Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Bit Keepers

SmartPak
- Item #14143
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Bit Keepers attach from top of full-cheek bit to bridle strap to keep cheek pieces upright. Bit Keepers are sold in a set of two. Brown leather.

Customers Also Shopped For
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high ...
Description:
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making themSoft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increases your horse's acceptance. Happy Mouth bits are non-toxic, flexible and long lasting with a stainless steel ...
A favorite with top trainers, Happy Mouth bits ...
Description:
A favorite with top trainers, Happy Mouth bits are covered with aSoft, flexible, yet extremely durable, apple-scented plastic which encourages acceptance andSoftness. The Happy Mouth Mullen Mouth King Dee has an inner core of twisted wire for more flexibility. All ...
Happy Mouth - The Art of Gentle Persuasion! ...
Description:
Happy Mouth - The Art of Gentle Persuasion! Fun Colors for Spring! Same Great Apple Scented Mouthpiece -- The long wearing apple scented are now available in 3 fun pastel colors. Not just for ponies... fashion conscious horses will adore ...
A favorite with top trainers, Happy Mouth bits ...
Description:
A favorite with top trainers, Happy Mouth bits are covered with aSoft, flexible, yet extremely durable, apple-scented plastic which encourages acceptance andSoftness. The Happy Mouth Plain Mullen Loose Ring has an inner core of twisted wire for more flexibility. All ...
Every Lorenzini bit is unique. It is the ...
Description:
Every Lorenzini bit is unique. It is the result of a treatment that makes it an original and unrepeatable element. Small differences enhance the handmade production- Smooth to the touch and in the horses mouth, the lightweight metal always has ...
The Original Bit Butter's special formulation provides soothing ...
Description:
The Original Bit Butter's special formulation provides soothing care to replenish moisture for dry, callused, unresponsive areas of your horse's mouth. Enriched with a "MouthSoftening Complex," this palatable blend of natural butters, essential oils and unique flavor encourages acceptance and ...
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high ...
Description:
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making themSoft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increases your horse's acceptance. Happy Mouth bits are non-toxic, flexible and long lasting with a stainless steel ...
out of 5
88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Bit Keepers is rated 4.458333333333333 out of 5 by 48.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality but not the color as pictured Seem to be well made but they were much darker than pictured and therefore did not match my bridle and I have since gotten a new set that do match from a different source.
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks nothing like the picture The bit keepers I received look nothing like the ones in the picture. They are a much darker Havana color than what is pictured, so they don't match any of my bridles and they are pretty wide. The leather was a nice quality, but they just don't work for me.
Date published: 2016-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, perfect size After a poor decision to purchase some bit keepers on Facebook from a complete stranger and never thinking to have the keepers measured (who does that?), I ended up having to come crying to SmartPak - like usual. The keepers I got through social media ended being ridiculously HUGE. And I mean HUGE. Almost jokingly HUGE. Anyway, I ordered these after some silly questions like, "Are they *normal* size? Like, for *normal* horses with *normal* bits?" These turned out perfectly, and they are in fact "normal size." The color is a rich chocolate, but I needed something darker, so a little oil later and they match my Havana leather. They are of quality leather and durable!
Date published: 2016-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this fits over the buckles on my bridle and another store had bit keepers that were a waste of money because the wouldn't go over the cheek piece let alone the buckles!
Date published: 2015-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functional but not Fancy These bit keepers work well. Good price, stitching appears to be strong
Date published: 2015-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality Great product - quick shipping, good quality, great service
Date published: 2014-09-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Loops are too big! The loops are both the same size (as a previous reviewer noted), and they're much too large for my full cheek snaffle. They pop right off the ball on the top. Not worth the time/energy to return them. I will note they seem of good quality for the price - I just would not recommend unless you have a very large balls on your full cheeks :) Unfortunately, I apparently do not.
Date published: 2014-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice quality but a problem... These are the nicest quality keepers I've seen and for a better price. But because the loops for the cheek piece and spindle of the full cheek snaffle on each keeper are the same size, not a smaller loop for the bit spindle, when my horse chews on the bit, the bit pops out of the keeper. Maybe if your full cheek has really large balls on the top of the spindles the keeper will work better.
Date published: 2014-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Purchase/Good Quaility Matched my SmartPak Plymouth bridle. Used with a full cheek snaffle and so far so good. Ideal I wish they good go up a bit hire on the cheek piece but the keepers attached to the bridle prevent that. Otherall good quaility for the price!
Date published: 2013-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fine Leather Bit Keepers I just needed a pair of bit keepers and I was ordering stuff from Smartpak anyways so I added these in. I have not put them on my bridle yet, but they look well made and the color is pretty good.
Date published: 2013-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good bit keepers Good product, leather could've been a little softer, but not a big deal. The stitching is sturdy and the color of the leather is nice.
Date published: 2013-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great keepers - did the job These are a nice color and quality. Have a nice feel and weight to them, and are a good size. If I need another pair, I'd definitely get these.
Date published: 2013-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2013-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value Bought these to go with a full cheek bit. They provided great leverage when adjusted properly. Plus they match my SmartPak Plymouth bridle! Easy to install and haven't slipped off.
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For the price it does what it should No particular comment other than that they work just fine for its intended purpose. As turned out, the color was perfectly matching to my bridle, too. Not having purchased anything similar before, I cannot compare this to any other keepers.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever i love these bit keepers so much i use them in shows and all around the barn!
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from more colors please Good product. Does the job. Just wish it would come in more colors so it could match my chestnut colored bridle.
Date published: 2012-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality Good Quality. The only thing I would recommend is having these come in different leather color options. My bridle is a Newmarket Brown (chestnut) color and these do not match. This was the only color option I had to choose from.
Date published: 2012-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality Product The bit keepers were made of good quality leather. Both sides fit my bit and my bridle unlike a pair that I bought from a local tack store. Very happy with this purchase. Love SmartPak.
Date published: 2012-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit If these keepers are positioned properly, there is zero chance of them coming off the bit. They should be placed BELOW the 'hook', so as to be sitting farther down the bit. If you place them above the hook in the cheekpiece, then the keepers sit too high up on the bit and can slip off.
Date published: 2012-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have to keep the bit in position. I just gave them a try with the new bit. They are must to have to keep the bit in right position. My horse didn't do "wrong things" as usual as I use regular sniffle bit on him. His head was in right position for the 40 mins riding in arena.
Date published: 2012-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functional Good value and works well for my mare. These bit keepers are longer than those I have purchases in the past, allowing the bit to "float" more. If you have a horse you really need to "set" the bit on, these keepers may be too long. Also, the hole to slip the corner of the bit in are a touch large and have allowed the bit to slip out on a few occasions.
Date published: 2011-09-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not that great These keepers do not hold my full cheek in very well. One side is always popping out, it seems that the keeper is bit to large.
Date published: 2011-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from everything I hoped for I have nothing to complain about with these. The quality and fit were both quite good.
Date published: 2011-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice basic bit keepers Purchased these bit keepers to go with my oakbark bridle, they match great. The leather quality is good and they fit over my korsteel twisted snaffle which has larger bulbs on the end. The stitching is secure, unlike the more expensive ones found at my local tack shop (it unraveled after only a few rides, hence my purchase here)
Date published: 2011-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality leather, and holes big enough to fit a variety of full cheek bits. Color was a little lighter than expected, but easily darkened to the shade I needed with just a few oilings. Recommended.
Date published: 2011-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and effective These things keep my horse's full cheek bit from catching on things (like the seam of my pants - seriously, saw that happen once). They darken nicely to match my bridle and hold up incredibly well!
Date published: 2010-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bit keepers I bought these to match my Smartpak Harwich bridle and they match pretty well. With a coat or two of oil it will be perfect. Sturdy stitching and nice leather at a great price. I also had a free shipping code, which made these the best deal I found.
Date published: 2010-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What I needed! If you need bit keepers, here they are. Nothing special; average quality leather, matches a wide variety of bridle colors. My only complaint is they're a bit too big for my full cheek's tips.
Date published: 2010-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Keepers Keeps the full cheeks in place. Matches most bridles and accepts oil. They are a little bigger/looser than other keepers but fit okay otherwise.
Date published: 2010-07-19
  • 2016-09-24T12:43CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_4143, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders