Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Training Surcingle

Item #17452
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Professional Training Surcingle is made of webbing and leather. Elastic insets allow for equal pressure distribution while girthing and comfort while in work. Multiple Dee rings placed for use with any type of training system. Leather lined girth and padded leather pommel. Stainless steel hardware. One size.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Training Surcingle is rated 4.5957 out of 5 by 47.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Jerry-rigged to work w Pessoa I previously reviewed this, disappointed that it didn't work w the Pessoa system. Before going thru the return hassle and the upcharge, I picked up 2 carabiner clips (not "keychain") from the hardware store. Works well! Awkward photo while mare wanted to leave the barn instead of have her photo taken.
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Does NOT NOT NOT work with Pessoa Training System Sircingles are WAY to small to get the Pessoa snaps thru. Very disappointed because the description says works with ANY training system. Of course, SmartPak is always great about returns/exchanges, but it's annoying.
    Date published: 2014-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the money I like the fact that this surcingle has leather billets which will break if your horse gets caught up on something. Although the leather billets are a little stiff, I oiled mine with Hydrophane leather dressing a few times and they are better. Will need to do this a few more times.
    Date published: 2014-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made surcingle for bargain price After combing my local feed and tack stores for a good quality training surcingle, I decided to order one online instead. I came across this one and couldn't be happier. I paid less than I would have locally and it is a better quality surcingle with more rings than any that I could find locally.
    Date published: 2014-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it!! This surcingle is great! Yes, the leather may be a bit stiff at first, but it softens easily. Wonderful quality! Fits my high withered TB very well. And the elastic sides are phenomenal also. I don't know why not all surcingles have elastic sides!
    Date published: 2014-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected for the price! As others have noted, this is a really nice surcingle for the price. Often, ones I've purchased made overseas would bit an elephant and almost never would fit my young horses. I purchased this to use on a yearling Old/Arab cross (who will probably end up 16.2) and it fits her on the smallest adjustment. The quality and craftsmanship is much better than I've typically found in surcingles I've bought in the past. My last one had metal grommets in the nylon billets and it was almost impossible to adjust. I love the leather billets! They were a little stiff and I soaked them in oil before I used it. I am sure this will last a long time.
    Date published: 2013-10-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Equipment for the Price The surcingle was better than expected with sturdy construction and very nice appearance. Some of the holes were a bit small to get the post on the buckle through them and took a bit of muscle but they will stretch out soon enough. The leather on the girth belts was dry so I treated it immediately with conditioner and it took it fine. There were plenty of rings and places to hook training aids on, and it will fit a wide range of horses. I'm happy with it.
    Date published: 2013-09-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made surcingle I love the quality and the value for the money. I wish it had a longer girth to fit easily over a saddle because it is difficult to use for long lining when the horse is fully tacked up.
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase I was very impressed with the quality for the price.
    Date published: 2013-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great alternative for quick exercising I was looking for something that would allow me to exercise my horse with side-reins and allow him to have a quick work-out in a frame when I didn't have the time to fully tack him up and ride for an hour. Especially those really cold winter days in the arena! This product is great, more than enough length to go around my thoroughbred and has plenty of clips for me to adjust to whatever position I would like my side reins in. Amazing product for the price!
    Date published: 2013-06-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yes This is a nice surcingle for the money. The billet straps are a little rubbery feeling, but overall, it is definitely doing the job. It has a nice weight-- substantial enough to stay put. The webbing and leather on the upper part is soft and flexible, giving a nice fit. I am very happy with this surcingle, and glad I bought it. I've been using it for about a week on my TB. I believe it will hold up well.
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Surcingle I was amazed at the quality of this surcingle at the price. I had a cheap, web one where the non-roller buckles would get stuck on the hole grommets and it was soooo frustrating. So, I had resigned myself to spending the money and getting a good quality one. When I saw this particular model, I thought it can't be much better than the one I have at this price, but then in reading the reviews, everyone who had bought one said it was great quality and value. So, I took the chance and didn't regret it. The slight elastic between the leather pieces allows for give without slippage. The billets are leather and are easy to buckle and adjust. There are enough D rings to be able to attach long lines and/or side reins in whatever configuration you need. I am very, very pleased with this purchase and have already recommended it more than once.
    Date published: 2013-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality This surcingle is good quality and the blue fabric with the brown leather is attractive. Haven't had it long enough to comment on the durability, but I was happy with the first few uses and expect it to hold up well. Lots of rings so you can place attachments at different levels depending on what you need.
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Surcingle I was quite surprised by this when it arrived. It has elastic in the surcingle on both sides, and the rings are very well placed. The only reason I gave it 4 stars on quality, is the leather could be a smidgen better, but really picky! Great purchase, excellent price. Definitely would recommend.
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice surcingle Good quality with leather pads. It is light weight which works for me. I agree with the other positive reviewers.It also arrived quickly which is great because when I order something I am usually in a hurry to use it.
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality. Used to attach side reins to girth - makes lunging much easier.
    Date published: 2013-02-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I am really happy with this surcingle. It's a gorgeous color and the leather is super nice. I'm not sure if I like the elastic or not only because I'm not sure if it's stretchy enough, but I've never had a problem with the surcingle slipping so I'm not too concerned. The only thing that didn't seem up to par were the buckles as they seem cheap compared to the otherwise great craftsmanship.
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I love this surcingle. Has a somewhat stretchy girth and nice soft billets right from the first use. Buckles & keepers easy to use. Nice selection of rings with good size and placement. Has not rolled once on horse and he is comfortable and happy in it. Great color. I would recommend this highly.
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and useablity Easy to use, fits all sizes of horses, great quality in snaps and strapes. Really have enjoyed working with this product!
    Date published: 2012-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent and minimal slippage This is an excellent surcingle. It is well constructed, and the leather softened up quickly after I oiled it once and used the surcingle several times. The design and type of leather used in the girth area seems to help it slip less than other surcingles I have used. My high withered/awkwardly sized TB has managed to keep it on and straight, despite his antics.
    Date published: 2012-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Price!! My boyfriend gave this surcingle to me and it is so sturdy, well-made, and lovely I thought it was a much more expensive gift. Thanks Smartpak!!! I have had it for 1/2 a year now and it holds up well with sweat, dust, sand etc and cleans up to look new!! Nicely placed rings and very adjustable!
    Date published: 2012-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Solid Purchase I bought this surcingle in order to teach my horse to long line and with the hope of eventually using the surcingle with side reins. I have used this product 5 or 6 times now and it still looks good as new. The rings are well attached and stay on even after a significant amount of pressure is placed on them. The only thing I would change is that the girth that comes with the surcingle is barely big enough for my horse's barrel.
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice This is a very nice surcingle. Durable, nicely placed and attached d-rings, and comfortable for my horse. The leather is a bit stiff and doesn't take conditioning very well, but it is a thick, fairly nice leather (no plastic feel at all - just a bit stiff). Bought it a year ago and is still looking and working very well. But overall it is a good surcingle and worth the price. I'm glad I got it. :)
    Date published: 2012-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from exactly what I needed This is exactly the type of surcingle I needed for starting my 3 year old. There are lots of rings and he seems very comfortable in it. Has lots of ways to adjust so as he grows it will still fit him!
    Date published: 2012-04-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Surcingle I bought this to use with the Pessoa Lunging System and it does the trick. It has many levels of rings to adjust the height of side reins or a Pessoa to your horse's training level. I have received many complement from other people at the barn and it is of very high quality which is reflected in the price. My only comment is the billet holes are a little small for the girth buckles which make tightening it a bit of a challenge for now.
    Date published: 2012-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality This is a really wonderful surcingle. Nice thick leather, well-placed and secure d-rings, a bit of elastic that helps with fit, and a good all around size. The girth is really nice as well with the stainless steel roller buckles and d-rings. I was worried that the blue and brown would be too stark (I prefer more conservative colors) but was pleased to find that it has enough color to give it a bit of spice, but not so much that it was in my face. Overall, well worth the money.
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase Great quality for a reasonable price.
    Date published: 2011-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Training Surcingle Good Product for the money. Been using almost daily for approx. 3-4 months now. Holding up well.
    Date published: 2011-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made of high quality materials. Good fit.
    Date published: 2011-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from extremely happy with this purchase I've had other surcingles...mostly the cheap ones..but they were still $50 but I barely used them because they didn't do the job, slid around on the barrel of the horse, shoddy workmanship...I absolutely needed a new surcingle and saw this one and purchased the long lines from smartpak because I had to rehab a horse - the surcingle was the best surprise - very well made...doesn't move around at all...very sturdy....can use it with a pad or not.very happy
    Date published: 2011-09-05
    • 2015-03-01T07:28CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_46
    • loc_en_US, sid_7452, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.