Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

IRH Elite Xtreme Helmet

International Riding Helmets
- Item #16898

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Low profile geometry and extreme ventilation make the new IRH Elite Xtreme Helmet one of the most comfortable and fashionable helmets on the market. The center front vents together with the right, left and 2 rear vent ports ensure maximum air intake and the optimal air flow needed for cooling. The helmet's harness system is completely adjustable and is designed at the back to accommodate a pony tail without affecting the helmet's fit. The IRH Elite Xtreme Helmet is ASTM F-1163-04a/SEI Certified.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    IRH Elite Xtreme Helmet is rated 4.5049 out of 5 by 103.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice helmet I had received this helmet as a Christmas gift but it was from another website. It didn't fit right and after getting no help from where it was ordered, I called Smartpak. They were very helpful and I ordered a 6 7/8 long oval. Fits me very well. I have a 3 yr old tb in training so I want my head protected and to look good. This helmet doesn't give me that bubble look at all and I love that I can wipe it clean. The vents really help keep me cool. I wish it had a bit more padding inside to make it more comfy but overall I really like it.
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most comfortable helmet I have a long oval head plus I live in Phoenix, AZ. The fit of the helmet is wonderful.I have owned it for years now. I still love it !!
    Date published: 2013-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet I've used this helmet for quite a while now and still almost looks brand new. Despite a few scratches from dropping it. I wear it all year long with no complaints. Cool enough in the summer and warm enough in the winter. Very comfy too, perfect fit.
    Date published: 2012-12-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yay - it fits! This helmet fits my insanely round head with just a teeny bit of extra room front to back. It doesn't crush my ears down or sit directly on my eyebrows. The other best fit for me was CO JR8, but the harness was too short to go below my ears. I must have giant ears. Anyway this helmet is light, comfortable and very vented. I gave it 4 stars because it is not beautiful to look at, but it looks very nice on. I love it!
    Date published: 2012-11-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish it had worked for me So glad to see a long oval option. Unfortunately the liner inside the brim was coming unglued & ultimately the hat tipped forward on my head while riding. Liked the low profile & ventilation.
    Date published: 2012-11-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sweet Helmet Ordered same size as old IRH and it fit perfectly. Looks & feels awesome.
    Date published: 2013-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from smartpak was great about the returns! i ordered in a few sizes and then just sent back the other helmets free of charge
    Date published: 2013-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect non expensive helment Love this helment. When it was time to replace my GPA I decided to go with an IRH. Didn't feel the need to spend all the extra money. Helment is comfy and cleans up nicely! Living in PA, we experiance hot and humid summers so instead of having a gross and smelly helment I am able to take out the liner and wash it with normal soap. I also trust that it can really protect my head in case of a fall.
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from stylish & safe Love how it looks & it fits like the 4 year old IRH I had
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent helmet When my old helmet finally could not be super-glued just one more time I gave in a decided to get a new helmet. My sister recommended the IRH Elite and I couldn't be happier. It is insanely comfortable both fit-wise and with the extra ventilation. I would and have recommended this helmet to all my friends.
    Date published: 2012-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Right One for Me This long oval helmet fits perfectly and, even better, it is very well ventilated.I appreciate your help in getting me the perfect fit in a very short time.
    Date published: 2012-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality and Value Very Comfortable Fit and more attractive shape. I especially liked the chin strap pad that contains those loose ends of the harness adjustment for a clean look.
    Date published: 2012-07-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Doesn't Fit Me I ordered this helmet on Helmet Awareness Day since my current schooling helmet needs replacing. I was so excited because this helmet looks awesome, even my non-horsey boyfriend loved the way it looks. I got a 7 1/8" per measurements and it felt too tight on the sides of my head. I exchanged for a 7 1/4" and suddenly there was a huge gap in the front & back of the helmet. We tried to shim up the front & back with some extra padding but it still felt loose. I am waiting for a return shipping label right now. Wish I had a nearby tack shop so I could actually try helmets on!
    Date published: 2012-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more hot helmet head! I chose the IRH Xtreme Helmet because of its durable finish and venting. I couldn't ride another summer with a non-breathable velvet helmet! Now, all of the excess heat from my head is just released through the vents and replaced by fresh, cool air. It almost feels like you're not wearing a helmet at all!
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! The SmartPak rep was so knowledgable, she helped me find just the right helmet and the perfect size! It is so comfortable and looks fantastic, like it is still brand new. We are already in the 90's here in Houston, so the vents are a must. My hair is still wet at the end of my ride, but my head is cool instead of steaming!
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FINALLY!!!!!!!! It took months and months to find a helmet that fit my oval head with masses of curly, thick hair. THANK GOODNESS I finally found something that's breathable and looks good (meaning: no mushroom head or space-alien look!).
    Date published: 2012-05-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fit was bigger than expected I normally take a 6 7/8 in the IRH older plain model and when I tried this newer model it was probably one size too big. I was hoping it would be smaller than my original and perhaps it is low profile but it still seems as big as all helmets are. The straps are good quality and well placed. I am going to try some helmets from my local tack store before reordering again. Smartpak is very easy to return to and hopefully my return will complete easily.
    Date published: 2012-03-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great helment Very nicely made helment. Love the look. Did not fit my head to I sadly had to return it.
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not for rounder heads I think I have a rounder head, and this did not fit very well. I also didn't like the look/finish of the product, as I was hoping to get a more traditional-looking show helmet, but I was attracted by the price compared to the GPA helmets (which do fit me well, sadly enough, LOL). Thankfully the awesome SmartPak return policy let me try this helmet with no risk! Thank you, SmartPak!!
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Scratches Easy, but looks great on my noggin! I would recommend a helmet cover for schooling, because the surface scratches very easily! Fits great, I no longer look like a bobble head :)
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and Great look I love the trim neat look of this helmet. No "bubble head" The vents keep me cool and comfortable.
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Close, but no cigar for round heads I gave this helmet a try in my futile effort to find a helmet to fit my large round head that doesn't cost $500. This helmet fit OK, but not perfectly. It rocked side to side a little, but it passed the "hang upside down and see if it comes off" test. However, after the second time wearing it, I took it off to reveal a horrifying rash on my forehead. So that was that, and a-returning-it-a-went! While it's a stylish design for an awesome price, it's a pass for those of us with round heads.
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value I love IRHs and I love this helmet. The only complaint I have is that despite how careful I have been with it, the paint over the side vents has chipped off in a few places. Doesn't look bad from a distance, and I still show in it, but it is a downfall. Love the way the helmet looks and fits and overall I am still happy with this product. For the price (as compared to a Charles Owen or GPA) this is a very good product.
    Date published: 2012-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful helmet! This helmet is extremely conmfortable and stylish. I tried a Charles Owen JR8, but it was too narrow for my head. This helmet is light, comfortable, and very, very well ventilated. The harness feels very secure and holds my hair very well. The external vents are much more subtle than one might think. It has a very low-profile look. Overall, this is a helmet that looks much pricier than it actually is. A fantastic buy.
    Date published: 2011-12-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent costumer service/Not so great fit for me I purchased the helmet (online obviously). I have had IRH's in the past and they were good reliable helmets. My most recent helmet is a Charles Own GR8 in 7 3/8th... I used it for showing for about four years and had one too many falls on it for me to still feel it was sound to ride with/protect my head. So I looked into buying another IRH since I didn't want to spend all the money for another CO. Also, since I cut my hair and no longer HAVE HAIR to tuck under my Charles Owen, it's not snug enough and wobbles.My friend has this helmet (IRH Elite Xtreme), I like the smooth design and low profile.Sadly, it was not meant to be. My head just doesn't fit with these helmets.I ordered a 7 1/4 Long Oval first. There was too much room in the front and was tight on the sides.Then I returned that (with help of SmartPak's excellent customer service team) and got a REGULAR/non long oval 7 1/4th and that was too tight on the sides as well.I went through this "too big" "too small" process until I received the 4th or 5th helmet and finally decided this brand/model simply does not fit me.I finally decided to just get a refund. AND GUESS WHAT! Their refund process, unlike Ebay or other stores, DID NOT require any arguments or legal threats! HAHA.Despite the natural frustration with receiving a non-fitting helmet after a week of looking forward to it, SmartPak's easy return process make this less stressful.Also, their over the phone service is fantastic. There is always a fluent English speaking person and they are always so polite, which may sound like a minor detail but it made me less worrisome when I wondered "Is this going to be a pain in the butt to return?" I was put at ease and I know that I can trust this company. I will most likely never shop at Dover Saddlery.com again, SmartPak beats their prices and customer service.
    Date published: 2011-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet After trying a few out, I have to admit for the price this helmet is fabulous! I love it -- perfect for schooling!
    Date published: 2011-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Helmet Nice helmet, it looks great and is comfortable to wear. The only thing that I don't like is that the black helmet shows scratches....the gray may be a better color to camouflage scratches. The helmet comes with a nice bag to protect it when not in use.
    Date published: 2011-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet I have a long oval head and was despairing of finding a helmet that would fit. I love this helmet so much that I had three of them (one for shows, one for home, one for when I go elsewhere.) The "at home" one recently had a meeting with the dirt and I can say it definitely did its job. I'll be replacing it with the same.My only negative is that the finish scuffs easily, but it covered up easily with a sharpie.
    Date published: 2011-10-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Helmet size I but this helmet 2 days ago.I took the size on the chart and when arrive the helmet was to big, so I don't know good is to buy any helmet online. the chart size is not precise it all.
    Date published: 2011-09-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from hard to fit ordered a few size....either too lose or gave me a headache. seems to have great venting for hot summer rides.Was very glad that I could order several sizes, try them on and return for the ATH style which I kept .....the ATH is very comfortable and easy to fit
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.