Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Leather Lead w/ Solid Brass Snap

Item #15841
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Supple English bridle leather lead with a brass plated snap. This lead will compliment your finest show halter and stand up to everyday wear and tear. Choose Havana, Chestnut or Black. Measures 6'L x 1"W.

This leather lead pairs beautifully with the Double Stitched or Triple Stitched halters.

If you want to personalize the lead, the nameplate will be attached near the snap.

Customers Also Shopped For
WithHeavy duty snap and leather "popper", this 24-strand ...
Description:
WithHeavy duty snap and leather "popper", this 24-strand polyester Blocker Lead Rope is an excellent option as a lead and works perfectly with any of the other Blocker products. Sizing It Up 12' long rope Imported
The Folding Hoof Pick Belt is made from ...
Description:
The Folding Hoof Pick Belt is made from the finest quality English bridle leather available and is sure to go with you favorite pair of breeches or jeans! Favorite Features Hoofpick actually snaps off and is fully functional! All hardware ...
Soft padded leather lead withHeavy duty hardware and ...
Description:
Soft padded leather lead withHeavy duty hardware and 30" chain. This lead will compliment your finest show halter and stand up to everyday wear and tear. Measures 7'L x 1"W. All with solid brass hardware except Black/White which comes with ...
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
Description:
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. The Wellfleet Fancy Stitch Padded Halter by SmartPak is elegant and exquisitely detailed, featuring extra fine stitching and supple rich leather. Carefully ...
Web side reins with rubber ring to provide ...
Description:
Web side reins with rubber ring to provide the right amount of give and dee rings with snap ends for easy adjustability. Brown, Pony or Horse size.
The Tory Leather Snap End Reins are a ...
Description:
The Tory Leather Snap End Reins are a great option for any rider who wants a no fuss rein, just clip and go! Made from fine English Leather, this single ply rein isSoft and flexible. These reins allow freedom to ...
The Solid Brass Horsehead Bridle Bracket is a ...
Description:
The Solid Brass Horsehead Bridle Bracket is a classic piece that stylishly holds your bridle. 3 5/8"W x 2"L x 7 3/8"H
out of 5
96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Leather Lead w/ Solid Brass Snap is rated 4.653846153846154 out of 5 by 26.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome turn around! I ordered this beautiful leather lead with custom brass name plate on line at @11:00am on a Tuesday and received it on my doorstep the next day @ 11:00am! The quality and price were great for a custom piece, just what I expected. The turn around time was AWESOME, got to use it that week at a horse show!
Date published: 2014-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent for the Price This lead would be perfect for me if it was longer and a little narrower. But I like that it has a strong brass snap and no chain. And the price is great.
Date published: 2013-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Lead for the Price Nice, supple leather that looks great with my halter. Love the brass nameplate so my leads don't get mixed up. Absolutely recommend!
Date published: 2013-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice lead! very impressed with the leather, can't say how it holds up seeing as I have not used it yet, I bought it just for something to go wtih my leather show halter, but very nice soft leather and looks great with my halter!
Date published: 2013-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely Leather Lead! I bought this leather lead for my convertible grooming halter ( which is brown ). I wanted something that looked nice, but will hold up to everyday wear and tear. And this is defiantly the one I was looking for!! It was soft and Supple right out of the box! And though they don't have the color, brown, to match my convertible grooming halter, the Havana color matched very nicely! If you look really closely of them side by side in the light you can tell the color is slightly off, but the stitching is the exact same color! I would recommend this product to anyone wanting a good quality lead for everyday while looking great, and for those getting the convertible grooming halter!
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiul quality at a bargain price! I bought this just as an every day lead and when my order arived, i was very suprised by how soft and nice the leather was. The engraved name plate was realy nice too. This is a lead nice enough for show but at the price of a consignment shop!!! Ill be orderig another one to keep just for show days!
Date published: 2012-11-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I like that it doesn't have a chain and that it's a good value. I don't like the shorter length and that it bleeds. Overall fair buy, but not too exciting. Bought the matching Havana double stitch perri's halter, and that really bleeds! Bought cheap fleece covers for it.
Date published: 2012-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Inexpensive Lead I'm really happy that SmartPak sells a inexpensive leather lead & I love that it doesn't have a chain, just a clip. The color on mine did bleed onto one of my white towels because it was so hot outside so I would be careful where you put it. Overall great buy!
Date published: 2011-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it! I was so happy to find a leather lead without a chain. I bought this to go with the convertible grooming halter and although they say they do not have an exact match for the halter, the Havana is perfect. Great combo that we will use all the time.
Date published: 2011-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice lead... But don't bother with the nameplate, mine broke off in less than 2 months and it is very easy to bend. The name plate should be thicker and more durable. Now I have two holes in the lead where the plate used to be.
Date published: 2010-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leather Lead w/o Chain Wonderful product. Nice, supple, soft leather. Excellent for showing young stock where you don't want a stud chain attached. Reasonably priced for the quality!
Date published: 2010-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Lead I thought it was an excellent lead for the money. The leather felt smooth and supple and looked great.
Date published: 2010-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice lead This is a nice lead for the price, and very nice to get one without the long stud chain! Like many, I wish they offered this in 8 foot size.Note, the havana is the color to chose to match the double stitch halter.
Date published: 2010-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great lead if it were just a few feet longer! Would like more length.
Date published: 2009-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from leather lead very nice comfortable lead and hardware for the for the money; nice name plate too.
Date published: 2009-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Lead! Nice Quality Leather - Heavy Snap - just wish it were a little longer...othewise perfect! Thanks SmartPak!
Date published: 2009-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Treat! Nice to find a leather lead without the chain!! Really handle nicer than rope and is a very nice daily luxury!
Date published: 2009-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Leadline I've been looking for a good quality brass snap leather lead without a chain for some time now (they always have chains). My horse despises chains and doubling them up can be dangerous, especially while grazing. This is a great one and the nameplate really completes the show look. The leather is soft and pre-oiled, so I'm confident that it will really last. My only wish is that this came in a 3/4" size, as that would make it more appropriately sized for my hands (it is a little wider than some other leather leads).
Date published: 2009-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my favorite lead this is my favorite lead out there, and i have one for every horse in my barn. although it's more expensive than the average lead, it's well made and durable; i've had most of mine for over 5 years and they are still in great condition despite a lot of abuse.i like a leather lead because they hold up better than cotton (which stretches and frays) and are easier on the hands than nylon, which burns if a horse pulls back. it is also safer to tie with leather than cotton or nylon.i like this lead in particular because, unlike most leather leads, it doesn't have a chain; not every situation calls for a chain, and when not in use, they tend to get in the way. these are great for everyday use around the barn, but nice enough to clean up and take to a show. they are also incredibly durable; i leave them out on the paddock gate all day in every kind of weather and they hold up beautifully with minimal care.highly recommended!
Date published: 2009-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice lead Nice lead - holds up well and looks great. Add a brass name plate and take it to shows.
Date published: 2009-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT FIND! I got this lead to match the triple stich leather halter I also bought from here (very nice halter). Its a great lead! not only does it match the halter perfectly but its of very nice leather too! its nice and light weight not too bulky and heavy like some leather leads can be. i love these leather leads and you can't beat the price!
Date published: 2009-07-01
  • 2016-08-29T11:28CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_26
  • loc_en_US, sid_5841, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders