Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Freedom Feeder Small Hole Hay Net

Item #18785

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

New and Improved with a safe release!

How many of us get up at the crack of dawn with horses pawing?

Restricted access to hay or forage isn't natural for horses, and it can cause problems ranging from boredom and destructive behavior to ulcers and digestive upset. However, some horses can't have free choice hay all day long, without gaining weight, wasting hay or making a huge mess!

Finally, there's a great, easy solution. The Freedom Feeder Small Hole Hay Nets allow your horses to feed naturally 24/7 through a simple restricted free access feeding.

Regular - 4' x 2.5' Holds at least 35 lbs of hay and lasts at least 24 hours
Mini - 24" x 30" Holds at least 15 lbs of hay

Each hole measures 1 1/2" x 1 1/2".

Made in U.S.A.

Please note: As with all hay nets, the Freedom Feeder should be hung at a sufficient height to avoid the risk of entanglement. To withstand the pulling and chewing associated with a hay net in use, the nylon mesh is extremely durable and will not give under pressure. As a result, it’s important to ensure the hay net is safely secured and won’t become loose as the hay is consumed.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Freedom Feeder Small Hole Hay Net is rated 4.2914 out of 5 by 175.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves it! I've had these for a couple years and really like them. They slow down my "vacuum cleaner" horse, and keep my easily bored horse occupied longer. I like the breakaway carabiners for safety, also.
    Date published: 2013-11-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful I was thrilled to find a small-hole bag that wasn't going to cost me a pretty penny. I was VERY disappointed when it arrived. In theory, the square bottom/round top is great, but makes loading flakes of hay nearly impossible. I ended up having to shred the flakes and cram them into the bag. It was very time consuming and not user friendly. I've trashed it and gone back to my original hay bag.
    Date published: 2013-11-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not sure I purchased the mini. I received it yesterday and was disappointed in the quality. The hay net has several frayed areas (as others mentioned). I'll see how it wears and update the review once I have a better idea.
    Date published: 2013-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best hay net This is a great hay net,all 3 horses devour their hay,this has slowed them right down,I do have the bigger net also,and it is great for days when I cant get back to give lunch,easy to hang and fill...love it!!!
    Date published: 2013-07-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Secure food (for all but one) Works as promised, easy to hang, very easy to fill, and keeps the horses occupied until the next feeding. Except for one horse (of course it had to be the "air fern" who needs her food limited!)... First she learned to worm her nose under the flap closure, simply keeping her nose inside until she gobbled it all--so I turned the net backwards, and she chewed a hole in it! She's the exception, though--the rest do very well with theirs.The nets themselves have worn well, with one exception (other than the greedy mare). The light-weight "caribiner clip" fasteners that came with the nets (large for hanging, smaller for closing the net) do not hold up--the spring closure apparently breaks, leaving the clip with a loose, flapping closure. Over the year that I've now had these, I've had to replace all but two of the clips.
    Date published: 2013-07-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product I purchased this hay net for the purpose of slowing down a greedy eater. A recent addition to my herd has some special needs. She is a very greedy eater. She does not know how to self regulate her food source. The hay nets have shown two results, 1.) the expected result of slowing down her hay consumption, her rations last as intended.2.) breaking up boredom, she has figured out how to move the hay net for ease of consumption. Throughout the day the staff returns the bag to its original placement and the mare will work to put it back where she likes it to sit. This has become somewhat of game in the barn until its time for her turnout.
    Date published: 2013-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Working great so far! I am trying to get a bit more 'natural' with my horse. She has had some odd metabolic issues in the past (tying up, anhidrosis), so I am trying to be extra careful with her diet.These nets have been awesome so far. They let her eat the same amount of hay as before, but now she eats it slowly all day instead of vacuuming it up straight away and then standing around with nothing to do.I bought 2 with the intent of having a spare full one for the barn staff to hang when the one in the stall is empty, but there is not much grass in her paddock, so we have been using one for turnout as well. I might be buying a 3rd net so I don't have to refill them as often!I think they are a bit expensive, so I hope they last a long time!
    Date published: 2013-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Freedom Haynet I purchased a Freedom Haynet from Smartpack. I have used these nets for several years and was overjoyed to find out that I could get a new one through SmartPak. I loved being able to get my products from one supplier instead of having to go to various sites.
    Date published: 2013-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Working great so far I board my horse, he is in a pipe stall. I attached the net between 2 pipes (ex. on their site) and it allows the barn guys to easily put his am/pm feedings in the net. My guy is hard on nets, so time will tell how it holds up.
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best My insulin resistant mare actually prefers to eat from her freedom feeder net,even leaving the flake on floor to "graze"from her net!Wonderful!
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Freedom Feeder Small Hole Hay Net Purchased 3 in 2012, needed two more. The hay nets have a very good hole size to slow the horses down. The new nets (2013) have a larger opening (easier to fill), and overall are a little larger so they hold more;but, the netting seems lighter than the 2012 model. Very good so far, hope they hold up as well as the 2012 model; time will tell, but very pleased so far.
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Useful Feeder My TB gelding has some anxiety issues so it was important to keep feed in front of him at all times. Loose hay just got stomped into the ground and was wasted. I bought the Freedom Feeder in February 2012 and loved it right away. Since Sydney likes to shake it to free the hay, we secured a large tub beneath it to "capture" the fallen hay. He eats what he shakes loose, and then shakes again. Since he grabs the netting with his teeth, he did wear a hole through the net. The feeder lasted about 11 months before we needed to replace it with a new one. I am certain that the amount of hay that we save has paid for the feeder. It is worth the price even at one per year. He's happy to have hay in front of him, and I am happy not to waste so much feed. As a side note, I "stitched" the hole up with baling twine and reused the net for a less aggressive eater. The net is smaller of course now, but so is the horse. This particular horse doesn't have the anxiety issues as Sydney so the net is working just fine as is.
    Date published: 2012-12-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unimpressed Save your money & opt for SmartPak's small hole hay net instead. It holds more hay & the quality is just as good, if not better. For the price of the Freedom Feeders I certainly expected something a little better than said product. Didn't like anything about them. I am returning both nets & buying more SmartPak hay nets. Lesson learned!
    Date published: 2013-07-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product I love the idea of this net. My horse needs to be kept busy in her stall or she chews the boards. She actually loves this net but I have bought three in the last year as she has chewed through them. My other horse still has her first one. As stated in another review, not for all horses.
    Date published: 2012-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse loves it This hay net is great. Less wasted hay and my horse really seems to enjoy it. Gives him something to do when he's stuck in his stall due to bad weather. It slows down his eating, which is healthier too!
    Date published: 2012-11-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Has its pro and cons I got the mini net about a year ago. I fill it up for my horse whenever I'm at the barn, about every other day. (The barn staff won't fill it up for me, so he gets loose hay when I'm not there) The net itself has held up wonderfully- no holes- thought the clips that came with it broke rather quickly, and my horse breaks the replacement clips pretty frequently as well. Despite the description saying that it holds 'at least 15 lbs' I've never been able to stuff more than 10 lbs into it, and that's when I have nice, tightly packed, dense flakes. When the flakes are a little looser, it's hard to get more than 7 lbs in there at a time. This is the reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. If you stuff it too full, there is a gap at the top, which my horse will eat through instead of through the holes- defeating the whole purpose of the net. My horse will go through a flake of hay in about 10 minutes if I don't use a net. With 2 flakes in the net, it lasts him ~4 hours.
    Date published: 2012-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from REALLY does slow 'em down I purchased the other small holed hay bag from smartpak & liked it...however, it didn't slow the horses down as much as I wanted. This one really does slow them down a lot. I am very happy with it. I will even put hay in it & wrap the string tight & toss it in the field...I probably wouldn't do this w/ a horse that played w/ stuff a lot as I'd worry it might get hung up on a shoe.I got the smaller one but if you feed more-or are gone longer- the big one would work great. This is also easier to load than the other small holed black net I bought from this site.
    Date published: 2012-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this net, it's cotton and so much safer for my horse some other net's.
    Date published: 2012-10-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great small hole hay nets I love the hole size of these and the soft mesh. My horse needs to lose weight and the hole size is nice for that...not too small to cause frustration...not too large to eat fast. Soft for horsie lips.I bought two small size nets and wish I had bought the larger size instead. I wanted the flexibility to make a hay ball toy for her yard, as well as one tied to her stall. In hindsight, I would use the large one in her stall, and a harder polypropylene type mesh for outdoors where it gets wet. As a hay ball toy, it is GREAT for dry weather, but gets soggy in Oregon fall rain.Overall....the mesh size, softness for horsie lips and durability are a good value, no matter the size. No holes or tears after a month-6 weeks.I have the large size on my Christmas list.
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not for all horses The photo here and on the web site is not the design of the hay net (at least the one I received) The clips that came with it weren't heavy duty enough for the flipping around it gets and they broke. The whole hay net was destroyed in less than a month.
    Date published: 2012-10-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Freedom Feeder Small Hole Hay Net I hate this bag. It did not come with sufficient instructions to figure out how to use it. The website shows hanging it on a fence with wire. What do you do if you don't have wire backing on your fence???Going back to my nylon top loader Professional's Choice bag.
    Date published: 2012-10-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Convenient Buy, not the best I like slow feeders and SMHN (small mesh hay nets) and am trhilled that smartpak is carrying them and they are becoming more "mainstream". This net does it's job is easy to fill, and the quality seems acceptable. However, the carrbiner clips are super low quality, actually have made in China stickers on them (when the package boasts "Made in America"). It came with an extra that I've already had to use. The spring broke in one of them, and another snagged on a fly mask and ruined both clip and mask. It is a good buy for the money, but I would spend a little more for better overall quality next time.
    Date published: 2012-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes! I bought two of these for my mare that MUST lose weight. They are great. She likes them...yet can't eat too fast. They are only two-three weeks old at the moment, but are holding up great. I keep them filled always and she is slowing down. In another couple weeks, I hope to notice weight loss. IMO, she loves to eat from them, even though perhaps challenging for her. That's good!
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can`t live without it!!! First let me tell you that this was the first thing I bought for my horse and I`m sooo glad I did,"we" could not live without it. I researched a lot before making the decision to buy it. I bought one about 6 month ago. My horse is 4 y old ,came from a pasture life to a hay bag.Food is very" important" to him and when he gets hungry,well you do not wanna be in his way. Here is how we made the transition. In the beginning I put his full amount of hay in the net and fed 2 slices of hay am and 2 slices pm aditional for a couple days,went down to one extra slice am and one pm,after a couple days went to one slice a day extra. It took us about two weeks and everything was good to go.Make sure you hang up the hay bag high enough for your horse not to be able to put his hoove on top of it,horses with shoes,make sure they can not reach the bottom of the bag with their hooves. I ordered a second one(yes my horse is spoiled).Since I switched to the bag My horse has slowed down and is not getting crazey around feeding time.He is healthy and has not gotton any bad habits from being bored! It is only natural for them to graze pretty much all day, I highly recommend this hay bag,why thise one? The holes are smaller then the overage bag ,it is durable and it is large enough for 1 to 1.5 days of hay.It is easy to fill the hay in. When I see my fellow boarders ,either having a destroyed hay net or the hay net not to be large enough for a full day supply.The clips that come with it,don`t bother they are cheap and won`t withstand the use,buy a couple of silver sturdy clips.That is one thing I would ask from the manufactor $50 should get hardier clips that withstand the use.The bag is truely worse every penny!To see my horse healthy and happy and for me the ease of stuffing one bag once a day, that alone made me order a second bag.A lot of people that I recommended the bag to thought it was to expensive,these were the same people who either bought a $30 dollar hay bag and it lasted2-3 month or they bought the 7 dollar bags and they are being distroyed every couple weeks. I have my first bag now for about 6 month and it is in excellent condition.
    Date published: 2012-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Horse Another Great purchase for good horse health! Quality is excellent.....keeps my horse content and able to "graze" when in his stall/trailer.
    Date published: 2012-09-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Kept my active 4 year old busy longer in her stall so she didn't stall walk as much. Great for horses that gobble up hay and then get bored.
    Date published: 2012-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy with Purchase First I want t thank everyone who took the time to submit their reviews. It helped me make my decision a lot easier on which one to buy. We are in our second week of using the freedom feeders and so far - love it! Both our horse and burro caught on really fast on how to use it. Because we have mini's I did clip the feeders to the fence and placed a stall met below. It has slowed them down (their eating) and also gives them an activity to do.
    Date published: 2012-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best investment I've made Ever since I got this product, my horses have calmed down so much , and are not stressing about eating anymore , they know their food is always available ! It took them a few days to slow down eating until they realized its always going to be there! It works so well that I had to buy 2 to put one in their pasture.The quality of the hay net is outstanding , I have a stud who chews and destroys everything and the net is still in great condition :) I highly recommend this net , you will not regret it and your horse will appreciate the fact that u understand that horses are designed to graze all day , whenever the need to , and you will save so much in the long run
    Date published: 2012-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hay net easy of loading up with hay it is very expensive but it is a great net for horses on stall rest it keeps them busy and happy... my girl Maka has to be on 4 months of stall rest and she is only 3 year old it is so hard on her.... and she was pawing her hanging hay bag and getting her hoof stuck in it ever morning and night at feeding time until i started use this feeder now she still has hay in it at feeding time... and I only fill it once a day for her which is awesome... your ad does not show the big hay net and I think it should...
    Date published: 2012-06-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great purchase This is ideal for feeding hay as it slows my horses eating so that it lasts much longer. My mare is on a restricted diet and she always seemed ravenous at feeding time, but since she has food in front of her for longer periods, she is much more calm at feeding time even though she gets the same amount of hay.
    Date published: 2012-06-10
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.