Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Wellfleet Fancy Stitch Padded Halter by SmartPak

Wellfleet by SmartPak
- Item #18410
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship.  The Wellfleet Fancy Stitch Padded Halter by SmartPak is elegant and exquisitely detailed, featuring extra fine stitching and supple rich leather. Carefully crafted to our own specifications and available exclusively at SmartPak.

Favorite Features

  • Noseband and crownpiece are luxuriously padded, raised and accented with fine fancy stitching
  • Hand beveled, rubbed and finished edges
  • Solid brass hardware
  • Rolled throat with snap and double buckle crown 
  • Personalization available!  Add customization to this halter and a nameplate will be attached with your desired text

Don't forget to complete your horse's look with the Wellfleet Raised Fancy Stitch Lead!

Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather ...
    Description:
    Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that's vegetable tanned. With an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area. Superb craftsmanship is reflected in ...
    The SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is suitable ...
    Description:
    The SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is suitable for the show ring but priced for everyday use. This halter is handmade in Amish country using leather that is soft and supple from day one. Favorite Features Brass plated hardware Beautiful ...
    Available exclusively at SmartPak at an unbelievable value, ...
    Description:
    Available exclusively at SmartPak at an unbelievable value, Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range. Favorite Features Delicate fancy stitching detail Traditional styling Supple imported leather Stainless steel hardware Hook ...
    Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with ...
    Description:
    Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value. Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range. Available exclusively at SmartPak. Padded fancy stitch bridle with excellent detail at an ...
    The Rodrigo Fancy Stitched Padded Bridle was created ...
    Description:
    The Rodrigo Fancy Stitched Padded Bridle was created from Rodrigo Pessoa's competition-proven designs and then meticulously crafted from hand-finished American leather. Rodrigo bridlework is created with attention to detail that distinguishes top horseshow equipment and will make you stand out ...
    Coordinates perfectly with the Harwich Padded Fancy Stitch ...
    Description:
    Coordinates perfectly with the Harwich Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle. Rich Brown leather is accented with delicate off white fancy stitching. Stainless steel hardware. Brown. Cob, Full or Oversize.
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman ...
    Description:
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. Favorite Features Double stitched 1" nose and cheek pieces with contrasting soft padding Adjustable chin strap Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on 1" ...
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Wellfleet Fancy Stitch Padded Halter by SmartPak is rated 4.7429 out of 5 by 105.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Show Halter I use this halter as my show halter and I get compliments all the time! The fact that the color is on the darker side and requires no oiling, and that SmartPak can ship it out w/ the nameplate already attached makes getting the perfect show halter super easy. The stitching is really pretty and tight, the padding and leather soft right out of the box and the brass high quality. Worth the price tag for sure!
    Date published: 2016-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, buttery soft, well-made This halter is absolutely beautiful. Upon taking it out of the packaging, I was surprised at how beautiful and well-made it was. The leather is buttery soft, and even my trainer commented how beautiful it was. I decided to use it as my horse show halter because it is way too nice to be used for everyday turnout. I also got it customized with a nameplate, and it came out beautiful as well. I highly recommend the splurge on this halter if you're looking for something nice, beautiful, and well-made for your horse.
    Date published: 2016-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made her smile! I bought this halter and had a nameplate put on it for my daughter for Christmas. She was so happy when she opened the box and said that she was going to use it for horse shows because it was so nice.
    Date published: 2016-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very adjustable I bought this halter in cob size for my Icelandic Horse who is difficult to fit because SmartPak would take it back even after I had it personalized if it didn't fit. The halter has great room for adjustment and I was able to get a perfect fit for her.Well done SmartPak. Good product and great policies
    Date published: 2016-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Leather I bought this as a new show halter for my Hunter Gelding. I had previously had a similar halter by Circuit, but the welfleet is richer leather and the padding is noticeably softer right out of the box. lovely details and hardware!
    Date published: 2015-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great style! I bought this recently and I love it! Great quality and great army especially for shows!
    Date published: 2015-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from O/S size is good! I have a really tough time finding nice halters that fit my half draft's gigantic head... Seriously, constant struggle. This one works! It's on the last hole all around, but the quality is lovely and I love the fancy stitch and padding, so that doesn't bother me at all! Great buy!
    Date published: 2015-09-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice halter, but not my favorite I bought this halter about 5 years ago as a stable halter. It is very pretty out of the box, but compared to other leather halters I have used in the past, the Wellfleet does not stand out. The stitching on the nose piece wore out within a week of purchase. Unfortunately, this halter has always shown wear; it has never cleaned up all that well.That being said, I have never had a problem with the hardware and the padding is nice. I do think this halter would be better as a 'special occasion' halter than a daily use halter. I do not use it during the summer at all because it does not stand up to sunlight very well.
    Date published: 2015-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter I ordered this halter for my thoroughbred and it fits great! The leather is very nice and hardly scratches, also very adjustable to fit pretty much any size. It cleans up very nice for shows and breaks in easy so it will fit your horse quicker! You can get a name plate on it for not very much money. The nameplate looks just like it did on the computer and is very nice. This halter is great overall and is very pretty on the horse
    Date published: 2015-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter! Bought this halter for my quarter horse mare and it was beautiful the moment it came out of the box! The color is wonderful and the leather is soft. Also a plus that smartpak shipped it with the engraved nameplate already secured.
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and well made halter My Connemara looks so handsome wearing this halter
    Date published: 2015-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality. As usual!! This is a second purchase of a Wellfleet halter. They are made with superior quality and craftsmanship. I can't say enough about the company or their products. Customer service is second to none!!
    Date published: 2015-05-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, runs small This is a lovely, well made halter, nice leather and stitching, with generous padding. It is a little darker than I expected, and runs very small. My warmblood has a small head, and a regular horse bridle is large on him. I didn't get this in warmblood size, expecting it would be huge on him, but the horse size barely fits buckled on the last hole on each side.
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter! I bought this halter to use for shows, and it is beautiful and soft right out of the box. I did notice that most of the brassware was dinged up, but I emailed SmartPak, and they said that it could be remedied with a metal cleaner. I also got a custom nameplate on the halter, and it is perfect. Overall, this is a great halter, and I am happy with it. Just beware that the brass is a soft metal and may ding easily!
    Date published: 2014-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wellfleet Halter Beautiful and quality product! Love the triple stitching!
    Date published: 2014-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Halter! This halter is awesome! Straight out of the box I was in love! I got the custom name plate with my horse's barn name and show mane and it looks better than I ever could have imagined. The leather is supple and soft right away and you can tell it was well made and it will last forever. The horse size fits my 16 ottb perfectly and I love how adjustable it is. At first I was skeptical to spend that much money on a halter but it is defiantly an awesome piece of tack. It took not even a day extra for mine to arrive even with the custom name plate. One of the buckles did appear scratched up a first but after a little wipe off it looked great! I bought this intending to use it only for shows but this halter may turn into my everyday halter. It is so stunning and well made and defiantly worth it. :)
    Date published: 2014-09-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from expected more My horse is suffering from lymphoma and has months to live so I wanted to get him one last beautiful halter. My wellfleet halter with custom name plate arrived today (8/7/14). The leather is beautiful and soft. The name plate is exactly as ordered and I love that smartpak attaches them. However, for the price (I paid around $113 with discounts, I see that it is now on sale for $102) I will not be buying another one. I expected more with respect to the hardware. Directly out of the box the hardware on the halter is scratched and discolored (see pictures). Maybe I'm picky but I expected nicer hardware on a $100+ halter.
    Date published: 2014-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost too nice to use everyday! We like the padded nose band. The leather color is beautiful.
    Date published: 2014-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifull halter This is a really nice halter. Beware that the sizing on the oversize is more like a large horse and not an oversize. It is between the 2.
    Date published: 2014-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice halter!! I recently bought this halter and it is beautiful! Great quality.
    Date published: 2014-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leather Halter Great product. Very fancy and terrific quality for the price.
    Date published: 2014-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful craftmanship The halter is beautiful with nice leather and stitching. My horse's head is between acob and horse size, I ordered horse size hoping it wouldn't be too large.I was quite surprised to find the halter just fit my horse. The halter runs quite small.
    Date published: 2014-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful English Halter I bought this halter to show my hunter lunge liner. I wanted something fancier than one of the Kentucky halters without a name plate. This halter was the answer. It came and was soft, adjustable and looked beautiful on with the fancy stitching. When I need to replace this halter I will most certainly buy another one of these halters.
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter! This halter is beautiful and very soft. My only complaint is when you shorten the chin section, the excess does not have a keeper to hold down the tab. 
    Date published: 2014-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I love this halter. I was looking for a show/off property halter for my horse, and found this one. I wanted padding, fancy stitching, but still looking refined. I found it. My horse looks very regal in this halter, it fits him well, and he looks very comfortable in it! Worth the money!
    Date published: 2013-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice leather I love the dark color of the leather. It looks great on my dark bay.
    Date published: 2013-07-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful! I searched for a fancy halter for weeks. This one was back ordered, but I couldn't find any others that I liked as much so, I waited. The halter is absolutely beautiful, perfect for shows. The only negative about it, is that it runs small. My horse is a 17.2 warmblood so I orderd the OS, it JUST fits him on the largest adjusted holes, when the sheepskin fleeces are on. It is a little snug around the throat.
    Date published: 2013-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful halter Leather is very nice, stitching beautiful. Would recommend this halter
    Date published: 2013-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy I purchased this halter for my show mare after she destroyed her old one. The halter shipped quickly and looks great on. The only thing is it runs a touch small through the throatlatch. Not to the point of being a problem, it is just smaller compared to other brands of halters
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stunning Halter Quality is great and has an elite look. Runs small though. My horse usually takes a standard horse size but needed oversized. Definitely will purchase another.
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    • 2016-04-28T16:19CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_98
    • loc_en_US, sid_8410, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders