Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Winter Lined Rancher

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #11278

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Genuine North American deerskin gloves for roping, riding and working.

Favorite Features

  • The Winter Lined Ranchers have a polar fleece lining for added warmth and feature a gun cut finger treatment
  • No finger seams on the palm side of the Winter Lined Rancher make for a far more comfortable feeling
  • Elasticized wrist gives you an easy on and off glove

Imported


Sizing It Up

Natural 6,7,8,9

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Winter Lined Rancher is rated 4.5455 out of 5 by 88.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm I have two pairs and they are the only gloves I have found that keep my hands warm, both riding and around the barn, all through our winters in MA. I prefer the black over the yellow - the yellow discolors easily. They do get a fair amount of surface wear from barnwork, but they seem to hold up well to everything I do.
    Date published: 2015-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from she loves these gloves she loves these gloves. Warm and she can use them to ride
    Date published: 2015-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best gloves he's ever owned I bought these gloves for my husband this winter. We live in Illinois, so winters can be bitter. We got them in January and the first day he wore them was below zero. He wore them all day mucking stalls, stacking hay, and etc. he came in saying they were the best gloves he's ever wore. They were not only warm, but soft and comfortable. He also said he could do everything like he wasn't wearing gloves at all. Tying his shoes and other small tasks didn't require him to take off his gloves! I'm going to get myself a pair.
    Date published: 2015-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Winter Chores Love these - warm, easy on and off, soft and supple
    Date published: 2015-01-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from comfortable work glove Love these but the thumb and finger tip wear out if you have to use a lot of snaps
    Date published: 2015-01-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice gloves I received these as a gift. Size runs large, I normally wear a 7 but the 6 fits comfortably. Keep my hands warm (except in the coldest temps, negatives), and I'm able to do all my chores with them on. The color in the picture is much lighter than the product. My gloves are very yellow.
    Date published: 2015-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves! I have used these gloves during the winter for a few years, both for riding and barn work. When it gets really, really cold, I put a pair of silk glove liners on too. Durable, warm and good grip. Best winter gloves I've found on the market - although no gloves can truly ward off the deep cold some days!
    Date published: 2015-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best work gloves ever! These gloves are just the best! Go from working in the barn to riding without taking them off. They are very soft and warm. Still manage to buckle the bridle with them on.
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good fit and performance I bought a new pair to replace my old ones which finally wore out and I also bought a pair for my husband for Christmas. He grumbled a bit, thinking he didn't really need them, but I noticed he has been wearing them every day while working outside, so I think they won him over. They are my favorite lined working glove. I use them around the farm and to work and ride horses. Because they come in a range of sizes, I can get a glove that fits extremely well so I have excellent dexterity. The leather is really nice and soft.
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable! I bought these for my fiancée back in August. He usually goes through a new pair every few weeks, so I'm pleased to say that I haven't had to buy a new pair yet! Love them!
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super soft leather and warm flannel inside Love these gloves- bought a second pair! They are warm and the leather is soft enough that it is easy to maneuver with them on.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Winter Glove for Chores and Farm Work I have owned several pairs if these gloves over the years. They are THE best winter chore/work glove. If you use them daily, you will probably only get one season out of them, but worth it. The bonus is that you can order them by size, perfect for small hands like mine. Wouldn't be without them.
    Date published: 2014-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves! Got these to replace my pair from last year. They're nice and warm, fairly waterproof and fit great. They only lasted me 1 winter.
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great gloves! I got these about a month ago, it is just starting to get cold here so I have only gotten to use them a couple times, but they are so warm and have great grip to use for mucking out stalls and working.. unfortunatly a little too bulky to ride in but that's ok they are great!
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these! I would have given them five stars except they got wet once and felt darn cold. I need a second pair for those days when I need to dry-out pair #1. I thought I bought the darker brown... maybe I didn't by mistake. Pair #2 will be the dark brown.
    Date published: 2014-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves I bought these about a month ago and have used them the past couple of days since it's been cold. They've been very warm and fit well.
    Date published: 2014-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable! I haven't gotten to work in these yet, so I've only tried them on. They're very comfortable and seem like they're going to do a good job of keeping my hands warm this winter while doing stalls.
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Although a pricy item I love these gloves, and you definitely get what you pay for. My last pair lasted many years of rough winter work around the farm
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Comfortable, but don't last When I first got these gloves, I loved them. They're comfortable and relatively warm. I could use them for barn work and for riding. I've had them a few months now and the thumb on the right hand is ripped apart at the seams. A finger on the left glove has the same problem.
    Date published: 2014-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A tough glove for a tough job that won't disappoin This glove has made my winter chores so much better! The toughness of the leather provides great grip and the warmth of the fleece keeps everything dry and warm. I can't say enough about how much I love this pair of gloves. Hope to have them around for along time...and when they do bite the dust....i'll be ordering another. Also I absolutely love that you can order them to size!
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dexterity! I bought my gloves a few weeks ago and they are exactly what I was wanting! I'm in NC, so the winter isn't super harsh, but mornings and evenings when feeding are chilly! The gloves keep my hands warm and still allow lots of dexterity for doing barn chores. The leather us super soft and supple!
    Date published: 2014-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Gloves With the cold weather setting in....I'm using these glove a lot. I'm not much on wearing gloves to begin with. Theses gloves are nice to be wearing when I'm haying the horses late at night...and it's COLD. I'm only giving them a 4 star, because although others have said they ride in them...theses would not be me first choice for riding gloves (I like thinner gloves for riding), but they are warm...and I might wear them on a cold trail riding day.
    Date published: 2014-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great winter barn and riding glove. If you live in an area that has winter, you need these gloves.  Warm and tough, but still pliable enough to ride in.
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Loved these gloves, until... When I first got these gloves, I loved them. There were easy to work in, and most importantly, they were warm. However, after about 5-6 weeks of barn work, one of the fingers wore through. I am very disappointed. For the price, I expected to get more wear out of them.
    Date published: 2014-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Winter Gloves! Working outside in New England, I've been through many pairs of winter work gloves, and these are the best I've found. I only wish SPak carried them in black!
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice, cozy, lite work glove These are quite cozy for medium work or riding.  The fleece and outside are soft.  Not tough enough on the outside for heavy work and your hands may sweat then. Not waterproof so don't carry buckets with them. Attractive, nicely made; good value for light duty.
    Date published: 2013-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves Great for working! I feed 40+ horses everyday and these are the warmest gloves ever. Not too bulky, I am easily able to work the lead rope and gate latches. Super soft outside, and very warm inside. Measured 6.5 inches so I ordered up to a size 7 because I have longish fingers and wanted to be able to wear liners if needed. 
    Date published: 2013-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best winter gloves!!! Love these gloves! They are warm, cozy, soft, and durable. Plus they can hold up to real barn work!
    Date published: 2013-11-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm glove, but bulky. This is a great glove for doing chores around the barn, but definitely not for riding (which is not an advertised use). I wish I had bought the black instead of the yellow, as the yellow gets dirty very quickly and shows the dirt easily. Thick and warm.
    Date published: 2013-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice gloves Very nice gloves, just be aware that they fit smaller because of the fleece lining.
    Date published: 2013-04-23
    • 2016-02-14T14:47CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_75
    • loc_en_US, sid_1278, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.