Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Wellfleet Fancy Stitch Padded Halter by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #18410
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship.  The Wellfleet Fancy Stitch Padded Halter by SmartPak is elegant and exquisitely detailed, featuring extra fine stitching and supple rich leather. Carefully crafted to our own specifications and available exclusively at SmartPak.

Favorite Features

  • Noseband and crownpiece are luxuriously padded, raised and accented with fine fancy stitching
  • Hand beveled, rubbed and finished edges
  • Solid brass hardware
  • Rolled throat with snap and double buckle crown 
  • Personalization available!  Add customization to this halter and a nameplate will be attached with your desired text

Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Wellfleet Fancy Stitch Padded Halter by SmartPak is rated 4.7527 out of 5 by 93.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, runs small This is a lovely, well made halter, nice leather and stitching, with generous padding. It is a little darker than I expected, and runs very small. My warmblood has a small head, and a regular horse bridle is large on him. I didn't get this in warmblood size, expecting it would be huge on him, but the horse size barely fits buckled on the last hole on each side.
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter! I bought this halter to use for shows, and it is beautiful and soft right out of the box. I did notice that most of the brassware was dinged up, but I emailed SmartPak, and they said that it could be remedied with a metal cleaner. I also got a custom nameplate on the halter, and it is perfect. Overall, this is a great halter, and I am happy with it. Just beware that the brass is a soft metal and may ding easily!
    Date published: 2014-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wellfleet Halter Beautiful and quality product! Love the triple stitching!
    Date published: 2014-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Halter! This halter is awesome! Straight out of the box I was in love! I got the custom name plate with my horse's barn name and show mane and it looks better than I ever could have imagined. The leather is supple and soft right away and you can tell it was well made and it will last forever. The horse size fits my 16 ottb perfectly and I love how adjustable it is. At first I was skeptical to spend that much money on a halter but it is defiantly an awesome piece of tack. It took not even a day extra for mine to arrive even with the custom name plate. One of the buckles did appear scratched up a first but after a little wipe off it looked great! I bought this intending to use it only for shows but this halter may turn into my everyday halter. It is so stunning and well made and defiantly worth it. :)
    Date published: 2014-09-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from expected more My horse is suffering from lymphoma and has months to live so I wanted to get him one last beautiful halter. My wellfleet halter with custom name plate arrived today (8/7/14). The leather is beautiful and soft. The name plate is exactly as ordered and I love that smartpak attaches them. However, for the price (I paid around $113 with discounts, I see that it is now on sale for $102) I will not be buying another one. I expected more with respect to the hardware. Directly out of the box the hardware on the halter is scratched and discolored (see pictures). Maybe I'm picky but I expected nicer hardware on a $100+ halter.
    Date published: 2014-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost too nice to use everyday! We like the padded nose band. The leather color is beautiful.
    Date published: 2014-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifull halter This is a really nice halter. Beware that the sizing on the oversize is more like a large horse and not an oversize. It is between the 2.
    Date published: 2014-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice halter!! I recently bought this halter and it is beautiful! Great quality.
    Date published: 2014-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leather Halter Great product. Very fancy and terrific quality for the price.
    Date published: 2014-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful craftmanship The halter is beautiful with nice leather and stitching. My horse's head is between acob and horse size, I ordered horse size hoping it wouldn't be too large.I was quite surprised to find the halter just fit my horse. The halter runs quite small.
    Date published: 2014-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful English Halter I bought this halter to show my hunter lunge liner. I wanted something fancier than one of the Kentucky halters without a name plate. This halter was the answer. It came and was soft, adjustable and looked beautiful on with the fancy stitching. When I need to replace this halter I will most certainly buy another one of these halters.
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter! This halter is beautiful and very soft. My only complaint is when you shorten the chin section, the excess does not have a keeper to hold down the tab. 
    Date published: 2014-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I love this halter. I was looking for a show/off property halter for my horse, and found this one. I wanted padding, fancy stitching, but still looking refined. I found it. My horse looks very regal in this halter, it fits him well, and he looks very comfortable in it! Worth the money!
    Date published: 2013-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice leather I love the dark color of the leather. It looks great on my dark bay.
    Date published: 2013-07-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful! I searched for a fancy halter for weeks. This one was back ordered, but I couldn't find any others that I liked as much so, I waited. The halter is absolutely beautiful, perfect for shows. The only negative about it, is that it runs small. My horse is a 17.2 warmblood so I orderd the OS, it JUST fits him on the largest adjusted holes, when the sheepskin fleeces are on. It is a little snug around the throat.
    Date published: 2013-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful halter Leather is very nice, stitching beautiful. Would recommend this halter
    Date published: 2013-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy I purchased this halter for my show mare after she destroyed her old one. The halter shipped quickly and looks great on. The only thing is it runs a touch small through the throatlatch. Not to the point of being a problem, it is just smaller compared to other brands of halters
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stunning Halter Quality is great and has an elite look. Runs small though. My horse usually takes a standard horse size but needed oversized. Definitely will purchase another.
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter!! Will buy again when I need another high quality leather halter!
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor quality control I will be sending this halter back. The main problem being that the rolled throat piece is off grain and does not lay correctly around the horses throat. It curls up in an irregular way and is easy to notice.This is something that should have been caught by the manufacturer, or if not them the Smartpak person that filled my order. Also the leather is quite stiff overall. I have had much less expensive halters be nicer.
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excited to use I got this for a show halter, haven't showed yet, but I'm excited to use it. I can't comment on the durability yet, but it seems like it will last a long time.Very thrilled with the leather for the price!
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not too impressed I was replacing our leather halters and I don't like everything to match so I ordered leather halters from seven different companies. While this is a nice halter, I don't think I would order one again as I don't like the padding as much as I thought I would. My preference is the triple stitched halters as they are easier to clean and softer.
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice halter I bought this halter for away shows. It's a beautiful color and I love that the leather is nice and thick. The halter runs a touch small if you have a warmblood, so I recommend getting the oversize. I have a 16 h old type warmblood with a wide head and the chin strap barely fit when i tried the full size on him. I've only had this halter for a month so I can't speak to it's durability. However, the halter does seem pretty sturdy.
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely wonderful halter! This halter is exceptionally well made, very supple and great quality. It runs true to size (O/s fits my 16.3 warmblood great) and is adjustable enough to fit my finer built TB as well. This is a truly exceptional halter and well worth the price!
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter I've wanted a nice quality leather halter for my guy, and I finally settled on this one. I couldn't be happier! The halter is gorgeous, and the leather is very soft. The name plate looks great!The only thing I don't like is that the throat latch is a little snug in my quarter horse. It is nothing terrible for supervised use, but if this were a turn out halter, I wouldn't use it. Something to keep in mind for fit if you have a horse with a wider head ear to neck wise.Even so, I'm completely satisfied with this halter and would recommend it in a heartbeat!
    Date published: 2013-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great buy! I love this halter! it is gorgeous and holds up nicely after heavy usage! It is probably the prettiest halter in the barn and looks better than my friend's $300 custom halter! One of my favorite purchases!
    Date published: 2012-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Halter I bought this halter as a new pony present for myself and am thrilled to pieces with it. The leather is high quality, the stitching is wonderful, and it looks great on my mare. I've had it for a few months now and it hasn't shown any signs of wear, so all in all I'm very happy with my purchase :)
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from quality purchase Comfy halter for my mare. Fits her great and looks fabulous on her. Very good quality. Does not rub her face like the last one I had due to the on the inside. Love it!
    Date published: 2012-10-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter I purchased this halter for my Dutch Warmblood as he had pretty much destroyed his previous halter. It arrived VERY quickly and with a custom nameplate. It is lovely - very nice, dark, supple leather and I like the padding on the noseband and crown.
    Date published: 2012-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Purchase This halter was a great purchase, it fits perfectly and the padding on both the top and front of the halter is great! Would recommend this halter to anyone, it is a great deal!
    Date published: 2012-10-14
    • 2015-08-30T14:26CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_86
    • loc_en_US, sid_8410, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.