price, looks great. I wish I had ordered the matching halter at the time.
    Date published: 2011-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Affordable lead This leather lead was a good purchase-- leather was (as most new leather products are) fairly stiff/dry when it came, but after a good couple days of oiling, it has turned out nice! Only complaint would be the "cheap" look of the chain-- not very heavy brass. Great price though, and looks very sharp with custom nameplate.
    Date published: 2010-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value This lead rope is a great value and matches the Triple Stitch Halter very nicely. The chain is high quality and of ample length. My only wish is that I had ordered a name plate for the lead at the same time!
    Date published: 2010-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful leadline at a good price This is a really nice quality lead line and it matches my double-stitched halter beautifully. I had it personalized with an engraved name plate. The engraving work was high quality and looks absolutely beautiful. I use this as my everyday lead rope and it has held up beautifully!
    Date published: 2010-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful! This is the second leather lead I have purchased (the first one was brown), and it is beautifully made. Can't wait to use it on my horse's new black halter!
    Date published: 2010-01-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice lead Rope Looking for something that matched halter. Looks good and appears well constructed.
    Date published: 2009-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice looking lead, great price I love that this leather lead is not at all expensive for how nice it is. It is a little thick and you have to roll it up a little lighter and it has to stick out compared to others. It is nice looking and matches grooming halter and other darker brown halters in this place from SmartPak. Glad at how it matches my halter so well. Long and easy to use. Nice for everyday use and showing.
    Date published: 2009-07-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Lead for the money This is a nice leather lead. My only criticism would be that the chain part is a little thick and the chain color looks a little cheap (a touch yellowish?). Overall, it matches the double stitched stable halter (a great value!) nicely and the leather is nice and supple.
    Date published: 2009-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bargain This is a great lead rope for the money. I had it personalized with a name plate and it looks beautiful. I wish the leather had a little more leather stitching detail and the end of it was finished off a little more nicely, but that would havve increased the cost, which I did not want to do. Overall, simple, but great product at a great price. If you want something a little more fancy, choose something else, but expect to spend a lot more money also!
    Date published: 2009-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Very Nice and supple leather, I was very surprised at its softness and flexibility.
    Date published: 2009-04-28
    • 2015-03-02T07:23CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_26
    • loc_en_US, sid_1870, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.