Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Korsteel French Mouth Eggbutt Snaffle

Korsteel
- Item #17989
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels of training and competition. They are crafted from materials of the highest quality. 13mm mouthpiece.

Imported.

Customers Also Shopped For
JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication ...
Description:
JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication between horse and rider. The exclusive curved design provides comfort and enhances performance. Thick, kind, double-jointed Oval Mouth Eggbutt with curved bars eliminates "nutcracker" tongue pinching and encourages the horse's chewing motion. ...
JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication ...
Description:
JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication between horse and rider. The exclusive curved design provides comfort and enhances performance. Stainless steel mouthpiece and rings. Imported.
The unique Apple-Scented Mouthpiece encourages horses to accept ...
Description:
The unique Apple-Scented Mouthpiece encourages horses to accept the bit. Space age polymer provides a gentler bit for a happier horse. Exacting care goes into each bit: All the bit cheeks and rings are made of a top grade stainless ...
The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the ...
Description:
The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the horse's mouth resulting inSoft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. In addition, this bit supports the contact to the corners of the mouth in a ...
Stainless steel. The French Link reduces the nutcracker ...
Description:
Stainless steel. The French Link reduces the nutcracker effect of single-jointed bits, and encourage relaxation. The Korsteel 2 Ring French Elevator applies pressure to the lips, tongue, and bars of the mouth. 5", 5.5". 21mm thickness. Imported.
The Stubben Loose Ring Snaffle- Copper Mouth is ...
Description:
The Stubben Loose Ring Snaffle- Copper Mouth is a double broken loose ring that is suitable for all disciplines and all levels. It is equally functional for beginners and experienced riders. The Sweet Copper metal offers the advantage of combining ...
JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication ...
Description:
JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication between horse and rider. The exclusive curved design provies comfort and enhances performance. Popular full cheek exerts pressure for turning. Eggbutt sides prevent rubbing. 4", 4 1/2", 5" or 5 1/2". Imported. ...
out of 5
98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Korsteel French Mouth Eggbutt Snaffle is rated 4.818181818181818 out of 5 by 55.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing bit! I recently started using this bit and love it. My horse hasn't had a bit in her mouth in years and this was the first bit I used. She responded surprisingly very well to this bit and showed no issues. I highly recommend this bit even to green horses (in my case) or any horse for that matter.
Date published: 2016-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice weight and quality Bought this for a green mare that didn't seem happy in a snaffle. She is much happier with the French link.
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made As per my trainers suggestion I wanted to switch from a full cheek to an eggbutt so my TB wouldn't rely/ lean so heavily on the reins as aides but rather respond more to my legs. I was using a Dr. Bristol before but couldn't find one with eggbutts that was the proper size so I decided to give this French bit a try. I chose a less expensive brand since I wasn't sure whether or not the bit would work for my horse. First off, the package arrived in a very timely manner and just as promised. The items were packaged nicely and clearly labelled. The bit looks to be well made and of nice quality especially for the price. My horse took nicely to it and it fit his mouth perfectly. I have used it for a few weeks now, ride at least 4 times a week and the bit looks brand new without any signs of wear or discoloration. Most importantly it seems to accomplish the intended purpose nicely while at the same time being softer on his mouth.
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit for my OTTB!! I have tried multiple bits on my 5 year old off the track thoroughbred, and this is by far my favorite. I wanted something simple and mild but a tiny bit more than a single jointed snaffle. First ride in this and I loved it!
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bit! I bought this a couple of weeks ago and have used it 3 times. My horse seemed to like it. He stopped throwing his head and was more focused on what he was being asked to do instead of focusing on what was in his mouth.
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Typical excellent Korsteel quality As usual with Korsteel, a well-made bit without rough edges and exactly as advertised. And not an exorbitant price.
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product! This is a brand that I have always used and always will!
Date published: 2015-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy horse = happy owner! I purchased this snaffle for my mare, who has a history of strong abuse and an extremely sensitive mouth. I decided on the French-link so that I did not have to worry about a regular snaffle jabbing the roof of her mouth. She accepts it with no complaints! It fits well (I bought the 5", and it seems pretty standard, so you shouldn't have to worry about sizing up or down), is well-made, and a very stylish bit for the price. My girl is happy, so I am happy! :)
Date published: 2015-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a great go-to! Korsteel is always a tried and true bit company. This bit is no different. Great go-to bit for training and show ring.
Date published: 2015-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I bought this a few weeks ago. I can tell its made nicely and will last a while. My horse loves it :)
Date published: 2015-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit I needed to move up to a larger size bit for my mare and wanted to stick with Korsteel.
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely bit. Great shape in the side pieces, very flexible and high quality.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Working out really well I was pleasantly surprised by how well my QH goes in this bit. It's well made and Mr. Man accepts it well.Korsteel is a great value and I'm always happy with their products.Also, very happy to report that this bit does not squeak.
Date published: 2014-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid Purchase I already knew my guy did well in a french link, and this one fit the bill perfectly. A nice heavy bit with smooth, well put together links and no rough or unfinished edges to cause an issue. I look forward to using this bit for years to come. It also has enough size variations to make sure you're getting the correct width for your horse's mouth, which I appreciate since once size doesn't really fit all.
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Training Bit I use this on my young warmblood, and he really seems to like it. It's nice so the reins never get caught like on a d-ring, but I wouldn't use it in big hunter shows because I do think the d-ring looks better. Easy to clean and keep shiny, so good buy for the tack room.
Date published: 2013-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good all around bit This bit is a good medium weight, very solid with a nice finish. I love the french link and have used this type of bit on many horses. Most do very well with it, including my new OTTB.
Date published: 2013-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great soft bit! My gelding loves this bit, perhaps a little too much! He will snatch it out of my hand if I'm holding the bridle. He really moves out in this bit and loves toying with the french link (again, maybe too much!).All-in-all, great quality. It was larger than expected but fit just fine. I only docked a star because the bit squeaks (although I would bet my boy plays with it a lot more than another horse would).I think this is an excellent basic, soft, quality bit for any horse.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice bit! Very nice bit for the price. My gelding is very picky about what goes in his mouth, but he's never had issues with this bit. I use this for my everyday schooling bit on my western bridle, and it does a good job of getting my horse supple and responsive without all the bite a curb brings. It's actually quite heavy, which I like because it seems that my horse gets a better feel of my cues.
Date published: 2012-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit Not sure if there's much variation in quality for bits but this one is just fine. My horse is much happier in this style of bit that the broken mouth loose ring snaffle we were using. I've only been using it a few months but so far I have no complaints.
Date published: 2012-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent bit at a good price I've used French snaffles on all my horses for years and all have gone well in them. The Korsteel bits are reasonably priced and last forever. This one is a replacement for one I've misplaced.
Date published: 2012-11-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bit is Good Value for Money but I purchased this bit for my tender mouthed QH. The bit is very well made but a tad heavy. I returned it for a lighter, 16mm bit.
Date published: 2012-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice bit nice bit, rings are well proportioned, smooth finish
Date published: 2012-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great baby bit I went to this bit after breaking my WB and he started fussing with any type of standard snaffle bit. The key makes him happy and he hasn't fussed at all. Not harsh but he has brakes and so far no squeaks from the eggbutt portion. This is a very good all around bit.
Date published: 2012-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! A nice solid bit that fits well, and cleans up great!
Date published: 2012-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good purchase This bit is very gentle. My horse responds very well now. I would recommend this bit to a friend.
Date published: 2012-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First bit I bought, still using today! This bit has been an excellent value. It's soft and comfortable for my horse, and I like the feel and know it's never sharp in her mouth. Always cleans up great, never squeaky or dull colored. No signs of wear after several years of use.
Date published: 2012-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse looks forward to being bitted! This is the second Korsteel French Eggbutt bit I've purchased. It's for his new Plymouth Elite Dressage Bridle. It's the only bit he's ever worn since he began training. When I unbridle him he holds onto the link and plays with it before turning loose the bit! He thinks it's great and so do I.
Date published: 2012-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I purchased this bit for my sensative TB who needed a change. So far he is doing much better and seems softer and happier in this bit. Good quality and is a great purchase for the price.
Date published: 2012-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Before this bit my gelding was resistant to the bit and I had a hard time getting him to soften and relax. I switched him over to this bit and I'm getting flexion at the poll, his mouth is quiet and he is salivating nicely. Absolutly wonderful bit. I would definatley recommend this for any horse with a soft mouth!
Date published: 2011-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy I switched my horse from a regular single joint snaffle to the french mouth and he responds even better. The Korsteel is great quality for a great price.
Date published: 2011-08-17
  • 2016-09-27T12:33CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_7989, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders