Product Image
Additional Views

SmartGut®

SmartSupplements by SmartPak
- Item #16320
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well



Research shows that nearly 60% of performance horses have gastric ulcers. Ulcers can adversely affect your horse's performance, attitude, body condition and overall well-being.

SmartGut provides comprehensive gastric support through a selection of ingredients that allow natural healing mechanisms in the stomach to take effect.  These include ingredients to neutralize excess gastric acid, probiotics, prebiotics, soluble fiber, the amino acids L-Glutamine and Glycine, soothing herbs and other safeguards for a healthy stomach lining.

ALSO AVAILABLE IN PELLETS!

View our Ulcer & Gastric Health Supplements Comparison Chart

Note: 14.8lb buckets will arrive as 2 of the 7.4lbs.

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartGut® is rated 4.549 out of 5 by 204.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-08-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from The horses would not eat the Smart Gut so had to discontinue feeding it.
    Date published: 2013-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse loves the taste, - gives me Peace of Mind I purchased a performance horse that had been neglected. Very poor condition, physically and mentally. I just sold my show horse and replaced him with this horse. I did not plan on purchasing a horse that needed conditioned and retrained, but I did. I know he will be every bit worth the time. I purchased SmartGut, due to his condition, he was very fretful, to the point of weaving. I am hauling him regularly to my trainers and to three day shows to get him back in the groove. This is alot for a healthy fit horse. I figured SmartGut would help protect his gut. He eats this product really well,, licks his bucket,, it smells really good also. He has settled down and gained 100 plus lbs, has very good gut sounds, turning into a happy horse. SmartGut has been my peace of mind.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartGut While I just started giving this product to my gelding as a supplement to his daily feed, I feel I will see true results in the upcoming months during show season when the feed schedule is not as routine, when stresses are a bit higher, etc. I feel the product is a good value for the money. My horse did not have a problem with the taste or texture. I originally considered buying it in pellet form just because I wasn't sure if my horse would lose anything in his feed in case he didn't like it, however, that was not the case. This will be a regular supplement to my horse's feed program and I look forward to seeing results in the upcoming months.
    Date published: 2013-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great SmartProduct! I have 2 horses on this product and have had great results for both of them! My 14yo TB hunter came to us from being pastured for over 6 months. He was antsy, nervous, and needed to gain weight (he looked more like 4 than 14). My other horse is a 16yo retired jumper who has had recurrent ulcer problems. We tried the omeprazole route but it was very $$$. While effective for a short course, it's not really a long term maintenance solution. SmartGut has been the perfect product fill that need. Within a month my TB was behaving less like a wild child and my retired guy was less of a grouchy old man. I couldn't be happier!
    Date published: 2012-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic product Being an OTTB, Mr. P was exposed to many stressful situations being retrained. He was passed to several owners who didn't understand his needs. When I got him he was in poor health and showed signs of ulcers. After initially treating him with expensive veterinary medications he would occasionally show mild signs of ulcers including an irritable attitude. I've had him on this product for two months and what a difference. He loves the taste and it has really helped him. I love the price and the convenience.
    Date published: 2012-11-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SmartGut My 12 y/o Appendix Gelding Kona has been on Smart Gut for a little over a month and I have already noticed a difference. He has gained weight, is less girthy, has more energy and is happier to work.He is a sensitive horse that is prone to ulcers so I will keep him on this indefinately and I can't wait to see what additional months on the product do for him.
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product! So far my gelding has been on this product for over a month. I have already seen changes in his performance and attitude. He started to show signs of discomfort this summer, and my first thought was ulcers. We decided to try this seeing as many horses with his symptoms seemed to benefit from this product. So far, I am very happy with the results and will continue to use this supplement. Codi is nearing his ROM is Dun Factor with the IBHA and we are ready to keep working for it, thanks to Smartpak!
    Date published: 2012-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have my horse back! I bought this product based on what I read on the website. My gelding has had terrible bouts of ulcers for the past couple of years. I put him on Ulcergard for a month and then started him on SmartGut. Since he's been on SmartGut he has not had a painful ulcer attack. His eyes are bright again, he doesn't hang his head in pain and he's gain weight. I couldn't be happier with the product.
    Date published: 2012-09-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helping Bought this for a horse that needs to gain weight and keep weight. We have to mix with applesauce to get horse to eat. We have seen an improvement.
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful Results / Pellets are less messy This product has made a remarkable difference for our gelding who develops ulcers when being hauled around to shows. He was irritable and would get mean, even sometimes bite my daughter during showmanship classes. He was very cinchy and would dance around when saddling him. His personality was becoming horrible. We even considered selling him because things were getting so bad. Once I did a little research on ulcers in show horses we started him on SmartGut. We started to notice small difference within a week. By the time a month went by he was a completely different horse! He is now calm, happy, and does his job. He's a wonderful horse to be around now thanks to SmartGut!We used the pellets the first time and loved those. Our second purchase was in powder form because I've read that pelletized supplements aren't as potent. The powder is ground very fine and is quite messy. I have to mix a small amount of water in on top of his feed so that the powder is not blown around from his nostrils/breathing while eating his feed. That is my ONLY complaint. LOVE THIS PRODUCT!
    Date published: 2012-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Results within a week Highly recommend, three year old friesian colt was grinding teeth,and having loose stools at training barn.Loose stools cleared in a week, grinding stopped after a month on product.
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Satisfying Picky Vets My vet is very picky about the products he recommends. So when he told me to get SmartGut to use after weeks of antibiotics, I knew it would be good. And, it turns out, much cheaper than other comparable probiotics.
    Date published: 2012-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps my horse happy I have been using SmartGut for 2 years, since my Morgan gelding was diagnosed with a small ulcer. He seems to do well on SmartGut with only an occasional upset (then I dose him with UlcerGard for 3 days.) I would recommend trying this for any horse with ulcers or loose stools. I have confidence in SmartPak supplements.
    Date published: 2012-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely Satisfied My horse is an EXTREMELY picky eater, not just with supplements, but for hay and grain as well. He has had trouble with ulcers in the past so I have tried numerous supplements to help him out. It is rare to find a supplement of any kind that he will eat. He never hesitated to eat the SmartGut pellets. Since starting him on SmartGut pellets, he will finish all of his grain (literally licking his bucket clean) and is a much better hay eater. I highly recommend this product!
    Date published: 2012-06-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smart Gut Rocks I could really see a difference in my horse with this product. He has had issues with ulcers on and off and this product seems to keep him a lot happier. I would recommend it to anyone who travels or competes!
    Date published: 2012-05-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Will buy in pellets next time This seems to be working (finally). I gave 3 stars due to the powder is VERY fine. My horse snorted at it the first time in his bucket and it blew all over. He wouldn't eat it. I wet it a bit and he licked it clean. Problem is it always ends up in bottom of bucket. This helped loose stools where just pro-biotics did not. I will purchase again, but in pellet form.
    Date published: 2012-05-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Peace of Mind Smark Gut provides my horse with a healthy gut and me with peace of mind!
    Date published: 2012-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-04-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very pleased with this product I added this product to my mare's SmartPak on recommendation from my trainer. All of the show horses in our barn have SmartGut in their SmartPaks.My horse didn't necessarily show signs of ulcers or gastric distress, but I gladly added this to her feeding regime as a preventative measure.I am very pleased with SmartGut, as with all SmartSupplements that I have tried. My mare has never been better, and I certainly attribute some of her recent success to her SmartPak.Also, the powdered version of this product has a really delicious smell!
    Date published: 2012-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartGut Is Great! My Warmblood has a history of ulcers and this product stopped him from windsucking and I notice a huge difference in his temperment! Thanks so much SmartPak! I would recommend this product to anyone! Looking forward to trying more supplements.
    Date published: 2012-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I started Nikki on Smart Gut as a recommendation from a friend. Nikki is a five year old quarter horse mare. She is shown at most of the local quarter horse shows. She just wasn't herself. Since she has been on the product she seems to be a lot more comfortable. Not girthy or cranky when being worked. She is back to her melllow young self.
    Date published: 2012-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly Recommend I have a horse that is very nervous and sensitive. After treating him for ulcers last summer I wasn't sure what to do about maintenance- and prevention of ulcers. I decided to put him on Smart Gut in November and within a month I noticed a significant change in his behavior and temperament. He was no longer girthy, was finally finishing his grain and actually liking the pan clean, put on weight, and began to manure more regularly. I credit this product with helping him become more level-minded and comfortable.
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Smartgut To fine a powder would not eat unless mixed with liquid
    Date published: 2012-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smartgut has allowed my horse to be more comfortable than ever. He has gained over 200 lbs and seems to be overall much happier.
    Date published: 2012-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definite Improvement I have an 18 year old OTTB gelding. He is a cribber and is often very grumpy on the ground. I have always suspected ulcers. I started him on SmartGut and I definitely notice an improvement in his behavior on the ground and under saddle. The powder smells SOOOOO GOOD too!
    Date published: 2012-02-24
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.