Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

EasyBoot Epic

Easy Care, Inc.
- Item #14845
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Easyboot Epic horse riding boot is ideal for the barefoot horse, muddy conditions or for a horse who is difficult to keep booted.

The attached Gaiter provides extra protection to the hoof as well as keeps excess dirt and debris from getting into Easyboots. It also helps keep the boot on during extreme conditions such as mud, snow, and water crossings.

Replacement Gaiter's are available.

Customers Also Shopped For
Keratex Hoof Hardener strengthens weak, worn and cracked ...
Description:
Keratex Hoof Hardener strengthens weak, worn and cracked hooves by improving the molecular structure of the horn itself. The gentle acting chemical formulation forms additional intermolecular bonds between molecules of keratin through the process of cross-linking, producing a tougher, stronger ...
A real treat for hooves - rich and ...
Description:
A real treat for hooves - rich and clear for ultimate shine on all hoof colors. Favorite Features Anti-bacterial and anti-fungal properties Nourishes andProtects Includes brush Sizing It Up 500ml
Continuous treatment promotes faster healing! The Veterinary Preference ...
Description:
Continuous treatment promotes faster healing! The Veterinary Preference Thrush Treatment is a fast-acting treatment for Thrush and White Line Disease with a unique delivery system. The active medication is saturated into self adhering cotton rolls that, when pressed into the ...
Banixx safely and effectively kills bacteria and fungus, ...
Description:
Banixx safely and effectively kills bacteria and fungus, making it a great all-around addition to your first-aid kit! Its non-irritating formula works well on wounds, lacerations, post-surgical wound care, fungal infections, scratches, white-line disease, thrush, rain rot and more. Favorite ...
The Original Mane 'n Tail Hoofmaker is an ...
Description:
The Original Mane 'n Tail Hoofmaker is an exclusive protein enriched formula developed to maintain strong yet flexible hooves.- Deep moisturizing formula helps reduce dry and brittle hooves- Protein enriched formula conditions the entire hoof surface including coronary band, walls, ...
White Lightning is a solution which has the ...
Description:
White Lightning is a solution which has the ability, when mixed with equal parts of white vinegar, to produce chlorine dioxide. Chlorine dioxide is very aggressive in neutralizing bacteria, fungus and yeast, and has been proven to be highly effective ...
Huuf Magic is an easily applied, non-messy penetrating ...
Description:
Huuf Magic is an easily applied, non-messy penetrating treatment that effectively aids in the treatment of thrush, seedy toe, white line disease, coronary band scurf, cracked heel bulbs and other problems associated with the sole, frog and hoof. A unique ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

EasyBoot Epic is rated 4.214285714285714 out of 5 by 42.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product I bought this for my tb mare who had an abscess in her hoof and it got gnawed up pretty bad. It was to replace the shoe. She loves them and is more sound with them on too! They also stay on great. Just make sire you have the correct size!
Date published: 2015-06-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hope it works for you....my horse destroyed it.... I bought this boot on the advice of my farrier. My Oldenburg gelding has a crumbly foot and could not keep nailed shoes on, and was severely lame when barefoot. Unfortunately, this boot, though great while it lasted (for about 2 weeks) did not hold up at all :(. My gelding lives in an in and out with a large 90x90 turnout attached and the boot soon separated from the gaiter and then slid right off. Unfortunately, it cost me over 90 dollars to learn this lesson, so I do not think this boot is worth it....
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot I have used these boots for two horses (missouri fox trotter and thoroughbred).I have used them for stall rest when I needed to put salve and protect the hooves and I have also used them while they worked walk,trot, and even full run. I love them because they are relatively easy to put on and stay on while not chafing the hoof or coronet band because they are so low. That said I personally did not have any luck when I added a foam pad, the boots fell off on both horses style of movement, but salve and bandaging with boots stayed on both beautifully regardless of work I gave them. I've used it on all four hooves and also just on the front two with great success. It help during thrush episode and hoof sensitivity where I wanted to encourage heel first movement.
Date published: 2015-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Bugger to get on first time but much easier now. We have ridden over the river and through the woods up hill and down with no problems at all. Love the break over on front of boots. Peppy moves well in them and they did not come off in deep mud.
Date published: 2014-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice hardy boot As the order details describe, the foot must be measured good to fit well. The boot fits 2 of our horses, one just right the other has a bit smaller foot but with the cable tightener, it pulls the sides in just enough to fit both of them well. The best thing about the boot for me, was the comfort the horses seem to be in while riding out in them. My horse has a habit of throwing a shoe between shoeing times and is not ridable without the boot. So far the boot appears very sturdy, so much so I'm ordering another one in a bigger size for our other horse.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality Used boots less than 50 miles back of boots ripped, front closure ripped off of one during a 30 mile limited distance ride in Maine Boot is listed for competition
Date published: 2014-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Transition to barefoot Bought these to help make the transition to barefoot from shoes- they have really been a life saver. Much more user friendly than the older easy boot models, these only take moments to get on and off (once you know what you're doing), they stay on great, and my horses are happily traversing rocky slopes and muddy ravines! Only negative I can find is sometimes the cable gets a bit jammed up on the pivot points, I have just had to use a hoof pick to tease the cable back out so it moves freely again- no big deal! 
Date published: 2014-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots I have not used these yet, but did try them on. They are not as difficult to put on as I thought they would be - these are the only ones that will fit my guy; other manufacturers don't make larger sizes. The attached gaiters are a bit too big, but I think I can make them work. The horse seems to not mind them.
Date published: 2013-10-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from hmmn, We have older easy boots that we've had for literally 10 years. I ordered the new easyboot epic and it lasted about 2 weeks. My HUS horse had colic surgery and needed to be turned out. He had lost one front shoe and we used the boot. It was muddy and he ran around a lot, but when he was brought in he had only part of the gator around his ankle. We found the boot with the rest of the gator and my husband used his awl to sew the gator back together. Well, yesterday when he came in the boot part was ripped. Not sure I would order this again. Too bad- the original ones lasted forever.
Date published: 2013-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good boot I got this boot to keep handy in case we lose a shoe while out in the world. The farrier put it on my horse after trimming the hoof and prior to re-shoeing. Great fit! Fit was also consistent with size chart. Horse walked around on it a bit and it seems to be a great boot!
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from harder to get on I expected this boot to be as easy to put on as the Easy Boot Trail boots I use for my other horse but not so! Sent them back for Easy Boot trails-much easier to get on.
Date published: 2012-10-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not very durable The cable broke within 2 minutes of use in an indoor arena. Smart Pak was great with the return though!
Date published: 2012-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome boots These boots are the best - they keep my girls barefoot and bruise free.
Date published: 2012-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boot, Great Fit I really like these boots. They are easy to put on and don't come off while you're riding. They seem comfortable to my horse, I'm really happy with them!
Date published: 2012-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Improvement This boot is a significant improvement over the original Easy Boot. It actually stays on! I was worried at first about the ankle strap rubbing, but it hasn't been a problem. It isn't the greatest thing in the mud that we have right now, but my horse gets thrush no matter what I do, so I just make sure to clean the boot out daily and wash it with betadine scrub to kill any grossness that might be growing in there.
Date published: 2012-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from boot that fits Been using the regular easyboots for 12 yrs and had gotten tired of the cleats digging into the walls of the hooves. A farrier suggested trying a boot w/ a gater for added security although the original boots generally stayed on pretty well. This particular model works great on my mares b/c they tend to have lower heels which don't work well w/ some of the other easyboot styles. These boots do not have the metal cleats, and the addition of the gater negates the need for them. They were easy to put on since I'd used the original style for so long, and they seem comfortable and secure for the horses.
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time with boots, Great I had never used boots before but my TB kept losing shoes so I purchased a pair of Epics, they are very easy to put on and after 2 weeks of daily use they never turned, or fell off. I rode in them and my horse seemed very comfortable . The only negative is on wet grass they are a little slippery, but not bad.
Date published: 2011-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good option for barefoot horses I have an older, barefoot gelding with mild arthritis. I use the EasyBoot to go for walks on areas that have rocks and in the arena. I haven't ever used the regular EasyBoot model, but I find the EasyBoot Epic to be fairly easy to get on and off. It's never come off while in use or caused any rubs/sores, but I've only been using it at the walk and a little bit of trotting. And my horse didn't have any problems getting used to wearing them. I did find the sizing to run a little small so I went up one size from my original measurements. Overall, my horse doesn't have ouchy feet when he steps on rocks and I've been happy with the product!
Date published: 2011-08-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from hard to get off I bought one of these to try and had to send it back for a different size. Once I got the right size though, It is very hard to get off, so I never bought a second one. You need a srewdriver to pry it off. I am now trying the Easyboot trail, which is much easier to get on and off, but Smartpack doesn't sell these, too bad.
Date published: 2011-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth the price I have been to 17 states trail riding. My horse has been barefooted most of his life; he is 19 years old. By using the Easy Boot Epic, I know I can ride where I want when I want. I have put many miles on my Epics; mostly I use them when the footing is shale, rock or gravel.
Date published: 2010-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Boot! My mare had a large abscess removed from her hoof wall due to her laminitis/insulin resistance. I was not able to keep any other boot on her even in good weather conditions. She would push off when getting up and pop all other boots off. This one stays on AMAZING!! Through mud, snow and rain she is now able to heal by keeping the area clean. I take it off to soak her foot, dry out for a bit and wiggle it back on. Easy and wonderful product.
Date published: 2010-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Boots! Easy to Fix Fit. I've used easyboots for years and have always had good luck with them. This review is really my reply to inuyashasheetmusic's posting that talks about the boots rubbing the coronet band on a horse. I've had this issue before also. One horse had her hoof care neglected for years by a previous owner so her feet had gotten very wide, long and flat. When our farrier trimmed her the first time her feet were very low to the ground and still very sprawled out forcing me to use a large easyboot that was tall on her to make her comfortable. I also have a gelding who naturally has wide feet with a naturally low heel and his easy boots used to rub him. To correct the problem I simply took a pair of kitchen scissors or a hoof nipper and trimmed down the tops of my easyboots and I don't pull the heel keeper strap thing up to high. Before I trimmed my boot tops I added pads in the bottom of the boot to help lift the hoof to keep them from rubbing. Trimming is easier to me.
Date published: 2010-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NECESSARY PURCHASE I HAD BORROWED A NEIGHBOR'S EASY BOOT BECAUSE OF A SORE FOOT. THE BOOT DID HELP HIM WALK BETTER AND MY ORDER WAS TO REPLACE THE BOOT I BORROWED FROM HER. I HAVE USED THE EASY BOOT IN THE PAST FOR HORSES AND THEIR SORE FEET.
Date published: 2010-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great customer service We received these boots on Monday for a new horse. They fit wonderfully and worked well for my daughter's horse show on Saturday. However, two days later they were destroyed. (Boot fell off while horse was running in a muddy pasture. She almost tripped over it then stepped on it with her hind foot and tore the gaiter right off.) Needless to say we we quite disappointed and not looking forward to spending another $70 after only a week. We were delighted with the wonderful customer service we received from SmartPak. They are sending a new gaiter right out. Thank you, SmartPak for standing behind the products you sell. We will be buying from you again.
Date published: 2010-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Must fit snugly I liket hese better than the old easy boot, but they still need to fit snugly and teh ankle strap needs to be tight, too. If all that is done correctly, tehy WILL stay on even in mud and snow. If not, they will slip off the foot and then the boot part will tear (2x in a month--slow learner on the fit thing....) I was able to a shoe replar place to sew it back for 5 bucks and I used dental floss to sew it back the second time.
Date published: 2010-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit, Great Protection This easy boot is a great fit, other boots (even though sized correctly) have given my horse rubs on his heels. The attached gaiter keeps the boot stable, preventing twisting and rubbing. It stayed on during all day turn out, protecting my horse's brittle unshod hoof while an abscess healed.
Date published: 2010-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great investment! After a really horrible bout with thrush, my vet advised to keep my horse's foot dry and out of the mud. I decided on the easy boot epic, since I needed something sturdy for his rough housing with the other geldings! I was very pleased with the product. It appears very durable. It is very simple to put on, and it stays on! I would recommend this in anyone's tack trunk, because we all know that diapers & duct tape just won't cut it for many horses!
Date published: 2009-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hoof Saver! My TB looooves to tear his one shoe off all the time. He also has to wear pads in the front because he's so tender footed. Recently my horse pulled his shoe and my farrier was unable to come out and it wouldn't be able to for at least a week. My horse couldn't go that long so i decided to get an easy boot and I am glad that i did! It saved his foot from falling apart and from being tender footed outside. I know that this will come in hand again next time he pulls a shoe. It's well made, fairly easy to put on and my horse had no complaints abotu it being on. Make sure that you measure their foot!!! My horse was between a 2 and a 3 and the 3 fit him the best. It was a lil big, but easy to adjust.
Date published: 2009-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great invention i purchased the easyboot epic for my horse when he tore his shoe and part of his hoof off. needless to say, he was pretty lame. rather than leaving him in his stall for weeks on end until he had enough hoof for the farrier to work with, i put the easyboot epic on him and turned him back out into the pasture. he trots around and is sound as a bell!
Date published: 2009-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Investment My mare had an abscess cut out of her sole by the vet who recommended a boot for riding for a few months. After a lot of research I decided upon the Epic because it offered durability, quality, and fit all of my needs. The first time I tried it on my horse looked at me as if I was insane and she stepped ever so carefully down the barn aisle with a nasty mare face. Every day I tried the boots on her and got her used to them and by the end of the week we were riding on the trails, on the road, and in the ring with boots on her two front feet. I was not afraid to do anything with them on-ice, pavement, snow, mud; they took it all in stride. Just be sure to perfectly measure each hoof; my mare was in between sizes and I went bigger to allow for her hoof growth as she went bare foot and she ended up not fitting her boot well enough for it to be effective. Definitely worth the purchase though!
Date published: 2009-05-21
  • 2016-08-26T11:47CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_40
  • loc_en_US, sid_4845, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders