Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

VenTECH™ Elite Sports Medicine Boot - Front

Professional's Choice
- Item #18509
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This


The new VenTech™ Elite Sports Medicine Boot is the new standard for equine comfort with all the premium features you expect from a Professional's Choice product. The exclusive new VenTech™ technology is lightweight and multi-layered with a ventilated, limestone-based neoprene exterior and UltraShock™ lining. The ventilated neoprene conforms to your horse, allows heat and moisture to escape, and keeps your horse cool,comfortable and performing at it's best. The boot provides 360 degrees of protection, safeguarding the cannon bone, tendons and soft tissue, and is proven to absorb over 26% of energy from hoof impact. The uniquely designed suspensory strap stretches witheach stride, allowing full ankle movement and helping to eliminate hyper extension of the fetlock. The distinctive angle of this strap guarantees proper application, ensuring the boot provides maximum protection.


Favorite Features

  • Lightweight
  • Ventilated, limestone-based neoprene exterior
  • UltraShock Lining
  • 360 degrees of protection
  • Absorbs 26% of energy from hoof impact

Sizing It Up

Front -- S(13-14.3h), M(15-15.3h), L(16-16.3h)

How to apply your Sports Medicine Boot

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Description:
    Savings on a full set of front and rear boots! Studies have shown that horses wearing supportive boots on their front legs exhibit increased comfort by shifting a greater percentage of weight onto their forelimbs. As a result, many conscientious ...
    ThinLine Sport Boots are great for full protection. ...
    Description:
    ThinLine Sport Boots are great for full protection. No dirt, No rub. Will not absorb water. Favorite Features Completely closed front, with double hook-and-loop with elastic closure. Soft vinyl outer shell (looks like leather without the price!) Lined with ThinLine ...
    Great boots for turnout and schooling! OurSport Boots ...
    Description:
    Great boots for turnout and schooling! OurSport Boots are available in White or Black. Polyurethane Shell, Acrylic Fleece Lined. Front and Hind size Medium or Large. Medium fits ponies and small horses. Large fits small Warmbloods. Machine wash. Line dry. ...
    The EquiFit Original&trade Front Boot with Velcro Closure ...
    Description:
    The EquiFit Original&trade Front Boot with Velcro Closure is now updated with an anatomically molded EverLeather&trade and EVA shell. The original provides a sleep, secure and protective fit. The EverLeather&trade shell is molded to allow for a streamline, anatomical fit, ...
    As an incentive to conscientious horsemen who realize ...
    Description:
    As an incentive to conscientious horsemen who realize the benefits of booting all four legs, a Value 4-Pack is offered which contains a full set of both front and rear VenTECH&trade Elites at a substantial savings. Combining the high level ...
    ?Dressage Sport Boots are designed to provide excellent ...
    Description:
    ?Dressage Sport Boots are designed to provide excellent protection as well as comfort for your horse. The comprehensive sport boots feature rugged vinyl exterior with a coverlight strike area. Coverlight is tear, puncture and abrasion resistant and has excellent overall durability. They ...
    Dressage Sport Boots are excellent boots for turnout ...
    Description:
    Dressage Sport Boots are excellent boots for turnout or schooling. Favorite Features Heavy-duty Coverlight exterior Cordura binding around the bottom for superior resistance to wear and tear Exceptional support with fleece lining with extra thick foam padding in the strike ...
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    VenTECH™ Elite Sports Medicine Boot - Front is rated 4.6667 out of 5 by 39.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unfortunately Used them on two rides and they are already falling apart. Will be returning them
    Date published: 2015-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice leg protection I purchased these to support my horse's legs when our natural grass field where we ride became quite hard this summer in the absence of regular rain. I noticed a difference in his movement the very first time I used these boots on him, so I'm quite happy with them! He feels much freer and happier. I like these because they are less fussy than polo wraps, and one hopes somewhat more supportive due to the more substantial material. They seem to breathe better than the SMB II boots, which I use on my other horse. These boots tend to collect grass and burs when we walk through taller grass, but I've never seen anything worked inside the boot, and it's easy to brush them off after a ride.My one complaint is that the sizing is a bit funny compared to the SMB II boots; my horse is a pretty standard-sized Warmblood, just a touch under 17h, so I ordered the large and they fit well, but on the snug side of well; however, the next size up would definitely be too large. The SMB II boots on my other horse, a small quarter horse, seem more generously sized, as the mediums in those almost fit on my Warmblood. Just something to think about when ordering a size - depends on your horse's legs. I would certainly try them out if you think they will benefit you and your horse.
    Date published: 2015-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried and True I am starting my own barn with three horses. Each horse will have their own set. I have used these over the years and the protection for riding and turnout has never been a problem.
    Date published: 2015-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long lasting and Support I have used these over the years and are always satisfied how they support my horses legs.
    Date published: 2015-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased I bought these for trail riding, they are easy to apply, and I have had no issues with them sliding down or twisting on my horse's legs.
    Date published: 2015-04-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sizing seems way off My review is solely based on sizing as I have not used them yet, but I measured my horse's cannon bones in circumference and in length according to the sizing chart. I measured 10-10.5, so I ordered the medium which seemed counterintuitive since she is a small draft. Got them in and they don't even go all the way around her cannon bone.. I am not sure if I measured the wrong place or what but I didn't see where the sizing chart said anything other than measure cannon length and circumference. Now I have to exchange for an XL to see if that will work. Sigh. But that being said.. they seem like a good product!
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! Love that these are breathable so when we go to a show my horses legs don't get sweaty before I go into show. The sleek design is awesome and love that they go on and off quickly and easily!
    Date published: 2014-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Lower Leg Protection These are great boots. They are easy to apply and remove. I like that they are breathable and comfortable for my horse and offer substantial support and protection for the leg. I'm hoping that they hold up as well as the Sport Medicine Boots that I am replacing.
    Date published: 2014-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect support and look great! These boots fit my young horse perfectly. It's important to me that he have the best support. I love that they're breathable. They also look great, much less bulky than the SMB II's. Slightly pricey, but if they hold up for a long time, they're very worth it.
    Date published: 2014-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use We use several sets a year. The boots provide good protection and don't interfere with the horse's performance.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best! These are the best sport boots I've ever seen! They fit to the leg really well. My horse only sweats under these if it's really hot, and no dirt gets in them. I really trust that these are supporting my horses legs. I will never use a different pair of boots again! I just wish they came in more colors!
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice boots I had the SMB II for several years. These are lighter, easier to put on and seal out dirt much better. It hasn't been hot enough to see if they are cooler, but so far I like them much better than the SMB's I have.
    Date published: 2014-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice! Small fit perfectly on my Warmblood 14.2, 2 year old. Like having cool support.
    Date published: 2013-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality I purchased the recommended size and the fit is perfect. My horse does not mind wearing them and she has the support I wanted
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good Haven't used them much but they are definitely cooler on my horses legs than the regular SMB boots!
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really improved Professionals Choice has really made significant changes to these boots from their earliest models. They have a lot more ventilation and they are taller. The Velcro straps are shorter -- they still hold well, but don't get so tangled when applying. A well-made product.I got these to for an ex-racehorse that is recovering from significant suspensory damage, and they are serving him well. Currently being used just during turnout, but he will be wearing these whenever he's out of his stall.
    Date published: 2013-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supportive Boots These boots seem to be very supportive. They are easy to put on. It has not been very hot yet, but the boots do seem to be breathable. I feel that these boots are a good choice during rehab or for protection while riding or during turnout.
    Date published: 2013-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ven Tech Elite Boots Great boots, do a great job at keeping the dirt out of the boots and rubbing on the horses legs. Other boots leak dirt in and irritate the horses legs, NOT THESE.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight support Lighter on the leg, yet still give the support that one expects from SMB Boots.
    Date published: 2012-05-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice boots, hard to clean I bought these boots for my Percheron cross gelding after using SMBs on my QH mare for the last 10 years or so. My gelding's legs are kind of thick so the large just barely fits him. I'd like to see these come in an extra large option, or an option with a greater width rather than length. Overall I think they do a decent job, but can be hard to clean up without having to hose them. My old SMBs don't show dirt as much and are easier to maintain, I guess the fabic has changed over the years.
    Date published: 2011-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love SMB I bought these after owning SMB II for 14 years - same pair, still protecting legs - love 'em. I wanted the Elites as there looks to be better air flow through the boots. My filly's legs do stay cooler in these than my gelding's do in his SMB IIs - less sweat and debris. Good so far. I hope they hold up like my others did.
    Date published: 2011-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brought immediate comfort I purchased this for my aged gelding who injured his suspensory. The improved ventilation minimized sweating and he is much more comfortable during his rehabilitation period.
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Front Boots I only like Professional Choice front boots, and these are by far the best ones they have designed. They not only don't trap heat, but the new stream lined shape makes it easier for a horse to learn to spin. The older boots were kind of clunky and it was hard for some horses to manage. Another huge plus for the Ventechs is that bell boots fit so much nicer under these!
    Date published: 2011-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My vet recommended that my horse be turned out in these, so I originally only bought a pair for his back legs. Decided to go ahead and get a pair for his front legs too just to have protection all around. Love that these boots allow for air flow so his legs don't get too hot, and they are super durable. Have lasted through numerous muddy and playful turn outs and I just hose the mud off afterwards and we're good to go! Definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2011-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best All Around Boots These boots are the best all around boots I have used. These are so easy to put on and very light. I was so impressed. I love them! I would like it if Smart Pak offered these in the pattern colors because those are my favorite. I have them in giraffe print!!! I do everything from ground work to western training to jumping in these and they are great for all of it! No switching of boots.PS: These are for riding, not turnout. Another reviewer said they got torn up in turnout but thats because they are a WORK boot!
    Date published: 2010-08-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing I purchased these boots for limited use in turnout (less than 2 hours a day) for a horse that is coming back from an injury. While the ventilation was a nice try, his legs still got quite hot and sweaty, and I feel that the ventilation made the boots less stable and protective.Additionally, my horse managed to rip the lining out of the boot with very little trouble. He tore the boot off of his leg and then ripped a giant hole right through the interior part of the boot. The boot is destroyed, of course.I won't be buying these again. Way too pricey for how flimsy they are.
    Date published: 2010-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SMB Elites I have had SMB boots for over 10 years and these are by far the best ones. Light, easy to put on. Fit very well. I will be purchasing another pair.
    Date published: 2010-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No hard plastic These were great for us because they fit securely and have nothing hard on them. Very easy to get on and off. Perfect size for my Arab.
    Date published: 2010-05-08
    • 2016-05-02T15:34CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_34
    • loc_en_US, sid_8509, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders