Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

ThinLine Sheepskin Comfort Half Pad

ThinLine
- Item #16794

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The ThinLine Sheepskin Comfort Half Pad is the preferred pad of some of the best riders in the world and for good reason! This revolutionary product guarantees peak performance. Your horse will round up faster, stay softer and become suppler. You’ll sit closer, rider quieter and get more from lighter aids.

Half pad is made of 100% pure medical grade Engel Merino Sheepskin with the Ultra ThinLine sewn directly to the top of the pad for a complete one pad system. Specify Medium (16" through some 17.5") or Large (17.5" saddles and above). White or Black.

This pad is shim-able. Click here to purchase the ThinLine Shims.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    ThinLine Sheepskin Comfort Half Pad is rated 4.5238 out of 5 by 42.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge fan! I have been a huge fan of Thinline products for years, and this half pad is one of my favorite products they make. My mare likes a good sheepskin pad on her back, and I like the Thinline for mine. This is a great combination that doesn't make your saddle too bulky. She is forward and relaxed and round with this pad on. Several boarders at the barn have purchased this pad since seeing her go in it.
    Date published: 2013-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best half pad i have ever owned!!! Great half pad! Protects my horses back and looks great under my saddle. I have purchased many fleece half pads before but liked that this one incorporated thinline technology into it without being heavy or bulky like some fleece pads that contain gel.
    Date published: 2013-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cant Say Enough About this Pad! Wow, I can’t even begin to explain how happy I am about this pad. I normally wouldn't "splurge" on something like this but I am SO happy I did. I was getting horrible lower back pain every time I rode, I would get off and could hardly walk. After researching chiropractors in my area I decided I'd try one last thing. The first time I rode in it, I couldn't believe it, I got off and absolutely NO pain in my back! I've been riding in it for a couple weeks now and my pain has not come back! Jumping, dressage, trail rides EVERTHING I've done with this pad and no sign of pain. I couldn't be any happier!!! Like others have said, it is a little bigger than normal fleece half pads but it fits both my dressage and jumping saddle fine. Both are a 17” and I got the medium pad.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Fluffy! My first thoughts when I opened the bag were "It's so fluffy I'm gonna die!" This pad is beautiful, soft and a good thickness. I'm used to the Beval wool pads and this one isn't as thick as those but its definitely thicker than a Wilkers wither pad. The Thinline technology feels very supportive and it looks amazing under my saddle with the sheepskin rolls. Overall an amazing product, definitely worth the price for me!
    Date published: 2012-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! I love thinline! Their products are great. They stoo the saddle from slipping as well as act as a great bounce pad. I needed this for my tb cross who has a high wither and a lot of "negative space" or area behind the shoulder and below the wither with no muscle of bone. I was able to fit 2 inserts in it and it finally makes my saddle fit well. Happy it has worked out!
    Date published: 2012-12-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice half pad I bought this half pad to help with my horses sore back. I just bought a new saddle and it has a little room since I want him to gain a little weight. My saddle fitter recommended that I try this half pad since it has the nice thick fleece with the thinline for shock absorption. His back now seems less sore than before and his saddle is fitting perfectly. It is thicker than some other half pads so it wouldn't be helpful if your saddle already fits perfectly. I would definatley recommend this pad to correct saddle fit and help with a sore back. I have a 17 1/2" dressage saddle and bought the large pad which fits perfectly. Only down side is I wish it was available without the fleece border on the back of the pad and the thinline doesn't go all the way to the edge of the pad. Due to this I had to buy the large pad and make sure that my saddle is resting on the part of the pad with the thinline.
    Date published: 2012-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works well I like riding and jumping with an extra pad and this one works great. got a medium for my 17.5" saddle. Wish is was a little easier to keep clean but it's great overall.
    Date published: 2012-10-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Medium works well I purchased a medium for my 17.5 close contact jumping saddle. My saddle fit my horse really nicely on one side and it was just slightly off on the other so I bought this pad to fill in the gap. 17.5 is definitely the max saddle size that would fit the medium. The large is much bigger and was way to big for my saddle. I think it does make my horse more comfortable under saddle and I like to have the extra pad when I ride.
    Date published: 2012-09-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-09-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy on My Back, Not So Much on the Wallet I bought this pad because my horse has a really sensitive back, and this brand in particular brand of pad reduces the impact of of a rider. I did not anticipate the reduction of impact on my back. I've been working on sitting my horse's really bouncy trot and this pad really reduced the bounce *I* was feeling as well. However, $220 for a half-pad is way more than I would spend a half pad if my horse's back was not super sensitive.
    Date published: 2012-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Half Pad! I recently purchased this pad for my 10yr old paint horse. He has a hard to fit back and it gets sore easily. When I added this pad, I could tell immediately that it helped the saddle fit. The first time I sat down in the saddle it felt so much more supportive! I think it even helps my posture! After riding in it a few times, I will never ride without it!The pad seems to be very well made, and I like the thickness of it. I have recommended this pad to friends!
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shimmable, but No Spine Clearance This is a beautiful, extremely well-made pad, however it does not have a spine channel. If it had that, it would be perfect! I bought a medium in white for my new 20yo OTTB who was underweight. It works well under a saddle that is a little generous in the gullet, but on anything that is more fitted, the pad is too bulky through the spine and over his withers. I am very pleased with it for my purposes: padding an underdeveloped back, the ability to add shims, etc. However I wouldn't recommend it as just extra cushion for a saddle that is not a little large, as it very well could be too bulky. Also, I've seen the black ones as well and the sheepskin seems to be even bulkier on those. I wouldn't recommend the black at all for that reason. If only this one had a clear spine channel!
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from well worth the money! I am a hunter/jumper and ride in a Pessoa Stadium saddle. The saddle fits fairly well but I needed something not just to protect her back, but a pad that could be shimmed in the front. This was just what was needed. My back feels so much better as well. Used to wear a back brace on a regular basis, no more!
    Date published: 2014-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best pad ever for a bad back I couldn't ride without pain if not for the help of the Thin Line pads. I found that out by not using one for just one ride. I was shocked by the difference it makes. I have serious lower back issues and everyone I talk to is amazed that I can ride pain free. I would recommend this pad to anyone and everyone who has lower back pain.
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like it After 4 months Like it so much I decided to buy another one for my new second horse too. No more sore back for my horse. Everybody happier
    Date published: 2011-05-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would not recommend This pad was way too thick. I got the large size and it was also way too long with the end of it extending beyond my saddle pad. It might work if you have a saddle that is too big and/or a horse that needs a ton of cushioning. I can't imagine who would ever need the large size though, definitely go with the medium.
    Date published: 2011-05-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice quality but no gullet channel I love the Thinline products and was excited to try the pad with the fleece. However the pad was too tight over my horses withers because the fleece covers the entire under side of the pad. There is no break in the fleece along the spine.
    Date published: 2011-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expensive but Worth the Money Highly recommend this pad for horses that have back issues or cold backed horses. Made a huge difference for my horse. The pad is thick and unlike other expensive sheepskin pads it maintians that thickness, so if your saddle fits well and your horse does not have back issues you may want to go for just the plain thinline. I've had this pad for over a year and it holds up unbelievably well- I've even just thrown it in the washer and let it hang to dry. Great Investment!
    Date published: 2011-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy It! Bought this as a Christmas present to my horse and he seems to absolutely LOVE it. My trainer says he's gotten rounder since I started using it. He had been bucking at least once per ride and he stopped bucking almost as soon as I started using this pad on him.
    Date published: 2011-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I love this pad! After my first ride, I knew my horse loved this pad. He was far less hollow and really rounded out. It is fantastic for cross country work, too. I purchased the large for my 18" saddle and there is still room front to back.
    Date published: 2010-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great pad I have an older TB gelding whom has an onset of "swayback" after being turned out with no work prior to my adopting him. This pad keeps his back nice and protected and I could add shims to help out with his saddle fit a little.I always ride in this pad, love it.I will buy another for my all purpose saddle as well.
    Date published: 2010-12-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I think I think it's worth it Certainly my horse is going much better with this pad, but, she had Hytril i.v. at the same time, so I don't know if it's the pad or the Hytril or both (I supposed I could take away the pad and find out for sure). The pad is very bulky, so it will change the way your saddle fits, though in our case it wasn't enough to require any adjustment right away. Horse definitely is lifting her back and using her hind end better. The pad is super thick and soft, and therefore makes horse mommies feel better for their horsies. :-) I can't feel her back muscles as well as without the pad, but since it's a half-pad I can better feel her barrel and the indirect action of her hind end, and that's really what we needed, for our particular horse/rider team. Definitely her back is lifted more, and I can better open my hip angle accordingly.
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heaven in a Half Pad! This pad was recommended to me by a friend. I have a 23 year old TB mare and as she has gotten older her back is just a little more sensitive. I wanted to get her something new to ensure she was getting enough support for her changing back. This pad is perfect. The thick sheepskin and the ThinLine gel is a wonderful combination. Yesterday we went for a ride and she was happy and alert and she felt just a little more energetic. She was never lame and never had a severely sore back, but I love the pad! IT makes me feel better knowing I'm giving her the utmost protection for her back. Definitely worth the money!
    Date published: 2010-10-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too bulky The fleece is very thick and there is no gap in the fleece at the spine. This made it too bulky for my saddle.
    Date published: 2010-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from bit thick, but a nice half pad I like this pad quite a bit, but its just a little too thick. I use it for cross country as I think it provides adequate comfort and protection, however, I do not like it for dressage. I need and prefer a closer contact feel.The quality is beautiful, and it really is a great pad, just a bit on the thick side.Its heavier than I thought too.
    Date published: 2010-04-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointed I love Thinline products and have the trifecta pad. I purchased this one for my dressage saddle and was very disappointed. The thinline does not go all the way to the edge of the sheepskin rolls, so the panels of my saddle went beyond the thinline even though the back of the pad was wide enough for my saddle. Had they extended the thinline the full width of the pad, I think I would have liked it a lot, but it didn't work for me. Poorly designed.
    Date published: 2010-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Plushest Pad ever This pad is sooooo awesome. So well made. So plush. I feel like he is the most pampered boy in the barn with this pad!
    Date published: 2009-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT I did recommend this to my friend. It's an awesome half pad. I would recommend black.
    Date published: 2010-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS HALF PAD! I never ride without it! It's great and really helps my horse in his movements.
    Date published: 2009-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful pad but a little thick. This is a gorgeous, well made pad with plenty of plush sheepskin. It is great but my only slight complaint is that it is a little thick. Otherwise it's a great buy.
    Date published: 2009-07-07
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.