Product Image

SmartSand Purge

SmartSupplements by SmartPak
- Item #19475

SmartSand Purge offers the most comprehensive approach to sand colic by combining Psyllium Seed Husk, Chia Seed and Proflorazyme™, a proprietary blend of probiotics, prebiotics, yeast and enzymes. Research shows that providing Psyllium together with probiotics and prebiotics improves fecal sand clearance and may reduce the possibility of digestive colic in horses grazing sandy areas. Your horse will love these apple-banana flavored pellets!

Order This Product


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartSand Purge is rated 3.8421 out of 5 by 19.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse liked it! Our horse wouldn't touch Metamucil psyllium, so we ordered this combination. Hey, Mikey, he likes it! Worked great.
    Date published: 2014-04-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Horses didn't eat it I tried one tub and will not use it again. They picked through it and refused to eat if I fed dry. The ones I feed wet simply wouldn't eat at all. I've used Sand Clear before and never had that reaction, so I went back to it. Also , the stuff's more costly than Sand Clear.
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from SmartSand Purge Won't buy this again. Horses and I like Sand Clear better and at a MUCH better price! I have 5 horses I'm treating and they ALL rolled the stuff around in their buckets - even after mixing and soaking with beet pulp.
    Date published: 2013-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally I can't believe I found a sand clearing product for my mare. She is the most picky eater. I also loved the fact it supports her digestive tract at the same time. Would highly recommend!
    Date published: 2012-11-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best I've found I've kept my mare on regular treatments of psyllium for prevention for years. I'm always after the best, most effective products for my money and I was very pleased with SmartSand. It was tasty, it has the same amounts of pysllium as competitors, and it has added benefits that compliment the whole idea of digestive health. Along with my confidence in Smartpak experts, I would happily recommend this.
    Date published: 2013-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Sample Ever SmartSand Purge is the best-ever. Christmas Lilly and Ruby Red loved it--first-time ever endorsement right from my "horses' mouth"! I ordered SandClear #not a SmartPak product# from SmartPak several months ago, and "my girls" picked through their grain ration and left most of the SandClear. As always, top-notch customer service--SmartPak sent me free samples, and I will be ordering more of this product very soon. I'm constantly recommending SmartPak to all my "horsey friends" as they continue to be the best-ever equine and canine supplier!
    Date published: 2014-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to add As the pasture gets short and dry, a sand-clear additive is good, common sense preventive maintenance. I just fed my 2nd month. My mare gets limited grass, grass hay and some pelleted preventatives. I like that this product is pelleted, in that it blends in. The horse still knows it;s there and while not hugely fussy, seems to have an opinion about psyllium (we've done crumbles and pellets). She eats it, but more slowly- so on treatment weeks, I just leave her feed pan in the stall overnight. The bigger trick is keeping tabs on when and what days are sand days. For the older players, like me, this is a bigger challenge! :)
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from taste not to my horse's liking This was the first psyllium-based product I ever bought and I was sure the apple-banana flavor would be a big hit with my horse as she loves apples and bananas and is not a picky eater. However, she managed to pick out the SmartSand pellets from her regular lunch pellets on two consecutive days. I gave the remaining five packets to another boarder whose horse who loved them.
    Date published: 2012-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big Improvement Tried SandClear and Natural Psyllium Fiber before switching over to SmartSand Purge when it came out. Big improvement over the other products! My mare has serious sand problems (we are working with the vet to help her, but it hasn't been easy), so when we see any change for the better at all, we know the product is doing a great job! The other two purge brands just weren't making a difference...plus it was a MAJOR struggle getting her to actually eat them! She eats SmartSand Purge without a problem. She is definitely staying on this for the rest of her life!
    Date published: 2012-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product i ordered this for my mare as she acted like she wanted to colic with little improvement with just probiotics. I fed it for seven days as directed. Her belly appears less distended and she is happier. I mentioned this to my friend who is also an equine practitioner and she was quite impressed with the additives of pre and probiotics, recognizing as well that it works better with them. I'm ordering more for the rest of the herd. I rated palatability as four since she did try to avoid it, but she's probably just picky. She did eat it eventually.
    Date published: 2012-01-17
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2013 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.